03-11-2019, 14:19 | #136 |
![]() |
In fairness I think unless explicitly mentioning the US, everyone's talking generally about Ireland, including that poster.
|
![]() |
|
|
03-11-2019, 14:22 | #137 |
![]() |
|
![]() |
03-11-2019, 14:22 | #138 |
![]() |
Don't mind this should or shouldn't stuff. Tip or don't tip - it's up to you. Personally if something costs me €18 and I leave them keep the change out of €20 it's not going to make an impact on the service economy overall.
|
![]() |
03-11-2019, 14:31 | #139 |
![]() |
I work in retail. I work hard, do a good job and I like to think I give a good service. Im attentive and polite and try to make the customer happy. No one tips me or any of my co workers nor do we expect it. My tip is that they keep coming back and keep me in a job.
Tip if you want to tip, dont tip if you dont want to tip I personally dont tip, I give repeat custom to those that give a good service. What I hate is that people have decided that restaurants/hairdressers/taxidrivers should be tipped, that its the done thing. In restaurants I dont understand why people feel the need to tip because they cooked a good meal or they were polite when they took your order, thats their job ! And who decided that the tip should be 10-15% of the meal ? Thats insane ! You pay €30 for a bottle of wine that sells for €10.99 im my shop and you expect another €4.50 for bringing it to the table? I also dont get the big guilt trip when your out with others and they are insisting that we all leave a tip and hover over you until you cough up, they are usually the first ones to tell you that they can get the bag of sugar for 15c cheaper in another shop but have no problem forking out another €15 for a tip in a restaurant. Tip if you want to , but leave those of us that dont out of your guilt trip ! Last edited by Shelflife; 03-11-2019 at 14:47. |
![]() |
(3) thanks from: |
03-11-2019, 14:39 | #140 |
![]() |
No flagons permitted into the grounds
No hand shandies No stage diving for ‘Rage against the machine’. or Chris de burgh |
![]() |
Thanks from: |
|
|
03-11-2019, 14:43 | #141 | |
![]() |
Quote:
I never expected tips as a waitress though. In my experience, there’s no real sense of entitlement in Ireland about this, at least when I was waitressing in college. |
|
![]() |
03-11-2019, 15:29 | #142 | |
![]() |
Quote:
Tip 2 euro ten times a week and you have 10 euro. Think of what 20 euro could buy. Petrol for the week to drive to work , bag of coal to keep you warm |
|
![]() |
03-11-2019, 15:45 | #143 |
![]() |
years ago when i started out working self employment ,i use to have to price jobs so low just to get my foot in the door,i remember every tip anyone ever gave me and it was always people who didn't have much money to begin with.
those tips helped both with money and to keep pushing and working hard. Different times now and i work in a different profession know. so i always tip people who are at the bottom trying hard to succeed. |
![]() |
03-11-2019, 16:16 | #144 |
![]() |
Anyone who is in a position to tip ten times a week (if we’re just counting the few situations it happens with regularity) wouldn’t really have any money worries.
|
![]() |
(2) thanks from: |
|
|
03-11-2019, 16:19 | #145 |
![]() |
Exactly. The regularity with which I tip, averages out at I'd say once a fortnight.
|
![]() |
03-11-2019, 22:58 | #146 | |
![]() |
Quote:
Do you tip your gp, pharmacist, medical consultant, accountant, mechanic, plumber or tiler? Because, you could. If not, why not, given you tip everyone you can? |
|
![]() |
04-11-2019, 07:24 | #147 | |
![]() |
Quote:
I diy the rest of those jobs including the gp ![]() Last edited by iamtony; 04-11-2019 at 07:39. |
|
![]() |
19-11-2019, 21:20 | #148 |
![]() |
Just thinking about this thread today when getting my car's fixed. Bill was €1759.00 and I gave €1770 to the helpful mechanic and told the guy to keep the change. But that's not what I wanted to tell yis.
I had carpet fitted on the 2 sets of stairs in my house last week and I had fit wooden floor in the hall and the landing just before and I had yet to buy a divider to go between the landing and the bathroom tiles. Anyway the carpet was paid for in advance and when the lads were leaving I gave then a €20 tip as they had a difficult job because their was a stairlift on the bottom stairs. Anyway that was grand but when I went upstairs after they left they had fitted a divider between the bathroom and the landing which didn't have any carpet near it so didn't have anything to do with the job they were doing, A really nice surprise as it matched the bar at the top of the stairs and looks well now. I just think that was a great example of me being nice out of the goodness of my heart and they were being nice out of the goodness of their heart. Wouldn't the country be a better place if everyone was like this? |
![]() |
19-11-2019, 21:22 | #149 | |
Category Moderator
![]() Join Date: Oct 2003
CMod: Politics, Society & Culture, Separation and Divorce, Fitness, Personal Issues, Libertaire, ZTest, Soc Mods
|
Quote:
did you mix up the car mechanic figures |
|
![]() |