Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ysueikekennd

There was a disgusting deviant who use to leave large poo logs in the urinals in a place I worked. Massive one like bean cans

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Worked in a place for a few summers while in secondary school - there was a fella there who was forever trying to groom young Tacitus, promises of a big cold bag of cans and fresh box of fags if I would only call up to play cards. He would then be asking if I'd ever had sex, and if i liked boys as well as girls etc. Etc.
    (14/15 year old me)

Nah, says I, fùck off with yourself ya creep (was a street smart chap who hung around with a rough enough crowd so was never in any danger)

He went straight upstairs and reported me for being abusive.. I told snr management* my side of the story and was told to behave myself and stop antagonising the poor man because he's a bit simple.

3 or four years pass and low and behold he gets jail for an aggravated sexual assault on a very young chap in the local town.

Bumped into him a few years ago, looked shook after his stint in prison, he looked even more shook after I told him to make sure to watch out for me if he's ever crossing the road.

*manager was a very close relation. I'm still pissed at their lack of action in siding with the obvious paedo and his obvious grooming attempts.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Jesus christ, what is with all the coprophiliacs.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

So I work for a multinational and an engineer had problems with his laptop. He left it in with the IT guys and low and behold the dirty bastard had plenty of pics of guys in the loo.
    He took pictures form under and over the stalls. He was made resign and It was all Swept under the carpet as such.

Again as many posters have mentioned had phantom ****ters. One was lwft under a mat for a few days and the others were mainly in the toilet. Toilet bowl just riddles with ****e.
    We always have to check the toilet roll too before tolling it out incase there is ****e on it as one lad went to take some and there was some on the roll. He came out of the toilet as if he saw a ghost. He was pretty disturbed by it.

Had a good few instances of married men and women having affairs. Couple have gotten caught either on the roof or in store rooms etc.

Plot twist.

Guys, what does a phantom shítter crave more than anything? That's right, notoriety.

So a thread appears about outrageous workplace incidents, what's the phantom shítter gonna do? He's gonna boast about his obnoxious, puerile little feats. He won't be able to help himself!

Yes! Emmet, Deebles, Irish_goat and all the others, to you I say, J'accuse !

You are the phantom shítters.

Mods! Arrest these scurrilous rogues forthwith!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

One of the mods already has me in handcuffs but for other reasons.....eh, science reasons, lets say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Like it seems to be specifically corporate or whatever as well.

I've worked in some retail and catering jobs where staff were fit to have a breakdown from how much they hated the place, I've worked on projects for charities, in the arts and I've never even once heard of a phantom sh1tter. Reason 662863 to be wary of people in business attire right here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,354 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Plot twist.

Guys, what does a phantom shítter crave more than anything? That's right, notoriety.

So a thread appears about outrageous workplace incidents, what's the phantom shítter gonna do? He's gonna boast about his obnoxious, puerile little feats. He won't be able to help himself!

Yes! Emmet, Deebles, Irish_goat and all the others, to you I say, J'accuse !

You are the phantom shítters.

Mods! Arrest these scurrilous rogues forthwith!

Drops monocle.

"Militiades , now is your moment to seize power. "

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Max Moment

Keeping on the ****ters theme, albeit not phantom this time. Tower Crane driver in work went AWOL one day, cue us getting in a new relief driver.

New driver climbed up the crane and straight back down. Turned out the original driver had been ****ting in plastic bags and leaving them in the tower crane cab where he sat all day, along with two litre bottles of urine. Bags of **** also stored on top of the tower crane cab.

He must have been doing it for months. The stench I believe was inhuman. How he sat in that crane for 10-12 hours a day is a mystery.

We had to take the crane out of service for two days to get it professionally disinfected.

The mind boggles...

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

So uh do these phantom ****ters wipe after?

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭shannonman81

nthclare wrote: »
    I won't name the company but supposedly the companies head office was in South Africa and an Irish subsidiary was based in Ireland and it was up to the Irish side to look after their patch.

Anyhow unbeknownst to the head office in Africa the Irish side of the company had its own club house,bar, snooker hall,soccer pitches, tennis courts and a yacht in the ocean and cruiser on the lake, top end company car's etc

A company director came over to see how it's all working out, lets just say he wasn't happy with the cashflow...

The ostentatious 80's huh

I currently work here.
    Indirectly I might add
    But all the above is true. Still on site in a building they call "The Hilton". A three story office block with a bar in the middle.
    I know lads who would have got a phone call on Thursday afternoon to tell them to come over and they knew their working day was done it was time for pints.

I spent most of my summers as a kid playing soccer, tennis, snooker or squash in their facility on the other side of town

It's a very very different place to work now though.

In my last job we had a phantom sh###er... But strangely it was in the women's toilets.
    Had a quality manager who would get drunk at parties and grope the women (one of whom was paid off to leave)
    A production manager who had an affair with the HR manager .. Wife found out...
    Cleaner was sacked for looking at porn
    I'm sure there is more

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

The angry ones or the mental ones? I have theories on both.
    In my last job we had a phantom sh###er... But strangely it was in the women's toilets.

Mine was of the fairer sex too :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Not my work place but I did hear of someone losing their job due to their internet usage on his company laptop.

