Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

But its cold outside

• 14-12-2011 5:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭

I wasn’t going to start this till Jan but as some of you pointed out…no time like the present….and as I nearly got frostbite on my face:eek: yesterday out running i decided I’m now a real runner so time to start logging……so here it goes.

I’m 39 yr old female …. ok nearly 40 (jan1st):eek:, full time working mother of 3 who started running 2.5 yrs ago….hadn’t the patience to keep up walking as I was going nowhere…slowly:rolleyes:……so started jogging to get around my lunchtime 3m walk a bit faster. I had run as nipper in a club from u8 – u14 and then gave it up.

I have done a few races over the past 2 yrs and hope to keep plugging away at the times and see if I can improve them.

I hope the fact that I have this log will keep me motivated and that all you guys that have experience will point out my bad habits (and good if there’s any) :D I find that if i'm following a plan its easier for me to get out running..

At the moment the current PB's are

times so far are
    Distance| 5k | 4m |10KM |10m |13.1m | 26.2 |
    Time| 25.38| 33.40 | 54.00 |92.12| 1.57| 4.27|
    Date| Dec 2011| Sept 2010 |May 2010| Aug 2011| Sept 2011|Oct 2011
    Aims| 25.00|32.00|52.00|90.00|1.50| 3.59.59|

Sort term goals...to get out running over the Christmas and New Year:D

Rough race plan....
    Races: St Stephens Day - Paddy Hyland Memorial 10k Navan
    29th Jan - Raheny 5m (this will be my first 5m race....)
    3rd March - Meath Spring half marathon
    16th May - Simon Cumber & Paddy Hyland 6k Road Race Navan
    9th June - Patrick Bell Memorial 5k Road Race & Fun Race Bohermeen
    4th July - South O'Hanlon 5k Road Race South O'Hanlon Senchelestown GAA Centre

So that will keep me going trying to follw this little plan and then we'll take it from there......probably throw in DCM 2012 as well...but will wait and see nearer the time!!!

Any tips/advice always welcome

But at the moment i am enjoying the running and i think thats the whole point of it...health & fitness is just a bonus!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Well done anne! best of luck with the running anf the log!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Well about time for you :D:D

Best of luck with the goals and log

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Well done Anne. I might see you at a few races next year going by your plan. Best of luck

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Wayyy hey. :D welcome to the logs. Best of luck Anne. Will be reading with interest :)

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

Good luck with the log Anne :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Best of luck Anne.
    Nice times :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Thanks Lads for the words of encouragement!!

This week so far has been looking like this:

Date|Distance (miles)|Time|Calories|Avg HR|Ave pace|Comments
    12.12.11| 5.51| 00:55:31| 775| 159| 10:05|cold & windy:eek: easy pace run
    13.12.11| 5.1| 00:48:48| 710| 163| 9.34|Freezing cold today//possibility of frostbite on cheeks (face cheeks that is:D) steady run|
    14.12.11| 3.9| 00:37:48| 557| 167| 9.42|not as cold or windy - base layer on today so comfortable run, intervals today 5m WU, 3m easy, 1 min hard, 7m CD
    15.12.11| 5.22| 00:50:15| 732| 167| 9.38| steady comfortable run

plan for rest of the week...Kettlebells tonight. Tomorrow - Rest , Sat - 60m easy , Sun - 45 min cross(walk)

Have i too much data on the table :oor is there any info that is more important that i should be tracking?

Its your log Anne you can have the biggest table on boards if you like!

BobMac104 wrote: »
    Its your log Anne you can have the biggest table on boards if you like!

Bob, that might end up being the case...now that i know how to do basic tables anything could happen!!!:D;)

I look forward to it. I fair love a daycent table!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Good luck Ann with the goals and the log. You have a decent running base and with a good training programme and all the words of wisdom you will get here, you'll have no problem smashing those PBs.

jcsmum wrote: »
    Good luck Ann with the goals and the log. You have a decent running base and with a good training programme and all the words of wisdom you will get here, you'll have no problem smashing those PBs.

Cheers jcsmum, no time limit so ye hoping to eventually get them!!!:D

not sure if some are going to be unrealistic to get and if some are easy but we'll see as things progress!!!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Good luck with the log, you doing the right thing, concentrate on the shorter distances (5-10k) and it will have a huge effect on your half marathon and marathon times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

BobMac104 wrote: »
    I look forward to it. I fair love a daycent table!!

