Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's Who.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

welcome to the woodwork fourm. Your the first female on here as far as I am aware. I have never worked with a female carpenter (thought I wouldn't mind)!!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

Hi turnertina, and welcome,

Carver, woodturner and chippy...oh and not to forget mum, I,m impressed.
    Offaly as well, where abouts do you get your bog oak. I get some of mine from woodfield bog in Clara.

kadman

• Registered Users Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭galwaydude18

Hey Kadman do you have to pay to take bog oak from the bog? Just wondering as I'm thinking about making fireplace from some..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 turnertina

Thanks for the welcome guys.
    I get my bog oak from where-ever I can. I am lucky enough to have contacts in Kildare, Offaly and Tipperary. The advantage I have, is that a little flutter of the eyelashes goes a long way!!
    When I am given wood I usually make something small for the giver as a thank you, I tell them that they possess a piece that will someday be worth a fortune when I get "discovered".

I cant imagine that me fluttering my eyelashes will get me anything more than funny looks, or maybe hit with a lump of bog oak:p

There is plenty of it around, but I find it very hard to get a decent hard jet black piece though, but I do have a few small pieces that are decent enough. Bog yew and deal are not too bad for carving, but its very hard to beat bog oak.

Galway dude, I imagine it would be tricky enough to get pieces large enough for a fireplace, but I'll ask around.

kadman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭carpainter

Welcome turnertina, I'm a bit of a book junkie myself, can you recommend any good woodwork titles you've read? I'm in the middle of a book by James Krenov myself and I've another book on order by Garrett Hack.
    Regards

Carpainter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 turnertina

Hi Carpainter,
    I have started a new thread about books, just trying to keep the threads relevant to their title!
    Regards
    Jac

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

HI I work in the Forestry business in Australia, I manage the Brisbane side of the operation, Sales, Design, a bit of machine work ( resawing and thicknessing) I also have a multirip and a Kiln here on site, but most of the proper stuff is at the mill over the border, I get down there once or twice a month to do a bit of loggin.

ye can keep yer Lathes and spokeshaves etc, my favourite woodworkin tools are chainsaws and skidders.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭S.L.F

Hi all, I'm John I'm 44, I'm a professional cabinet maker who installs, restores and repairs old sash windows, properly unlike some of my competitors.

This work to me is not a hobby it is my life (ie when my wife and son let it be:))

In my time I've made kitchens, beds, wardrobes, bookcases, stairs, chairs etc etc......and etc

I've worked on sites putting in studding and 2nd fix.

I've also done a lot of restoration work to furniture, doors, shutters and suchlike.

There has never been a job I couldn't do, my motto is...there's always a way

I also have an extensive knowledge of paint stripping as I worked in a paint stripping company on and off for 10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭bigstar

hello all you woodworkers, i am a recently returned to college student after about 8 years in the building game. i started out labouring for my father the plasterer (the things he does to wood almost makes me cry). anyway ive been doing pretty everything you can on a site carpentry, brick laying, roofing, plastering some plumbing and electrics etc. but i mostly do the carpentryend of things and prefer it too. ive done a lot of 1st fixing 2nd fixing, and in the last year or so trying more joinery work, and in my free time furniture and things. love to work with wood cutting, planing, gluing pieces up the only thing i cant really hack is the painting/staining end. i kinda regret not getting a trade when i could have, but i think i ahve a fairly decent knowledge of carpentry, but i imagine ill be here alot to ask advice too, so thats me in a rambling sort of way. thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭aerosol

Hi all,Rossco here.I'm a hobby woodworker,tiler by trade but much prefer working with wood.Built a workshop in the garden and still trying to fill it with tools:rolleyes:
    My biggest tool is a shopsmith 510 with bandsaw attatchment. I've numerous routers,table disc and belt sander,scrollsaw,bobbin sander,loads of cordless stuff.I'd say the router would be my favorite power tool.A couple of my dad's chisels would be fav hand tool.

