Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Aoife Dooley abused online after her article appeared in Junior Cert paper!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Likewise for those people who are trivialising been sent explicit pictures and abuse; if it was their own sister or girlfriend or mother being bombarded with pictures of other fella's dicks and rape threats they'd be fit to box whoever responsible - they wouldn't be shrugging it off.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭DublinHun72

SirChenjin wrote: »
    I knew the name vaguely rang a bell, and I am far from an expert on these things.
    I was thinking it was something to do with that whole Bloggers Unveiled story alright.
    Not sure how all of that ended up either.

I remember this too. She inserted herself into the drama for days and none of it made sense. She said at the time the Gardai had opened an investigation into it. Was never mentioned again. It would have been an idea to turn off dm’s and close comments on social media. Kids would move onto the next hot topic. I’ve seen a lot of comments on twitter and as others have said mainly badly phrased attempts at jokes albeit silly ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,358 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

FTA69 wrote: »
    Likewise for those people who are trivialising been sent explicit pictures and abuse; if it was their own sister or girlfriend or mother being bombarded with pictures of other fella's dicks and rape threats they'd be fit to box whoever responsible - they wouldn't be shrugging it off.

That is why it dose not need further publicity, but should be delth with by the Garda sending a dick pick to someone who dose not want them is a form of sexual abuse and should be treated as such.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

It's a toxic cocktail of accessibility and immaturity. You take a 14/15 year old dopes with open internet access and you have a writer with open access social media. You'll get the immature types who are amazed at the ease of the ability to reach out to someone immediate and relevant (considering her piece was just in their exam paper) and they go from posting message that resort to posting taunts and abuse. By the time of the Leaving Cert most have matured enough to understand consequences of abuse and would refrain for the most part from doing similar to say Eavan Boland. Imagine being a parent of the one who posted that they'd beat her so badly she "wouldn't be autistic anymore".

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Oh to be the proud parent of those kids. You send them to school hoping they will get education, make something out of themselves and then you realise that all they will be ever able to do well is to multiply. I would say procreate but with the brain power of amoeba that might be a bit too ambitious.

valoren wrote: »
    It's a toxic cocktail of accessibility and immaturity. You take a 14/15 year old dopes with open internet access and you have a writer with open access social media. You'll get the immature types who are amazed at the ease of the ability to reach out to someone immediately relevant (considering her piece was in their exam paper) and they resort to posting taunts and abuse. By the time of the Leaving Cert most have matured enough to understand consequences of abuse and would refrain for the most part from doing similar. Imagine being a parent of the one who posted that they'd beat her so badly she "wouldn't be autistic anymore".

You cant contextualise it like that they would not say what they say or expose themselves in a face to face encounter with the woman. Doing it online is the same it has to be got across to the young people involved or anyone doing this that doing it online is no different to doing it face to face.

You honestly believe she received ‘hundreds’ of death threats?

I have no idea who she is myself or what her article even contained. So I can not comment on her case.

However to answer your question in a more general sense - do I believe that someone moderately well know - who offended the twitter mob might get 100s of threats of bodily harm, rape and even murder?

I kinda do. And I do because I was subject to a bit of it myself some years ago for the relationship I am in romantically which is slightly different from the norm and I was invited to talk about it on one of Dublin Local Radios late night talk shows some years ago in a segment on slightly alternative life styles.

The hate and rage it got on air from the dial ins and subsequently from people who managed to track down a way to contact me online - was fairly intense and quite numerous.

So compared to a complete nobody like me - I would not be overly sceptical that anyone writing in the national media might be more a target.

Would "we"?

Why so hostile re women?

And where is this "all over the airwaves" stuff about hate crime by Sinead Burke?

Not a fan of this "blogging" malarkey, I don't think it's good writing, and I think it's cringey "let's get down with the kids" stuff to be putting it on an exam paper where writers of classics would usually be. But that kind of online abuse - what tf is wrong with those kids to be that venomous over a few words? The fashion here though - like the Sinead Burke incident - is to pretend the person on the receiving end is the one in the wrong, and even to get quite angry about empathy being shown to them... particularly if they're female. Because that's what ya gotta do to show how non cuck and non pussy you are. (Apart from of course when pretending to care so much about women's treatment by islamists - then it's all about the women's rights).

