Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Trucking general chat - was Forum/Sub-forum proposal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Trust me I’d of had no problem doing it. Dunno if it’s just me or what lately but there is more and more car drivers getting aggressive and dangerous lately around lorries.

Yeah I’m seeing a massive spike in aggression lately or bullying,the N20 to Patrickswell from Cork city is my biggest problem with people doing all they can to get by and chopping in front of me if other vehicles are coming against them.

If they were in our shoes for a day they’d have a seriously different attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Trust me I’d of had no problem doing it. Dunno if it’s just me or what lately but there is more and more car drivers getting aggressive and dangerous lately around lorries.

Surely the last vehicle on the road you get aggressive and dangerous around is a truck

It really annoys me that the jobs that actually matter and are very stressful are poorly paid

Fully support the sub forum

Are many lads still doing continental work or is the money gone out of that as well?

You’re right!

Major responsibility being a professional driver, be it a truck full of chemicals or a bus full of passengers, The money doesn’t match the responsibility.

Still plenty of drivers going out on the continent, that’s mostly where the big money is nowadays.

Some guys who are home every night earn about €6/700 after tax but they put in the hours for it.

Surely the last vehicle on the road you get aggressive and dangerous around is a truck

Before I ever drove trucks, I always had a saying, don’t fcuk with the truck.

There always looking with adds on donedeal.
    Lidl work is also horrible work. It was my first job.

Working in Lidl itself?

They offered me €11.50 an hour one year to come off the road, at the time that was more than I was getting for driving, the thoughts of being in a store all day didn’t appeal to me, had that in Dunnes.

The one job you don’t see advertised as often is one for drivers of petrol tankers, €19+ is the figure going around.

They did 3 or 4 of them. Horrible horrible trucks dafs are

I like the power in the CF, that aside they have nothing going for them.

My most recent CF was a rigid, she had 700,000kms on her and was only used for 2 hours a day towards the end of its life in regular service, it now serves as a spare. She was a 07.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭audiavantawx

I'll have to shop around so for cheaper quotes for the ADR.

Did your quote include the exam fee?

the 2 courses are over 5 days from what i remember, tankers 2 days,packages 3 days.

Multi drop is a curse, i did it for 5 years, i swore never again would i do it unless the money was something else which it won't be anytime soon :rolleyes:

I'm doing nationwide, it's grand and handy,if i'm going up East i bounce up the road and collect a trailer in Dublin to collect my load, then straight back to the depot.

If i'm going West i go up with the full unit collect and back down again, in both cases i just drop the trailer and go home.

The waiting before Christmas the biggest killer for me though, i was waiting 9 hours to be loaded as someone didn't do their paperwork properly and check me in, so it was hectic to get all of that sorted.

That day was a 15 hour shift when i thought it was going to be 8/9 which it usually is.

The doherty hours/money are that bit better than what i am on currently though, the main difference between what they do and what i do is they have to load the truck themselves,i don't.

I don't even have to actually get out of the cab unless i'm dropping/picking trailers or going home.

I'd rather do the extra bit of work though for the extra few bob and start/finish at respectable times.

Doherty's can start at about 4 in the morning and finish around 3/4/ that day, you'd still have some bit of time with the family, which at the moment is manageable but difficult.

Didnt get a quote i am just working of memory with 300
    Will see what the story is when it comes up if i am going to renew it

It is a curse ye and the traffic around the capital is a nightmare at the best of times and then you know the usual,always someone who doesn t want to play ball and get you tipped or is just taking the lunch break

Sounds handy enough alryt wouldnt mind something the likes of that myself,set run like i said would be the ideal,same thing day in day out or swap around between diferent run,ah i will keep an ear out for something that suits.

Dont mind the 12 to 15 hour shifts myself once i am getting payed by the hour,wouldnt do a day rate,you just get shafted.

Noticed the aggressive driving and no patience for lorries alot myself
    I think most lads who drive or have drove them always will help a fellow driver out
    Especially when your stuck on the limiter a few clicks more than the boy in front and cant get out
    Junctions/Motorways/Sideroads you know the usual spots,always give a flash of lights and hold the traffic off,i know how much i appriciate it myself

• Registered Users Posts: 20,032 ✭✭✭✭neris

Working in Lidl itself?

They offered me €11.50 an hour one year to come off the road, at the time that was more than I was getting for driving, the thoughts of being in a store all day didn’t appeal to me, had that in Dunnes.

