Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Would you consider suicide selfish?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Some murder/suicides are acts of evil but some are acts of compassion.

Ah FFS like Alan Hawe killed his wife and kids in an act of compassion or the psychos in Wexford or Ballycotton, which ones would you class as "evil" and which are "compassion", in my opinion all acts that way against their wife and kids are evil no matter what their "mental health" issues were

• Registered Users Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭branie2

No

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

There are PC answers and answers that are currently the only socially acceptable answers in a public domain, but it won't stop people feeling a certain way if a person with responsibilities to other people takes their own life.

If you're a person that keeps your business to yourself, with little to leave behind financially or emotionally then that's your own business. It's your life.

However to say it’s ‘poor form’ because someone has kids is warped. You say it like they do it for selfish reasons.

Imagine you are that sick that you feel that your partner and kids would be better off without you in their life? They might be incorrect to think this, but the mind is so much more powerful than all of us combined. A lot of people are able to wrestle with it off, but some can’t.

There’s some really backwards and ignorant responses to this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

No. Medicate and put them out the door to be supported in the community but unless the person buys into the support offered by the various services they may as well send them straight to the morgue. He also has a benzo addiction. He'd been clean for three months until one of his best friends killed himself at the end of January but he felt he needed them again to cope with the funeral and heart break of it. I think then he thought he couldn't go through detoxing again and dealing with his anxiety.. he doesn't reckon much on counselling etc. The psych gave him other meds for that which are just as bloody bad as the **** he was buying off the street.

He needs some place where they can keep him safe and will help him deal with his addiction and his anxiety like a rehab but he says he won't go back. How do I keep him alive until something clicks in his head and he sees that he can overcome all of this and have a good life? Right now... he is hopeless in the truest sense of the word.

I too am pretty much hopeless. Yesterday morning someone asked me what was the best that I could hope for him. My answer was that he'd be found dead sooner rather than later to minimise the torture and torment his head is filled with. He always say, "Mummy, you don't know what's in my head." And I don't. He's only 21.

My heart is just breaking reading that, I wish you and him the strength to recover from this.

hgfj wrote: »
    My wife committed suicide 12 years ago. Left behind three kids, 6, 9, and 14 years old at the time. The 6 year old only barely remembers her now. She had spent the previous 5 years in and out of psychiatric hospital, sometimes for months at a time. She was diagnosed as suffering from Borderline Personality Disorder. 12 years on and I still haven't gotten over it. None of us have really. Was she selfish to do what she did? I don't know. She wasn't in her right mind. One of the effects of her illness was that she spoke many times about wanting to take the children with her. Her perception of life was so distorted that she couldn't see any hope whatsoever. Not even for the children. Her experiance of life made her believe life held nothing but pain and she dreaded the thought of the kids suffering like she did.

She was sexually abused by her own mother when she was eleven or twelve, she was raped by a garda sergant when she was 14, she made a suicide attempt when she was seventeen and ended up being sent to a rehab for 18 months, her father died just 6 months or so after entering the rehab and she wasn't allowed to attend the funeral. She was betrayed by all. The institution of family, Garda, and hospital services. I could write a ****ing book about all the **** that happened in her life.

So was her act selfish? She took herself out of the picture and left the rest of us to carry on. I have a lot of mixed feelings about it. Sometimes anger, other times a sense of despair. But I absolutely understand why.

In my case i disagree that the pain she left behind is worse than what she was experiancing herself. Her mind was hell.

That’s a very tough and sad read and thanks for posting it. Suicide is not black and white. I’m torn as to how I feel about it .
    When I see the fall out this leaves behind I feel angry and I say “how could they?” especially a parent . But when you talk about the years of trauma , abuse and betrayal your wife suffered I can only imagine the hell inside her head especially as she experienced all this from such a young age.
    I know 2 people who died in this way leaving children behind and it’s a very complex web of emotions for loved ones and families.

I understand the feeling of rock bottom emptiness , despair, depression. I lost a child and very soon after that my marriage, my home, and everything that was familiar. I got depressed. It would have been the easiest option to end it all. But I had 2 other kids so for me it was just not an option. But maybe my despair wasn’t the same as the despair of a truly suicidal person? Or maybe I have more resilience, more strength, maybe it’s my upbringing that suicide was just NOT an option. The loneliness was the worst part, hiding how I felt in order to seem strong.

