Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Stingiest things thread(op for R&R access)

• 29-01-2014 11:06pm
    Administrators Posts: 353 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭System

See what I did there?!

Original thread here..... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88733360#post88733360

As you were.....

For anyone interested the ranting & Raving forum has a brilliant thread about retail. On gaining access to that forum I spent 6 hours reading every post.
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057757954
    Apply here for access. Read the first post before requesting

CRITERIA FOR ACCESS
    A minimum of 50 posts on boards.ie
    A minimum of 3 months on boards.ie
    A relatively clean record (this is at the mods discretion)

Subscribers bypass the time and postcount restrictions (please mention in your request if you are a subscriber). Please note that the moderators decision is final with respect to access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I knew this mod once, fierce stingy with the post count so he was. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

This thread title has a word missing.. bit stingy, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Jamie_

Butterface wrote: »
    This thread title has a word missing.. bit stingy, no?

The OP used the number '2' instead of 'do' to save bytes. All sounds the same...

Stingy fecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

the smell of sting off the op

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

In order to save letters, I regularly don't finish sente

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I call into a McDonald's almost every other day for no other reason than to help my self to the independent newspaper. (I don't actually buy anything when I'm in there)

I forget how much they actually cost now, but I see it as a waste of good money to pay for something that's technically 'free'

PS it really riles me lighting the stove with a paper I paid money for.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Closing threads to save some thing called a server.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I call into a McDonald's almost every other day for no other reason than to help my self to the independent newspaper. (I don't actually buy anything when I'm in there)

I forget how much they actually cost now, but I see it as a waste of good money to pay for something that's technically 'free'

PS it really riles me lighting the stove with a paper I paid money for.

The newspaper should be on the euro saver menu.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

I always wash the toilet tissue when I've finished with it.

Bloody awkward things to hang out on the clothesline though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭IsMiseMyself

My brother is sitting on a small fortune due to an injury who got a lot of compo for. He's ridiculously stingy. His three-year-old phone broke, so instead of buying a new one he "borrowed" my mother's spare phone: one of those €10 Tesco ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭sully2010

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Youzername

I knew this mod once, fierce stingy with the post count so he was. :o

I think we should all take a moment to remember those dead hamsters... :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

The thread title kills me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

My brother is sitting on a small fortune due to an injury who got a lot of compo for. He's ridiculously stingy. His three-year-old phone broke, so instead of buying a new one he "borrowed" my mother's spare phone: one of those €10 Tesco ones.

Kinda reminds me of a friend of mine who supposedly got a LOT of money from an accident but has never said a word about it which is cool...But just to go on and on and on about how they have no money to pay the bills or barely enough to eat, while at the same time buying very expensive collectors items, new car, house done up, laptops, 2 xboxes in one day, you name it, they got it..
    The final straw for me was when he asked me to drive a 60 mile round trip to buy a hoover. At the time i was only working part time so i genuinely had hardly any money trying to keep a car on the road and pay rent. I asked him for something towards petrol and he said no cos he was broke. (Might i add that i never ask for petrol but that week i was skint)...

Got to the electric shop and he bought the most expensive hoover in there for 500 euro. He opened his wallet and it was packed with 50s, must have been a few grand in there at least...
    Needless to say he never got a lift off me anywhere again, id always have an excuse and we're not really friends anymore....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I was in Chile and went on a tour that involved 7 of us travelling on a minibus for 4 days. There was this awful couple from London who spent four days spouting about socialism, the tyranny of how we exploit poorer societies and various other soundbites lifted from a Guardian opinion piece.

Despite having the latest in Apple tablets and phones, high-end SLR cameras and designer clothes, they felt that a worthy tip for the driver was the princely sum of about €5 in the local currency. After 4 days, and in a country where the average industrial wage is about €20000.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I saw this fella* pick up and pocket a 20 cent coin

*it was me!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

I was in Chile and went on a tour that involved 7 of us travelling on a minibus for 4 days. There was this awful couple from London who spent four days spouting about socialism, the tyranny of how we exploit poorer societies and various other soundbites lifted from a Guardian opinion piece.

