Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst housemates ever?

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭AlkalineAcid

I lived with a born again christian from africa, he used to corner us and ask us how much we loved jesus, he'd email and text us passages from the Bible. I got Angel cards for my birthday and a few days later he called a house meeting. he's found them (even though they were in my room) and began pointing at me and saying i was carrying out the work of the devil. He wanted my parents number so he could call them and tell them I was a witch.........

Ahahaha. Same situation right now. It's funny stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,017 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

The worst housemate I had was a friend of mine. 3 of us moved into a house locally 2 years ago for 14 months. Now we're young lads and have parties and like the stress free home life, but one of them was just messy. He would never clean up after himself. He's the type of guy that when he used the mop and bucket he would leave the dirty water in the bucket until someone came along to use it again, which at times could be a while. It stank the place out. He'd leave his washing in the washing machine for days and they would smell when he hung them out to dry inside the house because they were soggy for so long. The house always smelled musty.

His room and bathroom was what took the biscuit though. If you stepped foot in it it was like you couldn't breathe for there being no air. The bathroom sink and toilet were never cleaned and to see the state of it would turn your stomach.
    The worst was when we moved out I was taking a last look at the place and found that he left a rake of rubbish and stuff behind. I had to take it upon myself to get rid of it all otherwise we would get docked more from our deposit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm a horrible housemate me. I have poor standards of hygiene, I steal people's food, have loud all-night parties midweek, take home anonymous strangers (guys and girls) and have sex loudly in different rooms of the house, I never pay bills or rent and will take your rent if you leave it lying out, I hog the TV and insist on watching hardcore pornography on it while your parents are visiting.

But this one guy I lived with was awful. I came home one day and he was listening to The Kaiser Chiefs. :eek:

I mean - that's just disgusting. Needless to say I moved out the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Nice..;)
    Giggidy...
    Dear diary......jackpot:D

As classy as she was read the hygeine part. She took a shower about once a week-ten days. She'd rarely have two in a week. If any guys were over she'd always come out of her room in underwear/towel/nightie, etc which was a little odd and uncomfortable especially when her part time boyfriend was there. I remember two of the lads saying although she was gorgeous when you got up close to her a funny smell hit you, he didn't know what it was until he went passed her room one day when the door was open and said the smell was horrific. She never had a toothbrush the whole time we were there either. Also the esb bill was her responsibility(we each had a bill in our names that we'd collect the money or and pay), ound out after she moved out that she'd never paid it and we now owed about 600 euro!
    thermo66 wrote: »

Why didn't you tell him it was your turn to watch something??
    Or change the station over when he was at the toilet !!!
    He probably did it cos he got away with it.

The tv was fairly old and the buttons on the side didn't work, thats why he took the remote with him. When we'd ask to watch something he'd usually look at us like we were crazy and point to the highlighted tv guide saying he'd booked it. If ever (rarely we'd bother tbh) insisted that he'd watched it enough and we wanted to watch something now he would either start freaking out and screaming gibberish or would try and trade something. Like give me a tenner, or go make me a sandwich and you can watch 5 mins of your show but he would never let go of the remote.

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭*Roisin*

I lived with some insane girls about a year ago. Was myself and four other girls in the house. The bitchiest house you could ever set foot in...for example... We had one housemate who had lived there the year previously with some of the girls, they hadn't really liked her, as she was supposed to be epically mean with money, but she ended up staying on in the house so there was nothing they could say to her face. Instead they used to wait til she was out of the house, tell us all the stories about her from the last year, how she charged them all petrol money one day after saying she was nipping out to the shops (10 mins away) and would they like a lift. This girl was, to say the least, a little bit chubby, her boyfriend was even more so, so they used to spend ages debating whether the couple even had sex, or how they would be physically be able to (this included diagrams at one point!) They went into her room one night and found some black lingerie and showed to to everyone when she wasn't there, claiming it was like a sheet!

Same girls decided into the year to turn on me because I wasn't spending enough time with them! I was working 3 jobs at the time and under serious pressure from college and had heart problems. So because I wouldn't go out with them every week, they decided to mess with my head. Had an important deadline one night...they threw a party and invited random guys...turned the telly up to full volume and played cds through the dvd player. Left the guys full reign of the house while they themselves got stoned in the living room. Cue some random guys constantly wandering into my room and trying to get into bed with me (had no lock on the door), doing lines off the toilet seat right opposite my room, and having a **** outside my bedroom door!! Best bit of all, they used my beer for the lads and then wouldn't talk to me for months because I didn't come down for the craic!!

