Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

My Circumcision Story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Jesus lads, nice one, yis don't believe how much this thread has answered so many questions for me........, a couple more if ye don't mind....

When erect, how far up is the "Cut Line"

and.....

Is there much colour difference between the revealed skin and unrevealed skin?.....What did the urologist say concerning this to you? This is my greatest concern.

Cheers in advance
    Hi Mate -

"When erect, how far up is the "Cut Line""

For me, it's just behind the head - it looks like what it would have looked like with the foreskin rolled back (except of course I couldn't do that). Sounds like it might be different for others, but that's how it is in my case.

"Is there much colour difference between the revealed skin and unrevealed skin?.....What did the urologist say concerning this to you?"

Because I couldn't roll the skin back, it was difficult to keep clean, and as such the colour was usually angry red, now it's a nice calm pink. If you mean the difference between the skin on the shaft and the skin in the head, the skin on the shaft is slightly darker, but I don't think it looks weird or anything - I have to say, I never really thought about it before, never came up with the urologist anyway. It doesn't look like a torch in my pocket or anything :)

hope that helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭brum

When erect, how far up is the "Cut Line"

Dear god...... god knows when it will be safe enough to be erect without popping stitches out in every direction!

Its been 15 days now. I must admit that i regret wearing briefs for the first few days. It stopped or more delayed the desensidising of the head. In the last 3 days, everythign has improved greatly. I can still feel a little discomfort when cloth pushes against head but its few and far between. Im sure things will go from good to better in the next few days...

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

back to a few postings ago, i don't think the amount of salt matters. i had buckets in a warm bath everyday. i was told it was to disinfect the water and not to dissolve the stitches.

when it came to sex it was seven months before i got in the saddle again. it was more my frame of mind at the time than the physicality of it that was holding me back. unfortunately, brum and anyone else, i can't climax in some positions no more. it hasn't damaged my drive at all, but i do need a bit more roughage. my current partner just thinks i'm a pig but the way i see it she's lucky to get it.

i was getting ferocious erections the day after the op. that caused a fair bit of bleeding. i pretty much stayed awake for a week and experienced my bizzare phenomena. eg, i could experience orgasm in different parts of my body like along my back when lying down. wonderful! thats prolly just sleep depravation. also, not sure if this is supposedly medically possible but i got an upsidedown erection! proper hard. the sheer novelty of it took away from the pain.

i think mine was sewed in a stupid place - right on the head!!! still seems barbaric to me. for those wondering about veins; the surgeon cut straight through those. they just come to a full stop at the cut. they kind of faded away from there now so it looks normal.

a significant event all in all for me. out of the norm. what an adventure on so many level when i look back. aaah, the nostalgia...

Well there are times that i dont even realsie that I just had a circ nearly three weeks ago! Things are great now.
    One question -

The Stitches? Did ye help them out/pick them out or did they just fall out?

brum wrote:
    Well there are times that i dont even realsie that I just had a circ nearly three weeks ago! Things are great now.
    One question -

The Stitches? Did ye help them out/pick them out or did they just fall out?

It's mad isn't it? It's like buses - nothing happens for ages and then it all heals overnight :) it's been the same for the stitches for me - had every one of 'em until about two days ago, and now about a third have gone. I've not touched 'em.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Fad wrote:
    ...But if your the kinda person who isnt bothered by slagging GET it done, or if your out of school get it done i love it besides the reprecusions
    It's not cool getting slagged in school, but if you let what "other people might say" dictate your life you'll never be respected.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Zulu wrote:
    It's not cool getting slagged in school, but if you let what "other people might say" dictate your life you'll never be respected.

Fair point but id rather have a litte have a little self esteem than respect, thank you very much, you may realise that being verbally abused would effect that

tbh wrote:
    It's mad isn't it? It's like buses - nothing happens for ages and then it all heals overnight :) it's been the same for the stitches for me - had every one of 'em until about two days ago, and now about a third have gone. I've not touched 'em.

were you still having baths(soaking it in salt water)? IM nervous bc ive read on the net that if you dont take the stitches out soon, little holes appear were the thread goes through the skin?

Im in the process of getting the strength to go to my GP...... I need this done so bad..

Anyway, Im just interested to know if any of ye who have just had the operation have been able to pleasure themselves yet? Like I know it must be hard not too. I have a high sex drive so im worried I wont be able to last. How long after operation were ye able to pleasure yerselves?

brum wrote:
    were you still having baths(soaking it in salt water)? IM nervous bc ive read on the net that if you dont take the stitches out soon, little holes appear were the thread goes through the skin?

funny you mention that - I noticed a little hole the day before yesterday, where a stitch was, but it's gone now. there are a number of little bumps, which is ever so slightly worrying, but in healing terms, it's still early days I suppose. I'll be back in the docs in three weeks so I'll let you know what he says. I have to say tho, if there was a risk of anything serious happening by not taking the stitches out, our docs would have told us.

Worried.. wrote:
    Im in the process of getting the strength to go to my GP...... I need this done so bad..