Despite having the latest in Apple tablets and phones, high-end SLR cameras and designer clothes, they felt that a worthy tip for the driver was the princely sum of about €5 in the local currency. After 4 days, and in a country where the average industrial wage is about €20000.

Hypocritical rather that stingey, no?

I was short bus fare the other day by 40c, my friend that I was with said "ah no worries I have loads of change" and threw 40c in. We were back in her house that night and she asked me finish washing the dishes "to work off that 40c I owed her". She was dead serious! I just laughed it off and I did do the dishes but made a note to myself to post it here cos it just seemed so scabby haha, she is notoriously stingey, have mentioned her several times in this thread :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

biko wrote: »
    I saw this fella* pick up and pocket a 20 cent coin

*it was me!

Did it hit you on the back of the head as you bent down to pick it up?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

€20k? i earn about €7k more than that and am taxed to f*ck, live in a very expensive country and net about €390 a week...

i'd gladly take a €5 tip anytime it came along, but it never has.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

i am always boggled how any of those tight wads seem to think they are invisible to what they do when dipping out of whatever it is they are trying not to spend money on. they seem to think nobody notices and its usually out of embarrassment or just not wanting to cause a fuss that nothing is said to the f*cker.

it really is the worst human trait possible, i've met some seriously unpleasant people who i'd rather spend time with other than some tight fisted c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

This is very relevant to me right now!

Had an old mate from Belgium staying all week. He invited himself as he was doing some work here in London...I wasn't that keen but agreed as I'm trying to be more charitable etc this year. He stayed Monday to Friday. Ate dinner with us every night, drank loads of our cans/wine..stressed me out a bit as we're very tight on money this month due to my hours being cut at work, but he's fairly good company so I didn't make a big deal of it.

I met him in a cafe this evening to have a quick dinner before he headed home. Went to a cheap Korean place, came to about 7 quid a head, but I only had a card and it turns out they don't take cards. My friend, who had a wallet full of notes, suggested I go to a cash machine, I said there weren't any around that area (this is true)...he begrudgingly agreed to pay for my half and then he said "you can buy me one back next time you're in Belgium."

I just sat and looked at him in amazement and he asked what was up...I couldn't bite my tongue and said "you've stayed with me for free all week, saving about £400 on a hotel bill, you've eaten dinner for free all week, saving about £100 on food, you've drunk loads of our booze which directly cost us about £20, and you're seriously feeling hard done by about paying £7 for my dinner?" The worst part was that he still didn't seem to get it, started going on about how it hadn't cost us anything to have him in our house as he was just sleeping on the sofa and food scales up well.

We had an awkward goodbye hug and he invited me to stay with him in Belgium, but seriously? Is it just me? Staying with someone for 5 nights, bringing no gift, not offering to buy a takeaway and then grumbling over £7?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,540 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

IzzyWizzy wrote: »
    I just sat and looked at him in amazement and he asked what was up...I couldn't bite my tongue and said "you've stayed with me for free all week, saving about £400 on a hotel bill, you've eaten dinner for free all week, saving about £100 on food, you've drunk loads of our booze which directly cost us about £20, and you're seriously feeling hard done by about paying £7 for my dinner?"

Well done. There are many times I've wanted to say something like this to somebody (not just about stinginess, maybe about something like not contributing to a work project, or something where they've contributed **** all and then moaned about it), but have never had the balls to do it.

I usually just have the conversation with myself as soon as they're gone, fantasising about verbally destroying and humiliating them with comments like yours above.

Well done again.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 EDB66

Stopped off in a Tesco in Clonmel one evening, saw a chap acting a bit furtive around the reduced section, so took a look. He was not happy with the 4 cent scallion bunches and was ensuring he got 8 cents worth for the 4 cents :)

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

you've drunk loads of our booze which directly cost us about £20

Jaysus that fella was mad for the drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

Jaysus that fella was mad for the drink.

We had a £10 bottle of red wine, which he drank most of on the Monday night (I'm not really drinking anymore and OH was on beer), and then a few bottles of Leffe, which were something like £2.50 a bottle, during the week, plus other assorted cans. It was probably more than £20 worth.