I remember walking on the beach once thinking my Hell was actually in having to stay alive for my kids. No escape, no option , I was living my Hell in this life (but at least I was living).
    I never showed my kids this side of me, they think I’m strong, independent and a role model (I’m anything but ) ..........but they also saved me , by needing me.

These days they’re both grown up and living abroad and I’m out the other side. I know I did a good job but it took a huge amount of strength to get there, nearly broke me at times.
    It saddens me how many people look on suicide now as an “option” or a way out. Life isn’t easy, nobody said it was going to be perfect. It can be pure hell at times and maybe it’s that degree of hell , or how we are built to deal with that hell, that determines our fate.

On another note my cousin , married with a gorgeous wife and 3 daughters, purposely drove to the West or Ireland and jumped to his death from cliffs, after 3 brief months of depression, no big tragedy in his life, very involved in sports and community , a huge amount of friends, great lifestyle etc etc. The biggest factor in all of this is that we are all different in how we deal with life. I thank my very tough upbringing for my strength .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

That’s a very tough and sad read and thanks for posting it. Suicide is not black and white. I’m torn as to how I feel about it .
    When I see the fall out this leaves behind I feel angry and I say “how could they?” especially a parent . But when you talk about the years of trauma , abuse and betrayal your wife suffered I can only imagine the hell inside her head especially as she experienced all this from such a young age.

I understand the feeling of rock bottom emptiness , despair, depression. I lost a child and very soon after that my marriage, my home, and everything that was familiar. I got depressed. It would have been the easiest option to end it all. But I had 2 other kids so for me it was just not an option. But my despair wasn’t the same as the despair of a truly suicidal person? Or maybe I have more resilience, more strength, maybe it’s my upbringing that suicide was just NOT an option. The loneliness was the worst part, hiding how I felt in order to seem strong.

I remember walking on the beach once thinking my Hell was actually in having to stay alive for my kids. No escape, no option , I was living my Hell in this life (but at least I was living).
    I never showed my kids this side of me, they think I’m strong, independent and a role model (I’m anything but ) ..........but they also saved me , by needing me.

These days they’re both grown up and living abroad and I’m out the other side. I know I did a good job but it took a huge amount of strength to get there, nearly broke me at times.
    It saddens me how many people look on suicide now as an “option” or a way out. Life isn’t easy, nobody said it was going to be perfect. It can be pure hell at times and maybe it’s that degree of hell , or how we are built to deal with that hell, that determines our fate.

On another note my cousin , married with a gorgeous wife and 3 daughters, purposely drove to the West or Ireland and jumped to his death from cliffs, after 3 brief months of depression, no big tragedy in his life, very involved in sports and community , a huge amount of friends, great lifestyle etc etc. The biggest factor in all of this is that we are all different in how we deal with life. I thank my upbringing for my strength .

Very brave post, fair play you came out the other side of it, sending you best wishes

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    It's a very emotive topic for everyone I think .
    Our minds can be our worst enemy at times .

Imagine not being able to escape the relentless dark thoughts in your head ?
    No escape from them , day after day ?
    Thinking that the only way to escape the pain is by taking your own life ..

Mental anguish and torture , must be unbearable :(

So no , I don't think it's selfish tbh .

Stay safe all .

This post.. such total negativity
    You are saying that there is no help? No healing? That is a depressed idea and not true. we live day by day and hour by hour.
    there is no never
    If folk cannot see that then we see it for them and hold them until they can
    If we walk away or aver there is nothing to help?

Few have mentioned in the thread the fallout on family and others of suicide. A lady I knew had a son who hanged himself. Changed his mind too late and his hands were torn to pieces.
    So was she.
    There was a delay in her getting counselling and she could not bear it so hit the bottle and destroyed herself

IF a person was alone in a desert with no one else around?
    But none of us are.
    Our acts have a serious repercussion on the lives of those around us, so we are not free to act in damaging ways.
    we are also responsible for others. to be there for them . to get help when we see danger
    I learned that a hard way! I was in a UK internet group and supporting a lady who was in a living domestic hell,.
    One evening she sounded.... odd, and I knew she needed help and was alone. I was too far away and called someone near her to go round
    That saved her life.
    Often these things reach a crisis and a small intervention will support enough to get through.

the depression and despair and negativity in this thread. Yes I have been there anyone who knows me knows that.
    Many times so near to that finality. very very near .. a terrible temptation.

