Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Cass wrote: »
    So in the last month we have been told we're getting or are facing:
    • Screen tax (so more RTE execs can go to Japan for free)
    • Fast Food tax
    • Meat ban (because feelings)
    • Second carbon tax (because a 16 yr old said so)
    and now...........

............. drum roll please ....................

......... a tariff (otherwise known as a tax) for usage of electricity during peak hours because the ESB said they are barely able to manage to meet requirements, now. Roll on a few years when we're all driving €50,000+ EVs, using aircon all summer because of the global warming, and then using heating all winter because of, er, global warming they won't be able to cope.

You would have enjoyed Matt and Ivan tonight - Ian O Doherty calling out the greenwash brigade and their cult like bullying and virtue signalling. Pointed out that unless we embrace nuclear here and promote family planning in the third world then everything else is just BS

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

One other thing, and it's on a different but related topic.

Google this "Joe Biden Ukraine Billion corruption".

The results are all Trump and Trump images/videos. Same on Youtube. You have to search and search and even using those key words the search results won't show Biden. The same thing happened with Epstein. They scrubbed Clinton from a lot/most search results.

Only last week Google, Facebook, etc. announced they are publishers, not a platform giving them permission to edit, alter and ban certain content. The reason this is vitally important is they claimed previously they were a platform and not responsible for the content. As a publisher they are essentially admitting they edit and alter search results and content.

It's why gun based youtube channels are being demonetized, banned. Why PayPal is refusing to allow gun sales via their "platform". Why Twitter/Facebook are censoring and banning conservative views/posts.

Google have been caught introducing a "fairness" algorithm into its search engine - try typing "white couples" into it and see what white couples look like.

they had scrubbed results for "hilary clinton's emails" but seem to have rectified this following the below expose

https://www.projectveritas.com/2019/06/24/insider-blows-whistle-exec-reveals-google-plan-to-prevent-trump-situation-in-2020-on-hidden-cam/

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Birdnuts wrote: »
    You would have enjoyed Matt and Ivan tonight - Ian O Doherty calling out the greenwash brigade and their cult like bullying and virtue signalling. Pointed out that unless we embrace nuclear here and promote family planning in the third world then everything else is just BS

JAYSUS!!! The thought of nuke power in Ireland...I'm against it totally!!...Not because of it in itself,but because of the thought of the Irish govt and private industry being involved in the building,running,maintaining,security of the most destructive force known in the universe.This would be The Simpsons,Springfield power plant in real life.Homer Simpsons in charge of its day to day running,Waylon Smithers in administration,and Montgomery Burns types owning and deciding howw it would be run.Lets face it,if we cant build tunnels to keep water out,or olympic pools to keep water in,and literally everything is over budget and second rate in construction or design,or some gangster is doing it on the cheap...IE Piriory Hall...Imagine your nuke containment vessel concrete is full of pyrite,because someone got a brown paper envelope,or their cousin or dad had a cement company,and "shure nuthin will happen,be grand!"itis is endemic....

Put it like this ,we wont need night vision to go hunting after a inevitiable event with such here.The deer and foxes will be glowing nicely from radiation,from their three heads and webbed paws.:eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    JAYSUS!!! The thought of nuke power in Ireland...I'm against it totally!!...Not because of it in itself,but because of the thought of the Irish govt and private industry being involved in the building,running,maintaining,security of the most destructive force known in the universe.This would be The Simpsons,Springfield power plant in real life.Homer Simpsons in charge of its day to day running,Waylon Smithers in administration,and Montgomery Burns types owning and deciding howw it would be run.Lets face it,if we cant build tunnels to keep water out,or olympic pools to keep water in,and literally everything is over budget and second rate in construction or design,or some gangster is doing it on the cheap...IE Piriory Hall...Imagine your nuke containment vessel concrete is full of pyrite,because someone got a brown paper envelope,or their cousin or dad had a cement company,and "shure nuthin will happen,be grand!"itis is endemic....

Put it like this ,we wont need night vision to go hunting after a inevitiable event with such here.The deer and foxes will be glowing nicely from radiation,from their three heads and webbed paws.:eek:

We could do a deal with the French and pipe it in - we are smaller than Paris in terms of population. Much cheaper and more effective then all those useless bird shredding wind farms etc.

Isnt that what the interconnector is for ?Something like 88% of our energy is coming from the UK.Be intresting to see if the Brits decided to switch off the power as a hard negoiating tool on Brexit.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

• Fast Food tax
    and now...........

