Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cocaine

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

akelly02 wrote: »
    €80 per gram approx...will will probably be mixed 1 to 1 if you are lucky

nobody is getting 50% or cocaine for 80 yo yos

please pm your number if you can hook me up ;)

tdf7187 wrote: »

and alcohol features in an extremely high percentage of all crimes, especially violent and sexual assaults so let's prohibit alcohol immediately

tuxy wrote: »
    We could have it replaced with methamphetamine, it's much cheaper so there is less need for people to waste money.

ah meth, the poor mans coke

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

pure.conya wrote: »
    we blame the law makers for continuing to ignore internationally recognised facts that the "war on drugs" is an abysmal failure with less than 1% of all illegal drugs are confiscated by authorities, it is governments that provide a market to the criminals that are prepared to kill and maim anybody that stands in their way of making billions

Agreed, there really is such a poor understanding on this topic. The way we currently treat the drug issue is possibly the worst possible way to manage it.

Progressive Countries like Portugal and Switzerland have actually paved the way for everybody to follow.

I’ve said it all before on these forums and you meet the same belligerent, ignorant misguided views all the time. People don’t even know the origin of the war on drugs or how far back the idea of “drugs are bad” (religious authorities concerned drugs might give people a higher power connection that would replace “god). I don’t even fully know or understand the reasons behind our narrow minded approach to drugs but I get how thick it is to continue following a failed policy.

The reason for drug dealers and drug related deaths is mostly down to government policy which stems from the sentiments of the general public. The reason for more deaths and over doses is primarily down to how people using are treated and made criminals. Unregulated drugs lead to basically any sort of sh*t chemicals being put in drugs and people taking the drugs don’t know how strong each batch of it is so find it hard to know how much is right each time. That’s why some drugs make junkies look like their faces are melting, they are melting because of the dirty drugs they are taking.

There is so much evidence that points to “war on drugs” causing a lot more issues and it solves nothing. It’s actually possibly because of that very simple mindset that disciplining people who do not act in a manner that’s befitting “civilised” society is the primary requirement to address a problem. Our so called civilised society effectively ensures the continued conveyor belt of drug gangs and basically make it all but impossible for those stuck in a drug spiral to get out of it.

Unfortunately, most people are happy with the status quo, they have a “well I’m alright so why should I care about anybody effected by drugs” approach to the topic. They have absolutely no interest in educating themselves on the topic and like society condemn people on the wrong side of drugs to a life of criminality. This also lessons these people’s chances of survival or recovery and destroys the extended family.

Read Johann Hari’s books on the war on drugs and about depression and you will Struggle to find any objective reason why “the war on drugs” makes any sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Jaysus, maybe I've been taking coke wrong all these years, I think it's a great drug, but I'm also well aware of how it can be abused and become addictive. And I'm sure that's what most of ye are basing your experiences of coked up people on. People watch Scarface and think they need to snort like him, but they're wrong. Taking a little 'bump' (tip of a key, or one of those coke spoons if you're fancy/asshat) on a night out every hour or so is perfectly fine. That's what i used it for, extending the drinking session, harder to get drunk when you're coked.

But people take line after line after line until they're fcuked up. That's not how to take coke imo. Once I'd taken too much, and it reminded me of ecstasy, really expensive ecstasy. Legalisation won't work, but decriminalisation would imo.

And for all the above, I agree that if people didn't want it it wouldn't be there, but people do want it, and as mentioned many times by different people, 99.9% of people don't care where it comes from or how it got there. Young fella that got cut up, that's his own fault if what I've heard is to be believed, not the drugs fault. Would it not be more the country of origins fault for allowing the production to take place under their noses? Colombia has 392,897.5 acres of land for coca growing (according to a 2017 Business Insider article which I can't link as I'm on my work PC, and those kinds of searches may not look well if ever checked). That's a lot of land, should the Colombian government not be overall responsible?

I dunno, there's no easy answer to it. More of a cannabis man myself.

