Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
23-01-2021, 14:25   #526
Nqp15hhu
Registered User
 
Nqp15hhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,458
Still think my weather station might be slightly over reading, by half a degree or more. This is a slight improvement to what it was saying previously, though I do think the sun still affects it somewhat.

But not as bad as the local station which seems to rise rapidly in any sun.

Last edited by Nqp15hhu; 23-01-2021 at 14:29.
Nqp15hhu is offline  
Advertisement
23-01-2021, 14:34   #527
dolanbaker
Moderator
 
dolanbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24,265
Maybe you should look at fitting a sunshield around the sensor, there are several examples made from white plastic plates around the internet that you can make at home.
Essentially a large hole is cut out of the centre of half a dozen plates that are then spaced about 1-2cm apart and another plate that has not had the hole cut mounted on top and the whole assembly placed over the temperature sensor so air can get to the sensor but the sunlight cannot.
dolanbaker is offline  
Thanks from:
23-01-2021, 14:49   #528
thecivvie
Registered User
 
thecivvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,672
Send a message via ICQ to thecivvie Send a message via AIM to thecivvie Send a message via MSN to thecivvie Send a message via Yahoo to thecivvie Send a message via Skype™ to thecivvie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nqp15hhu View Post
Still think my weather station might be slightly over reading, by half a degree or more. This is a slight improvement to what it was saying previously, though I do think the sun still affects it somewhat.

But not as bad as the local station which seems to rise rapidly in any sun.
I have 3 external temperature sensors outside and never do they match. Close enough, except the one on the ground which is always lower.

I made Stevenson shelters out of old marine ply and one is an instrument box from my yacht with a screen over it and lots of holes drilled
thecivvie is offline  
23-01-2021, 15:59   #529
AuntySnow
Registered User
 
AuntySnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 708
For reference, here's where my Davis vantage Pro 2 is located,in full sunshine at all times and I'd be very confident it's daytime temp in that sun is accurate, photo taken now
4.4c currently
The unit is 6 feet above the ground
The anemometer is 30ft off the ground

https://twitter.com/Arklowweather/st...251381760?s=19
AuntySnow is offline  
(3) thanks from:
29-01-2021, 08:37   #530
Nqp15hhu
Registered User
 
Nqp15hhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,458
Would an American Weatherlink Live work here?
Nqp15hhu is offline  
Advertisement
29-01-2021, 09:42   #531
AuntySnow
Registered User
 
AuntySnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nqp15hhu View Post
Would an American Weatherlink Live work here?
Yes
They're all the same,just ask Davis webchat if the radio channels are the same,I think they are
Its set up via blue tooth app so no issues there
For guarantee reasons, you really are better off getting it in the UK though

They're €236 on amazon
AuntySnow is offline  
29-01-2021, 09:50   #532
Nqp15hhu
Registered User
 
Nqp15hhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,458
No, they have different frequencies. So presumably I can't use one then?
https://www.davisinstruments.com/pro...Spec_Sheet.pdf
Nqp15hhu is offline  
29-01-2021, 09:55   #533
Tyrone212
Registered User
 
Tyrone212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuntySnow View Post
For reference, here's where my Davis vantage Pro 2 is located,in full sunshine at all times and I'd be very confident it's daytime temp in that sun is accurate, photo taken now
4.4c currently
The unit is 6 feet above the ground
The anemometer is 30ft off the ground

https://twitter.com/Arklowweather/st...251381760?s=19
Some job. What's the highest gust you've recorded?
Tyrone212 is online now  
29-01-2021, 09:57   #534
AuntySnow
Registered User
 
AuntySnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nqp15hhu View Post
No, they have different frequencies. So presumably I can't use one then?
https://www.davisinstruments.com/pro...Spec_Sheet.pdf
You are out of luck so on that
If you have a vat registered business that can buy it,that's 20% that can be claimed back assuming it's a business legitimate expense eg a farm or horticulture enterprise
AuntySnow is offline  
Advertisement
29-01-2021, 10:00   #535
AuntySnow
Registered User
 
AuntySnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone212 View Post
Some job. What's the highest gust you've recorded?
On that mast,just 111kmh ,its only up with 2 years
Storm ophelia blew down the last timber one,it was gusting 127 just prior but doubtless would have been higher
AuntySnow is offline  
Thanks from:
29-01-2021, 10:03   #536
Tyrone212
Registered User
 
Tyrone212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuntySnow View Post
On that mast,just 111kmh ,its only up with 2 years
Storm ophelia blew down the last timber one,it was gusting 127 just prior but doubtless would have been higher
Its been a quiet Winter on the storm front. Looks good. I'll look in to getting one of them in future.
Tyrone212 is online now  
Thanks from:
30-01-2021, 12:36   #537
Nqp15hhu
Registered User
 
Nqp15hhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,458
AuntySnow how did you separate your wind vane? I am having trouble placing it elsewhere due to the cable.

I would love to have it up on my roof separate to the main weather station.
Nqp15hhu is offline  
31-01-2021, 09:54   #538
Comhra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,104
Slightly off topic, but where can I buy a decent quality wet bulb thermometer in Ireland?

I'd rather avoid buying from the UK presently with Brexit etc.
Comhra is offline  
06-02-2021, 13:10   #539
Nqp15hhu
Registered User
 
Nqp15hhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1,458
I finally got my weather station online: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboa...ocalwx_pwsdash

However, it only uploads every 5 minutes (anyone know how to get it to upload onto Weather Wunderground live?).
Nqp15hhu is offline  
(3) thanks from:
06-02-2021, 13:39   #540
AuntySnow
Registered User
 
AuntySnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nqp15hhu View Post
I finally got my weather station online: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboa...ocalwx_pwsdash

However, it only uploads every 5 minutes (anyone know how to get it to upload onto Weather Wunderground live?).
Yes you sign up for weather underground live I think
I did it a while ago but can't remember how (as I use weatherlink now)
It'll push it to their app for you
AuntySnow is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet