Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't like crickets . . .

• 05-05-2015 12:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

. . I hate them! Well grasshoppers or crickets or whatever you call them

Anyone else notice an abundance of the wee noisy yokes lately? I'm waffling home from the pub and they're everywhere.

Any advice on how to entice one for a photo to prove I'm not mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Havn't noticed. If I heard them I would be busy trying to escape from the 80's/90's American flick I'm after being thrown into

• Registered Users Posts: 28,392 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Always remind me of warmer climes and strolling back to the hotel late at night, so they're ok in my book.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 thecamcam

they sounds great whats not to like ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

I remember hearing them a lot when I was a child but never mentioning it because I wasn't sure if we had them in Ireland or not. I thought they were an American thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

I don't like crickets. I love them. Don't you walk through my words gotta show some respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Ah Backwards Man. You're having an Abshinte induced childhood flashback to The Waltons or The Little House on the Prairie.

Sleepy Sleepie now....Grey old Ireland in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

How, precisely, does one "waffle" home from the pub?! :confused:

Ye northmen making up your own words, how are ye supposed to integrate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I voice recorded them but I was distracted by an eejit wanting to play with her ball in the dark!

http://imgur.com/knIhc34

• Registered Users Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

I love crickets. They sound like summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    I love crickets. They sound like summer.

You're right, their purpose purely seems to be a backing track to hot summer nights.You ever heard those mofos cricketing in the winter? I think not.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Corkboi

What about this bad boy??? Saw him in work the other day! (South America by the way, not Ireland lol)

http://imgur.com/3gwrck2

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Corkboi wrote: »
    What about this bad boy??? Saw him in work the other day! (South America by the way, not Ireland lol)

He's clearly trying to sabotage that thing, whatever it is. He's already half unscrewed it. It's the start of the insect invasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ollaetta

I was expecting the OP to burst into the 10cc song.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭syklops

. . I hate them! Well grasshoppers or crickets or whatever you call them

Anyone else notice an abundance of the wee noisy yokes lately? I'm waffling home from the pub and they're everywhere.

Any advice on how to entice one for a photo to prove I'm not mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Corkboi wrote: »

If ever a photo needed a sizing scale!:pac: I bet he's tiny.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭dmc17

I quite like the sound of them. Reminds me of nice warm summer nights.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Grasshoppers are nice, kids can chase them.

Crickets are noisy at night.

Locusts can be very bad news. Thankfully there haven't been major plagues recently. Well not since last year. http://www.fao.org/emergencies/crisis/madagascar-locust/intro/en/

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

dmc17 wrote: »
    I quite like the sound of them. Reminds me of nice warm summer nights.

OMG, what a cutie. chipp chipp chipp chipp. :)