Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Where are we off to tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 18,473 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    We should strive to feed people at the lowest possible price, yes, that should be obvious I would of thought.

There is an oversupply of food in Ireland and Europe in general. There is nobody going to be getting a so called "fair" price while that prevails.

I would love to know the stats on how many farms here would simply cease to exist if it were not for Brussels.

The sooner Mercosur arrives the better for the consumer.

Problem with your approach of cheaper is obviously better is it leads into one thing, industrialised farming which is no good.
    It’s bad for animal welfare, bad for biodiversity bad for environment and the meat produced is sub standard.
    It drives farm gate prices down and down until we just can’t compete and by then the consumer is addicted to cheap food so imports are the solution.

Any self respecting farmer should be driving for a quality premium product that commands a better price, that way we have leverage for a fair farm gate price.

Produce less meat, produce better meat and get a fair price.

Industrial farming is sickening, piggeries, caged houses chickens and cattle on concrete 365 is all wrong, it’s poor for animal welfare and produced sub standard food.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭epfff

I see from pictures on agriland joe has the bale of straw there. One wrong word and he will light it.

Will this stunt grab the headlines and hide the poor turnout for election?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,189 ✭✭✭Robson99

We should strive to feed people at the lowest possible price, yes, that should be obvious I would of thought.

I think we should give angle dust and hormones to cattle.
    It will help farmers break even and supply cheap meat. Everyone happy

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

epfff wrote: »
    I see from pictures on agriland joe has the bale of straw there. One wrong word and he will light it.

Will this stunt grab the headlines and hide the poor turnout for election?

Does he have just a white vest and slacks, bleeding, and in bare feet.... lighter in his hand, saying "yippie ki yeah, mutha fu##er"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Take it from someone who has handled South American beef that stuff is rancid, literally and covered in faeces. The only thing it will bring for the consumer are multiple trips to the Jacks

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Heart Break Kid

wrangler wrote: »
    I'd bet Aldi and Lidl are doing the most harm to beef prices, they seem to be the cheapest and I'll guarantee you they're not below cost selling

Passive observer, How can you guarantee that? I'd say its pretty obvious given what happens with veg & fruit, meats no different.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,113 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The idea that consumers are totally driving down food prices is a myth. Consumers are complex beings and in large part driven by quality. They also respond positively to a fairness argument.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/dec/04/french-shoppers-rejecting-cut-price-capitalism-nicolas-chabanne

• Registered Users Posts: 18,473 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Water John wrote: »
    The idea that consumers are totally driving down food prices is a myth. Consumers are complex beings and in large part driven by quality. They also respond positively to a fairness argument.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/dec/04/french-shoppers-rejecting-cut-price-capitalism-nicolas-chabanne

For a start the French have a much better food culture than exists here. Look at how hey support local producers even though large shops exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

We should all start producing Kobe beef, €18 /kg I think I seen somewhere, it would differently stop the race the bottom.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

Had they talked to some of the other groups first and made a united picket on Tesco’s in particular it might have been viewed as an olive branch but unfortunately this seems to driven the dividing wedge even deeper.

Think I heard the're picketing in Cork tomorrow. That would be either Lidl in Charleville or Musgraves in the City.

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭einn32

Water John wrote: »
    Think I heard the're picketing in Cork tomorrow. That would be either Lidl in Charleville or Musgraves in the City.

Mitchelstown?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

einn32 wrote: »
    Mitchelstown?

Tis Charleville, loose information circulating since lunchtime. Not much good if everyone knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Interesting contrast on the news tonight between our Gardai here and the French police and how they deal with matters.

But apart from that, is this not a dangerous tactic. There's no obligation on Aldi I presume to stock Irish beef. That'd solve their problem?

I rarely express a view on others actions. Especially if driven by frustration and being treated poorly. I don't see, this stroke in that light.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭kk.man

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Interesting contrast on the news tonight between our Gardai here and the French police and how they deal with matters.

But apart from that, is this not a dangerous tactic. There's no obligation on Aldi I presume to stock Irish beef. That'd solve their problem?
    First of all the Gardaí priority is to prevent a breach of the peace in such situations. The IFA ppl are having a peaceful protest note the word peaceful. The French farmers give their police no choice but to intervene.
    Aldi and Co can stock whatever beef they want. The make a huge advert that's it's Irish so if they go to the UK to source it they will pay 20% more and if the go to the rest of the EU they will pay 15% more for it. Another point Irish supermarkets only buy less than 5% of what we produce. That won't hurt us either.
    Now check your facts before you make an argument.