Looking for a good thickneser planer now if anyone could recommend one.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭cork1

well im pretty knewto this forum aswell. ive always loved woodwork. my father is a carpenter and joiner so i grew up in his workshop helping out wherever i could. made a little cabinet for my junior cert woodwork exam and know im going into the 3rd year of my caroentry apprenticeship.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭ennisa

Hello, Looks like this is the place to introduce myself.
    My name is Alan, I'm from and live in North Dublin. I've always had an interest in woodwork but until recently had no space to exercise that interest. About a year ago myself and my girlfriend bought a house and by god there was a garage. We had a big driveway so decided not to put the cars in the garage and now it's my workshop.
    I built a bench (http://www.plansnow.com/wwrkbnch.html) and added a leg vice ( ala Chris Schwarz ) and then got a table saw (McQuillans), drill press ( aldi :) ) router table ( aldi :) ) and I am about to buy a fox 8" jointer planar thicknesser. I get my hardwoods from brooks up in balbriggan

I enjoy using hand tools, I get most of mine from http://www.dick.biz and will prefer to use them where I can, squaring and thicknessing 6"x1"x8' red oak by hand though is an eye opener to the amount of work that was invested in the days before power tools. But I will usually try the hand tool method before resorting to power tools. I just find it quieter, nicer, safer, cleaner and gives me a better feeling over all. I am not a hand tool nazi though. I think there is a place for power and hand tools in any shop and the right tool for the job is more my direction rather than just hand tools or nothing. I use sketchup alot for planning projects and i reckon that I would be wasting a whole lot more wood if I didn't have that little gem.

There is no one thing that I enjoy making, I have only been at this for a year and as it is a weekend hobby there are only so many hours in the week that I can dedicate to it. So I have been just going through some simple projects, small boxes, sofa ends, book case, coffee table, workshop furniture. I have been noticing recently though that I have been more and more anxious for my worday to end so that i can get home to the workshop :D

I read alot online, blogs and articles and I'm enjoying this forum. There is not alot of info about woodwork in ireland and specifically about sourcing tools and materials. I am sure it is all here in the country, There is a lot of forresttry that I am sure we could get our hands on but most of the providers seem to be focused on the building trade and usually stock nothing more exciting than MDF/Plywood or 2x4's Where does all that irish oak etc... go?

Thanks for the forum and all the help with the questions I have already posted and I look forward to getting to know all of you better and if there is ever anything you think I could help you with then don't hesitate to send me a message.

Take care.

--
    Alan
    Ireland/Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭boatbuilder

My names David, from Co. Monaghan.

I'm a woodwork teacher in a youth training centre.

In the past I've built a wooden hovercraft and a speedboat.
    I'm also into radio controlled model planes, I'm currently repairing a kadet senior.
    I also have a classic car that I use as a daily driver and I maintain and service it myself...its a 72 VW karmann ghia.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 fussymoll

Hi SLF, are you still enthusiastic about wood work? I have just started a Home Maintenance course and the bit of wood work we have covered so far is very rewarding. I am a disgruntled customer of a so-called professional carpenter that did some work in my home much to my dissatisfaction. I mean everything that could go wrong went wrong including surfaces that are not level. Hence the course!!! Where can I find your details for a quote?

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭S.L.F

fussymoll wrote: »
    Hi SLF, are you still enthusiastic about wood work? I have just started a Home Maintenance course and the bit of wood work we have covered so far is very rewarding. I am a disgruntled customer of a so-called professional carpenter that did some work in my home much to my dissatisfaction. I mean everything that could go wrong went wrong including surfaces that are not level. Hence the course!!! Where can I find your details for a quote?

95% of my work is the restoration of old windows and 5% is putting new double glazed units in.

Send me a private message (PM) with your details and I will (if I have a chance to) take a look at it and recommend someone to you.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Will, hobby woodturner of about a week. Got a lathe last week and am loving it. Just getting to grips with it all at the moment but really enjoying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 chippytom

I'm Tom, fourth year apprentice carpenter. First 3 years was mostly involved in roofing with the last while basically doing anything carpentry related. Have been a hobby woodworker for a lot longer and have set myself up a decent workshop. I would like to start wood turning and would like to know what I would need for a good starting set up.

chippytom wrote: »
    I'm Tom, fourth year apprentice carpenter. First 3 years was mostly involved in roofing with the last while basically doing anything carpentry related. Have been a hobby woodworker for a lot longer and have set myself up a decent workshop. I would like to start wood turning and would like to know what I would need for a good starting set up.