But life is precious and so are other people. each of us lives with others and the knock on effects of suicide are horrendous,
    The person who finds you will never recover. Nor will the family. Guilt will haunt them forever .... they will have to endure the inquest, investigation, maybe a post mortem, funeral... years of grief and haunted by it all .

So yes suicide is selfish in the true meaning of the word. Maybe say inconsiderate?

and yes, folk do not listen or offer simple help or comfort

We are responsible each for the other.

and as we see from that list folk have quoted, there IS help out there. I used to call the samaritans frequently at one terrible time, and they gave me a befriender who visited and supported .

there is always help, even just for the darkest hour,

OK I am off! The sun is shining ... enough darkness but yes, selfish in the deepest meaning. If I did not know that then I would not be alive today and i am deeply thankful I am

we have a saying, when things get unbearable " This too shall pass"

over and out

The narrative of Christianity is as I have presented it, no pretence of an alternative interpretation is necessary on my part at least.

No it is not. The narrative of Christianity is that Christ died for our sins. That is essentially a moral scapegoat. To pretend as you are that it is about a person dying to save others is at best a stretch. People die for others all the time in our world. It is an insult to their acts to call what the Christ story claims the same thing.

Scapegoating is not moral. Dying for others is. At least much of the time it is. The Christian narrative that god died in order to essentially save us from itself is not a moral story.

Thankfully of course there is no evidence at all that any of that actually happened - or there was even a god to die let alone save us from. Save it for story time. This thread is about real suffering not imaginary.
    I wasn’t strawmanning anything

You very much were. You erected a straw man point that I simply never made and then proceeded to make citations to knock it down. I simply said nothing about the things you claimed I "framed". Not anywhere. At all. That is a straw man. You very much did do it. Deny all you want - it is up there in black and white for all to see.
    I was presenting at least an objective perspective on the correlation (or the relationship) between religion and suicide. I never argued causation, as opposed to your attempt to argue that their religious beliefs are a causative factor in someone continuing to suffer unnecessarily.

And there is. The belief that a person who committed suicide is somehow damned for example is going to cause more suffering to someone who simply thinks that person is dead and gone and suffers no more. Objectively so. If you think someone is suffering more than ever rather than not suffering at all - that is going to have an emotional effect on the believer of that nonsense. Thankfully there is no evidence of any kind anywhere that the dead live on in any experience - let alone one of suffering.
    You can’t seem to make up your mind between whether or not religion has an influence in the context of the issue of suicide and suicide prevention.

Your failure to understand the point is not the same as me not having made up my mind. The distinction I made is a clear one you just let it go over your head. What I said quite clearly is _any_ kind of support group and social interaction is likely to have causal links to suicide. That much is a no brainer. Putting this specifically at the door of religion in any way is just cherry picking.

One glaring and massive problem with studies like that however is how "religiosity" is even measured. For the most part it is measured by active participation and attendance and practicing of that religion. None of which means the person is actually religious at all. You can be _highly_ religious and do none of those things. You can be a complete atheist and do them all which you didn’t appear to be aware of given your argument which didn’t appear to make any attempt at objectivity.

So what you are _actually_ measuring is people willing to leave the house, socialise, be active, participate. All of which are characteristics that go _down_ in people with depression and suicidal tendencies. So what such studies doing is not only failing to show a link between religion and suicide prevention - it is not even actually showing that much of a correlation. What it _is_ showing is what we know already. That the people most likely to socialize and participate in anything - are the people least likely to be killing themselves which you didn’t appear to be aware of given your argument which didn’t appear to make any attempt at objectivity.

At best that is all your link shows and - wooppdeedoo - we knew that already. So even your complete tangent about correlation here is not even that supported. Certainly not by your links which you didn’t appear to be aware of given your argument which didn’t appear to make any attempt at objectivity.
    Self-awareness is clearly not your forté, so on that note I shall leave it there, as we also appear to have different opinions on the idea of fairness in terms and our ability to remain objective without introducing our own biases and prejudices into the discussion.