Anyway, Im just interested to know if any of ye who have just had the operation have been able to pleasure themselves yet? Like I know it must be hard not too. I have a high sex drive so im worried I wont be able to last. How long after operation were ye able to pleasure yerselves?

Don't sit worrying about it- just go get it done. PM me.

Worried.. wrote:

Just go to your GP - nce you go in, ule be in line to get sorted and before you know it, all will be done and dusted....

I try not to think of anything sexual whatsoever!!! I aint able to do ****!

tbh wrote:
    funny you mention that - I noticed a little hole the day before yesterday, where a stitch was, but it's gone now. there are a number of little bumps, which is ever so slightly worrying, but in healing terms, it's still early days I suppose. I'll be back in the docs in three weeks so I'll let you know what he says. I have to say tho, if there was a risk of anything serious happening by not taking the stitches out, our docs would have told us.

Just noticed a stitch fell out... im still having baths every second day as well as showers daily so il wait for the others... I helped that first one along! As you said, our docs would have said...

Got it done about two weeks back, went in as a day op which was grand

Didn't experience much pain except when I got an erection, was VERY painful for the past week but its getting better now

Most of the stitches are out in the past two - three days, very little bleeding over all this time, maybe one or two drops of blood

Going to play it by year now and see when I'm back to normal

Oh and in relation to being able to masterbate, I was able to after about 5 days but even at that it still hurt and I had to be very careful but I was still able

Hey all, its been nearly 5 weeks now and im over the moon at getting the op. Best decision of my life. Im back to normal, ive had sex more than enough times in the last week. Everything is in working order. Sex is great too. Happy as a pig in ****. All the stitches fell out so I though I may as well make the plunge and get back in the game. Hope everyone is doing well.

For those of ye with doubts - do it!!!! Worth it, worth every second of discomfort...

Gotitdone wrote:
    Oh and in relation to being able to masterbate, I was able to after about 5 days but even at that it still hurt and I had to be very careful but I was still able

How can you masterbate without a foreskin?

• Registered Users Posts: 78,239 ✭✭✭✭Victor

How can you masterbate without a foreskin?
    Lube.

brum wrote:
    Hey all, its been nearly 5 weeks now and im over the moon at getting the op. Best decision of my life. Im back to normal, ive had sex more than enough times in the last week. Everything is in working order. Sex is great too. Happy as a pig in ****. All the stitches fell out so I though I may as well make the plunge and get back in the game. Hope everyone is doing well.

For those of ye with doubts - do it!!!! Worth it, worth every second of discomfort...

nice one Brum, tbh I'd forgotten all about this thread! that's how normal the whole thing is now, I was re-reading this morning thinking of the way things were before I got it done - I'm SO glad I went to the docs. Any embarrassment - while minimal at the time - is long forgotten.

A whole lot of misinformation has given in here and, it seems, a whole load of irresponsible doctors have been performing utterly unnecessary surgeries.

I had the same problem as many have described in here. I took it to a GP who then referred me to a urologist. Not entirely convinced of the recommendation for circumcision, I had a chat with the other consultant urologist in the clinic who gave me conflicting advice. The second one recommended that I treat the condition conservatively, stretching bit by bit and using creams if necessary (didn't need to). So, I toddled along and did my own research on the matter.

This brings me to the golden rule: NEVER TRUST THE INTERNET ON THIS ISSUE.

Go to the discussion page of the circumcision article on Wikipedia. Behold the flying ****. The issue has become such that people are throwing even the vaguest, most fringe medical testimony at each other in an attempt to push their agendas forward. Coming across any truth on the matter on the internet is an impossibility.

Second rule: Treat the advice you get from doctors with extreme criticism.

There is still an enormous misunderstanding of the issue , even among doctors, GPs and specialists included. Most are too quick to take the surgical route. Circumcision as a response to tight foreskin is like amputating a foot because the ankle is sore. Basically, when the alternative to surjery, ANY surjery, is to "just sort of pull a bit back every so often for a few weeks" there is absolutely no need to go under the knife. As somebody mentioned, if this was a woman's issue, all the information would be available and in the open. It isn't, and when consulting a urologist you need to fight with him to get all the information you need.

Basically, to anyone thinking of getting a circumcision, I would seriously reconsider. Foreskin is there for a reason and it serves a significant purpose. It's the first line of defense your wang has against infection and is a source of lubricant during sex. I also found that it helps slipping condoms on more easily, but that's just my own idea.

And, coming from somebody that was about to go the snipsnip route and ultimately went with the much less traumatic, much easier stretching policy, I can honestly say I've had absolutely no issues with sex since. I would strongly encourage everyone NOT to have a circumcision. It is an archaic procedure and one that can cause more harm than is understood.

Anyway, toodles.

A whole lot of misinformation has given in here and, it seems, a whole load of irresponsible doctors have been performing utterly unnecessary surgeries.

ok, I know what qualifications my GP and consultant have, can I ask what qualifications you have? i.e is there any reason I should give your advice more value than theirs?

one that can cause more harm than is understood.
    with respect, much like your post. But don't take my word for it kids, talk to your doctor. Circ. worked for me, stretching didn't. STW has no clue of my personal or medical circumstances, how he can say the surgery was unnecessary is beyond me. Obviously he knows more than my doc or consultant does.