Hi chippytom, welcome

Post up a thread on the forum about your woodturniung needs for your workshop, you,ll get more response on a new thread I,d expect.

Outline your woodturning needs. Is it mainly for spindle turning between centres, say table legs ect. Or is it bowl turning, or a bit of both.

kadman

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Hi
    I work as a carpenter..Spent 15 years working in a shopfitting workshop...spent a year working in australia making furniture for a furniture designer (best job ever)
    Start working for myself 3 years ago..going ok..could be better.
    Still love making things...At my happiest working away at a new project for self...

• Registered Users Posts: 24 inchbyinch

Hi All,

Complete novice here. I'm an electrical/project engineer and I love working with my hands. have started making simple shelves with some basic joints. Addicted already and will be here for a while. Will probably ask some stupid questions but just bare with me.

Ed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 McQuillanStairs

Hi All,

new to the forum, we are a specialist staircases manufacturer with over 20 years experience based in Co. Monaghan.

Admin - no advertising please. Especially with your first post. Url removed.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 NerdyNed

Hello All,
    I thought I'd declare my interest here.

My interest would be in carving, turning, furniture making. Small scale hand made projects.

I have to admit that I have not been doing much in this line of work in years due to the lack of a shed/workshop. I hope to get back into it once I get a place of my own.

What really got me into it was a fine furniture/ cabinet making course I attended in a place called Gortahork (Donegal) in the mid 90s (city & guilds cert + NCVA level so I'm just an amateur). Maybe some members here attended the course?

Regards,
    N

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭kev91

howya doin folks

im kevin i do all types of woodwork spent a year in b.i.f.e and enjpyed every minute of it and build a small workshop (shed) out me back garden and am currently trying to sell some of my pieces

im also tryn to start up my own buisness at the moment but the way the banks and alll are i cant get funding for it so im just working out of me little workshop (shed)

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001060165755&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=116612141689229

thats a link to some of the stuff i make

hope yous like it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

kev91 wrote: »

im also tryn to start up my own buisness at the moment but the way the banks and alll are i cant get funding for it so im just working out of me little workshop (shed)

Me and all Kev, at this stage its more about getting a name for yourself, getting recognition and attending and exhibiting in as many design/craft shows as you can. Cold calling, chancing your neck, harrasing, flyers, developing your own unique style, something a little different to the rest that you know there'll be a market for. Then, maybe.......just maybe the bank 'might' talk to you, its a tough ol' business indeed!

Have you been in touch with the Crafts Council?

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭kev91

Have you been in touch with the Crafts Council?

never heard of it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

kev91 wrote: »
    never heard of it

Look them up! They're the voice of craft workers of all disiplines in Ireland. They provide a free basic web page to talk about yourself, display some images and your details. They also run course (setting up your own business, craft workshops, seminars, crafts shows, competitions etc etc). Well worth looking up/contacting!

http://www.ccoi.ie/

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,317 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Hi all I am kind of new to woodworking but have always loved wooden boats so I started to build them "too much plastic in the world" my first boat was called a Malahini and this is the build,
    008.jpghttp://s753.photobucket.com/albums/xx179/fergalbutler/
    The boat I am building at the moment is a 1954 powerboat with a 5.7 v8 it will all be finished in mahogany top and sides.
    http://s753.photobucket.com/albums/xx179/fergalbutler/crackerbox/

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭boatbuilder

Nice!

Looks like I'm not the only person in Ireland to build a Glen-L boat.
    I built a Squirt a few years back. Unfortunately had to sell it last year due to recession! Photos below.

http://one.xthost.info/boatbuilder/boat/

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,317 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Hi boatbuilder,I remember seeing her up for sale and for a good price,will you go again.
    I hope to sell the crackerbox when she is done and know I will never get out what I put in, but I am learning something new everyday and it keeps me out of the pub.:)