Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Arcade Talk 24/7/365

• Registered Users Posts: 34,413 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

eddhorse wrote: »
    Rumour has it ........

I think he's Cyber-Leading us on...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

o1s1n wrote: »
    I think he's Cyber-Leading us on...

Its pronounced "led" as in "is this filled with f****ng lead?!" when you try to move it :P

Master of the Universe

beejee wrote: »
    Its pronounced "led" as in "is this filled with f****ng lead?!" when you try to move it :P

We've been Cyber-Lead astray? :pac:

Seriously though, where the feck is this Cyber-Lead/Jack Burton? I hope he didn't get crushed :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭safetyboy

I seen it on instagram its here alright :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I'll get ye lads some porn tonight, don't worry

Master of the Universe

I can only stand outside this thread looking shiftly in a brown trenchcoat for so long :D

Not sure if anyone has a Japanese cabinet with a missing ashtray arm thingy, but there's a dude over on AO putting together repros for 20 quid each and they look pretty good. (I've been on the lookout for one now for years)

https://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=39352

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

My god, I remember the arcades in Butlins had ashtrays all over the cabs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Those black ones that were on hinges, its like every cabinet in the country had them dangling off the sides. Even quirkeys had them, but I never remember anyone smoking in there. Barneys was a different story!

Distinctly remember one of the lost world guns having a cigarette hole burned right through the casing, you could only do that by hoofing a smoke and sticking it there over and over and over!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

There’s one of those hinged ash trays on my Getaway pinball.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevin2me

Seems timely, theres a lad selling parts from cyberlead, in case urs is missing any bits...

Just a heads up... and well wear on the new cab

https://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=39482

Thanks for the heads up Kevin

Posted on it there. I'd like that DC PS interface, so odd looking.

Cant hurt to have a second CP either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭BGOllie

I don't care for candy cabs but I have to admit that cab looks cooooool af Jack Burton

Yeah, still no sign of my Stepdown so haven't even turned it on yet haha

• Registered Users Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Is it a JVS to Jamma? If so the coin mech wont work, well doesnt on my NNC

Yeah it's JVS with a jamma adaptor. Going to try and find a Namco game to run in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭eddhorse

I think i have a maplins stepdown somewhere , weighs a tonne.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭geotrig

That's the exact reason I'm trying to get a Namco board for it!

Master of the Universe

Just ordered one of those SNK ashtray holders - they weren't too pricey at 20 euro, but the shipping doubled it to 40 :O

Still, I've been on the lookout for one for so long to complete that cabinet that I went for it.

https://gateninety.com/product/snk-ashtray-holder-pre-order/

Crap!! i ordered 2 yesterday , could have shipped them together..

o1s1n wrote: »
    Just ordered one of those SNK ashtray holders - they weren't too pricey at 20 euro, but the shipping doubled it to 40 :O

Still, I've been on the lookout for one for so long to complete that cabinet that I went for it.

https://gateninety.com/product/snk-ashtray-holder-pre-order/

Master of the Universe

Ah that's unfortunate!

What cabs you going to stick them on?

I note that my Pony has two mounting holes for the holder mechanism but no mechanism itself unfortunately. Would be great to get one on there too.

Aero and neo candy 29 i picked up on AO.. I have the piece and access to a lathe so iam going to try recreate the needed piece, if its a success ill let you know, and offer them up to others.

Master of the Universe

Excellent! Sure let me know how you get on :)

On a side point, I picked a fine time to give up smoking cigarettes...:pac:

I need a full new set of locks for my Cyber Lead.

Anyone be able to recommend me someplace to buy a set? New or used doesn't really matter to me.

I was thinking of getting a few of these type of locks

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Arcade-Pinball ... 1910462170

If they fit. I'll have to measure up tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭BGOllie

just received and fitted the artwork for the Kung fu Master cab and moved it in the game room :) Glad I finally got this one done

52390019_10157074503203276_8424709764218355712_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&_nc_ht=scontent-lga3-1.xx&oh=f6290199391eba8188fa4634fee8a814&oe=5CEF81E4

• Registered Users Posts: 8,950 ✭✭✭Doge

My nephew and niece was up tonight and wanted to try out the arcade1up.
    Don't have the 2nd player joystick installed yet so they took turns.

Threw on metal slug for my niece and she said it was better than Roblox or any PS4 game! She's about 13 years old.
    My nephew who's about 6 got distracted by all the synthesizers keyboards so was having a little rave for himself instead of playing the arcade! :pac:

Just great to see the younger generation enjoying the action and addictiveness of arcade games, they were something special.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭airmax87

Any update on the superdome in palmerstown?
    Were the cabs/machines all snapped up by someone or whats the craic.

So my airlink stepdown the cyberlead finally arrived, plugged it in and nothing....****.

According to the plate on the cab it needs 100v and 97W. The airlink stepdown gives 100V and 100W so should have been perfect. Talked to O1s1n and reckoned the power from the wall was a bit weak so it's not getting enough juice. The AO wiki lists the machine as 120W as well so that could have been it too.

This morning I got the same converter I used for my blast city for years. 110V and 350W. Should be more than enough to run it and still inside the allowence to not blow up the cab.....still dead

Had a quick check inside and seen this crispy joy VDnVK1Z.jpg

I've emailed Ronnie about it, I didn't have much time to really check everything out between work and stuff. Next step is to check out all the fuses.

Needless to say, so far, there's nothing sweet about this candy :p

So emailed Ronnie. Told me the cab is 220v!

I'll plug it in when I'm home

So I plugged the cab into our Irish mains.... nothing. Checked the fuses and it blew a 4A fuse, I thought could have been an issue from being underpowered with 110 so tried a new one. Blew the **** out of it instantly.

So something is rotten in the state of Denmark