The one job you don’t see advertised as often is one for drivers of petrol tankers, €19+ is the figure going around.

very few companies doing it and its probably one of the most specialised areas in driving so the lads who do it stick with it. Also Reynolds lost the Topaz contracts that went to Stobart and Id say they tried to get their Tesco drivers onto the tankers to avoid redundancy payments.

Are there any lads doing decent videos on youtube anymore? I use to follow few guys doing good vids but they all seem to have stopped posting anything

Didnt get a quote i am just working of memory with 300
    Will see what the story is when it comes up if i am going to renew it

It is a curse ye and the traffic around the capital is a nightmare at the best of times and then you know the usual,always someone who doesn t want to play ball and get you tipped or is just taking the lunch break

Sounds handy enough alryt wouldnt mind something the likes of that myself,set run like i said would be the ideal,same thing day in day out or swap around between diferent run,ah i will keep an ear out for something that suits.

Dont mind the 12 to 15 hour shifts myself once i am getting payed by the hour,wouldnt do a day rate,you just get shafted.

300 is very respectable to be fair for the refresher.

I have my quote here in front of me, it states as follows:

Initial Basic Core & Package €400
    Initial Basic Core & Package & Tanker specialisation €600
    Initial Basic Tanker specialisation €200

2 separate exam fees,

Packages €125
    Tankers & packages €200

Deposit of €300 required.

Took me 90 minutes in November to get from Blanchardstown to Newlands Cross, The M50 was a car park, Dublin traffic is without doubt the worst in the country and that's not even in the city centre.

It is handy, i'm on a daily rate though which is the biggest killer.

An hourly rate is hard to come by.

If i was paid by the hour i'd be loaded :pac:

Noticed the aggressive driving and no patience for lorries alot myself
    I think most lads who drive or have drove them always will help a fellow driver out
    Especially when your stuck on the limiter a few clicks more than the boy in front and cant get out
    Junctions/Motorways/Sideroads you know the usual spots,always give a flash of lights and hold the traffic off,i know how much i appriciate it myself

The majority of the impatient drivers thing that trucks can take off at and do similar speeds to cars, not knowing they are limited.

I had a conversation with an oul fella one day in the truck stop in Fermoy, twas hilarious.

He said 'why do you lads go so slow when you can do the likes of 120 on the motorway'

Very innocent question from a man who admitted he had no knowledge of it whatsoever, when i told him they were all(or at least should be) restricted he laughed saying 'i don't know how you do it'

As mentioned in my last post, the 90 minutes getting through Dublin traffic was the worst i have seen so far, people were pulling out and back in from all angles to get in front of trucks, these people need serious education lessons.

Some of them would brake test you as well however looking for a quick buck.

A day in the life of a trucker, compliments of DG McArdle

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbfcSPDU64o

An old video on the story of Eddie Stobart.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_p5LbXY02I

Some lovely machinery there :D

Ned used to put out good videos of his trips out but hes not doing continental stuff anymore
    A day in the life of a trucker, compliments of DG McArdle

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbfcSPDU64o

neris wrote: »
    Ned used to put out good videos of his trips out but hes not doing continental stuff anymore

It gives a good insight to aspiring truckers.

I’m sitting here now waiting to be loaded for the return journey.

Any Cork based lads looking in, JD Recovery are looking for operators.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Rave.ef

That's a beauty. Can't beat the older Volvo. Wev a few early fhs as back ups with well over a million on em and they pull like a new yoke.
    Have any of ye seen o Flynns f12 around the port of cork. Some bark off it.
    All there fleet is unreal tho

Odelay wrote: »
    Didn't think brewery's ran 6x2? Thought they were all small yokes with 20 or 30 foot trailers?
    The odd full length trailer wasn't uncommon, but what you describe was more common,especially in 1995.
    Rave.ef wrote: »
    That's a beauty. Can't beat the older Volvo. Wev a few early fhs as back ups with well over a million on em and they pull like a new yoke.
    Have any of ye seen o Flynns f12 around the port of cork. Some bark off it.
    All there fleet is unreal tho

She's a great looking truck, i'll have to look out for a few Hino's and ERF's as well.

The O'Flynn's one i haven't seen.

The older trucks are far better sounding without doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭maxflinn

Hi folks, I recently passed my class C test and got my CPC on the same day. I have the license and tacho card and am just waiting on the CPC card to arrive and I'll be banging down the doors of hauliers etc looking for work!

I'm hoping the money has improved a bit since 2013 - 2016 when many 'depressing' posts were made on another thread on this site discussing truckers wages, given the apparent (?) shortage of drivers.