What has self awareness got to do with me noticing that a user said one very clear thing and you then claimed he said the _exact_ opposite - and then noticing that I made one point and you started arguing I had "framed" something I never brought up at all? Teh self awareness lacking - and the grip on reality and facts lacking - is all on your side here. For the entire thread you have been commenting and jumping on things no one but you said or brought up!

The only one "introducing our own biases and prejudices into the discussion" is you here. The simple reality here is that the link between religion and suicide has not been shown and at best studies attempting to show it are selecting for things we already know - which is that people more inclined to be active social participants in a social group are the people least likely to be going for suicide.

Whereas the people who feel so low they can not even leave the house - and so are not likely to be showing up in active participation - are not going to be measured by that score and are going to be left out of the study entirely therefore - thus skewing the results to _your_ bias on the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Oh, we should be rejoicing when loved ones kill themselves, shall we?
    Who even implied that?

What you said about suicide being as bad as murder or rape however... Christ almighty - if you're not on a wind-up, what the hell is wrong with you?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Putting this specifically at the door of religion in any way is just cherry picking.

The above appears to be the only common ground we have on this issue, which is exactly why I questioned this assertion from the poster I replied to -

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Religious people would rather have those people live an existence of misery with their faux morality.

The issue is as I have pointed out consistently in this thread and the many threads there have been on this subject, that -

It’s hardly surprising that people would be conflicted by what is generally regarded as the antithesis to everything they’ve been inculcated with their whole lives - that life is a gift not to be taken for granted, and that everyone should make the most of the opportunity they have been given.

FWIW btw I’ve known many people who suffer and have suffered from mental illness and they regard suicide as selfish, or “the easy way out” as it were. I know where you get the impression that people experiencing mental illness suffer greatly and are in the throes of despair when they choose to take their own life.

That’s a rather simplistic impression of suicide which ignores the many multi-faceted perspectives, such as the idea of being suicidal with no underlying or co-morbid ill mental health issues or mental disorder (although suicidal ideation is itself categorised as a mental disorder), or sudden suicide as a result of fear of damage to their reputation, or simply for that some people life has gotten too much and they’d rather not continue to live in this world, or for other people the prospect of being rewarded in the next life for their endeavours in this one.

Suicide is easily one of the most complex, contradictory and incomplete areas of human psychology, psychiatry, anthropology and science that is the least understood, because in spite of our best efforts - we still can not communicate with the dead.

I haven’t, at any point, ever introduced my own bias, nor would I, when it’s not my perspective that I have to understand with regard to someone else who is at the point where they feel their only choice is whether or not to take their own life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

If you have chronic and serious mental health issues, which are causing ongoing pain and trauma to those close to you over the years, suicide can actually feel the less selfish option. If you are doing literally everything within your power to get better, using every support available and doing all the right things and are still hurting others with your self-destructive actions, at a low point you can't help thinking, why prolong the agony? Put everyone else out of their misery, yes they'll be sad for a while, but it'll be done then and they'll no longer have to lie awake waiting for "that" phone call.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Graces7 wrote: »
    This post.. such total negativity
    You are saying that there is no help? No healing? That is a depressed idea and not true. we live day by day and hour by hour.
    there is no never
    If folk cannot see that then we see it for them and hold them until they can
    If we walk away or aver there is nothing to help?

Few have mentioned in the thread the fallout on family and others of suicide. A lady I knew had a son who hanged himself. Changed his mind too late and his hands were torn to pieces.
    So was she.
    There was a delay in her getting counselling and she could not bear it so hit the bottle and destroyed herself

IF a person was alone in a desert with no one else around?
    But none of us are.
    Our acts have a serious repercussion on the lives of those around us, so we are not free to act in damaging ways.
    we are also responsible for others. to be there for them . to get help when we see danger
    I learned that a hard way! I was in a UK internet group and supporting a lady who was in a living domestic hell,.
    One evening she sounded.... odd, and I knew she needed help and was alone. I was too far away and called someone near her to go round
    That saved her life.
    Often these things reach a crisis and a small intervention will support enough to get through.

the depression and despair and negativity in this thread. Yes I have been there anyone who knows me knows that.
    Many times so near to that finality. very very near .. a terrible temptation.

