Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is making porn in Ireland legal?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Surely Irish porn would be for comedy purposes only?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

There is nothing criminal about sexual intercourse between two consenting adults being filmed. However, a public viewing of such a film may be deemed obscene, and the rental or purchase of same may be an offence pursuant to the Video Recordings Act 1989, as amended.

Supplying an uncertified video (in the sense that is it uncertified by the Censor) is usually an offence, but the authorities seem to turn a blind eye to this activity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

I knew a chap years ago who ran a number of porn sites. Most involved buying material from porn wholesalers ('w' optional, I suppose), but one he produced 'original content' with two eastern European girls. I don't think he was too bothered about the legality of his venture, and less bothered about declaring income from it.

So it does occur, although Ireland being a culturally Anglo-Saxon country (in the same sense as the US or Australia are), it is likely taboo and largely underground - for it's size, for example, the UK has a tiny porn industry.

I suspect conorh91's is the most accurate answer here so far. There's nothing illegal in recording a sexual act, only in where the resulting recording is shown and the question of whether a pornographer paying people to have sex could be in breach of Ireland's antiquated prostitution laws. Additionally, a 45 year old in a school uniform having sex may also fall into the category of child pornography as my understanding is that this is defined not by the age of the person being recorded but how they are made to appear.

Very grey area, I suspect, with a lot of blind eyes being turned because no one wants to have to tackle getting an answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,196 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I knew a chap years ago who ran a number of porn sites. Most involved buying material from porn wholesalers ('w' optional, I suppose), but one he produced 'original content' with two eastern European girls. I don't think he was too bothered about the legality of his venture, and less bothered about declaring income from it.

So it does occur, although Ireland being a culturally Anglo-Saxon country (in the same sense as the US or Australia are), it is likely taboo and largely underground - for it's size, for example, the UK has a tiny porn industry.

I suspect conorh91's is the most accurate answer here so far. There's nothing illegal in recording a sexual act, only in where the resulting recording is shown and the question of whether a pornographer paying people to have sex could be in breach of Ireland's antiquated prostitution laws. Additionally, a 45 year old in a school uniform having sex may also fall into the category of child pornography as my understanding is that this is defined not by the age of the person being recorded but how they are made to appear.

Very grey area, I suspect, with a lot of blind eyes being turned because no one wants to have to tackle getting an answer.

Did he post up a podcast of this experience a few years ago by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I wonder if there's any money to be made?
    I read a guardian article about feminist porn. It actually had a load of information about the industry and it's marketing/distribution. Since porn "tube" type sites have been created most mainstream creators aren't actually making that much money. Most "consumers" are going to free sites like those rather than buying or subscribing to original content.
    The only people really making money are niche manufacturers. People who make feminist porn, fetish stuff etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

That wasn't a banana dougal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

ComfortKid wrote: »

I just wonder how anyone knows. Any porn I've watched has very little dialogue. I've never missed it :)

Blonde one turns around and says " Lookat just bang away boy. Ah you're grand so."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Grayson wrote: »
    I wonder if there's any money to be made?
    I read a guardian article about feminist porn. It actually had a load of information about the industry and it's marketing/distribution. Since porn "tube" type sites have been created most mainstream creators aren't actually making that much money. Most "consumers" are going to free sites like those rather than buying or subscribing to original content.
    The only people really making money are niche manufacturers. People who make feminist porn, fetish stuff etc..

Not here, the markets is too small, the climate is lousy. I dunno how many country mansions there are that can be let out for this sort of thing (its a handy earner in certain places). Maybe a particular niche like Ginger Traveller Porn...? A Fistful of Fifties

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Lepreporn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Saw an Irish porno once.

Auld fella and some brazen young hussey.

They went for the rural setting, he seduced her in a hay barn, classic porn setting.

Pure filth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

"F*cked in Ireland" had a leprechaun on the cover...t'was filmed in Donegal or another border County...t'was ****e.

