Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

When they start taking up the side of the people beaten to death in barns rather then those doing the beating.

Since you're obsessed with victims

https://twitter.com/DingivanPaul/status/1224421130628403203?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring2

Firefox11 wrote: »
    This like the Irish version of Brexit or Trump......except we turned left instead of right.

FF are more in the middle compared to FG.

The left often sees FG as right-wing.

FF+ Sinn Fein government would be preferable.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,172 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

smurgen wrote: »

Is that cervical check?

Weren't the false readings in 2010, who was even in power then?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭letowski

pgj2015 wrote: »
    The population of morons and scumbags is growing in this country rapidly, thats why sinn fein got so many votes. singing about the black and tans in this day and age, idiots.

You always hear these comments at every election by pro-establishment supporters.

Be it Hillary Clinton calling Trump supporters as 'deplorables' or Labour leaders calling conservatives rasicts, it only strenghtens populist supporters resolve. The media campaign against SF has come back to bite them, just like we have seen in other countries.

Word of advise, if democracy doesn't work out for you, don't call people scumbags. Most people just want to be able to pay for a house for their family.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I'd not have voted for SF and based on the pie in the sky promises based on other populist leftist parties elsewhere think that it would not be optimal them ruling on a basis of progressive doctrines (which I hope not to mansplain) and socialist policies. However on the positive side, they have governing and powersharing experience in the North and they must know if they lurch too far the electorate are unlikely to re-elect them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 antonboyle

billyhead wrote: »
    Sinn Fein topping the poll.I believe in democracy but too vote this crowd in as your number 1

Obviously not your brand of democracy which is telling.

Lecturing others on how they should vote is counterproductive

Keyboard politicos don't represent the general population

• Registered Users Posts: 33,137 ✭✭✭✭Penn

As I said in another thread, that's what FF&FG have done to this country. Their policies and absolute failures have pushed people towards SF.

I was always generally a FG voter (maybe not first preference in the last few elections, but generally near the top). But the last few years where part of my work has occasionally required me to work with food banks, homeless shelters and emergency accommodation, and having myself and people close to me needing access to health and mental health services and the insane waiting times and lack of proper care...

F*ck Leo, who thinks being a memelord would get him re-elected.
    F*ck the FFers who think everyone has forgotten a) their role in recession and b) they've been propping up FG for the last few years.
    F*ck Fine Gael, who in general always just seem like they're just entitled to people's votes.
    And f*ck them both for being so insistent that they'd never go into power with SF. If enough people voted for SF then the votes of those people should not be so easily dismissed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

You only need to look at the cross-border dynamic of SF to realise that some kind of shadow power structure is pulling the strings at a level above MLMcD and Michelle O'Neill. There is no way it could operate otherwise. Even the broad similarities between the two women and the opaque way they were (s)elected is indicative of a planned strategy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

pgj2015 wrote: »
    The population of morons and scumbags is growing in this country rapidly, thats why sinn fein got so many votes. singing about the black and tans in this day and age, idiots.

Comments like this about a sizeable percentage of our electorate don't help. They aren't scumbags.

I know a lady who lives near me who spent over 48hrs on a trolley in Saint Vincent's hospital a few months ago. She is nearing retirement and has raised a family and spent the last 15 years working and voting for either FG or FF. I spoke to her recently and she told me she swore to herself when she sat on the trolley her next vote was going to SF. That woman is neither a scumbag or a moron but just another citizen sick of the same old same getting us nowhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭boetstark

NIMAN wrote: »
    I have no great allegiance to SF, but can I ask you is there a time limit in your head when IRA atrocities are allowed to be forgotten about when a general election is on and SF are getting votes?

These 2 innocent kids who you pictured who died, should they be brought up in another 10 years, 20 years, 50 years?

Can SF ever run for election and not have these thrown up as a reason NOT to vote for them?

Some people couldn't forget about brave Irish men that served in the RIC and that was 100 years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭joe40

JuneMoon7 wrote: »
    Sp WHAT if the so- called troubles are over? does that mean people are meant to forget what the supporters and indeed former members of this party have done? 'calling a very lengthy, significant period of time where men, women and children were brutally murdered 'the troubles' seriously undermines the ferocity of their campaigns of terror and i will never forget that. Younger generations of people are educated about the death camps in World War II, \and told to never forget. Well i think this generation and future generations need and education on this.