Could go on for pages with the bits they did...hid my library book for college so I had to pay epic fees, spread rumours all around college that I was having sex all over the house (I didn't...chance would be a fine thing! :) ), had their friend stay in my bed all the time without asking and then bitch that I was using their mirrors...Oh and the crazy, chubby one went mental at me one day when people arrived to view the house for the following year, even though it had been set up by the landlord!! So much so that the people called me from outside the house to check I was ok! Ah it was a fun year all the same and I still have the stories even if I was cracking up at the time :)

Forgot to mention the best bit....3 out of the 4 were into musicals, so they literally took over our house for 2 months, having meetings, practicing the songs, singing the songs, running the lines, watching the DVD's...if I ever hear those songs again I think I'd kill. Also meant everytime they had people over for a party or a few drinks, all of my friends would end up fleeing pretty damn early once the show tunes got broken out! :) To be honest, they were nice people, but I think one didn't like me and managed to turn the rest against me. I did try and talk it out a few times, but it just got to bullying levels when it was 4 against 1 and they were using the silent tactics. Sucky sucky year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

I used to live with a guy who drank two bottles of whiskey straight every day. All of the girls in the house had underwear constantly going missing out of the washing machine.

When he took down the shower curtain because he said it was 'broken', and mysterious holes started appearing in the bathroom walls and ceiling, we all legged it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

This thread scares me just as much as the previous housemate thread. Some freaks out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

This thread scares me just as much as the previous housemate thread. Some freaks out there.

Sounds interesting, link?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

LolaDub wrote: »
    The tv was fairly old and the buttons on the side didn't work, thats why he took the remote with him. When we'd ask to watch something he'd usually look at us like we were crazy and point to the highlighted tv guide saying he'd booked it. If ever (rarely we'd bother tbh) insisted that he'd watched it enough and we wanted to watch something now he would either start freaking out and screaming gibberish or would try and trade something. Like give me a tenner, or go make me a sandwich and you can watch 5 mins of your show but he would never let go of the remote.

I used to live with this girl who was a complete doormat. You could get away with anything, didn't even have to try argue with her she just caved. If your there mom, you suck.

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

I shared with a chap who didn't 100% understand that pots and pans should be properly cleaned after use and a quick rinse wouldn't do.

He never washed his hands before preparing food and couldn't wash dishes properly and if he needed to do washing he's dump my still wet clothes off the clothes horse for his own. When I confronted about this he mumbled something about it not being a problem and to put them on the radiator. I asked him why the **** he didn't put the stuff on the radiator if that was the case but just got more mumbles and lack of eye contact.

****, my heart used to sink when I'd come home from work and see the sitting room light on knowing he'd be parked on the couch with his laptop snorting at "funny" stuff he reads online while watching Discovery Channel at max volume without ever getting more than a mumbled hello out of him.

Any attempt to get him to chat about stuff was ignored. No interest in going to the pub for a pint, no interest in chatting about whatever was on TV or movies or even work since we do the same thing. I didn't want to be his best buddy, but the place was pretty small so I figured a bit of chit chat and getting to know him might be in order.

In the end I just had to move out and find somewhere with more people and a bit more craic. Never before have I seen a more boring, selfish, unhygenic person in my entire life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Lived with someone who definitely had a few screws loose, but it only became really apparent when she had been out of work for about 3 months and started laying on the crazy extra thick. I'm too nice to tell someone to shut the **** up, so I had to listen to her rambling about total cod**** for hours on end.

The other (male) flatmate had a tendency to sleepwalk into my room... In the nude:o
    Came home at 5am one night and found the fecker asleep in my bed without a clue how he got there:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

fasty wrote: »
    Never before have I seen a more boring, selfish, unhygenic person in my entire life.

Ye didnt get along then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

Ugh i had a few flatmates who did the dumping of wet clothes too. One chap would take my clothes out of the machine mid cycle to wash his own and just leave them in a soaking heap on the floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Spore

Krieg wrote: »
    I did live in an apartment where you could hear the tenant upstairs beating his girlfriend senseless every so often

Your silence feeds the violence

• Registered Users Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

just had bad flatmates who would always have parties until 11am and wreck the head when I'd have work.

Its just pure ignorance, and I'm glad I dont have to deal with that sh1te anymore, current roomate is fierce lazy etc. but so am I, so I dont give a fcuk.

As long as I get my sleep I'm happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,204 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I have been sharing with flatmates for over 12 years and TBH I am immune at this stage. So many stories but I usually have more trouble with Landlords than flatmates.

*The girl who went for a dump first thing every morning and NEVER flushed is a very recent example. Sad thing is..she is damn sexy but I just cant look at her in the same away again.

Lived with this Australian guy for a summer and he was some wanker..my boss owned the apartment and threw me in there..but Bruce was pissed as he wanted his mate to move in. So he started a campaign to make my life a misery...late night Sunday parties..kicking my post half way up the corridor..walking into my room in the middle of the night and asking when I was going..dumping my food..I had another place (and cheaper) to go but held onto the bitter end..

and when I left I took his passport with me and burnt it..he was due to fly to Australia a few days later for 3 months..so I smile when I think abouthis panic..revenge..and I spread a rumour that he was bi-sexual which really caught on..I heard it myself months later...