Not here, the markets is too small, the climate is lousy. I dunno how many country mansions there are that can be let out for this sort of thing (its a handy earner in certain places). Maybe a particular niche like Ginger Traveller Porn...? A Fistful of Fifties

I actually wrote a 5000 word paper on innovation and marketing in porn. Porn's responsible for so much stuff. The first webcam software was for porn. The first online checkout was for porn. In the 80's it was one of the major deciders in the VHS Vs Betamax wars. Sony even partnered with porn manufacturers in Japan to boot the sales of 3D TV.
    And if anyone wants a laugh, look up seniors being shown porn on an occulus rift. If there's a way to make money from something the porn industry generally figures out a way :)
    I think there's probably a way to monetise it in Ireland but it's probably too much effort and not worth the payout.

Wide Load wrote: »
    Loads of amateur stuff on the web if you're looking. Some rough looking youngones out there mind.

were is this gold you speak of????

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

"F*cked in Ireland" had a leprechaun on the cover...t'was filmed in Donegal or another border County...t'was ****e.

Real typical "orish" crap with a blonde with heavy accent introducing it stating how she always wanted to be a porn star while sitting on an Irish flag.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

In fairness, excluding the decent looking brass from the UK, any Irish jazz had some gamey mots in it.

The Tallaght girl in the main Irish porno was riding a lad that had a head like a melted welly.

Eutow wrote: »
    Real typical "orish" crap with a blonde with heavy accent introducing it stating how she always wanted to be a porn star while sitting on an Irish flag.

Another wee mot from Clondalkin/Tallaght done a porno when she was Australia. Some Aussie lad and herself where brought up to the back of beyond. They rode the arse of eaxh other. Now she's home shes claiming exploitation.

She rode the f*ck outta him. Fair play to her. I ended up in The Laurels on Christmas eve and bought her a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

MrVestek wrote: »
    Did he post up a podcast of this experience a few years ago by any chance?
    Entirely possible, as it sounds like something he'd do. If he did, I'd be curious to hear it.
    Grayson wrote: »
    I actually wrote a 5000 word paper on innovation and marketing in porn. Porn's responsible for so much stuff. The first webcam software was for porn. The first online checkout was for porn. In the 80's it was one of the major deciders in the VHS Vs Betamax wars. Sony even partnered with porn manufacturers in Japan to boot the sales of 3D TV.
    We literally used to reverse engineer porn user tracking logic, back around 1998, to develop commercial CBR solutions.

Nowadays, they're no longer on the cutting edge (of apps) unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭syklops

There is a club in Prague where you pay an admission fee of xxx Czech krona, sign a waiver and go into a lounge area for a drink or two. In there, girls will come over for a chat. If you hit it off, you go into the back where your exploits are broadcast via the internet.

Would you do it, lads?

It was called Big Brother. Shut down a few years ago.

syklops wrote: »
    It was called Big Brother. Shut down a few years ago.

Big Sister.

I was thinking of this thread and started laughing to myself.

Can you imagine porn in an Irish accent. Especially something like a cork accent

"Give it to me boi" :)

Ride me sideways was another one

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Get your bollocks out of my face

If I was involved;

"Take my chocolate you Irish bastard."

That's not nice.

"Give me your Irish cock."

Ehhh, ok.

"Spunk on me, you Irish ****."

But, but.....then I'll never see you the same again.

F*ck it. I'm honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

'Go minic, go tapaidh.'

'Go minic, go tapaidh'

• Registered Users Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

The UK has a fairly sizable adult film industry, what about Ireland, loads of other stuff gets filmed here.

Isnt there some heavy regulation on the way for the UK porn industry? They were trying to ban certain acts or something.

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Isnt there some heavy regulation on the way for the UK porn industry? They were trying to ban certain acts or something.

The Conservative party have plans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Wide Load

Potatoeman wrote: »

Facesitting, fisting, spanking & squirting.

Travesty :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Two Girls One Cupàn Tae.

beirt chailíní, cupán tae amháin :cool:

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

The UK has a fairly sizable adult film industry, what about Ireland, loads of other stuff gets filmed here.

Google Tanya Tate sex tour of Ireland

Egginacup wrote: »
    Google Tanya Tate sex tour of Ireland

Would you get up on her?