:D she does love her tables

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Delighted you've got your own log younganne,best of luck with your goals.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

A few similar goals to me (HM in particular) - best of luck with it, and good to see you have your own log now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

Best of luck with the log Anne. Just to let you know that the 10k in Navan on St Stephens Day has been cancelled.

beeduybe wrote: »
    Best of luck with the log Anne. Just to let you know that the 10k in Navan on St Stephens Day has been cancelled.

Thanks for letting me know..i hadn't heard. Hubby will be delighted as he thinks i'm cracked anyway!!!:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

Younganne wrote: »
    Thanks for letting me know..i hadn't heard. Hubby will be delighted as he thinks i'm cracked anyway!!!:D:D

Not to worry, there are 15 other races on in Meath in 2012.

In March alone, half-marathon - 4th, 5 mile - 17th, 4 mile - 25th

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056448787

Not to worry, there are 15 other races on in Meath in 2012.

In March alone, half-marathon - 4th, 5 mile - 17th, 4 mile - 25th

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056448787
    Younganne wrote: »

Short term goals...to get out running over the Christmas and New Year:D

Rough race plan....
    Races: St Stephens Day - Paddy Hyland Memorial 10k Navan
    29th Jan - Raheny 5m (this will be my first 5m race....)
    3rd March - Meath Spring half marathon
    16th May - Simon Cumber & Paddy Hyland 6k Road Race Navan
    9th June - Patrick Bell Memorial 5k Road Race & Fun Race Bohermeen
    4th July - South O'Hanlon 5k Road Race South O'Hanlon Senchelestown GAA Centre

So that will keep me going trying to follw this little plan and then we'll take it from there......probably throw in DCM 2012 as well...but will wait and see nearer the time!!!

Any tips/advice always welcome

But at the moment i am enjoying the running and i think thats the whole point of it...health & fitness is just a bonus!!!:D

Thanks...i have a few penciled in already and hoping to stay closer to home to do a few more in Meath this year!!

Ok this weeks plan is

Mon| Tue | Wed| Thur| Fri| Sat| Sun
    5m| 30 min intervals (3min easy, 1min hard)| 5m| rest |45mins|3M|rest

19.12.11 - 5 mile,
    Definitely not as cold or windy today. Wasn't as easy as should have been but not difficult. I didn't look at the Garmin and just went by what was comfortable pace to run at without having to think too much about it;)

Date| Distance (miles)| Time |Calories |Avg HR| Ave pace| Comments
    19.12.11| 5.02| 00:49:35 | 695 | 158| 9.53 | Definitely not as cold or windy today. Wasn't as easy as should have been but not difficult.

m1= 9:43/153 bpm
    m2=10.05/163 bpm
    m3=10.04/157 bpm
    m4= 9.56/156 bpm
    m5= 9.35/161 bpm
    m.1 = 9.50/162 bpm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Good work Anne

Tuesday 20 December
    plan was 30 intervals 3m easy 1m 5k pace

I did a 6min warm up and then did the intervals until i got back near work and finished with cool down
    Overall it was 4.1. in 39:15 avg pace 9.34/163
    Breakdown looks like this

Time@avg pace/avg HR
    6.05min@9.49/159bpm - 1.02min @7.52/159bpm
    3.02min@10.20/161bpm - 1.01 min @7.54/172bpm
    3.02 min@10.03/166bpm - 1.01min@8.21/175bpm  
    3.02min@10.33/167bpm - 1.03min@7.45/173bpm
    3.01min@10.186/165bpm - 1.02min@7.37/168bpm
    3.02min@10.09/160bpm - 1.02min@8.09/165bpm
    3.03min@9.49/162bpm - 1.02@7.15/172bpm
    7.38@9.57/164bpm

I enjoyed this. I love the fact that i'm getting a bit of variety into the training and its not all just slow joging for x number of miles!!!:D

Wednesday 21 December
    Plan was 5m easy without looking at garmin and just go with the flow

But this ended up to be a very difficult run for a number of reasons
    1. not properly hydrated (especially as i had a drink or 2 ;) last night while wrapping presents) so was sweating plenty too
    2. didn't eat properly this morning
    3. went a different route and it was quite challenging going up sneaky inclines in the very strong wind
    4. had to keep talking to myself to stop myself from walking - as i had no-one to blame except myself i just had to put the head down and work at it.....
    5 having gone a route i hadn't used before the run ended up longer that the plan....