I'm not hostile about women at all, why is it when a guy now points out an obvious imbalance that suddenly they're misogynists. This is the problem, post #metoo SOME women think the climate is right to self promote stupidity and mediocrity as intellect and brilliance, why?? because if we question it, it's Why so hostile about women.. give over with that Shyte, that's called misandry!!

and turn the page back a few weeks, she made front page headlines and was doing speeches etc, why?? cos she was leapfrogged!! NOW, I was mugged by two lads in town and a syringe was stuck to my cheek!! years ago.. people are mean, the world isn't perfect.. I didn't go to the national broadcasters crying hate!! you cant be asking to be treated normal and the crying foul because you're different and should now be listened to.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

rusty cole wrote: »
    I'm not hostile about women at all, why is it when a guy now points out an obvious imbalance that suddenly they're misogynists. This is the problem, post #metoo SOME women think the climate is right to self promote stupidity and mediocrity as intellect and brilliance, why?? because if we question it, it's Why so hostile about women.. give over with that Shyte, that's called misandry!!

and turn the page back a few weeks, she made front page headlines and was doing speeches etc, why?? cos she was leapfrogged!! NOW, I was mugged by two lads in town and a syringe was stuck to my cheek!! years ago.. people are mean, the world isn't perfect.. I didn't go to the national broadcasters crying hate!! you cant be asking to be treated normal and the crying foul because you're different and should now be listened to.
    if you dont have something nice to say about a woman, dont say anything at all

Actually having now read the article and the original "offending" article - the only issue triggering me is why they felt the need to change the word poxes to idiots in the first place? :) Did they justify that modification in any way? It does seem to change the flow, intent, meaning and comedy potential of the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

Nobelium wrote: »
    Read the article and her inter cert article.
    The whole situation is Baffling
    What an utter mad house "social" media has become

The radical lefts attempts to brainwash, scapegoat, "re-educate", and demonise young irish males seems to have backfired spectacularly.
    If you keep giving a dog a bad name . . he'll live up to it.

Is it considered “radical” these days to suggest women shouldn’t have to put up with sexualised online abuse?

The idea that she’s somehow in the wrong for speaking out about it is bizarre.

By 15 a lot of these lads have been watching porn for a couple of years, I don’t believe for a second that this has no impact on their view of women.

rusty cole wrote: »

So much waffle just to excuse thuggish behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

I don't think this has to do with a battle of sexes issue or even a purely technological issue. I'm going to be so old-fashioned as to say it is a child-rearing issue.

A lot of children won't do this kind of thing, one hopes, but there is also a feral herd mentality that is just under the surface in some children, and that is not being kept in check because of modern living systems that are far from civilised. This is something that has developed ever more over the past 20 years or so.

Some of these 15 year olds have been socialised from infancy predominantly in day care instead of in close contact with a parent, which is the ideal especially for the first two years at least of their life. They have been indulged in every manner, materially and emotionally, because of laissez-faire ''friendship'' parenting models which give the child equal status in rights (but not responsibilities) to the parent, and which also allow the distracted parent to throw their hands up and fail to take responsibility. They have been made narcissistic by the ever-present eye of the camera to which they have learned from infancy to perform. They have watched violent video games and even porn. In abundance. Their bad behaviour has been undisciplined, because disciplining requires discipline in the parent, until they have no sense of proportion or limitation on their ego, and do not know how to respect or even empathise with other human beings.

/end of days rant :p

Pointing out in a well argued and well-researched response that you have issues with how misogyny is defined or any issue is very different that hate-filled rating and rambling about women.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

stop being mean to women

But it's fine for men?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

red petal wrote: »
    WOW! With some of the comments from grown adults here, it's easy to see how these kids have turned out for the worse!

Like her work or not, or agree that it should be on an exam paper or not, she doesn't deserve any of that sh!t.