......... a tariff (otherwise known as a tax) for usage of electricity during peak hours because the ESB said they are barely able to manage to meet requirements, now. Roll on a few years when we're all driving €50,000+ EVs, using aircon all summer because of the global warming, and then using heating all winter because of, er, global warming they won't be able to cope.

I think these air source heatpumps they're cajoling everyone into buying will have a much greater effect on the grid than the electric cars. Lots more of them being installed than people buying electric cars.

What it comes down to with these extra fees and levies and price hikes is really the fact that they don't want people to burn the fossil fuels but they still want at least 2,000 eur per household to be going into the energy companies. It's this money changing hands that keeps the economy going

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I think these air source heatpumps they're cajoling everyone into buying will have a much greater effect on the grid than the electric cars. Lots more of them being installed than people buying electric cars.
    I'd imagine there are a host of other issues/items which have a greater "draw" on the grid than electric cars given their current numbers, but the focus is on those as they are the agenda being pushed.
    What it comes down to with these extra fees and levies and price hikes is really the fact that they don't want people to burn the fossil fuels but they still want at least 2,000 eur per household to be going into the energy companies. It's this money changing hands that keeps the economy going
    I'm no expert, in fact i'm not even close to the same neighbourhood of being an amatuer. However i have an opinion based on facts and what i see/read.

In the current social climate of climate change we are being forced through taxation and fines to adopt to a "cleaner" method of living. The problem, and this can be applied to all aspects of the climate "alarmist" claims, is what to do.

Everyone is screaming that the world is burning down around us, but there are no solution being proposed. Well, no realistic solutions.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Isnt that what the interconnector is for ?Something like 88% of our energy is coming from the UK.Be intresting to see if the Brits decided to switch off the power as a hard negoiating tool on Brexit.

There is one already planned using EU money etc. direct from France to come ashore near Cork Harbour in the next 5-10 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭oldgit1897

Well old "look at my socks, i'm gay, i am the european union" was planning to ban the flight of british planes over ireland, during one of his hissy fits over brexit. Where planes fly, to the best of my knowledge has little to do with the eu, its international agreements that are established years before the eu was in existence.

He wouldn't be long back tracking if the lights started going out across the land, i would imagine the american multinationals would be on to him so quick, your head would spin.

• Fast Food tax
    and now...........

I will simply refuse to pay any money what so ever to the government propaganda channel. Years ago it was the bishops and bent TD's on lecturing us and telling us how to live and behave (Do as i say, not as i do). Now its the right-on PC brigade and bent TD's.

If you think thats paranoid, can you remember the last time a TD in the party in power was given a grilling over a mistake or collosal f-up ? I can't. They are fawned over and let off the hook. The primeslime coverage of anything to do with our sport was disgusting, anyone representing us was talked down or shut up.

They are panicking now as more and more people are not buying papers (mostly owned by a supporter of theirs), or watching the bilge that is RTE. People are using the web etc, and they can not control that.

Meat ban, Fast food tax and more carbon taxes ? Wow, FG have really thrown the conservative rural vote in the bin haven't they ? They might want to think twice about that.

Birdnuts wrote: »

Thankuly,another bit of Eamon Ryan and his Green /Watermelon party idiocy knocked on the head,for the time being,by some common sense thinking,a rare enough occurance itself in the Dail by Madigan.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/minister-rejects-green-calls-for-reintroduction-of-wolves/

Thankuly,another bit of Eamon Ryan and his Green /Watermelon party idiocy knocked on the head,for the time being,by some common sense thinking,a rare enough occurance itself in the Dail by Madigan.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/minister-rejects-green-calls-for-reintroduction-of-wolves/

Sweet jesus, you couldn't make it up, is it april the first :rolleyes:. Sanity has definitely left ireland. Isn't Ryan a dublin td ? What does that twit know about farming or rural issues ?

oldgit1897 wrote: »
    Sweet jesus, you couldn't make it up, is it april the first :rolleyes:. Sanity has definitely left ireland. Isn't Ryan a dublin td ? What does that twit know about farming or rural issues ?

What most of the Water melons know about rural affairsand ecology can be written on the back of a very small postage stamp...As if we dont have enough problems with packs of dogs mauaudering sheep at lambing.What would wolves do in damage to a flock? A single pack can have a terorority the size of Ireland itself ,and needs such to roam,and will of course pick the closest food supply too.IE Man himself,so the wolves will be more likely to be found in Ryans Dublin constituency,than out in the Green romantic ideal of some bit of re wilded Donegal.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I was reading a thing today about the Swedish introducing a new law that makes the kidnapping of goats a criminal offence :rolleyes:, then come here and hear about Ryan spouting rubbish too. Stop the world i want to get off.

