Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post for everyone who QUIT evil fags

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭molly77

Hi all
    Day 16
    For the first time I am happy that i quit:) This weekend has been a lot easier Thank God. Went for a 30 min walk this morning. Even though I have never had any problems with my weight. Better not talk to soon. :D
    For me it is if I smoke one i will be back again to my 40 a day habit. And if i dont give up now when will i???? When its too late :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

happy smoke free Sunday to all :)

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Follow the Plan

OFF them since 3/1/11

got sick for week after with flu and decided fck the smokes. Doin grand but biggest test will be on a night out.

Best of luck to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

molly77 wrote: »
    Hi all
    Day 16
    For the first time I am happy that i quit:) This weekend has been a lot easier Thank God. Went for a 30 min walk this morning. Even though I have never had any problems with my weight. Better not talk to soon. :D
    For me it is if I smoke one i will be back again to my 40 a day habit. And if i dont give up now when will i???? When its too late :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

WOW, well done you. From 40 a day to nowt is brilliant, I'm very impressed. Keep it up.

Everyone who has started to give up or who are off them already, GOOD LUCK. So what if you put on a few pounds, it'll sort its self out eventually!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

6 Days!

This time tomorow will be one week...

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Hey guys, I hope you're all doing ok. For those who haven't gone out, did you go out this weekend or did you just leave it?

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Money Tree

Just completed two weeks cigarette free at 11.30pm tonight.
    Its the Psychological cravings im finding difficult now

Money Tree wrote: »

Good for you! Keep it going... once the third week passes they say it gets easier. Without the risk of sound patronising, well done you. You should be really proud of yourself. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Money Tree wrote: »

Well Done, you are over the worst of it now, The nicotine has completely left your system and you are left with , as you say the pscychological cravings.

All I can say to you is when those cravings come BE RUTHLESS ! Do not dwell on them, do not start romantisising them, You must focus on your goal and dismiss them immediately, I dont care if you have to get up and run around the block in your pajamas get your mind thinking of something else. When you do they pass very quickly.

Remember you have come too far to slip now !

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Money Tree

Thanks -its much appreciated.

I find it a great help to just spend some time on threads like this to get myself focused again and beat the cravings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭SnoozyS

Hey all,

Been a few days since I checked in and glad to see all are still doing well :D

Another weekend over with, and still havent ventured to the pub. Will be away next weekend though so shall get it over with then. Should be easier too as there'll be no smokers with us.

Here's to another smoke free week

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 stella09

I fell at my first hurdle (wkend sunday session) :( should be day 8 today but I had one yesterday eve, I feel like I have let the team down & the evil things have warped my mind again! :eek:
    How do you deal with the pub, there was only one other smoker in our group yesterday & i was driven demented....
    This monday morning doesnt feel as good as last monday :(. I neeeeed a big kick up the rear end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

stella09 wrote: »
    I fell at my first hurdle (wkend sunday session) :( should be day 8 today but I had one yesterday eve, I feel like I have let the team down & the evil things have warped my mind again! :eek:
    How do you deal with the pub, there was only one other smoker in our group yesterday & i was driven demented....
    This monday morning doesnt feel as good as last monday :(. I neeeeed a big kick up the rear end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Hi Stella
    Dont think u let anyone down here, we are all in de same boat. we all forgive you:)
    ok so u had a slip up. Well start again. New Day today Me here going on and i.d love one myself right now.:D It aint easy, one day at a time.
    Best of luck today Stella

Aw Stella, Don't be so fecking hard on yourself... Just dust your self down and keep going, it's a stumble not a fall! You can keep going. Honest you can:)

Stella , stop flogging yourself and get back in the saddle, you had a slip,now move on , it is just one day .

It all depends on how much you want it, all I can say is that I got into a state of mind where I refused to have the ciggies control my life, and e when I was out if the craving came I just got badminded and refused to give in.Got my friends with me involved to help me over it. But the key thing is I refused to indulge it, no looking longingly at the smoking section kind of thing.

You must act like a non-smoker and you will become a non-smoker.I know that sounds stupid but is is true.

Now stop feeling sorry for yourself and get back into the fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Hey stella. You only had the one so don't be hard on yourself. Think of the week of non smoking that came before it. Just use that one slip up to remind you of how awful you felt about it after so it wont happen again. I had one four months after I gave up last year. I was so disappointed with myself. ANd I never ever want to feel like that again. I think in hindsight it probably helped me long term because I realised that life is definitely much much better waking up knowing you didn't smoke the day before. I was also too ashamed to admit it on boards until weeks later!! :o So fair play to you for fessing up!!!:D:D:D

Delighted to see everybody else pulling through and really beginning to feel the advantages of the last few hard weeks.