Having said all that , i started to enjoy the run from about 3.5 m mark

and the stats don't reflect the difficulty i was feeling

Overall it was - 5.8m in 58.00 avg pace 9.58/167

Breakdown
    m1=10.04/151
    m2=9.54/160
    m3=10.17/169
    m4=10.11/162
    m5=9.50/157
    m6(.82)=9.26/169

Lessons learned....must drink water and plan route:D

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭alitoast

Hi Younganne,
    Thought i'd return a post, best of luck with the log.

Nothing better than a good talk to ones self ;)

alitoast wrote: »
    Hi Younganne,
    Thought i'd return a post, best of luck with the log.

Nothing better than a good talk to ones self ;)

Thanks Alitoast...i see you have joined us on the other thread...you'll find theres a bit of craic there!!!

Thursday 22 December - no running - kettlebells class...it was a very tough class and i was feeling very tired after it... and i was think he'd go easy on us seeing as it was the last class before the break:eek:

Friday 23 December - 5.01m in 00:50:13 avg pac 10:01/159
    m1=9.59/154
    m2=10:06/161
    m3=10.22/156
    m4=9.37/160
    m5=10.03/167

did this at home on a hilly course out & back course so it was a great way of stretching out after kettlebells...but i was surprisingly ok and muscles weren't too bad....

Sat & sun - didn't manage to fit in any run

The plan for this week is

|Mon |Tue| Wed| Thur| Fri| Sat | Sun|
    |5m | rest|32 min wit intervals|5m| rest| 60min|3m easy|

Intervals - 10 min easy, 6 x 1 min on/off, 10 min easy

Monday 26th December

Had originally planned running 10k race in Navan but it was cancelled so when i went for a run decided to do 10k myself and after doing the first mile at a pretty comfortable but face pace i decided to see how i would manage if i continued to go at the faster pace and "race myself" ...well my current PB from May 2010 is 54:00 min so decided to see what i could do as my next fastest was 56.27 in July this year so have come nowhere near my PB since i got it....

I did 6.2 m in 53.20.. i did 3.1 m in 26.22 but when i turned and headed back i had the wind in my face so thought i hadn't a hope...was fairly wrecked coming to the end and what just about hanging in there...so very happy with my attempt....i know in a race it probably would have measured longer on Garmin,,,but i'm happy!!!!

Dist=avg pace/avg HB
    m1=9.09/155,
    m2=8.19/172
    m3=8.07/174
    m4=8.29/182
    m5=8/56/180
    m6=8.35/185
    m.20=8.48/192

overall 6.20m 53:20 avg 8.36/175 max= 6.44/193

didn't manage to run tue or wed so was determined to get out on Thur. Have to say it was extremely windy with torrential rain and twice i went out but turned and came back in...eventually resigned myself to the threadmill....

11min warmup at 5.5mph
    1 min at 7.7mph 1 min at 5.7mph
    1min at 8mph 1 min at 6mph x 5 reps
    11.30 min at 6 mph

Total 3.5 m in 34.30 mins

Didn't get out again today but have to say i'm feeling a bit under the weather with pains in my back and tightening in my chest so afraid a chest infection might be starting so will probably take the next few days off and see how i'm feeling Sunday...might manage the easy 3m on the plan!!!!

BTW how do i post a Garmin link????:confused:

Happy New Year to everyone!!! May all your Dreams for 2012 come true...both running & personal!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

F40 :D how does it feel.
    Hope you had a great birthday yesterday Anne. Sorry we never made it out, still fairly sick here. Hope ya didn't get that chest infection in the end, it's no fun. Hopefully we'll all hook up for a drink when everything gets back to normal.

PS highlight the words garmin link, then click on the globe icon in the message window. A URL box pops up, just paste the garmin link in there and hit ok. Bobs your uncle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Belated happy birthday Anne. Welcome to the young at heart F40 club ;)