Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I going to be a poet

• 06-09-2019 12:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭

Used to live here in a house with 8 more
    The parents spent more time inside a pub door,

There’s an elderly neighbour away feeling sick,
    He looked in the box to see what’s to nick,
    The old single mother long since retired,
    Let a roar at this brother to go run and hide.

And hide he did in a park by the deli,
    And hide he did in the trees with the tarp,
    And hide he did where the people were smelly,
    And these musical people thought him the harp.

Arse is freezing on the concrete playing the harp headscarf and nose,
    Arse is freezing in the deli park smelling the feet and piss and the clothes.

Nothing was constant all this time,
    accept him smoking a bag from time to time.
    And his lying and lying
    And his wine and wine
    And his taking anything he could get his hands on since he was thirteen.
    Nobody cared until he started getting big enough to cause a bit of trouble.
    Far too strung out to help.
    Far too far gone to go far.
    Nobody cared till he was big enough to bother other people.
    Nobody ever gave him attention unless they were angry at him.
    Angry at him for being there.
    Angry at him for not being there when he should have been.
    Just angry all the time.

Let’s put him in the paper and point the finger and feel abit better and blame social welfare.

Put him in the park and give him some tarp and an injection centre right beside centra. Or spar, or whatever shop he’s sat outside while you take a picture of you giving him a free haircut or your old runners on social media. Let them likes feed ye.

How do they treat ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

It’s worrying that when you put up a poem for critique and nobody answers for over a week and nobody posts another poem.

Is it so good everybody gave up or is it so bad everybody is afraid to post their poems because they cringed so much and do t want to risk making other people cringe with their poetry.

Maybe it’s just so meh nobody bothered.

My poor ego.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭km85264

I saw the post but the title of “am i going to be a poet” made me wonder why it was posted. I’d recommend if you want a critique that you actually ask for it.
    For me the poem has energy, and the mixtures of form are interesting if a little overdone, but my overriding impression from the poem is of a middle class person trying to express the tragedy of a homeless alcoholic/druggie. Maybe I have you wrong and you do live behind Spar, but if not then you might try to explore your own feelings about homelessness.
    Kieran

Thanks Kieran maybe I have got a big middle class these days, most of it comes from memories of my childhood though and things I seen around me. Maybe I’m a middle class person that sees people who started at the same point as me not getting the same shake of dice that I got.
    I wanted the start to be simplistic and childlike to start with the youth and just wanting a poem to rhyme then changed it up abit with a wider view.

When you say explore my own feeling about homelessness are you saying I should say

Fella outside shop
    Gave me disdain
    I couldn’t be arsed to learn his name
    I work all day he acts lame?

That sort of stuff?

I appreciate you taking the time to read it. Thanks.

There’s a stinky man from upwind sleeping where he passes out,
    His jocks are stained from from ankle height,
    his feet his hands his snout.
    I asked him questions he didn’t answer
    He mumbled nonsense about his sister
    The security man earns money when the stinky mans about.

My sons balance bike is rusty
    Like the stinky man is crusty
    He asks me for my money
    Like I havnt got a budget
    Cause he never had a budget
    Or he never learned to budget
    If he had a house he’d lose it
    And probably break the toilet.
    I’m not going to fund it
    My taxes etc splutter
    Like the stinky man will splutter
    When he’s talking bout his sister.

Is this better?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Are we supposed to have sympathy for the man on the street? Is the narrator of the poem supposed to sound so judgemental?

My feedback from the last poem said I was a middle class pretending to be homeless so I did a poem where I was a middle class looking at a homeless.

You are meant to feel how you feel, I can’t be telling you how you feel.

My job is just to make you feel something :)

Would you like me to be a homeless person or a charity worker? I could be a charity worker coining it in the homeless industry if you want, or a good worker working hard but losing out to the bureaucracy etc.

Anyone? Two poems? Anything?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Wind up merchant

Are they that bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

The first poem has energy and an unusual magnetism. The repetition is engaging. It's like a cross between stream of consciousness narrative and rap.

"And hide he did where the people were smelly
    ," just sounds stupid.

The last lines sound like a lecture and are anti-climactic. I would cut them from the poem and write something else--

"Let’s put him in the paper and point the finger and feel abit better and blame social welfare.