But life is precious and so are other people. each of us lives with others and the knock on effects of suicide are horrendous,
    The person who finds you will never recover. Nor will the family. Guilt will haunt them forever .... they will have to endure the inquest, investigation, maybe a post mortem, funeral... years of grief and haunted by it all .

So yes suicide is selfish in the true meaning of the word. Maybe say inconsiderate?

and yes, folk do not listen or offer simple help or comfort

We are responsible each for the other.

and as we see from that list folk have quoted, there IS help out there. I used to call the samaritans frequently at one terrible time, and they gave me a befriender who visited and supported .

there is always help, even just for the darkest hour,

OK I am off! The sun is shining ... enough darkness but yes, selfish in the deepest meaning. If I did not know that then I would not be alive today and i am deeply thankful I am

we have a saying, when things get unbearable " This too shall pass"

over and out

With all due respect , I never said there is no hope .

Yes , we all can try and carry , and help , and seek help for those who are battling their inner demons . We will never know the true extent of what is in their heads , even if they tell us , we can only imagine the pain and anguish it causes .
    Imagine and empathise , as unless we are in their shoes we really don't have a true understanding of it .

The above appears to be the only common ground we have on this issue, which is exactly why I questioned this assertion from the poster I replied to - The issue is as I have pointed out consistently in this thread and the many threads there have been on this subject, that - I haven’t, at any point, ever introduced my own bias, nor would I

Except by pretending one user said the exact opposite of what he did say and by citing links knocking down a straw man that had nothing to do with anything I actually said. Not even a little bit related to anything I actually said. That was _all_ your bias and nothing else.

As for communicating with the dead - there is no evidence there is anyone there to even communicate with. Much of the suffering that _can_ be caused by religion after things like suicide is based on the notion there is. Especially if some religion is telling you suicide leads to hell or damnation or some other detriment in this "after life" your religious people invent.

I think it misleading and even dangerous to perpetuate the notion that somehow religion is beneficial in any of this. Especially off the back of studies that do not show that at all. The studies instead show us things we already know - that the people most likely to be participating and attending things like that - are already likely to be in the lower risk group. Literally nothing to do with religion at all and everything to do with the fact they are able to get out of bed and face the world and other people in the first place.

So such "studies" reflect a self selection bias and little more. Which is dangerous and misleading.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

your religious people

Ok tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

Nope. Not in the slightest.

Been there and IME it’s not that you aren’t thinking of others, which is what a lot assume, it’s that you think what your doing will be better for them.

Or in the case of suicide because of other mental illness, such as bi-polar, sometimes it’s not your intention but it appears to be. I tried to jump out a high story window once, not because I wanted to be dead but because I was having a manic episode of euphoria. That was classed as a suicide attempt even though dying was the last thing on my mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

The act of suicide is not selfish. For me its the act of not leaving a note to explain why you have done it which is selfish. Close ones can end up spending the rest of their own lives asking why and that is a torture in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Blistering reply

Blistering and 100% correct. Neither your opinion or anyone elses opinion can be treated as fact when the question is about someone's own views.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,779 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

alta stare wrote:
    The act of suicide is not selfish. For me its the act of not leaving a note to explain why you have done it which is selfish. Close ones can end up spending the rest of their own lives asking why and that is a torture in itself.

I couldn't imagine the suicidal mind as being logical, I'd imagine leaving a note of explanation of your actions not being a priority at times, God only knows what state the mind is in during such terror

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I wouldn’t consider it selfish no. I think it’s tragically upsetting that someone would feel such desperation and hopelessness that they feel the world would be better off without them. Far from selfish it is, as they actually feel they are benefiting the world by no longer being in it. Which is entirely untrue of course, but by that stage you are no longer dealing with someone who is thinking logically or rationally.

