Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA (Club and Intercounty) Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭kilkennyboy

MilfordBud wrote: »
    I meant starting/playing in a winning All Ireland final. Of the extra KK lads named above only Willie O'Dwyer ever played in a final.

John dalton only played in 2010.and as of 2015 no galway man had won a all Ireland in nearly30 years. Fairly poorly researched article. .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

Will the match go ahead in Nenagh on Sunday? The pitch will struggle to handle the weeks rain. I could see it being moved to Thurles yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Paddico wrote: »
    Are Tipp FM covering it?
    Xenophile wrote: »
    They will have a reporter there, but the game will not be covered live.

Half Time. Limerick: 0 02 Tipperary: 0 03.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

Limerick 0-5 Tipp 0-3 after 45 mins in the Munster U20 football championship quarter-final. Absolute biblical conditions in Rathkeale tonight. No stand either so patrons getting completely soaked to their skins. This is John Horan's legacy folks. Squeeze all these competitions into a few weeks. Treating the likes of the Sigerson, Fitzgibbon Cups and other third level tournaments with distaste. Along with the scheduling of the U20 football championship this is one fine mess we have.

The sugardaddy of the Super 8's and the wellbeing of Dublin GAA is what's most paramount to Mr Horan and his allies in Croke Park. Forget the other 31 counties. There won't be many tears when the Na Fianna clubman leaves his role as GAA President in 12 months time.

Back to the U20 football game it's level pegging 6 all. Extra time perhaps?

Tipperary lose by 1 point.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

Xenophile wrote: »
    Tipperary lose by 1 point.

Hard luck to the lads. Unfortunate

• Registered Users Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Ompala

Tipp team announced to play Westmeath in Nenagh at 2pm on Sunday

1. Brian Hogan
    2. Cathal Barrett
    3. Barry Heffernan
    4. Sean O'Brien
    5. Seamus Kennedy
    6. Ronan Maher
    7. Bryan O' Mara
    8. Alan Flynn
    9. Michael Breen
    10. Mark Kehoe
    11. Niall O' Meara
    12. Cian Darcy
    13. Jason Forde
    14. Seamus Callanan
    15. Jake Morris
    16. Barry Hogan
    17. Paddy Cadell
    18. Jerome Cahill
    19. Paul Flynn
    20. Paul Maher
    21. Brian McGrath
    22. John McGrath
    23. Noel McGrath
    24. Craig Morgan
    25. Joe O'Dwyer
    26. Dillon Quirke

Match has been moved to Semple Stadium tomorrow at 2 pm

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

Will there be highlights of the Westmeath game on the tv tonight? Looks like we’re getting the auld ‘stoke v West Brom’ treatment from motd!

digzy wrote: »
    Will there be highlights of the Westmeath game on the tv tonight? Looks like we’re getting the auld ‘stoke v West Brom’ treatment from motd!

Did they show any bit of the Tipp game? Well able to show even snippets of Kilkenny, Cork or Galway battering minnows. As expected, a comprehensive win today. I would persist with the youngsters and see how we get on. We cant be relegated now anyway so we've nothing to lose. We're in a good place ahead of May. Everything is nice and calm.

Hardest of luck to the gallant footballers yesterday. In spite of losing so much personnel they battle on. To hit 21 points against the runaway leaders of the division is mightily impressive. We need to keep believing. 3 winnable games left.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

Did they show any bit of the Tipp game? Well able to show even snippets of Kilkenny, Cork or Galway battering minnows. As expected, a comprehensive win today. I would persist with the youngsters and see how we get on. We cant be relegated now anyway so we've nothing to lose. We're in a good place ahead of May. Everything is nice and calm.

Hardest of luck to the gallant footballers yesterday. In spite of losing so much personnel they battle on. To hit 21 points against the runaway leaders of the division is mightily impressive. We need to keep believing. 3 winnable games left.

