Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Drink. It Can't be worth it, can it?!

• 16-06-2001 3:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭

I'm very hungover at the moment, and have decided to give up the drink for a bit. Why do we drink? I'm poisoned this morning.I can't think or speak.Everything I eat kinda tastes like chemicals.I don't know why I drink really, and don't even mention 'moderate' drinking, I can't do that, it seems to be all or nothing. Anyway I think I need some encouragement or something...why do you drink? If you don't then why don't you? And could you quit?

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭dogs

*nods head* Feeling similar this morning, thinking kinda the same. I'm not going out tonight, no matter what! :)
    last night, or what i can remember of it, was a lot of fun, but it'd have been just as fun (maybe even more) if i hadnt drank so much.
    drinking in moderation ? hard to do when nobody else you're with is, too hard when someone plonks a pint down in front of you.
    i'm going back to bed now, to um...think about this some more :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Drinking makes most people happy doens't it?
    And when drinking, you can do thing's you would regret, and then just blame it on the drink smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

i went tru a phase of drinkin off double vodka's in a pint glass with a bottle of smirnof ice... was great fun at the time, till i subered up n realised it was costin me about £7.00 a go!!! slapped me back to reality fairly lively!! biggrin.gif

but yeah ever nite i go out on a major píss up i end up the next morning sayin i'll never drink again but i always do, hell the more i try to stop the more i drink!!!

so i don't try anymore, n i seem to be drinkin less now! (of course it could be that i can't afford to drink like i used too! hee hee biggrin.gif)

"just because you're not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after you!"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

We drink to make ourselves more relaxed and outgoing, meaning that we will do things that we wouldn't do if sober, Like Ride that Minning Auld wan across the bar. ETC, Alcohol is bad in huge quanties, IMHO people should know when to stop.

john

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Firefox

I overdid it too last night, although I thought I didn't think I had drank that much but than I remember those tequila slammers we had! Woke up about 11 with lambeg drums playing in my head and got quite sick. I'm also keep away from the hard stuff for a while. I don't go out every weekend as much as I used to, must getting old. It is difficult to take it in moderation especially when your mates are going hell for leather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I reckon that a good over load of alcohol is just what's needed every now and then. And I go out with the express intention of getting well hammered every so often.

But - if you're the sort of person who isn't able to go out and just have 5 or 6 pints and leave it at that then you shouldn't be drinking cause you're just not up to it. So - no more being of the wussy variety - if you're getting skulled suck it up and suffer the morning after.

I'm the Dude

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Daily tip
    "Guinness give you strenth!" smile.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

i'm a bit mad (ask anyone who knows me) and i love going out. i don't get ****ed every night, but i do go out 3 nights in a row sometimes. like 2 nite. ok. off 2 the pub. cyas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Oogy_Boogy

Drink is God's Gift to us. In the bible he said we have to earn our living thru suffering and hardship....so what do we get in return? drink to forget all of our problems and make us think we are the KING! also its great for ugly people, makes minger's look at least shaggable, tho it has its hangover drawbacks, its worth it!

Oogy_Boogy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭p

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lump:
    We drink to make ourselves more relaxed and outgoing, meaning that we will do things that we wouldn't do if sober, Like Ride that Minning Auld wan across the bar.</font>

Yea,
    IMO you're better off spending your time trying to being more outgoing or whatever without the drink.
    (:

- Kevin

• Registered Users Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Well, I go out a hell of a lot, Like during the summer I will probally go out every night Im not working. I dont drink every time I go out. Alcohol has no effect on me until I get in to the large quantities. IE I went out last Tuesday, had 8 pints, 3 of which I downed. Then I went to a club and had 8 Vodka's, Walked home at 4 Am, and was up the following morning at 10, felt great and started studying for my Drawing exam smile.gif

I find that if you can't have a good time with out drink then there is something seriously wrong. I am like everyone else, I do go on the batter with the lads, but I enjoy just going out, and not drinking. Some of my friends find it odd, because the only time they dont drink when they go out is when they are broke. They find it amazing that some one like me that works and has money any time we go out can sit in the pub listening to the band and drinking water. It mystifies me really.

John

• Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

ok, maybe it's time to re-evauluate my position. i'm ****ed hungover. i don't want to drink ever again. however around 6 o clock, this will suddenly change, and i'll go on the **** again.

this happen to everyone, yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

It's a choice of lifestyle, you drink with friends, have a good time, drink becomes good, it's associated learning. Whether or not you wake up the next day and feel ill depicts whether you question alcohol. I never feel rough and therefore alcohol is in my top 5 of favourite things. I always have fun, just wish I'd stop losing clothing in the process.

Miaow.