I don't think people are shocked by such changes anymore. It's been gradually going that way for decades... but then, I guess there's a general apathy about the changes because the hard-line stance hasn't worked. The banning of drugs hasn't removed them, and if anything, their presence has increased a hundredfold in the last twenty years. I can remember when Speed or E were considered the worst of the incoming drugs, with heroin being around but generally hidden away in derelict houses. Cocaine was the drug of the hyper rich. That's not the case anymore.

The problem is that people want a polite friendly police force but don't want to give the Gardai the freedom to deal with the criminals in the manner they need to. I remember what Athlone was like in the late 80s/90s with the drugs and violent crime... the Gardai finally descended in force, and had a field day with those involved... Hardly a fair and gentle approach, but it cleared out the worst offenders for two decades after...

People often consider harsher sentencing to be important, but don't want to appear too hard on the criminals while they're inside, or worse yet, fully acknowledge that incarceration on its own doesn't work. So, we get lots of half arsed measures which ultimately do nothing but defer the problems on to the next generation.

So, no... I don't think anyone with an ounce (no pun) of sense is shocked by how their neighborhood or Ireland has declined in the last few decades with regards to drugs or violent crime...

plenty of drugs in and around and passing through Athlone nonstop right through the 80's/90s/00's/10's and will continue right through the 20's

Harry Anslinger, a racist/xenophobic FBI agent from the early 20Th century, still has more influence on our modern treatment and perception of drug crimes, then many other things.

Nixon also used “the war on drugs” for his own reasons that were less then pure:
    The Nixon campaign in 1968, and the Nixon White House after that, had two enemies: the antiwar left and black people … We knew we couldn’t make it illegal to be either against the war or black, but by getting the public to associate the hippies with marijuana and blacks with heroin, and then criminalizing both heavily, we could disrupt those communities.

It’s one small example of how easy it is for us to be manipulated. We have laws that make no sense and serve no real good in addressing the underlying problem, yet people are staunchly against dramatic change. Like some Religious dogma, there are drug dogmas that people just don’t seem to be able to get past. It means those trying to end the war on drugs and encourage change have to be careful what they say in different jurisdictions. That’s basically because some people are not ready to hear the truth.

Maybe I’m being naive but is Cocaine so readily available to people on a night out or is it based on some people who have connections to dealers are taking it?

The Media are making it out that it’s shoved in your face whenever people go on a night out.

ya it's everywhere, walk into the pub and you'll be offered a bump now as quick as you'll be offered a pint

I have to disagree. Unless it was someone that already knew me, a randomer has never offered me drugs. I'm sure it happens, but it's not as rampant as people make it out to be. Sure, you might see it being done a lot more, but being offered it has never happened to me (even on those nights when I wished they would).

• Registered Users Posts: 30,185 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Maybe I’m being naive but is Cocaine so readily available to people on a night out or is it based on some people who have connections to dealers are taking it?

The Media are making it out that it’s shoved in your face whenever people go on a night out.

It all depends on the social circle you hang out in my experience.
    I know with friends I'd have had at college one group it was common but the other group it wouldn't even have been considered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

i bet load who voted yes are users themselves ort have done it before

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Upperpunch

...a randomer has never offered me drugs. I'm sure it happens, but it's not as rampant as people make it out to be. ...

When I was in school, I was promised that dealers (or pushers) would be just handing me drugs for free in the hopes I'd get addicted. Imagine my disappointment when I said "But it's my first time, isn't it free?"

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

https://extra.ie/2020/01/16/news/irish-news/gangland-feud-keane-mulready-woods
    Sources said he ‘made threats’ against a Drogheda mother whose two sons owed €4,000 in a drugs debt.

The innocent woman eventually borrowed the cash from a local moneylender.

Despite handing over the cash to Mulready, he ‘demanded more money’.

As a consequence, the teen stole her ‘beloved cat’ and murdered it, according to garda intelligence.
    Sounds like a little bully who got chopped up for doing stupid things to people. Blaming coke for his actions is just excusing his actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

This isn't a question about legalisation. The question is that given coke is currently illegal, do current users have blood on their hands?

Given that it is illegal, do the government have blood on their hands?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,014 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

There seems to be a lot more violent murders in the country lately, and I would bet that the those responsible were more likely to be high on drugs than drunk on alcohol.