Not porn or anything illegal, but about 20 hours per week updating his fantasy football team and trawling through forums for transfer tips, injured players, form guides etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

A new temp member of staff mistakenly sent an email that was intended for her boyfriend to the entire Nationwide company. The email was a long explicit one. Basically, saying that she never wanted to move to this new job or location but did so for him and his new job. That she feels like his sex slave/ cook as that's all she feels she is to him. I forget the specifics but it was deeply personal and explicit. The poor girl had to show her face the next day .. as far as I can remember she didn't show up the next day

I remember this. Everyone felt dreadful for her.
    Could never figure out how she managed to do it.

Not my work place but I did hear of someone losing their job due to their internet usage on his company laptop.

Not porn or anything illegal, but about 20 hours per week updating his fantasy football team and trawling through forums for transfer tips, injured players, form guides etc.
    Jaysis. I should probably lay off boards in work, if that's a "thing".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭patnor1011

My ****ter was not a phantom at all. :D
    I had a pub with another friend as 50:50 partners. There was this old guy who used came right after postman delivered his pension and was able to spend it within few hours. I did not allow him inside (after incident which I describe shortly) as he was smelling so bad that as soon as he walked in most of other patrons walked out and I was about to faint. Wooden chair outside and his buddies ferrying drinks for him for a fee... That guy could be used as a biological weapon for clearing out buildings from enemy combatants - everyone would run for their life type of a smell...

My partner on the other hand loved to see him as he was like money in the bank. Couple drinks and then he was buying rounds for everyone. To me it looked bad so we always fought about it. My main problem with that patron was that everytime when he got drunk he simply relieved himself right on a pub chair which were upholstered and quite difficult to clean. I snapped when we had about 20 chairs in a back room waiting to be cleaned. That day he was sitting drunk on a wooden chair as I banned him from upholstered ones he did a number 2 in his pants. It was pretty obvious so I decided that it is a time for him to leave. As I was dragging him out as he was unable to stand on his own, ***te started to come out from the bottom of his trousers on both sides. Literally kilos of the stuff. I had to close down for a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Ah not falling for that one... Oh sh1t wait

• Registered Users Posts: 24,769 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

patnor1011 wrote: »
    My ****ter was not a phantom at all. :D
    I had a pub with another friend as 50:50 partners. There was this old guy who used came right after postman delivered his pension and was able to spend it within few hours. I did not allow him inside (after incident which I describe shortly) as he was smelling so bad that as soon as he walked in most of other patrons walked out and I was about to faint. Wooden chair outside and his buddies ferrying drinks for him for a fee... That guy could be used as a biological weapon for clearing out buildings from enemy combatants - everyone would run for their life type of a smell...

My partner on the other hand loved to see him as he was like money in the bank. Couple drinks and then he was buying rounds for everyone. To me it looked bad so we always fought about it. My main problem with that patron was that everytime when he got drunk he simply relieved himself right on a pub chair which were upholstered and quite difficult to clean. I snapped when we had about 20 chairs in a back room waiting to be cleaned. That day he was sitting drunk on a wooden chair as I banned him from upholstered ones he did a number 2 in his pants. It was pretty obvious so I decided that it is a time for him to leave. As I was dragging him out as he was unable to stand on his own, ***te started to come out from the bottom of his trousers on both sides. Literally kilos of the stuff. I had to close down for a day.

That’s publicans for you, well some of em..

They always have their favorites and it’s usually whomever is filling their pockets fastest and more regularly. In the case I remember there was one absolute pîsshead around 70 who’d after a few too many would ramble around the pub try to ingratiate himself with people and into company and would usually end up in the mood for trouble when they asked to be left alone... happened to us one night, he nearly sent me flying from a slap on the back and me having said nothing to him. On getting up from my seat I jokingly said “Jesus, no more drink for the karate kid here” and that set him off, he went for me, barmen over, sat him down, one of them sat with him for a few minutes...I was asked what I’d done to ‘upset’ him..

I related what happened and was told all be it from a supervisor who is somewhat of a cretin to mind my mouth, to which I replied I’ll mind where I spend my cash in future and left... following day a phone call from the owner who heard what happened, an apology and yer man barred for a couple of days...

I can guarantee had my demeanor and method of departure not fueled worry of a slightly lighter till and threats from buddies to do the same I doubt my phone was ringing..

• Registered Users Posts: 81,072 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

patnor1011 wrote: »
    As I was dragging him out as he was unable to stand on his own, ***te started to come out from the bottom of his trousers on both sides. Literally kilos of the stuff. I had to close down for a day.

Did he ever arrive back in your place again after that incident? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Did he ever arrive back in your place again after that incident? :D

Yep. Every day after he got his money. I never let him inside though. Not worth it as most of other people just left when he came in. He was a totally lost case he wanted his drink. He probably wanted a bit of chat too but even that I felt sorry for him I stood my ground and he was barred from coming in.
    At that point I paid off my partner and he could not got in since my partner was not working anymore. Anyway, there were quite a few of people who loved to be around him (simmilar types) as he was paying for their drinks too. They took a chair outside for him and came in with orders.