Germany having a hell of time of it this week.

Truck attack in Limburg on Monday and today a shooting in Halle outside a synagogue.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Yup,and three of the guns used by the killer are HOMEBUILT improvised weapons. Two slam bang waterpipe shotguns and two LUTY design SMGS,a Spencer carbine and a hand and a half sword,A half dozen pipe bombs,detonators,and "breaching charge" as well as a half dozen home built detonators ALL homebuilt and loaded by homemade 3D printed casings,or old pickups from clay ranges.Even made the powder himself from Chlorate and some other stuff. Actually very impressive ,as Germany has strict gun laws on aquiring firearms,powdwer or ammo.

Lesson to take away from this???Gun bans are a waste of time! With a High st plumbing and a DIY store,some determination and the internet,you can NEVER be disarmed or without a gun anymore. So what now??Ban B&Q and Heitons??:pac::pac:

Forgot to mention the Paris Police worker who after 20 years decided to attack his colleagues with a knife. Killed four of them before he was shot dead.

Not politicising these events but it shows the unpredictability of those intent on harm. Off the three attacks only one used firearms and if as you say the "firearms" were homemade then no law would have stopped them.

Seen the headline and the first thought that came into my head was "I bet that is Martin Nolan again".

Imagine my shock.

Just a few of his greatest hits.

DfmnlbyX4AE8OBM.jpg

And again,jeeze this is the judge you need to get for any sort of kiddy fiddling charge.But WOE betide you if you are smuggling in Garlic into the state! You'll go down for 8years under Nolan for that.
    ister
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/retired-irish-civil-servant-caught-12375534?fbclid=IwAR3xQhJjQPca6XUPySXOUb7v5EGJCFVuFaeX1lQ_7jWFeWfh-pP71YFgO0w

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/judge-a-former-garda-noted-for-swift-informed-decisions-1.1765641

And again,jeeze this is the judge you need to get for any sort of kiddy fiddling charge.But WOE betide you if you are smuggling in Garlic into the state! You'll go down for 8years under Nolan for that.
    ister
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/retired-irish-civil-servant-caught-12375534?fbclid=IwAR3xQhJjQPca6XUPySXOUb7v5EGJCFVuFaeX1lQ_7jWFeWfh-pP71YFgO0w

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/judge-a-former-garda-noted-for-swift-informed-decisions-1.1765641

Shows you the priorities of the establishment in this dreary country. Abuse a small child, subject them to something they will likely never get over for the rest of their lives - suspended sentence. Diddle the taxman - 8 years.

The article reports that he said he fired the gun, twice, into the ground hoping the sound would scare off the dog.

The problem here is a chap with a "right of way" walkway through his land that doesn't want people using it. I dislike those types of "entitled" walkers too, but its still classed as reckless discharge of a firearm, brandishing a firearm in a threatening manner, etc. The fact he says the people had a dog and it was the dog he was trying to discourage more than the people is, for this situation, irrelevant.

He, the guy involved, is doing himself no favours. The "Healy-Rae" attitude is going to harm him further. He said he now carries a "dagger" and sleeps with it and a bat over his bed. He won't challenge the seizure and will allow the Gardaí to "decommission" them. IOW destroy them. All to highlight his plight.

He couldn't have gone about this in a worse way, and his current line of thinking and acting is only going to aggravate that.

I have ............................. sympathy?, for the guy, but there are so many other ways he could have resolved this without doing what he done.

Petition going to have him resign/fired. This is the second, possibly third, attempt to have him removed from the bench.

Short of him being caught in flagrante with three underage trafficked child prostitutes and two kilos of coke and a donkey in public under the spire.After which he would be asked to "consider his position".This guy isnt going anywhere. 😡

I know, its why its the third attempt.

Judical appointments are untouchable by the public or politics...Rightly so,as it is about the only unsullied and sofar not feet made of clay pillar of Irish society.The Judicary should always be seperate from state interference...Except in this case...And No I'm not niave to think that there isnt enough dirt and skeletons in the Irish judical systems closets to fill two grave yards.

You would imagine that as he is an ex-copper, he would be a bit more in tune as to what the public wants. Surely he dealt with the filth that abuses kids regularly, along with the thugs and bullies that are 2 a penny in nearly every Irish village, town and city.

I would gladly sign the petition but they have the hand out for money, whats that about and where does it go ?