No highlights of the match at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,650 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Pity about Killian O'Dwyer. Liked him underage and thought we could do with a specialist left back or two. Hopefully can get himself back into contention over next couple of years. I imagine there's still a bit more pruning to do before final squad is settled.

Tipp team v Waterford
    First senior starts for Brian McGrath & Dillon Quirke
    Brian Hogan
    Cathal Barrett
    Ronan Maher
    Brian McGrath
    Alan Flynn
    Barry Heffernan
    Padraic Maher
    Noel McGrath
    Michael Breen
    Jason Forde
    John McGrath
    Niall O'Meara
    Willie Connors
    Seamus Callanan
    Dillon Quirke

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tipp team v Waterford
    First senior starts for Brian McGrath & Dillon Quirke
    Brian Hogan
    Cathal Barrett
    Ronan Maher
    Brian McGrath
    Alan Flynn
    Barry Heffernan
    Padraic Maher
    Noel McGrath
    Michael Breen
    Jason Forde
    John McGrath
    Niall O'Meara
    Willie Connors
    Seamus Callanan
    Dillon Quirke

Odd looking team I must say

Substitutes deserve a mention.

1 Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
    2 Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
    3 Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
    4 Brian McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
    5 Alan Flynn – Kiladangan
    6 Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
    7 Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
    8 Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
    9 Michael Breen – Ballina
    10 Jason Forde – Silvermines
    11 John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
    12 Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghs
    13 Willie Connors – Kiladangan
    14 Séamus Callanan (Capt.) – Drom-Inch
    15 Dillon Quirke – Clonoulty-Rossmore

16 Daragh Mooney – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
    17 Paddy Cadell – JK Brackens
    18 Jerome Cahill – Kilruane MacDonaghs
    19 Cian Darcy – Kilruane MacDonaghs
    20 Paul Flynn – Kiladangan
    21 Mark Kehoe – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
    22 Paul Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
    23 Craig Morgan – Kilruane MacDonaghs
    24 Jake Morris – Nenagh Éire Óg
    25 Joe O’Dwyer – Killenaule
    26 Bryan O’Mara – Holycross-Ballycahill

Tipperary football team to play Longford.

1 Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
    2 Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
    3 John Meagher – Loughmore-Castleiney
    4 Tadhg Fitzgerald – Moyle Rovers
    5 Kevin Fahey – Clonmel Commercials
    6 Robbie Kiely – Carbery Rangers
    7 Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
    8 Steven O’Brien – Ballina
    9 Conal Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
    10 Emmet Moloney – Drom-Inch
    11 Jack Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
    12 Brian Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
    13 Conor Sweeney (Capt.) – Ballyporeen
    14 Sean O’Connor – Clonmel Commercials
    15 Riain Quigley – Moyle Rovers

16 Kuba Beben – JK Brackens
    17 Colm O’Shaughnessy – Ardfinnan
    18 Daire Brennan – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
    19 Jack Harney – Moyle Rovers
    20 Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
    21 Alan Moloney – Rockwell Rovers
    22 Padraic Looram – Clonmel Commercials
    23 Liam Boland – Moyle Rovers
    24 Philip Austin – Borrisokane
    25 Kevin O’Halloran – Portroe
    26 Jason Lonergan – Clonmel Commercials

Ompala wrote: »
    Odd looking team I must say

3 McGrath brothers, first time 3 brothers start since the Bonners of Cashel.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

3 McGrath brothers, first time 3 McGrath brothers start since the Bonners of Cashel.

The Bonner McGraths? ;-)

Great to see mcgrath the youngest finally. I think he'll go well. Interested in our halfforward line, a good balance there is critical.

The Bonner McGraths? ;-)

Great to see mcgrath the youngest finally. I think he'll go well. Interested in our halfforward line, a good balance there is critical.

LoL

Yeah big game for Brian he's been waiting a long time for opportunities. I'd imagine he'll start in the half back line with Alan Flynn dropping back? Same with Quirke maybe start wing forward with Forde moving in.