What is the point in protesting at either Aldi or Lidl ??
    They are the ones who have no problem with over 30 month cattle.
    If they protesting in cork then it should be at Creeds house where it might wake the fuker up

• Registered Users Posts: 11,056 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Robson99 wrote: »
    What is the point in protesting at either Aldi or Lidl ??
    They are the ones who have no problem with over 30 month cattle.
    If they protesting in cork then it should be at Creeds house where it might wake the fuker up

What can Creed do,

Triple the AOs in all Irish meat plants. Check every dispatch rigorously, introduce new grading machines, cut Bord Bia funding, get big Phil to put a spotlight under supermarket's and meat plants, inspect all factory feed lots with a microscope. Publish details of all policital donations over the last 20 years. Introduce legislation to that all companies must publish accounts. Get revenue into every meat company to tooth comb their accounts.
    The government are a powerful force and the meat companies know it. The don't hand out confetti of donations because they believe in the body politic.

What can Creed do,

Get off his hole and organise an investigation into the cartel and corruption that is going on and that FG were part of when his colleague gave the uncle in law full control...but he like the IFA knows who looks after him

kk.man wrote: »
    Triple the AOs in all Irish meat plants. Check every dispatch rigorously, introduce new grading machines, cut Bord Bia funding, get big Phil to put a spotlight under supermarket's and meat plants, inspect all factory feed lots with a microscope. Publish details of all policital donations over the last 20 years. Introduce legislation to that all companies must publish accounts. Get revenue into every meat company to tooth comb their accounts.
    The government are a powerful force and the meat companies know it. The don't hand out confetti of donations because they believe in the body politic.

Doubling the public service in these areas will only make it twice as bad not twice as good,
    And that statement is a lot nearer the truth than any any talk of IFA being paid off by anyone.
    Time for farmers (and the public) to cop on to the public service, if they were doing their job the grading would be monitored, the labelling would be monitored, revenue would be onto any scams and small private enterprise in this country would have some hope of thriving.
    Too many Irish people have family in the PS to make any progress

Doubling the public service in these areas will only make it twice as bad not twice as good,
    And that statement is a lot nearer the truth than any any talk of IFA being paid off by anyone.
    Time for farmers (and the public) to cop on to the public service, if they were doing their job the grading would be monitored, the labelling would be monitored, revenue would be onto any scams and small private enterprise in this country would have some hope of thriving.
    Too many Irish people have family in the PS to make any progress

I never said it was perfect but Creed has huge powers at his disposal to turn the screw on the factories. He is an extremely weak minister.
    The Mll statement alone is after infuriating loads of people by stating that farmers are overdue a price increase. Its like rubbing salt into the farmers wounds.

What can Creed do,

Can you tell me what is the point or intelligence in this protest that the IFA is carrying out today and tomorrow. ?? To get the clap on the back and take all the credit when the 5 or 10 cent rise comes in the next week or two that we all know is coming ??
    Funny how it was the main headline in the news as well...though it must have been wet in Naas as photo happy Joe didn't get to burn a bale this time..

I never said it was perfect but Creed has huge powers at his disposal to turn the screw on the factories. He is an extremely weak minister.
    The Mll statement alone is after infuriating loads of people by stating that farmers are overdue a price increase. Its like rubbing salt into the farmers wounds.

In my opinion he has shown to be worse than weak. I believe he is corrupt.

Too much crookedness negligence going on now to make any inroads into it overnight, it'd take years, HSE is a prime example, at least there's no one dying due to beef price......yet

Robson99 wrote: »
    Can you tell me what is the point or intelligence in this protest that the IFA is carrying out today and tomorrow. ?? To get the clap on the back and take all the credit when the 5 or 10 cent rise comes in the next week or two that we all know is coming ??
    Funny how it was the main headline in the news as well...though it must have been wet in Naas as photo happy Joe didn't get to burn a bale this time..

Other groups protest even if there's no more available, IFA protested because there's now a gap compared with Europe.
    I see nothing has changed since I was involved, poor support...never be any different

Should've been a price rise when the first price index came out, second one was higher again and still no price rise

Other groups protest even if there's no more available, IFA protested because there's now a gap compared with Europe.
    I see nothing has changed since I was involved, poor support...never be any different

Should've been a price rise when the first price index came out, second one was higher again and still no price rise
    Poor support because the IFA is finished. About as relevant as Macra ( No offence to them ). Factories collecting levies for IFA finished them when **** hit the fan.
    Be interesting to see how many people bit in IFA elections this time compared to last

What did he think of Joe on prime time ??

The lauded European average price. Including an beef from an economy like Poland, and inclusive of grain fed Italian and German R3 bull price rather than like for like grass based steer...
    Though we supply 270,000 tonnes of beef to the highest priced market, the uk , 50% of our output and 70% of their imports, because we have steer and heifer beef identical or better than their own. Irish beef price has a direct bearing on dragging uk beef price up or down, this summer and fall the Irish processors along with uk retailers pulled a coup on the pretext of a monster called brexit.

The ifa should operate under proper democratic mandate from members. They should not have had to turn to beef plan and other splinter groups for action.