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭d-don

I was at a mates moving out party at her house a few years back anf she was sharing with this odd ball of a lad and half way through the party I had to go to the toilet. So there I am taking a piss and all of a sudden this manky whiff (off ****e) Low and behold someone had taken a huge dump in the rubbish bin in the toilet ! manky git

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

It would be a toss-up between the panty wearing guy or the guy with chronic nose bleeds who never cleaned up after them. I had to throw my toiletries out evertime he bled due to blood getting on my shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush......He also thought it was ok to leave half his pubes all over the bath and not wash them away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

My friends room-mate complained because my friend was using his iPod at night (with earphones and on the other side of the room).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

My friends room-mate complained because my friend was using his iPod at night (with earphones and on the other side of the room).

Whats wrong with complaining about that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

efla wrote: »
    Whats wrong with complaining about that
    I roomed with my friend for a very short while, he claimed he couldnt go asleep with out listening to scooter at full volume. Head phones on or not you could still hear. try sleeping through that.

so i i broke his cd player not long before we left. I was sorry i didnt do it sooner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Sundy wrote: »
    I roomed with my friend for a very short while, he claimed he couldnt go asleep with out listening to scooter at full volume. Head phones on or not you could still hear. try sleeping through that.

so i i broke his cd player not long before we left. I was sorry i didnt do it sooner

Hey!!!
    I used to listen to Scooter going to sleep.
    And my room mate hated it.
    And my CD player mysteriously stopped working one day.
    Hmmmmmmm....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No discussing PI threads, please.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Hey!!!
    I used to listen to Scooter going to sleep.
    And my room mate hated it.
    And my CD player mysteriously stopped working one day.
    Hmmmmmmm....
    Its called Karma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I once shared a house with a 40-something barman, who also happened to be an alcoholic. He used to come home blind drunk during random weeknights after his shift, and start banging on the door and screaming to be let in, even though he had his keys. This was so that he could start a row with whoever opened the door, about the washing-up/ bills/ who knows. He would then roam around the house shouting to himself for a while. Needless to say I kept my door locked... :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭hblock21

When we got back she was passed out on the couch in her underwear with a duvet clutching a bottle of tesco brand gin :eek:

That has made my week!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

When we got back she was passed out on the couch in her underwear with a duvet clutching a bottle of tesco brand gin :eek:

LOL, that reminds me of a girl I once lived with. Walked into the bathroom one night and she was passed out over the toilet after puking all over it wearing nothing but a thong. She was a weird one, during the week she would weigh all her food to the ounce, then she would go out and get hammered and stuff her face with supermacs afterwords. Never saw the logic in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭MaryCat!

I lived with a guy in uni who had a ton of weird pets, like rats, snakes and things. Which is cool, so long as they are kept in their cages. He used to let them out around the house. Worst was when he was cooking, I was often cooking at the same time and his freaking rat would be crawling on his back and shoulder the whole time! GROSS!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Dolorous wrote: »
    I once shared a house with a 40-something barman, who also happened to be an alcoholic. He used to come home blind drunk during random weeknights after his shift, and start banging on the door and screaming to be let in, even though he had his keys. This was so that he could start a row with whoever opened the door, about the washing-up/ bills/ who knows. He would then roam around the house shouting to himself for a while. Needless to say I kept my door locked... :mad:

I had a very similar housemate in Dublin but this guy was a 50-something alcoholic who worked for some taxi company. He used to come home pissed as a fart most nights and attempt to start arguments with either myself or my other housemates. He also coughed loudly and profusely during the night and one day he destroyed the bathroom with puke. This same individual almost set the house on fire one night when a housemate discovered him unconscious on the kitchen floor whilst two beef burgers were incinerating in the frying pan. On the subject of food I never seen the man eating anything healthy, he practically lived out of the local chipper. Also, in the mornings I would pass his room and I could hear a porno film on full blast inside there. A really horrible individual, I was glad to see the back of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭thermo66

I have been sharing with flatmates for over 12 years and TBH I am immune at this stage. So many stories but I usually have more trouble with Landlords than flatmates.

*The girl who went for a dump first thing every morning and NEVER flushed is a very recent example. Sad thing is..she is damn sexy but I just cant look at her in the same away again.

Lived with this Australian guy for a summer and he was some wanker..my boss owned the apartment and threw me in there..but Bruce was pissed as he wanted his mate to move in. So he started a campaign to make my life a misery...late night Sunday parties..kicking my post half way up the corridor..walking into my room in the middle of the night and asking when I was going..dumping my food..I had another place (and cheaper) to go but held onto the bitter end..

and when I left I took his passport with me and burnt it..he was due to fly to Australia a few days later for 3 months..so I smile when I think abouthis panic..revenge..and I spread a rumour that he was bi-sexual which really caught on..I heard it myself months later...
    Nice one!!! :)

Seriously though whilst i don't condone random acts of sabotage some people do deserve revenge tactics.