Lucy la morte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

i have yet to drink in moderation, that said, i only go out once a month (and sometimes two..err) and its with the sole purpose of getting drunk.i do not intend to go out an try hold some form of conversation with my friends, as what i have to say to them i prefer doing so when i am sober and i certianly do not go out "to pull" although its probably easier when every1's ****ed but i like to be sober when im getting down.
    i got out to relax and drinking to excess does that wonderfully, i drink only shorts and have no hang overs, although i drank BUD once and have not repeated it since.
    expensive **** though.

Britany Spears Looking incredible

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Seeing as this 'hangover' thing I hear about generally doesn't seem to apply to me, I do like my drink biggrin.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

If someone buys me a pint, I'll sit and stare at it all night.
    Two hours later I might have drunk half the pint...
    Spirits on the other hand! biggrin.gif

IMHO, beer = foul tasting pìss-water brewed by satan himself... and don't get me started on the numerous trips back and forth to the gents for pee-pee's.

I prefer to spend my night drinking whiskey, vodka, wine, sambuca, tequela, and maybe a pint of Murphys to wash it all down smile.gif
    I just can't understand why people spend the whole night drinking the same diluted gick, when they could be enjoying the subtle delights of spirits.
    I also get a better 'buzz' from spirits, where as pints just make me dopey and in need of a piddle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

I don't drink for the taste of it. I don't drink to drown my sorrows. I don't drink to socialise. I drink to get drunk, plain and simple!

Lots of things make me happy when I'm drunk and I can relax and enjoy myself.

I know some people say that this is an unhealthy attitude towards drinking but I don't go out that often, it's just that when I do I get absolutely twisted. I actually gave up drink for a while and I have to say that I was the most boring guy in the world. Still though, not everyone is the same as me, thank God!

John (yes THE John!)
    "Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government."

[This message has been edited by Puck (edited 18-06-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

I go out 4/5 nights a week and get well oiled. I care not about my hangover. I love goin out on the beer, love the craic etc. flook it, if you dont like it, get out! you're barred!

_ _ _ _ _________ _ _ _ _
    <A HREF="http://homepage.eircom.net/~cullenm&quot; TARGET=_blank>
    sig.jpg
    </A>
    http://run.to/pile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I think it was once said the if Lemmy Kilmister ever stopped drinking, he would drop dead...

But I know people who would drop dead at a sip of alcohol...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

You just refuse to let go of the student life-style huh EffBee.
    I started pretty late, not having my first pint until the summer before college. When I got to college I eased myself gradually into it, and within 2 months I could drink most ppl I knew under the table, and it generally took about 30 quid before I was feeling the effects of alcohol (the benefits of a high metabolism) I continued drinking pretty heavily throughout 1st year and most of second year before I stopped drinking. I wasn't through any conscious desire to quit, nor any necessity. I was on placement, and most of my cash was being spent on food and rent, the rest went to pay back a hefty student loan.
    I have never gone back to drinking as heavily as I used to. There are occasions that call for week long binges but nothing more. I do find myself looking back and wondering why the hell would I spend 80 quid on drink and whatever (for myself) in one night. Any night out these days is generally an excercise in conserving money ... hoping I am sobre enough to understand that £5.00 for a drink in a night club is going over board.
    Another thing I am noticing these days ... any time I go out for a drink, be it one pint or 15 I always wake up the next moring with a vicious hangover. That never used to happen to me when I was drinking all the time, and it is probably the main reason I don't drink too often. The hungover vows of "I'll never drink again!" tend to keep me sobre for a few weeks at least ... smile.gif

http://clans.quake.ie/osiris
    Fragnet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Dead{o}Santa:
    I just can't understand why people spend the whole night drinking the same diluted gick, when they could be enjoying the subtle delights of spirits.
    </font>

Spirits are generally known to mess people up quicker, it's alot easier to 'over do' spirits too. They're increased strength means if not drunk responsibly, someone could be having their stomach pumped. Spirits require alot more sense, which is usually lost after half a litre of vodka. They're also a fast track way to alcoholism. On the plus side they don't make you drowsy, some clear the throat, you can get drunk alot quicker (and cheaper) and they won't make you fat (? I hope not).

Miaow.

Lucy la morte.

[This message has been edited by Lucy_la_morte (edited 19-06-2001).]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Heh, I don't think Santy or I are in any danger of getting fat wink.gif (more beer and tequila please)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 steph

I wouldnt say that i drink often but when i do i just cant help but get p*****!!I love the feelin of freedom but then comes the sick feelin so i just keep on drinkin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 kat

simple stop the drinking get stoned no wait thats a bit bad...or just smoke ur life away that usually helps

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭bugler

Quiet you hags!

I have decided to take it easy for the summer.Once college starts up again it will start big time....

Interesting thought, vomit sets you free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 steph

oi watch who you were callin a hag! And i never give myself a chance to vomit im usually partying to hard!!