Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French Foreign Legion

• 19-06-2006 10:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7 ALEX L

Hello Guys
    I am the author of NEVER TOO OLD and I have been reading all of your comments about what you think the Legion is like and who can join ect. Most of it wrong I must say.
    If you look at my front page ( www.troon-promotions.com/ntd.htm ) you will see a section on FAQ about joining the Legion.
    The aim of tell my story is to try and dispell the myths and show what its all about. You don't have to be a super fit, been there done it, know it all, ex military super hero. In fact if you claim to be you probably won't make it.
    The training is not in Africa, there is no such thing as a Special Forces Unit ( there is a small specialized section in the REP that is up there with the best), and hard men and bullies don't last five minutes and you don't have to speak French (It does no harm to do so). Anyone can pass through the ranks and become an officer, although some are from St. Cyr military college ( The French Sandhurst), but only a French Officer can command a regiment.
    I am enjoying all the back chat but in the end, if you want to have a go, then just do it. Not in six months, next year or what ever excuse you can think up to put it off. Just do it. If you are not a get up and go person then the Legion is not for you.
    Keep chating guys.
    Alex (The Old One):cool:

• Nice to hear from you Alex L. I'll give your book a check out too. Could you answer me a question. My parents are friendly with a few French ex military in France. Most are from the Para's. Did you operate often with non Legion companies and battalions?
    Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 ALEX L

The French Foreign Legion Parachute Regiment are part of the French regular army parachute division called the 11eme D.P. (11th Parachute Division)
    The 2eme REP (2nd Regiment of Foreign Parachutists) are the only Legion Para Regiment and do combined exercises with the Regular Army.
    You will find all this info and more, in detail in my online book.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Read a fair few pages of the book, excellent read so far Alex :)
    I have a mate who Joined up a number of years back and did two 5 year stints, no military background at all, haven't seen him in a long time tho. One mate did meet him in Dublin city centre one night in a bar and he didn't want to know the guy, previously they had been very good friends, I thought it was weird when I heard it. He served in Kosovo during the balkans conflict a number of years back. As far as I know he's back living in Dub now, I dont see or hear from him at all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Hi Alex and welcome to Boards,I have to say I am really enjoying your book its a great read and well put together.Did you come across many Irish lads in the Legion...?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Hi Alex. Just one or two (or six) questions:
    Is it true that only non-French people can join the French Foreign Legion?
    Is it true that during the training, and untill you complete your 5 year stint, they hold onto your passport, unless you quit ("ring the bell"?)?
    [strike]Do you need 20/20 vision when joining?[/strike]
    Does your hearing have to be perfect when joining?
    [strike]Whats the max age a recruit can be when joining?[/strike]

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Being reading the chapters, and it does sound intresting. Maybe something that I'd do when I hit 35, if I'm able to pass the hearing test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 ALEX L

Hi the syco,
    Go back to the front page and click on FAQ. You will get all your answers there. For the others who asked about the Irish, there are quite a few in the REP from all sides of the fence and they all get on with each other. Old prejudices, religious differences and all of the other crap that goes on, doesn't have a place in a multi national, multi-ethnic organisation like the Legion. That what makes them acceptable as peace makers when other well intentioned forces find it hard to break down barriers.
    Anyway, keep reading and posting.
    Alex L
    :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭pablo21

Fascinating reading Alex! I'm hooked....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 El_17

hello
    im new to this but it does seem like u know you stuff so i was wondering if you could help me. My brother has recently joined up about two months ago, and there is lots of contraversy of whether or not a name change is obligatory. Do you think you could tell me what happens?
    Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Catcher86

El_17 wrote: »
    hello
    im new to this but it does seem like u know you stuff so i was wondering if you could help me. My brother has recently joined up about two months ago, and there is lots of contraversy of whether or not a name change is obligatory. Do you think you could tell me what happens?
    Thanks!

The name change is not obligatory. You can choose to change your identity if you wish.
    If you do change your identity, you can then choose to keep your new identity or have your old one back after your service is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭bostonian

http://www.legion-recrute.com/en/

http://www.ambafrance-us.org/atoz/legion/enlist.asp

According to the French Embassy in the US, the first contract is for five years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭cp251

Hah, you have to love the French. Reading the FAQ of the legion. I noticed these nuggets.
    Can a Frenchman join the Foreign Legion ?
    Yes. Under “declared identity” a Frenchman’s nationality is changed to that of another French speaking country, so he becomes a foreigner. He can ask for his real identity and nationality after one year’s service .

:rolleyes:Brilliant. Francaise? Non, Je suis Belgique!
    The discipline enforced in the French foreign Legion is exactly the same as that of the French Regular Army. However, our traditions of an elite force allow us to enforce this discipline with a greater rigour

Greater rigour? I'll bet. The French version of the site is even more subtle, merely hinting certain constraints due to it's glorious history:D
    Can a legionnaire go abroad on leave ?
    Yes. Those who wish to return to their own country on leave, must have accomplished their military obligations in that country (where applicable), and must not be wanted by the police of that country. Some destinations are however subject to precautionary restrictions (Iraq, Afghanistan...).

