28-03-2021, 17:25   #1
Dats_rite

Bowed Oak Plank

HI All,

I never worked with hardwood before and I'm quite new to woodwork. I ordered a 2.2m long, 450mm deep and 25mm think piece of oak. I planned to sand it and treat it and use as top of a built in entertainment unit.

The piece came in early January and I put it in my shed standing longways on the floor, not flat but upright laying longways against a wall.

I didn't do anything with it for 2 months until March and when I went back to it the plank had warped very badly.

Did I store it wrong, should it have been laid flat on the ground? Or should I have just sanded and treated it straight away?

Any advice appreciated....I know it is completely my fault and a rookie error.
Advertisement
28-03-2021, 17:28   #2
Dats_rite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dats_rite View Post
HI All,

I never worked with hardwood before and I'm quite new to woodwork. I ordered a 2.2m long, 450mm deep and 25mm think piece of oak. I planned to sand it and treat it and use as top of a built in entertainment unit.

The piece came in early January and I put it in my shed standing longways on the floor, not flat but upright laying longways against a wall.

I didn't do anything with it for 2 months until March and when I went back to it the plank had warped very badly.

Did I store it wrong, should it have been laid flat on the ground? Or should I have just sanded and treated it straight away?

Any advice appreciated....I know it is completely my fault and a rookie error.
Pic of the bowed wood
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210221_173209.jpg (2.18 MB, 68 views)
28-03-2021, 18:27   #3
recipio