After some time he stopped coming and I learned that he died. He used to get few bottles of beer to where he was living. Official version of his death was that he drank from a beer bottle where there was some paint thinner instead of beer, his place was littered with bottles and stuff. He was sort of a hoarder too. Unofficial grapevine version was that someone from a family who wanted his house and get rid of him planted that bottle there for him.
    I have no idea if that was true probably not, pub talk after few hours is worth nothing anyway and after working in a pub for few years I can say I heard it all.
    Working in a pub was not for me so after few years I just gave up. Work like that is too much to take in as you see people losing money, family and mind as the time go and you are somehow contributing to that. I had numerous conflicts with alcohol addicted people when I tried to help them - you cant reason with someone who is hell bent to have his way.
    It has been good 20 years since my "publican days" and even now I do not drink and cant stand to be around drunk people. I am not against drinking - alcohol just lost its "magic" for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The bottle tower was full of these....

There is one still across the road and when he gets on a bus he empties that too.

from call centre through supemarket through factory through civil service, every place had had phantom ****ters and the vast majority in the womens loos

even the supermarket customer loos were noticeably more prone to being filth in general as well as specifically targeted for crapbombing

fairer sex how are ya

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I worked in the local supermarket part time while in college. The staff organised a managers vrs staff soccer match. There was one particular manager who was the prick of all pricks. Just an absolute cnut of a man and as we were all young lads and girls, we used be afraid of him. Anyway, ten minutes into the soccer match he had his leg broken. It was planned by all accounts and even with a major investigation afterwards no one could say for definite it was anything other than an awkward challenge.

Staff vrs managers matches were never allowed happen again though....

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

from call centre through supemarket through factory through civil service, every place had had phantom ****ters and the vast majority in the womens loos

even the supermarket customer loos were noticeably more prone to being filth in general as well as specifically targeted for crapbombing

fairer sex how are ya

I used to work as a toilet cleaner in a supermarket a few years ago - womens toilets were always foul. Not to mention the occassional "mummy you didn't wash your hands" that I would hear from the kids on leaving the bathroom. Lads bathrooms > womens bathrooms.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Motivator

I used to work in a petrol station during the summer when I was in college. There was a new housing estate being built up the road and all the lads off the site would come in for their rolls every morning and lunchtime. Every day like clockwork we’d get 8 or 10 of them in and all of a sudden they disappeared. I’d a couple of people come one week in asking about the whereabouts of two guys in particular.

It turns out that the builders had gone out one Saturday night and picked up a couple of girls. They all went back to a house and what ended up happening was a few of them took videos of a girl who was putting a bottle up herself for their amusement. I saw the video weeks later as it had gone around nearly everyone’s phones by that’s stage. It turns out the lads had been showing the video to their coworkers on the building site the on the Monday morning and it turns out that it was the owner of the building company’s 17 year old daughter in the video. Someone copped it and rang him to get down to the site. A couple of the lads escaped and went to ground but a couple of others who were identifiable in the video got a bit of a hiding. Two of the main culprits did a runner and there were some fairly nasty individuals looking for them for a long time after.

I’m not sure if they were ever “gotten” but the video was fairly bad and considering her age they were in serious ****. Serious runours doing the rounds that the two lads were murdered and buried in concrete on the estate!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭griffin100

I used to work as a toilet cleaner in a supermarket a few years ago - womens toilets were always foul. Not to mention the occassional "mummy you didn't wash your hands" that I would hear from the kids on leaving the bathroom. Lads bathrooms > womens bathrooms.

Slightly off topic but I worked as a cleaner all through college and agree with you, but the worse was when I worked in a big DIY store as a cleaner and was being asked on a regular basis to clean out the display toilets that some scumbag had allowed their child take a sh1t in. This happened all the time :confused: And each and every time I refused as we were contracted to clean the floors :) They then always made some poor young lad from the warehouse lift the brown trout out of the toilet and put it in a bag for disposal.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭ltd440

Not where I worked, but a friend of mine worked with a fella that was borrowing all around him from everyone on site. People were starting to get a bit pissed off over not getting paid back. A bit of time goes by and the fella announced that his kid had cancer and preposed a whip around for funds to help the kid.
    Of course everyone gave generously, soon after the fella quit the job to help with his kid.
    Not long after that though everyone found out that his kid was never sick, this fella had developed a few addictions, his Mrs turfed him out and his life spiralled down.
    I knew him to see around and saw him drinking on the streets not long after, poor bastard committed suicide not much longer after that

• Registered Users Posts: 8,206 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Oh man....this happened a few minutes ago.

I just sent an email to a Mr Whitely and I wrote 'Dear Mr ****ely'....bloody fat fingers.

Replace 'W' with 'S'

• Registered Users Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I just sent an email to a Mr Whitely and I wrote 'Dear Mr ****ely'....bloody fat fingers.

Replace 'W' with 'S'

Is that the phantom crappers secret pseudonym?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Replace 'W' with 'S'

This reminds me of a typo I had before typing a t instead of a g. It wasn’t in work but in a college report.

I meant to say somebody was regarded as...

Instead I wrote he was retarded as....