I'm hoping too that zero experience won't be a major problem!

Can anyone comment on the wages - are they now better? And potential lack of experience situation in today's market?

I'm based in Waterford.

Thanks in advance.

A few foreigners Ive spotted on the roads over a while

Lithuanian heading for Dublin port last night
    20180117_202842.jpg

Hungarian having a cuppa before Xmas. Nice new XF cab on it
    20171110.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Rave.ef

maxflinn wrote: »
    Hi folks, I recently passed my class C test and got my CPC on the same day. I have the license and tacho card and am just waiting on the CPC card to arrive and I'll be banging down the doors of hauliers etc looking for work!

I'm hoping the money has improved a bit since 2013 - 2016 when many 'depressing' posts were made on another thread on this site discussing truckers wages, given the apparent (?) shortage of drivers.

Can anyone comment on the wages - are they now better? And potential lack of experience situation in today's market?

I'm based in Waterford.

Thanks in advance.

Money's still poor enough. Not sure what it's like for a rigid because to be totally honest never drove one full time always been artic. It is tough to get a start with no experience but if I were you I'd start with store all they have a lot of warehouses in Waterford and a few rigids on the road too. What part of Waterford are you in. You could try breens I'm newross seem to have lot of rigids on the road too.

Just from personal experience and not to turn you off
    9 to 14 hour days for a rate of 100
    Minus your tax then
    And you will earn every penny of it,Most likely stressed to the eye balls
    Dont forget taking abuse all day from the public because you have no place to park
    Keep your options open for other work is my opinion

On the plus side you might get a scanny with side pipes and enough lights to be seen from the moon
    Best of luck with it

A few foreigners Ive spotted on the roads over a while

Lithuanian heading for Dublin port last night
    20180117_202842.jpg

Hungarian having a cuppa before Xmas. Nice new XF cab on it
    20171110.jpg

never drove a new XF, the newest DAF i drove was a 161 LF. it was ok, the lane sensors beeping being the most annoying bit even if i was overtaking,

I like the power of DAF's but that's about it, now if i drive the new XF that could well change, but not any time soon i reckon, my daily driver is a Scania.

Long journey from Lithuania though, but if you are single or have grown up kids it can be a nice life seeing the world a bit.

I'm based in Waterford.

Thanks in advance.
    Just from personal experience and not to turn you off
    9 to 14 hour days for a rate of 100
    Minus your tax then
    And you will earn every penny of it,Most likely stressed to the eye balls
    Dont forget taking abuse all day from the public because you have no place to park
    Keep your options open for other work is my opinion

On the plus side you might get a scanny with side pipes and enough lights to be seen from the moon
    Best of luck with it

When i started out in a rigid i was being €10 an hour with no expenses, i was doing nothing but Dunnes Stores, you had to unload the truck, break down the pallets for them to inspect it and put them where they tell you, then you must wait for a manager to check off every single item on the dockets.

Not a hope in hell would i ever get involved with a company servicing them or Musgraves/Super Valu/Centra for the same reasons.

If i were you, apply to Tesco for a job.

35 hour a week contracts being paid over €14 an hour, i left there before they changed the contracts.

If you got an artic licence give Dungarvan Transport a shout, they have a nice fleet of Merc's and are naturally Waterford Based.

Cappoquin Transport is another.

Are you based in the city?

Starting out is the biggest part though and most need you to be over 25.

I'm getting about 600 a week after tax driving an artic, i'd only leave where i am for the likes of An Post though as i have it very cushy bar the hours on occasion.

Long journey from Lithuania though, but if you are single or have grown up kids it can be a nice life seeing the world a bit.

My brother in law drives continental. Hes back and forward from Lithuania to the UK regularly on a car transporter. He was in the UK last week and got sent down to Barcelona and back to UK. The crowd he works for treat like him filth. He used to do runs for them from Holland to Moscow, 2 years ago we were over at xmas and he was only coming back into Lithuania from Moscow in the early hours of xmas day after been out for 2 weeks. He got a call from his boss on 29th asking him to take a load to moscow to be dropped by new years eve. Boss was politely told to F off and get someone else.

It's the one thing i vowed i will never do, is continental work.

Are the car transportation company Irish based?

I can think of 2 or 3 who go out foreign.

He was a slave to them effectively, he was right to tell them f. off, i would have as well.

Driving to Moscow is something else, how long would that take?

I'm based in Waterford.

Thanks in advance.

I know it's artics, but this is just an example of what O'Toole Transport want, and they have a Waterford depot.

http://otooletransport.ie/careers/