You are all brilliant and I love coming on here and seeing how well you are all doing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Hey Stella - keep at it ...... as others said its only a blip - think of it like that and start again.

I ventured out this weekend but wouldnt let my guard down so didn't drink and didn't succumb to the nasty stuff either...........feeling really chuffed with myself but my real test will be when I have alcohol on board and I won't get too smug until then.

Eventhough its day 14 for me I still have that smokers taste in my mouth in the morning - how long does this last or have others any update on this. On the positive side however my "acne" type skin is much much clearer so I am thinking that I will have to keep reminding myself of this when I feel weak / tempted.

Whatever it takes I say !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭clikityclak

Ok sooo, I posted here on Saturday saying I was gonna struggle to go out and not smoke.

So I was out Sat night and great night, no smoking. Until 2.30 where I caved with the other 'recently quit smoker' who was out. So I smoked one cigarette, didn't even enjoy it.

But I am not taking it as a 'fail', I'm off them since and not going to cave again. I regretted the action so much and felt so foolish, which has put things in perspective. It was a blip, and that's what I'm treating it as!!

All good :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Well, I've made it to the one week landmark!

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Well, I've made it to the one week landmark!

Keep going, Sard, and keep saying ''I have too much to lose now'' when ever temptation strikes , that what kept me going,plus the thought of the wide screen TV I was going to buy when I got to 3 months on the savings.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Shinshin14

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Aw Stella, Don't be so fecking hard on yourself... Just dust your self down and keep going, it's a stumble not a fall! You can keep going. Honest you can:)

Thats the spirit clikity , Ok youv'e stumbled , admitted it and picked yourself up and are ready for road again.
    I've had many a stumble in previous attempst and sometimes didn't admit it openly hoping it would make things better - but it never did.

Off them since the new year now and so far so good.

Don't put yourself under too much pressure if the pub environment is a trigger for you. Of course thats a personal decison for you. The pub will always be there . I always found it difficult during previous attempts .

I only drink now and again and when I do its normally not in a pub. For me the pub does not have the buzz anymore. I still socialise with drinkers but not in a pub environment normally in houses, at parties, or out for a meal. Was out this weekend at a session in a house and didn't
    feel the urge to smoke -in a pub I could be tempted.

So your back on track , you know how you felt after your blip and are determined not to repeat the experience. Very positive attidude on your part. Keep it up and by tomorrow it will be behind you.

Take care and good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭SnoozyS

Hey Stella,

As the others have said don't let this 1 blip set you back smoking.....instead learn from it and use it to spur you on even further :) It was you yesterday but could easily be any of us next weekend.

Chin up and know that we're all backing ye. I know I definately find the support on here brilliant in times of cravings/need.

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 RRaff

Smoking for 16years ish and off them now 5 days with no problems whatsoever! God bless the e-cig! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

RRaff wrote: »
    Smoking for 16years ish and off them now 5 days with no problems whatsoever! God bless the e-cig! :)

Really encouraged to hear that! I started with the e-cig today. I did smoke a couple of the "evils" but am hoping to wean them out.
    Can I ask which e-cig you are using, what fluid you are using and what strength it is? And did you just drop the fags and switch over completely to the e-cig?
    Looking forward to hearing from you:)

Well done on having the courage to admit the blip. It shows your strength of charecter and your determination to quit.

You are not letting anyone down - anyone of us can sllp and we will need a helping hand to get up. I've slipped up many a time in the past but never got up on my feet as fast as you!

I'm off them since the new year 17 days so far and if I can do it so can you . I'm smoking 35 years day in excess of 20 a day.

You've stayed of them for a week - so you can do it for a day.

If you find that the pub is trigger for you maybe its best to avoid it for a while until you get back on track - but thats your decision as you know your strengths and weaknesses better than me. I ' m outside my comfort zone when I'm off fags . However as I no longer find the buzz there even when I smoked , I tend to socialise in houses or at parties , or for a very short period in a pub.

Last weekend I was in the company of friends who were drinking and we had a bit of a bash in a house. I wasn't tempted- its the power of association I have with pubs and smoking - I don't find that in houses . It doesn't make a difference whether I drink or not I have often chained smoked in the pub when I wasn't drinking..

So you are up on yur feet and raring to go - Yu will be glad in a weeks time that you did. Keep posting and reading the posts I find it a great help . I also find the videos on quit smoking .com excellent to motivate me and to keep me on track.