No one side had a monopoly on violence. Our country was born out of violence. The IRA in the war of Independence were brutal, as were atrocities in the civil war.
    The republic then turned their back on northern nationalists and left them in a virtual apartheid state.
    Read up about people been burned out of their homes in Belfast by mobs supported by the B specials.
    The GFA is over 20 years old, the IRA are not active. People in Ireland are moving on. Sinn Fein are getting a vote on their politics. It may not work I'm personally not fully convinced, but constantly taking up the past is ludicrous.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,323 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

The problem with SF is that they've never really given up their links to the IRA and other similar ideologies. The South moved away from the troubles, but SF will seek to involve us in that swamp of hatred all over again.

God I seriously hope the Irish people are not foolish enough to unify the Island, since a SF government will be pushing that line for the next four years (with the UK happy to see them go). Why is it that every time the Republic starts to do well, Irish people go find ways to screw themselves?

Don't blame the people, blame the parties.

It's like the UK and Brexit. The remain side never in their wildest dreams imagined leave would win, so their never seemed to be a great effort to hammer home the importance of remaining.

Fine Gael and Fine Fail believed they had government sown up forever and they didnt really give a ****. They definitely dont give a **** about you and me. They saw no need to try and pony up to what Sinn Fein were pedalling. It's only in the last week or two has FG/FF's complacency really come to fruit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Things will never be perfect but I wonder if we showed the Ireland of 2020 to someone in 2010 would they have seen it as an improvement or as being worse when you look at everything and consider where we started the last decade and where it could have gone.
    Maybe with the ship somewhat righted it is indeed time to give someone else a shot at fixing the last few issues and hope that in doing so doesnt lead to the ship falling right back over again.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,782 ✭✭✭pgj2015

CBear1993 wrote: »
    Would argue that it’s a growing population of informed and educated young people who are confident enough to make their own decisions. For too long irish people never challenged difficult topics. They listened to what “mammy and daddy” says and voted for.
    They’ve now changed laws on abortion, same sex marriage, and now will topple the old dinosaurs of FF and FG over 60 voters once they die off.

A great weekend again for the new wave of Irish people. Someone sounds rattled there, is your comfortable life under threat?? Aww

sorry for working 7 days a week, buliding my own business (with help from the current government btw) not like these layabouts who want free houses, free money, medical care, travel etc and give nothing back, I dont believe everyone is entitled to a free house, you want one then get up off your arse and work for it.

I believe in capitalism not socialism, I want to see more prisons built, way longer prison sentences being handed out for serious crime such as burglary.

sinn fein appeal to the lowest of the low and students who havent a clue how the real world works.

my comfortable life isnt under threat though.

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭RonanG86

I'm really loving the conservative Ireland reaction to this.

"Ugh, the electorate are too stupid and too young to remember that the Provos are criminals!"

Maybe, just maybe, the electorate is so sick of FF and FG policies and their ridiculous, sanctimonious sniping at each other (despite the fact the country would have been in exactly the same place had their periods in government since the 60s been reversed) that they're voting for Sinn Fein despite the Provisional IRA links? Given how much RTE and the newspapers go on about it, it's pretty much impossible to not know what Sinn Fein is and was, even if you never picked up a history book in your life.

Screeching "they're murderers!!!!" (whether a fair accusation or not), or alluding to an unelected cabal running it behind the scenes, isn't going to do diddly squat if you've run the country into the ground with decades of cronyism and gombeen men in power.

Pick up a mirror instead of trying to dismiss your opponents and the people who vote for them as stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭boetstark

Penn wrote: »
    As I said in another thread, that's what FF&FG have done to this country. Their policies and absolute failures have pushed people towards SF.

I was always generally a FG voter (maybe not first preference in the last few elections, but generally near the top). But the last few years where part of my work has occasionally required me to work with food banks, homeless shelters and emergency accommodation, and having myself and people close to me needing access to health and mental health services and the insane waiting times and lack of proper care...

F*ck Leo, who thinks being a memelord would get him re-elected.
    F*ck the FFers who think everyone has forgotten a) their role in recession and b) they've been propping up FG for the last few years.
    F*ck Fine Gael, who in general always just seem like they're just entitled to people's votes.
    And f*ck them both for being so insistent that they'd never go into power with SF. If enough people voted for SF then the votes of those people should not be so easily dismissed.