I have never seen a drunk lad stab someone during a row. Yes fights do occur, and many a fella has been killed after hitting the back of his head of the ground from a punch. But the rise in drug use has driven lads fecking crazy and dangerous.

I would guess the person who stabbed the young student in Cork the other night was off his head on drugs (hence not being allowed intp the party), and the lad who brutally murdered the woman in Arklow before Christmas was too.

Its an absolute scourge on society. And those that defend it are idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

This post can't be serious unless Ive been ignored by dealers for some reason. I've socialised in places for years and whenever I wanted a bag I had to call people never once was I offered it by a stranger. And WTF is a "bump" this isn't south central L.A.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

begbysback wrote: »

Also not the question being asked here. Go open another thread if you want to get people's views on that.

The whataboutery on this thread is quite something from some posters.

the_syco wrote: »
    https://extra.ie/2020/01/16/news/irish-news/gangland-feud-keane-mulready-woods

Sounds like a little bully who got chopped up for doing stupid things to people. Blaming coke for his actions is just excusing his actions.

True but you would think preventing this sort of incident makes way more sense then responding after the matter of fact event has led to so much damage.

Imagine If drugs were decriminalised for use, if the were regulated and monitored by the government, if addicts were actually supported (including given drugs in designated clinics) . You effectively take away drug gangs, cost of resources to govern the current laws are redirected to help people stuck in this horrible environment , victims of drug crimes (like innocent people caught up like this mother) , addicts being criminals and doing crimes, increase chances of addicts re-integrating into society (so contributing).

I know I’ve missed a bunch more examples of how it makes so much more sense to address this issue differently.

When dishing out blame of drug issues in this country, the party with the most blood on its hands is the general society. People love nothing better then to find a scapegoat or somebody else to take the blame for issues they just are not interested in putting much effort into addressing. It’s the Mexicans fault, it’s the blacks fault, it’s the refugees fault, it’s EUs fault, it’s that political party’s fault, it’s the corrupted morals of the addicts fault...... The list goes on and on , there is always somebody else people can find to offload a problem onto.

The inability for any sense of self reflection on this topic outside of what people think they know is equally something to behold.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,416 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

begbysback wrote: »

that's what users would have you believe.
    It's all the government's fault.. not the users who have created a demand for the drug.
    Has the war on drugs created a disaster = Yes
    Have the demand by users created a disaster - Yes.
    Both are equally to blame.

Also not the question being asked here. Go open another thread if you want to get people's views on that.

If we went around creating a thread for every question that was derived from the initial topic then we would have thousands of threads with 2 or 3 posts each. Your post sounds like something the Catholic Church used to spout, nobody should ask what or why, we should all remain in ignorance?

Truth hurts? If the government do have the same amount, or more, blood on their hands as those purchasing cocaine, does that then mean you, as a member if this society, and an voter of the government, are somewhat responsible for the current status?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Much of the so called coke here is garbage anyway compared to places like Manchester or London where it's substantially stronger, cut to bits here yet the cloned teenagers continue to think it's the best thing ever.

Blazer wrote: »
    that's what users would have you believe.
    It's all the government's fault.. not the users who have created a demand for the drug.
    Has the war on drugs created a disaster = Yes
    Have the demand by users created a disaster - Yes.
    Both are equally to blame.

I agree, blame is shared, but there are some people on this thread that completely miss that point, people have to ask questions, does it really work making drugs illegal, why are they illegal, who benefits from the current status, what would happen if it changed, is there any precedent to change.

And I am not a drug user, I don’t drink, and have no political affiliation, just asking how did we get into this mess, and can it be changed. The idea that someone spends 80 or a 100 at the weekend on something that alters their own mind/mood is responsible for the mess, is an attitude that keeps the mess going.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

All the **** in ireland is dirt anyway. People getting addicted to god knows what thinking it's cocaine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

The government should sell the drugs. Legalize drugs sold from government approved sellers. If they undercut the dealers, the dealers will soon go out of business.

There seems to be a lot more violent murders in the country lately, and I would bet that the those responsible were more likely to be high on drugs than drunk on alcohol.