Put him in the park and give him some tarp and an injection centre right beside centra. Or spar, or whatever shop he’s sat outside while you take a picture of you giving him a free haircut or your old runners on social media. Let them likes feed ye.

How do they treat ye."

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭km85264

I think poem two is - for me- going in a better direction. Putting yourself in the frame makes it more personal, but it does becomes more rhetorical as you go down. My advice, try to explore your own position in the imagery more.
    But remember, that’s just my view, your poetry is your thing

Thanks for your input guys I rewrote it again
    Is it better?

In the undergrowth of the people leaves
    Shaded by concrete and people leaves
    Where brothers go when a brother leaves
    Decomposing whilst breathing
    And nobody looking.

I wanted to create a picture of people falling off the tree kind of like falling through the cracks.

Honestly there awful, thats my opinion, but your going to get negative reviews so don't take it to heart, i wrote a lot myself starting in my teenage years and well into my thirties, i recently found some of my writings and they are ****e proper ****e so they were promptly burned.

I just got no feeling from what you wrote, the first one started out like a limerick, sick, nick, retired , hide and then deli, tarp, smelly, harp and i was waiting for the punchline.

Maybe a creative writing class or speaking to someone who has experience in this will help, just my two cents, hope it works out for you.

Thanks for that, I will rewrite it again in a couple of hours, I’m at my sons sports.

If the bag was full of spuds
    I’d give it more interest
    It would have received more attention
    I’d put it somewhere safe
    To keep it from the fella in the bag.

There’s a lad sat on the sub bench ready
    Serious
    Head moving with the ball and the tackles
    Ready to give it everything
    Ready to run through walls
    Ready to realise he’s just not good enough
    Ready to give up.
    He could do with a bag of spuds
    A bag of people is no use to him.

BDI wrote: »
    He could do with a bag of spuds
    A bag of people is no use to him.

This epithet resonated deeply with me. Symbolic of the existential despair latent within man.

You are now a fully fledged poet. Go forth, and ply your trade.

Thank you berties horse it’s very easy to say bad things but it takes a real hero to say nice things.

The sniffling warblers sniffle.

Cold, pointless, spherical,
    A windswept beach brown pebble
    A sleeveless whimpering sniffle,
    Your loft as bald as a tortoise,
    All you have in your attic
    Grandkids clearing your items,
    These words your only purpose.

Hi windy floating nothing on her way unpress pause when I find remote blanket couch Todd from that thing work to American football noise braces young lad n work wife problems, horsing birds, Fargo Todd from breaking Bemidji Souix falls ted damson Kirstin dunst

Burst and noise and darkness panic, don’t wake anybody in the room and hands like cleavers trying to hit the alarm, don’t wake the wifeher voice at this hour boils a mans brain.

I’m trying a new James Joyce technique.

There is a guy I know who has a charity that can throw me a few hours a week teaching a class but I need to sort my self employed tax stuff, I find that too complicated to bother. Forms make me feel like my privacy is being stripped.

Silently sitting skin slowly roasting,
    Under a sky so blue and so golden,
    Making a wish that this moment be frozen
    Making a moment frozen in time
    Every day we spend in the winter
    Reliving days where the weather was warmer.

Lightbulbs for the working class

Pushing and grunting and freezing and hurting,
    A weary soul from the privilege comes cycling,
    Through the slums of the working class red back lightly blinking,
    Heading for work like a tax paying citizen.

In each direction the sorrow near blinds him,
    May have their blinds up
    He couldn’t still see them
    For they must get dressed in the dangerous darkness
    For theirs no lights on Cept the street lamps that guide him,

Can we get light bulbs for the working classes
    They must be putting their jocks on in complete darkness
    They may need to protest against some injustice,
    Think their children are better off with no other purpose
    Except leeching the money we have to pay nurses..

I feel like this one is what I was born to write. It’s an early draft but I’d really appreciate if somebody would help me notice the good and bad in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Aman_da

I like it! you are so talented, wish you a lot of inspiration!

Peaceful is a valley or a peak depending on whether it is about to be kicked up a hill or down a hill.

A skull with a bag for a body,
    It won’t survive the winter,
    If it got any thinner it might snap if I didn’t step over.