I'm not trying to be a poster boy for circ. the bottom line is, talk to your doctor. it's not right for everyone, certainly, but saying it's un-necessary out of hand is the height of ignorance.
    I would hate anyone to be put off seeing their doc based on what Savethewillies has written.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 limkguy

had it done a couple of years back! best thing i ever done....the relief was almost immediate and it didn't take long for yer man to heal!

• Registered Users Posts: 17 matt25

Hey Guys,

Great thread! I'm another guy who can't pull back my foreskin when erect and it annoys the hell out of me. I don't like how it looks and I don't like that stretchy feeling when it gets pushed back. So I'm considering circumcision, but obviously very aprehensive about letting a knife near my most precious body part!

I generally think cut dicks look great. were you guys happy with how it looked? Do you have a massive scar? Besides during the few weeks after, were there any drawbacks? do you have to use lube everything you want to masturbate?

This thread has covered everything. I really wanted to hear from someone who had it done as an adult - and what a bonus to find an Irish tread on the topic.

Thanks guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 BrianMVP

^co sign^ need some help very apprihensive bout this meself
    cheers big ears

'My biggest worry is that girls might think a circumcised penis is weird. So i would like to hear girls opinions please!!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

i too am in a foreskin bind: long story:

when i have sex my foreskin pushes back itself(hurts slightly), but ive went thru plenty of "dry" patches in the sexlife over the past few years so the first time it goes back in say a few months it hurts a lot and i cant push it back on its own, over the summer a situation arose where i started having sex with my new GF, foreskin went back,i didnt bother pulling it back over, had sex a few more times(over the week not the nite i aint no machine!) foreskin stayed resolutely down, tried to pull it up a few times in the shower and what have you, couldnt do it, let it go for a few weeks but sex got very painful coz whenever i had an erection it would stretch and hurt my pushed back foreskin, eventually went to my doc,he diagnosed tight foreskin(affects 10% of male pop. apparently) referred to urologist, who pulled up foreskin for me(hurt like hell!!!), went back to my doc a few weeks after on a unrelated matter and he asked how it was, he recommended to me foreskin exercises, so that it gets stretchy and if it didnt help get a circumcision

the thing is i know with regular sex my foreskin gets stretchy but i like the idea of getting circumcised coz i know much as a stud as i am i aint gonna be getting regular sex for the rest of my life and my girlfriend "enjoys" my penis more when foreskin is pushed back,and to be arrogant/self conscious about it, i think my penis looks bigger and better with foreskion pushed back and sex is definitely better with pushed back foreskin

so the crux is is it wrong for me to get a circumcision for vain sexlife reasons?

the nightmare scenario for me is that when ive had sex after long periods without(cursed one night stands!) and foreskin pushes back in the vagina it can be excruciating almost like the skin is tearing or something, i never want to go thru something like that again ever!!!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

invincibleirish, why I wouldn't do such a thing for ascetics, ultimately its your body so its upto you :)

Ultimately, if it ain't broke don't try to fix it imho

Did you try exercises's like the Doc said??

Its been the best part of 2 months since my op. Just checking back to see if anyone commented on my comments. Hope eeryone is getting on well....

I havent looked back, nor will I ever im sure...

'Going unreg for this one...
    tbh wrote:
    ok, I know what qualifications my GP and consultant have, can I ask what qualifications you have? i.e is there any reason I should give your advice more value than theirs?

It's not just a matter of qualifications. I went in to my GP 2 months ago asking about topical treatment (betnovate). He had never heard of it (the treatment, not the ointment) and was ready to dismiss me, saying that he would refer me to a urologist for a circumcision, when I asked him to do a little research on the internet (I knew of a few links from my research). Sure enough, one study he found had been carried out by his buddy (for treating phimosis on young children). A quick call to his buddy, who told him he couldn't see any reason why it wouldn't work on an adult (The study had been a huge success, but only carried out on young boys). My GP prescribed betnovate and suddenly became very interested in the subject, admitting that up to that day, he had always instructed patients to get the snip without realising that there was any alternative. 2 months later - 1 fully functioning foreskin - and no need for surgery/possible complications etc.

I'm not saying that it will work for everyone, I'm not medically qualified, but I do know that enough people have tried it succesfully that it should not be dismissed, and in my case - it did work - PERFECTLY!!!

I was a B case for those that know what I'm talking about. Phimosis is measured from A (severe) to D (slight). I was prescribed betnovate (0.1% solution). Applied twice a day for most days (sometimes forgot). Noticed improvement within 2 weeks. Fully exposed head within 5 weeks when soft and recently am able to expose the head when erect. Will continue the treatment for another week or 2 to make sure it is perfectly loose. No pain/discomfort/trauma or embarassment. At least try it guys. If it doesn't work, you can always get surgery as the backup plan.'