And f you for thinking people should believe SF bullsh*t.
    Borrow more money, tax higher earners, tax the banks, tax tax tax tax
    Sorry you get nothing in life for free. Somebody has to pay for this, free house, free healthcare.
    In the very succ multinational I work for. A lot of the higher earners are considering their futures should SF get in to government
    So sorry if I feel peeved with the prospect of SF in government

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    Things will never be perfect but I wonder if we showed the Ireland of 2020 to someone in 2010 would they have seen it as an improvement or as being worse when you look at everything and consider where we started the last decade and where it could have gone.
    Maybe with the ship somewhat righted it is indeed time to give someone else a shot at fixing the last few issues and hope that in doing so doesnt lead to the ship falling right back over again.

I'm pretty sure it's the same right? We're out of recession but that seems to be down to a global upturn rather then anything special by our government. Little to no infrastructural improvement, no new policies, it's like nothing change in the past 20 years never mind 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Is Mary Lou going to be Taoiseach?

Seriously imagine that wagon in government. Yikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

johnmcdnl wrote: »

I think things are certainly more unequal between rich and the poor. I think there has also been a marked deterioration for those that are struggling to get buy.

I'm lucky that I am earn quite well which enables to me live comfortably but not selfish enough to overlook the struggle for many out there. It is incredibly difficult for a huge working cohort.

FG/FF were never getting a vote from me. FG based on their atrocious Governance since 2011 and FF for crashing the economy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Imagine if she forgets her makeup.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Rufeo wrote: »

Come on, let's not resort to name calling.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I'd happily take Mary Lou over Michael Martin.

I've known that man personally for many many years and he's an absolute rat of a man. He cares nothing about the people or country, only his pocket and his friends pockets. An absolute contrarian who'll only back things when there's a popular support for it.

Loves to walk around blaming FG and literally everyone else for the recession despite his and his parties direct cause of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Democracy is ok as long as you get the verdict you want apparently, i didn't vote sinn fein because I'm old enough to remember the murders and beating and terror they supported for long enough but people voted and this is the result, you can't pick and choose what results you want, expect a government with sinn fein to crash and burn spectacularly due to them not having a clue how to run a successful economy without a massive cash injection from Westminster every year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

billyhead wrote: »
    Sinn Fein topping the polls in many constituencies. I believe in democracy but too vote this crowd in as your number 1

As opposed to what keep FF and FG and keep them taking turns lining there pockets? they have had power since the dawn of time and look at the state of the country,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Totally agree. Puppet for the masters.

While I am no fan of their past its not that that scares me. Its their policies.

Increase tax for those on over 100k - mythical cash cow, total nonsense
    Build 100k house for 65k each :). Most extensions cost more than 65k

The nonsense about rail infrastructure - Sligo to Derry etc.

All populist nonsense. I actually hope they are made govern in some fashion. That will teach a lot of people a lot of lessons.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,137 ✭✭✭✭Penn

boetstark wrote: »
    And f**k you for thinking people should believe SF bullsh*t.
    Borrow more money, tax higher earners, tax the banks, tax tax tax tax
    Sorry you get nothing in life for free. Somebody has to pay for this, free house, free healthcare.
    In the very succ multinational I work for. A lot of the higher earners are considering their futures should SF get in to government
    So sorry if I feel peeved with the prospect of SF in government

I don't think people should believe SF bullsh*t. Hell, I don't believe SF bullsh*t. Their policies are unrealistic, unworkable and most of it will be severely pared down or abandoned.

But SF won't have enough seats to be such the majority party that they'll be able to run rampant. Which means for them to be in power, either FG or FF will have to relent and have them as a minority party in their government, or we might get SF propped up with several of the other smaller parties as a large coalition. And after years of the FF/FG back and forth, I think we need to see something else, if for no other reason than to give FF and FG a kick up the bollox so they get their act together.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,873 ✭✭✭threeball

Have they turned over the paedophiles they were protecting yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

rtron wrote: »
    Let's just get it over with.
    Vote them in.
    Watch them feck up the country.
    Then revote FF in 4 or 7 years whatever it is.

That’s my position

• Registered Users Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

FF are more in the middle compared to FG.

The left often sees FG as right-wing.

FF+ Sinn Fein government would be preferable.

FG are very right wing, this lot particularly so.

I don’t think we’ll see FF roll into bed with SF, too big a risk, SF have fûck all to loose, FF have everything to loose, it would just take one scandal involving SF, and FF will be finished with them...