I give it a euro if I’m on a date
    Careful not to touch it
    Just like I drop money in a bucket on my way to spend my wages on landfill.

One per cent at the top
    One per cent in the bag
    One per cent of what you spend on christmas decorations
    One per cent spent on public service art installations
    Find a few quid from somewhere to fix what’s forgotten by welfare
    It can’t cope in the world forced upon it,
    When they decided you can’t do just what you wanna
    Because somebody else likes it peaceful
    Spending on anything other than people.

I wrote this because I probably felt a bit guilty, the other day I went to one of the few old school Dublin fry up spots left in a changing city for my lunch.

Tenner for a fry so big I couldn’t eat my dinner 7 hours later. Couldn’t finish my work for the day because I was too bloated.

Anyway this fry shop is on a street that any bus that travelled up the Malahide road to town would stop on but doesn’t anymore. It’s just full of sleeping bags and peoples skulls wrapped in skin. Where I was working there was two tents beside the entrance just off o Connell street. I seen two people shaking a man who looked dead, asleep at a postbox on abbey street. On my way back from breakfast he was trying to get to his feet but couldn’t. They were probably trying to move him from the front of their business or checking if he was ok, who knows.

I didn’t stop, hardly anybody did. In too much of a hurry. Went into the bookies, two lads I work with were putting on accumulators, I don’t bet so I just stood in the middle of the bookies looking at the sad acts in the bookies then I looked out the glass panel in the bookies door and I could see two addicts having a chat, like me ma would have a chat with a neighbour or friend she came across while walking through a super market _ just like real people having a chat and I realised we don’t even see them as humans anymore.

I went back to the job I was working on, it was a public service office we were doing construction in, their canteen had a cool coffee machine and we all sat on the rather comfortable seats and had a coffee before going back to work because we were all too full from the fry. It lashed rain when I finished work I cycled by them all again in my top quality rain gear, on my top quality bike in my top quality country.

Let’s rob each other’s runners
    and throw them in the river
    I’m drinking so much quicker
    Than I used to when I met ye

Let’s entertain a toddler
    His life can’t get more oddler
    A hotel rooms his household
    And our shoutings in his hallway,

Let’s celebrate indecency
    Set sail the good ship vagrancy
    His little eyes will look and see
    Us roaring on our frequency.

Let’s wake up in the morning
    Get 4 items for our boredom
    Call his boring father Norman
    Hes working as a boring storeman
    And not boozing and not snorting

Let’s realise we re friends here
    And the enemies the welfare
    All under the same roof here
    I know where you live you rat ye.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

here ya go bud, i wrote this while watching the newsporn about another religious nutbag killing people

00:39 02/09/2019
    where is the master of this what we call time
    are we all just seeking god
    this god is everthing but its not enough for some
    why are the hungry of soul so aggressive
    must i kill as they wish to kill me
    i dont want to kill anyone
    but if they are attacking me intent on killing me
    what should i do
    its a foul to let them do their foul deed
    i pray to that god that i am right in thought and deed
    and if these menboys that wish me harm are demons demented
    then mercifully i should propably end them
    but i dont have the heart to do it
    i know pain
    i know suffering
    they want to kill me
    but i pray for their peace
    what should i do if they give me no choice
    and if they threaten my mother i must end them
    i dont want this
    i dont seem to have a choice anymore
    im waiting for the clouds to clear

this is not a nice way to be
    this is something that should not be

a deck of cards scatterd to the atlantic
    this wind this rain this will this pain
    no love lost for this funny life

die with dignity

leaveá comment

GOD GOD GOD GOD GOD
    im not mad
    just solitary

its a foul to let them do their foul deed
    i pray to that god that i am right in thought and deed
    and if these menboys that wish me harm are demons demented
    then mercifully i should propably end them

That parts lovely, Really flows nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Brick Tamland.

I’m not sure I follow why you would just post a name from an anchorman comedy film in a creative writing thread about poetry. What’s it all about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

who doesn't like lamp...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

BDI wrote: »
    I’m not sure I follow why you would just post a name from an anchorman comedy film in a creative writing thread about poetry. What’s it all about?

He looks at things and words just fly out. Like that bag of spuds, for example.