I have never seen a drunk lad stab someone during a row. Yes fights do occur, and many a fella has been killed after hitting the back of his head of the ground from a punch. But the rise in drug use has driven lads fecking crazy and dangerous.

I would guess the person who stabbed the young student in Cork the other night was off his head on drugs (hence not being allowed intp the party), and the lad who brutally murdered the woman in Arklow before Christmas was too.

Its an absolute scourge on society. And those that defend it are idiots.

Those that defend what are idiots? I think you are confusing/mixing in a horrible tragedy with a overall look at our policy on drugs. It’s Like Trump picking out one Mexican rapist/criminal and implying all Mexicans are as bad as each other, that’s the sort of stuff that’s happening here. Thinking that there are better ways to deal with drug problems in no way excuses things that happens as a result of drug policy.

But there is a cause and effect as a direct result of how we manage drug issues, that’s where we as a society are responsible. But equally as a society we are horrible at taking responsibility for anything. Sure wasn’t our last economic crash all FFs fault? (Pathetically shallow mindset). Forget that they were democratically elected , that all parties promised to run the country exactly the same because that’s what people wanted, it’s all FFs fault. Parties reflect the people. But I digress.

Drugs are illegal and this incident still happened, what does that tell you about how effective the laws are at addressing the problem? Are you even able to have your beliefs challenged on this topic or are you too enraged to have a balanced discussion? What have you done to see what alternatives have been tried in other countries? What do you think of the way Portugal and Switzerland address the problem? I gather a bunch of people will set off to google to try and find the most negative aspects of decriminalising drugs but the fact that they have to disappear off and search for it shows how much they really understand on the topic.

And WTF is a "bump" this isn't south central L.A.

A bump is just that, a little bit to keep you going, compared to the "lines" one would usually take. And therein lies the problem, too many people doing lines instead of bumps.

Some people call it a "key" (literally getting some on the end of a key to snort), not to be confused with the "key" meaning kilo.
    jonnny68 wrote: »
    Much of the so called coke here is garbage anyway compared to places like Manchester or London where it's substantially stronger, cut to bits here yet the cloned teenagers continue to think it's the best thing ever.

Well, it probably at the best it's been, so they're not wrong. Granted, it can be better in other countries, most stuff is except beef, but the quality is definitely improving over here. People are starting to get smart to the quality of their drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Say Coke was legalised or decriminalised tomorrow, do you think some people aren't going to go out and get absolutely hepped up to the eyeballs on it?

Anyone who provides schemes and programs in Switzerland, Netherlands or Portugal as a path as to where Ireland should be going is not looking at the significant mental health effects that will be incurred. Most of the information available on those situations doesn't have any coverage for mental health, there probably isn't a long enough time span to collect data so far but I imagine it's not being looked at.

You only have to look at when we had Headshops. People destroyed themselves, made pigs of themselves. Imagine an A&E on Saturday when the Coke fiends start swarming in, eyes wide, paranoid as ****, trying to do a Ben Dunne off the tallest object in sight.

But that's only a temporary situation. The reason we all went mad with the head shop stuff is because it was a legal high in a world of illegal highs. We knew it wasn't going to last so we done the dog on it. If drugs were decriminalised, or as you say legalised and made available over the counter, sure, we'd have a few months of binge consumption, but once the novelty wears off it will start to calm and go the opposite way. Part of the attraction of illegal drugs are them being illegal, and being a bold boy/girl taking them adds to it, initially at least. Take that away and the draw is not as strong anymore for some people.

As said many times, we only have to look at Portugal to see how it's done right, albeit they do seem to ignore the pushing on tourists, but apparently as a citizen it has done wonders for them. But I can't hand on heart say that, as I don't live there so hard to really know if it's just good stories and crap media.

I would love if they at least legalised cannabis and allowed you to grow your own, I would save a fortune, my bill would be down to €0, save for the required materials to grow it, which would still be far, far less than the current street price.

Hah what a load of bollocks - what establishments have you been frequenting where this is the norm as you’d have people believe?

A lot of sensationalist nonsense being spouted on this thread, betraying the total ignorance of posters on the topic at hand.