I like that bit not be wanted by the police of that country

I can see how that would be a problem. LOL

Interesting, but I would never have joined the legion, although I know a couple from my old FCA unit who did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭bostonian

cp251 wrote: »

Interesting, but I would never have joined the legion, although I know a couple from my old FCA unit who did.

did you ever hear from them again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭cp251

No, but the same could be said of most of my old company particularly my recruit platoon. 'They vanished into the mists of time'.

I do know what happened to a lot of them though. A least two became Gardai, two got cadetships, one became an Air Corps pilot flying the government jet. The other was the leader of the 2nd Cavalry Presidential Motorcycle Escort. Several joined the regular army, at least five that I know of. One, a good friend enlisted in the Air Corps, he went to the Leb a few times and later tried the ARW. Later again he became a helicopter pilot flying Coastguard S61's and is now somewhere in the Middle East flying to oil rigs. One became an Aer Lingus pilot and is now a Captain. One or two became security guards.
    At least two joined the British army. One was a para and later went to Sandhurst and was commissioned. Knowing him, I would guess he later ended up in the SAS or at least tried to join. And of course there were the two lads who went to the legion.

What was very interesting is that most of them ended up in a uniform of one sort or other. That can't be a coincidence. It also gives lie to the sneering comments of some PDF about the FCA being a bunch of sandbags. My old platoon were some of the best people you could ever serve with. Their subsequent careers prove that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Renseignement

ALEX L wrote: »
    The French Foreign Legion Parachute Regiment are part of the French regular army parachute division called the 11eme D.P. (11th Parachute Division)
    The 2eme REP (2nd Regiment of Foreign Parachutists) are the only Legion Para Regiment and do combined exercises with the Regular Army.
    You will find all this info and more, in detail in my online book.

I see that his book has now been published by Pen & Sword. Should make a good read. I saw it on Amazon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭McArmalite

ALEX L wrote: »
    Hello Guys
    I am the author of NEVER TOO OLD and I have been reading all of your comments about what you think the Legion is like and who can join ect. Most of it wrong I must say.
    If you look at my front page ( www.troon-promotions.com/ntd.htm ) you will see a section on FAQ about joining the Legion.
    The aim of tell my story is to try and dispell the myths and show what its all about. You don't have to be a super fit, been there done it, know it all, ex military super hero. In fact if you claim to be you probably won't make it.
    The training is not in Africa, there is no such thing as a Special Forces Unit ( there is a small specialized section in the REP that is up there with the best), and hard men and bullies don't last five minutes and you don't have to speak French (It does no harm to do so). Anyone can pass through the ranks and become an officer, although some are from St. Cyr military college ( The French Sandhurst), but only a French Officer can command a regiment.
    I am enjoying all the back chat but in the end, if you want to have a go, then just do it. Not in six months, next year or what ever excuse you can think up to put it off. Just do it. If you are not a get up and go person then the Legion is not for you.
    Keep chating guys.
    Alex (The Old One):cool:
    One of the best posts for a while I must say. I see from your book " becoming a Legionnaire at the tender age of thirty eight. " :) Well, I'm in my 40's now, but I don't think I'll be going for the Legion. To be honest, even in my younger days I never thought I'd have what it takes to be in the Legion but fair play to any man who can make it.
    Since I've brought age into it, though in my 40's I train at Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Kick Boxing around 6 times a week ( 3 sessions of each ). Now not saying I'm ready to fight in the UFC or something, but most of the younger fellas ( and I mean most ) don't train with the intensity and consistency of some of the lads who I know who are in their 40's and even early 50's. Ok, these guys are like me life long martial arts nutcases and have kept themselves in good shape all their lives. The point I'm making, age and the hard experiences of life can stand to a man and make him stick it when many younger fellas just chicken out. But fair play to you Alex, your book will definetly one to buy and I'll be telling my fellow martial arts nutcases about it.
    cp251 wrote: »
    No, but the same could be said of most of my old company particularly my recruit platoon. 'They vanished into the mists of time'....... It also gives lie to the sneering comments of some PDF about the FCA being a bunch of sandbags. My old platoon were some of the best people you could ever serve with. Their subsequent careers prove that.
    As a former member of the FCA ( that's the old name for the Irish Army reserve for Alex or those of you young enough not to know ), I take grave exception to people referring to us as " sandbaggers ". The best drinking club in Ireland is far more flattering and accurate description :D.

McArmalite
    (Quote)
    As a former member of the FCA ( that's the old name for the Irish Army reserve for Alex or those of you young enough not to know ), I take grave exception to people referring to us as " sandbaggers ". The best drinking club in Ireland is far more flattering and accurate description biggrin.gif.