Should be a good game, Cahill will want to make an impression and they will be ready for a battle. Hopefully the weather doesn't affect it too much. Live on TV so I'll probably watch it on the box. Too risky to be travelling down for it.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

good player brian mcgrath, would be slightly worried about his pace however.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    good player brian mcgrath, would be slightly worried about his pace however.

That was said many a time about Ronan Maher over the years, one of the best center backs in the country atm, he has experience crafty as f'ck toughness able to read the game in abundance that helps big time when your opponent has the legs on ya, mcgrath has most of this(experience at this level will come),

I do think the pace angle can be a bit overplayed alright. Also heard it said about john mcgrath and I'm sure a few others too, forde probably. Its nice to have of course, but give me a hurling brain and reading of the game everytime. If pace was all it was cracked up to be, then cork would probably have racked up a couple of all irelands over the past decade.

Ronan maher is an exceptional reader of the game as is paudie, pace is important if you dont have certain attributes, hope im wrong but would be slightly worried. Pace for a forward is not as important if you have great stick work which our forwards have in abundance. Ronan also seems to be getting settled in to the full back role. Wexford had us all over the shop int the semi with their running game.

Its a good discussion. I'd wonder what attributes a defender might lack that pace could compensate for. And i think its equally a factor in all positions when you consider defending starts from the front now, especially when teams like limerick and wexford are all about penetrating runs from deep where I'd accept pace can expose you. But kilkennys nullifying of limericks threat from deep in the sf showed how to best deal with that imo. And cork look to be going more direct from what I've seen of them this year, you have a guy like pa horgan so stop fannying about with runs from deep and get it into him tout suite.

Running from deep is a tiring game plan, hard to keep up fro 70+minutes, think tipp have by far the best and most enjoyable style to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,308 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Its a good discussion. I'd wonder what attributes a defender might lack that pace could compensate for. And i think its equally a factor in all positions when you consider defending starts from the front now, especially when teams like limerick and wexford are all about penetrating runs from deep where I'd accept pace can expose you. But kilkennys nullifying of limericks threat from deep in the sf showed how to best deal with that imo. And cork look to be going more direct from what I've seen of them this year, you have a guy like pa horgan so stop fannying about with runs from deep and get it into him tout suite.

Reading of the game I would think. Most runs out to a ball are short sprints so it's all about that first step.
    If the defender times it right and sprints before the forward and gets a step on him he is unlikely to be beaten.
    Structure is very important also. Keeping the six backs in position and ensuring that there is no big pockets of space for a forward to run into.
    Wouldnt underestimate the importance of having a few really quick defenders either. The likes of barrett and brendan maher are brilliant at getting back to cover if another defender is beaten or an overlap.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,308 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Running from deep is a tiring game plan, hard to keep up fro 70+minutes, think tipp have by far the best and most enjoyable style to watch.

Agreed. We can go short with stick passing when needed and can go long with diagonal balls etc and the odds lump. Very good to watch.
    Teams need to be able to mix it up. Limerick last year v KK just kept on trying to work it through a crowded middle third and played right into their hands instead of trying some quick long balls and moving the defence around.

Yeah but also very tiring on defences having to track all the runs. Can be very disheartening.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Agree re points on last couple of posts. Covering is crucial and i agree a guy like brendan is invaluable in that regard, total legend of the game already.

Watching the wexford game recently, i think our big problem was exposed there. Same in Munster final too. When you dont track runners, there's not much defenders can do when they've got a man to mark and another bearing down on them. No defensive attribute going to get you out of that one i think. I like so much about Niall O'Meara but repeatedly he and bubbles let their men go and the end result was carnage at the other end. Kilkenny stopped limerick at source in other sf. Character got us out of that, but only just.

I think we need to fix that this year and we're back in business. I believe a good intelligent direct team should beat a good running team but you still have to go execute the plan.