Take care and good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 RRaff

Shazanne wrote: »
    Really encouraged to hear that! I started with the e-cig today. I did smoke a couple of the "evils" but am hoping to wean them out.
    Can I ask which e-cig you are using, what fluid you are using and what strength it is? And did you just drop the fags and switch over completely to the e-cig?
    Looking forward to hearing from you:)

Hey Shazanne, I got the Joye Ego from thevapourstore.ie and I find it fantastic! I'm not going to lie I did smoke a couple on the Thursday while I got the e-cig up and running properly! I wouldn't worry to much at the start about smoking normal cigs cos from what I've read most people do and just faze them out. Whatever works best for you. I tried almost everything to stop before and the longest I ever went was 3 days so I'm already convinced they will work. I have a few different liquids all 18ml - Halo Torque 56, Halo Freedom, Marlboro Light and a mint one but so far the Torque 56 is my fav. It reminds me of the Scotts Clan sweets! Which one did u get? There is a really big thread
    about these on boards, just search for e-cig and it has loads of info!
    Best of luck with it.

molly77 wrote: »
    Hi all
    Day 16

Molly

I'm off them 17 days as well and I had a good weekend. Feel I'm getting more determined by the day but not getting too cocky.

Must say I found the quit smoking .com website excellent - especially t

the videos . I could really see triggers that I hadn't identified with before and learned coping mechanisms to deal with them .

Went for a three mile walk twice over the weekend and did a bit of swimming. Not allowed go back jogging for another week,

Feel much better and mood has improved. Working more efficiently both both at home and in the office as I am more organised and happier in my skin.

Glad to know everyone is getting on well keep going and well done .

This board is so good for me as a motivator
    Take care

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

RRaff wrote: »
    Hey Shazanne, I got the Joye Ego from thevapourstore.ie and I find it fantastic! I'm not going to lie I did smoke a couple on the Thursday while I got the e-cig up and running properly! I wouldn't worry to much at the start about smoking normal cigs cos from what I've read most people do and just faze them out. Whatever works best for you. I tried almost everything to stop before and the longest I ever went was 3 days so I'm already convinced they will work. I have a few different liquids all 18ml - Halo Torque 56, Halo Freedom, Marlboro Light and a mint one but so far the Torque 56 is my fav. It reminds me of the Scotts Clan sweets! Which one did u get? There is a really big thread
    about these on boards, just search for e-cig and it has loads of info!
    Best of luck with it.

Hi RRaff! Thanks so much for the swift reply:) I got the E-Go from the vapourstore as well. I am currently using a tobacco flavoured liquid that I bought in one of the Londis stores - it's 12mg strength and I am not overly keen but it's not too bad. Might be a bit strong for me as I smoke Silk Cut Blue, so am going to move down to 6mg tomorrow. I ordered some Halo Freedom tonight as well and was advised to try RY4 but its out of stock! I am following the other thread as well and I hope the guys on here wont mind us having this conversation but I need all the advice and support I can get at the moment and I find the other site far to technical and advanced for me at this stage:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 stella09

Im baaaack!! :D I think yesterday could have been my worser worst worstest day EVER....:mad::eek: but i have just read through all the comments and posts form all of yous and thanks soooo much!
    I was doubting myself all day yesterday and kept fighting myself from going into shop with my 8.55..
    Today is a brand new day and this boards is really really helpin!!:cool:

keep it up everyone! ye are doing GREAT!!! :D:D:D

Im baaaack!! :D I think yesterday could have been my worser worst worstest day EVER....:mad::eek: but i have just read through all the comments and posts form all of yous and thanks soooo much!
    I was doubting myself all day yesterday and kept fighting myself from going into shop with my 8.55..
    Today is a brand new day and this boards is really really helpin!!:cool:

keep it up everyone! ye are doing GREAT!!! :D:D:D

Keep Going Stella, The future is bright ! (lovely clean teeth:))

Shinshin14 wrote: »
    Molly

I'm off them 17 days as well and I had a good weekend. Feel I'm getting more determined by the day but not getting too cocky.

Must say I found the quit smoking .com website excellent - especially t

the videos . I could really see triggers that I hadn't identified with before and learned coping mechanisms to deal with them .

Went for a three mile walk twice over the weekend and did a bit of swimming. Not allowed go back jogging for another week,

Feel much better and mood has improved. Working more efficiently both both at home and in the office as I am more organised and happier in my skin.

Glad to know everyone is getting on well keep going and well done .

This board is so good for me as a motivator

Take care

Thanks Shinshin Ur doing great:)