I just can't believe the stinginess and the fact that he truly thinks he didn't do anything wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Red Kev

We had a £10 bottle of red wine, which he drank most of on the Monday night (I'm not really drinking anymore and OH was on beer), and then a few bottles of Leffe, which were something like £2.50 a bottle, during the week, plus other assorted cans. It was probably more than £20 worth.

I just can't believe the stinginess and the fact that he truly thinks he didn't do anything wrong.

Maybe he just thought that he'd repay the kindness by doing the same to ye if ye show up in his gaff in Belgium. i.e. he would feed, house and water ye for a week free of charge.

I agree he could have paid for the meal, as a thanks, but some people think differently. Maybe he'd be a very generous host and wouldn't think too much of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Red Kev wrote: »
    Maybe he just thought that he'd repay the kindness by doing the same to ye if ye show up in his gaff in Belgium. i.e. he would feed, house and water ye for a week free of charge.

I agree he could have paid for the meal, as a thanks, but some people think differently. Maybe he'd be a very generous host and wouldn't think too much of it.
    Are you for real? A generous person wouldn't ask someone to walk to an atm to withdraw cash to pay for a €7 meal, nevermind making a comment that they could get them back next time they are in Belgium.

The behaviour of the guy was out and out stingy. This guy didn't come over to visit her. He was in London on business and needed a place to stay. He wasn't a close friend but he was still put up. He happily stayed in their apartment eating their food and drinking their alcohol but on the last night, he really showed his true colours.

When Izzy didn't have the cash to pay for a €7 meal, his response was that she could get him him when she was in Belgium. I have to say, hats off to Lizzy for pointing out to this guy that he had been staying in her apartment for a week at more of a cost than €7. Even when all his cost cutting savings had been pointed out to him, he still tried to make out like his week long stay didn't cost his host's anything and she was the one who was out of order.

I don't care if Izzy was a millionaire. If someone puts you up for a week and on the last night doesn't have any cash, there is no excuse for you not covering their €7 meal. Even if they had the cash, the least you can do is buy them a thank you dinner fast food meal! (let's face it, if it cost €7, it wasn't a high end restaurant). It's just basic manners. I know that different countries have different expectations of what manners are but I've never been to a country where it's ok to expect all of your expenses to be paid, without even a "Thank you".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

This is very relevant to me right now!

Had an old mate from Belgium staying all week. He invited himself as he was doing some work here in London...I wasn't that keen but agreed as I'm trying to be more charitable etc this year. He stayed Monday to Friday. Ate dinner with us every night, drank loads of our cans/wine..stressed me out a bit as we're very tight on money this month due to my hours being cut at work, but he's fairly good company so I didn't make a big deal of it.

I met him in a cafe this evening to have a quick dinner before he headed home. Went to a cheap Korean place, came to about 7 quid a head, but I only had a card and it turns out they don't take cards. My friend, who had a wallet full of notes, suggested I go to a cash machine, I said there weren't any around that area (this is true)...he begrudgingly agreed to pay for my half and then he said "you can buy me one back next time you're in Belgium."

I just sat and looked at him in amazement and he asked what was up...I couldn't bite my tongue and said "you've stayed with me for free all week, saving about £400 on a hotel bill, you've eaten dinner for free all week, saving about £100 on food, you've drunk loads of our booze which directly cost us about £20, and you're seriously feeling hard done by about paying £7 for my dinner?" The worst part was that he still didn't seem to get it, started going on about how it hadn't cost us anything to have him in our house as he was just sleeping on the sofa and food scales up well.

We had an awkward goodbye hug and he invited me to stay with him in Belgium, but seriously? Is it just me? Staying with someone for 5 nights, bringing no gift, not offering to buy a takeaway and then grumbling over £7?

Well done! I wonder if it made him think. I wonder if nobody ever calls someone on being stingy, is that why they just keep going on the same way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Brother lived with two guys years ago, and him and one lad knew the other guy was as tight as a nuns **** , so he would buy a big bag of chips and eat them and always put 8-10 into the bin after he finished, the other guy used to wait 10-15 mins and then take them out and make a chip butty thats stingy as **** it's safe to say

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Why would put chips in the bin :(