Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Farm Sayings

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭early_riser

That lad won't take a bite out of a stone he's a tidy operator

A bit of manners cost you nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭kerry cow

monkey does what monkey see's

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Attie Ross

Around our part if you took a hungry fit, I could eat a child's arse through a rope chair.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

When the only thing you have is a hammer, everything you see is a nail.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

kerry cow wrote: »
    bird in the hand is better than 2 in the bush .

realise a good deal

But the birds in the bush wont **** on your hand

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭KinnegadKid

orm0nd wrote: »
    Not a saying as such but a comment passed in my local pub.. This guy had returned from the Gulf after spending a good few years there working in construction in the oil Wells.

An argument arose between himself and a young lad about welding or something in that line

Any how the older lad quipped :
    ffs will you f.o. and don't annoying me, I was building Baghdad when you were still in your father's bag.

'I was building Baghdad when you were in your dads bag' :)

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭einn32

He's some sort of class of an eegit.

Ran out of F's on that.

I'm out the gap.

You don't have to be mad to work here but it helps.

I only get paid from the neck down.

he'd sell sand to an arab

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭raindodger

if he had two brains he would be twice as stupid

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭ruwithme

If saint Brigid’s day is fine and dry,saddle your horse and go and buy hay.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Darwin

"Like a cow looking into a helicopter"

When someone hasn't a bulls what they are doing / The look of bemusement on someone's face.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

a dog in a manger.
    dog wont eat the hay but will stop the rest from eating it
    someone who cant do the task but is stopping someone else doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

As mean as ditch water (mean is pronounced main around here)

The dopey fox - someone who acts like an eejit but is a cute hoor behind it all.

That lad is not firing on all cyclinders - the elevator doesn't go all the way to the top.

brick short of a load .

not sharpish tool in the box.

like father like son .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

No ones mentioned that national favorite?

Now she's sucking diesel

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭degetme

She wouldn't travel well on soft ground

She has a big set of front weights on her

• Registered Users Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Keep the machinery between the greenery

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Murang

he'd sell sand to an arab

Or sell snow to an Eskimo
    Another one for someone you trust if he swallowed a nail he would **** a corkscrew

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

My father after one of the silage crew or milk lorry knocked a gate or fence post

"He couldn't drive nails"

bring horse to water but can'nt make him drink it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

bring horse to water but can'nt make him drink it

Made famous by Dorothy Parker who was said to have used it as a definition of Horticulture ''You can take a Horticulture but you can't make her think''

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

There was an old saying about planting potatoes ones you could fire a shot through an ash tree that it wasn't in full leaf you could still plant potatoes, goes something like that I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

My father after one of the silage crew or milk lorry knocked a gate or fence post

"He couldn't drive nails"

or "couldn't drive Neddy with the velvet ears".

when livestock have a near miss ,it would be said .

"if they were any good they be dead "

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Denny61

When you walk in to someone else place and they were doing something....you'd say..god bless the work ..they reply with ....god save you !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭degetme

Where you will have livestock, there will be dead stock

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

degetme wrote: »
    Where you will have livestock, there will be dead stock

... and where you have good stock, you will have bad stock.

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

1920 - people sitting down for a meal
    "Bless us, O Lord, and these, Thy gifts, which we are about to receive.."

2020 - people about to eat
    "God those farmers are destroying the planet. That's why I'm a vegan....blah blah ...

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Cushtie

In the good old days when I was doing a bit of driving of a silage contractor, back in the day when you could be in a place for a Couple of days (or a week depending on the weather and breakdowns!! ) and you would be fed by the farmers wife.

The boss would always say after wolfing down his food "Come on fellas, tis lunch time not lunch hour"

• Registered Users Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Darwin wrote: »
    "Like a cow looking into a helicopter"

When someone hasn't a bulls what they are doing / The look of bemusement on someone's face.

"Like a donkey looking into a field of thistles."

Said of a larger lady;
    "She'd pike round bales for you."