I don't think Alex L ever made that comment. I think you should direct your remark at cp251

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭McArmalite

McArmalite
    (Quote)
    As a former member of the FCA ( that's the old name for the Irish Army reserve for Alex or those of you young enough not to know ), I take grave exception to people referring to us as " sandbaggers ". The best drinking club in Ireland is far more flattering and accurate description biggrin.gif.

I don't think Alex L ever made that comment. I think you should direct your remark at cp251
    Are ya winding me up or wha' ?? I quoted cp251 statement and including an explanation of what the FCA was in commas for possibly those who mightn't know what the FCA was........:cool: Alex L is from Scotland but I don't think the nortorious name of Ireland's best drinking club might be known over there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Need a bloody good read, out of everything that I haven't read twice already..Shame Amazon is out of stock of said Authors books. Anybody know where to find it?

iceage wrote: »
    Need a bloody good read, out of everything that I haven't read twice already..Shame Amazon is out of stock of said Authors books. Anybody know where to find it?

I'm told by Amazon that because of demand there is a delay in its release till the begining of September but that they are still taking pre-orders and will send me my copy as soon as it arrives.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Cheers for that Renseignement :)

The book is actually called Fighting for the French Foreign Legion (Memoirs of a Scottish Legionnaire) if your looking for it on Amazon.

I think that this is a direct link to the correct page, or maybe not!
    <iframe src="http://rcm-uk.amazon.co.uk/e/cm?t=welcometotroo-21&o=2&p=8&l=as1&asins=1848840853&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr" style="width:120px;height:240px;" scrolling="no" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Hope this helps.

Ok, just tried it. It takes you to another page with an Amazon ad for the book. Just click on that and it takes to the right place. A little complicated but it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 nath90

Alex L, im 20 and seriously wanting to go join the french foreign legion something I've been real interested in doing. I am just curious as to what happens with time off ?? when you get it can you go home I'm from cork. I have checked up the official website also and it shows the pay which doesnt concern me but could you send money home to family every month?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

nath90 wrote: »
    Alex L, im 20 and seriously wanting to go join the french foreign legion something I've been real interested in doing. I am just curious as to what happens with time off ?? when you get it can you go home I'm from cork. I have checked up the official website also and it shows the pay which doesnt concern me but could you send money home to family every month?

I was gonna start a wind up about how the FFL will provide you with skype and flights home every weekend until I read the "send money home every month"... Decent bloke :)

Was talking to my doctor today who's relatives served FFL. They didn't get home too much. As a matter of fact, any sort of personal liberty has to be approved by your Commanding Officer. That includes internet, girlfriend, car, leave. So imagine you didn't get along... You could surmise that you'd get little in the way of leave... Or permission to fly home even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Son Of Eire

Yo Nathan whats up brother, Im 19 living in Cork to. Since I was a small man Iv wanted an Army life first I was interested in the U.S Military because my great uncle served with them through the Vietnam war he was 19 aswell when he signed up, Then I heard about the Legion the best fighting force in the world. Are you still thinking of Joining? I have my money for flights at the ready Im looking to go in the next couple of weeks as soon as possible really. If your up to it I'll add you on Facebook and we can book the flights I have a buddy who wants to come with to.

A question does anybody no if there is any sports team besides a running team, is there a Boxing team alot of Armys have one but I cant find anything about the Legions.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

McArmalite wrote: »
    As a former member of the FCA ( that's the old name for the Irish Army reserve for Alex or those of you young enough not to know ), I take grave exception to people referring to us as " sandbaggers ". The best drinking club in Ireland is far more flattering and accurate description :D.

Ill correct that for you:

The best drinking club in Ireland WAS far more flattering and accurate description.

Nowadays on training courses its a dry course, no alcahol allowed. Also on annual camps, being drunk and unavailable the next morning is seriously frowned upon ... exception being on the final night of course where its considered traditional to have "one or two" :) but then again, who wants to clean the ablutions the last morning of camp, whilst sober!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭tac foley

Hmmmm. I tried getting on the Alex's site just now and got shut down - right into the blue screen of death.

This happen to anybody else?

And Alex, if you are still above ground, I'd like to have a copy of your book, please.

tac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Works just fine for me. BSOD shouldn't happen for a dead website. That's something to do with a failing PC.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Bagenal

http://french-foreign-legion.com/
    http://www.legion-recrute.com/en/?SM=0

Couple of links that might help those with a desire to join up. Take note of Article 7 of the Leigonnaires Code of Honour:-
    "In combat you act without passion or hatred. You respect vanquished enemies. You never surrender your dead, your wounded, or your weapons."

Best of luck to those that decide to enlist, if you have the opportunity take it but dont expect a walk in the woods there was a programme on TV a couple of years ago about the Legion which showed how life was in it, not easy but excellent military training.

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Leonidas BL

Is there a Frence foreign air force :P