Just because they may be anonymous, that wouldn't make it any easier. In fact, because she is public, it would make it a lot more difficult. She would not recognise them, but they would recognise her if they happened to cross paths. Either way, anyone condoning that or saying she is lying needs their head checked!

This isn't a rare case though. This stuff happens every day to people online.

Go ask the rubberbandits do they receive abuse. Go ask Bressie. Go ask Dermot Bannon.

I listen to Blindboy’s podcast every week. I’ve heard him make reference to receiving criticism of his work, I’ve never heard him mention violent threats being made against him - and he’s the type that would definitely talk about it if he did.

And if Blindboy did come out and talk about such threats, people would say “fair play to him for calling these scumbags out”, not “why is he giving them attention, he’s just doing it for publicity”.

Saying “everyone gets abuse online” is a cop out.

“I think your new book is **** Blindboy” is different to “I’m going to rape you Aoife”...

Zorya wrote: »
    Some of these 15 year olds have been socialised from infancy predominantly in day care instead of in close contact with a parent, which is the ideal especially for the first two years at least of their life. They have been indulged in every manner, materially and emotionally, because of laissez-faire ''friendship'' parenting models which give the child equal status in rights (but not responsibilities) to the parent, and which also allow the distracted parent to throw their hands up and fail to take responsibility. They have been made narcissistic by the ever-present eye of the camera to which they have learned from infancy to perform. They have watched violent video games and even porn. In abundance. Their bad behaviour has been undisciplined, because disciplining requires discipline in the parent, until they have no sense of proportion or limitation on their ego, and do not know how to respect or even empathise with other human beings.

/end of days rant :p

Just because previous generations Irish kids didn't go to day care, it doesn't mean that there are not many other countries where that was perfectly normal. And they didn't turn into 15 year old morons because of that. You have bad parents now and you had them in previous generations, this is nothing new.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,122 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    I listen to Blindboy’s podcast every week. I’ve heard him make reference to receiving criticism of his work, I’ve never heard him mention violent threats being made against him - and he’s the type that would definitely talk about it if he did.

And if Blindboy did come out and talk about such threats, people would say “fair play to him for calling these scumbags out”, not “why is he giving them attention, he’s just doing it for publicity”.

Saying “everyone gets abuse online” is a cop out.

“I think your new book is **** Blindboy” is different to “I’m going to rape you Aoife”...

This exactly. This thread has gone exactly as i expect a thread in AH to go. A woman complains about abuse online and it is her that gets abuse here from the usual suspects.

That dose not make it right I do not think she was saying she is the only one getting about online.

Its has to start with educating young peoole there maybe consequences for that sort of behavior, that abusing someone online or sending an unwanted explicited pic to someone could lead ot a criminal conviction which could affect their futuer employment, travel plans, or education and start in first year and keep harming home the message.

It would not stop everyone but it migh make some hesitate.

Also, Blindboy would be the first to say the type of abuse Aoife Dooley is getting is unacceptable.

He did some great podcasts last year about how toxic masculinity starts in secondary school when lads who are developing at different paces feel they have to keep up with and one up each other.

And there is plenty of research that shows it happens a lot more to women, you only listed men.

But it's fine for men?

being mean to a woman is a function of systemic misogyny.

Rape threats are not “being mean”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Such a troll :)

UTWwLAB.gif?1

Rape threats are not “being mean”.

very mean

meeeeh wrote: »
    Just because previous generations Irish kids didn't go to day care, it doesn't mean that there are not many other countries where that was perfectly normal. And they didn't turn into 15 year old morons because of that. You have bad parents now and you had them in previous generations, this is nothing new.

A sligh aside but in France recently i was amazed at the well-behaved children a restaurants at night time, it is genetic? are they socalised in to it? then one evening I saw why they behave lests just say attituteds to parenting are different there, plus children are not the center of attention.

very mean

I can see you’re having fun with this, but downplaying rape threats when a trial is taking place at the moment of two 13 year olds accused of it is just coming across as really crass and totally out of touch.

i suppose i am crass and out of touch. i wont post in this thread any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭red petal

And if there was a thread on boards about them getting abuse, I would say the same! Not sure the point you're trying to make.