GoneHome wrote: »
    Ah FFS like Alan Hawe killed his wife and kids in an act of compassion or the psychos in Wexford or Ballycotton, which ones would you class as "evil" and which are "compassion", in my opinion all acts that way against their wife and kids are evil no matter what their "mental health" issues were

As I said in my post “Who are we to judge?
    A lone suicide believes that their loved ones would be better off without them. Some murder/suicides are acts of evil but some are acts of compassion.”

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Blistering and 100% correct. Neither your opinion or anyone elses opinion can be treated as fact when the question is about someone's own views.

First part of your post completely contradicts the second half :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    First part of your post completely contradicts the second half :rolleyes:

No it doesn't. The question was "Would you consider suicide selfish?" ('you' meaning the poster replying). The question was not "What do you think is a socially acceptable answer as to whether suicide is selfish?".

When the question is phrased as it was then anyone's answer is correct because they were asked what they think.

And that IS a fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Upforthematch

anawfulway wrote: »
    Thanks. I've a bit of a weird question in relation to help services: I hate trying to talk to people in person about feelings, I just cant do it, even over the phone I'd block up and it would end up being no use to me. Couldnt even talk to my partner about it, I'd never get out what I wanted to say. Is there any of them that offer a purely text based/email service?

Hi, I just wanted to say that there are email & text services out there because just like you said, sometimes the words get lost when we try to say how we're feeling.

Pieta House: text HELP to 51444

Aware Support mail: supportmail @aware.ie

Samaritans mail: jo @samaritans.org

These people are trained and non-judgemental. Try it out, you are not wasting their time and it's a really practical step to take.

A lone suicide believes that their loved ones would be better off without them. Some murder/suicides are acts of evil but some are acts of compassion.”

I agree with a lot of your posts Maryanne but I completely and utterly draw the line at harming your spouse and children. It’s your body and your life to do whatever you want with it . BUT you don’t have the same autonomy over the lives of anyone else, spouse or kids. THAT to my mind is inexcusable, unforgivable and is not someone acting out of depression. It’s more the act of a narcissist ,if they think killing their kids and wife is compassionate!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

No it doesn't. The question was "Would you consider suicide selfish?" ('you' meaning the poster replying). The question was not "What do you think is a socially acceptable answer as to whether suicide is selfish?".

When the question is phrased as it was then anyone's answer is correct because they were asked what they think.

And that IS a fact.

Was referring to your more recent post, you stoutly defend your own" opinion " as" fact ", then dismiss the views of others as mere opinion in the next sentence

If not a contradiction, definitely ironic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Who is anyone to judge about anything.

Everyone judges all the time - even those who think they aren't judgemental.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

He made it. Now to see do the psych services keep him or let him out. Nothing has changed. He is not willing to take responsibility for his life. I'd nearly finish him off myself just to put both of us out of our respective miseries.

We're members of a society that sees some acts as tragic, and some as criminal.

There is nothing compassionate about murdering children.

I think I know what you're saying, that in the mind of a disturbed and ill person it might be construed as saving the kids or preventing them suffering, but there has to be some part of them that recognises that it's a completely different ball game to ending your own life when you take innocent kids with you.

I remember when I was a kid some man killed himself and his baby when his wife left him. There was a lot of stuff in the paper from locals about how he couldn't bear to be without his baby, and he was desperate. That kind of thing only lends legitimacy to murder. He didn't murder his baby because he wanted to be with it, he murdered it because he didn't want it to be with anyone else, ever. Suicide is a tragedy and deserves nothing but understanding and compassion. Murder, not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

Some people may kill a spouse in a murder-suicide pact if one or both of them are elderly or ill. If both are in agreement with it then fair enough. Some people are mentally ill and believe that the world is an awful place and want to save their children from that horror. I don't agree with such actions but I can understand that because if I had a child I'd fear for them and their future and what might happen to them based on my experiences. However there are those who kill their families for selfish or narcissistic reasons, especially those that kill their children to spite their ex spouse.

My thoughts are with those of you who have lost someone to suicide, I can't imagine the pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    With all due respect , I never said there is no hope .

Yes , we all can try and carry , and help , and seek help for those who are battling their inner demons . We will never know the true extent of what is in their heads , even if they tell us , we can only imagine the pain and anguish it causes .
    Imagine and empathise , as unless we are in their shoes we really don't have a true understanding of it .

Well said, and I completely agree.