Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Centre Snorkel for swimming leg of Triathlon

• 16-09-2019 4:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭

I wanted to check if anyone is ware of sprint triathlon events in Ireland that allow participants to use a centre snorkel for the swim leg?

I am a beginner and have always wanted to try a short distance/mini triathlon.

I have heard it mentioned that it could be possible if you agree that your time will not be recorded and you start at the back of the field behind all competitors. This may seem pointless to some but I would gladly agree to these conditions if it meant I could participate.

I know that in the long run I need to learn how to swim correctly without a snorkel but for the moment I am reliant on a centre snorkel for swimming.

I appreciate that it is technically "cheating" but the thrill of taking part would be worth the forefit for me.

Any insight on this will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭griffin100

Why don’t you do a pool based triathlon / tri a tri where you can rest whenever you want?

You won’t be allowed swim with a snorkel as races don’t have enough safety boats to mind people who can’t actually swim.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Patsy167

griffin100 wrote: »