Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Incident at Roscommon hotel (asylum seekers)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭1874

Or maybe locals don't want 80 odd asylum seekers in there village so are trying to burn the hotel Down to stop it?

How does anyone know that? what if is just a case of vandalism? or the suggestion is there are people living there already? maybe they are responsible, but some posters are pointing the finger blaming people and have already concluded the reason, maybe its true but no one here knows. I cant say Id be particularly impressed if I lived there or had a family there and a lot of people who are usually complete unknown entities in terms of their background are just allowed in?

Indeed not, but some folk with young kids are fleeing genuine horror. Women and children who face the same fate as that poor German girl, and terrorised men too - I would like it if this country could help some of them out. But I am not dismissing your concern either. It's a quandary.

Fleeing where? Syria? that war is all but over, and it was only prolonged by support from Saudi Arabia for one, a country that can be condemned on numerous counts for human rights issues. There will always be some place to flee, at what point would we say no? or that it simply isnt sustainable?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Sad to see these hotels getting attacked, and I say that as someone who lives within 15min of the one in Donegal.

I watched the final part of the 3 part series on the EU last night, and to see the plight of these asylum seekers is heart breaking. How desperate are these people to walk hundreds of miles, sleep in camps, risk their lives on overcrowded boats just to try to get a better life for them and their families.

Ireland have taken such a small number, it really shouldn't be an issue.

I guess it looks good for the politicians that dont have to deal with the consequences, I for one do not want to see a situation develop here like exists in Sweden, Finland Germany or other countries, they are victims of some kind of scam I consider, among the many non genuine refugees there may be some genuine refugees, but many are simply economic migrants and are conning these countries, they are a victim of their own extremism, neo liberalism.

seamus wrote: »
    In After Hours, most people's "interest" in this topic is in taking a dump on asylum seekers and nothing more. Facts mean nothing to these people.

Facts mean nothing to many, seems some Irish people have been blamed for this without any kind of proof. Not all Asylum seekers are genuine decent people and it is claimed we dont take in many relative to other countries, why should that matter? we are a small country of limited means (or so it seems when it comes to helping our own and anyone here already), there is not an endless means to help all the world, if the money spent in reducing the countries asylum seekers came from to rubble or not impoverishing them, even improving them, these problems would not exist, the solution is not to take all and sundry in, because how does that fix anything? it would be never ending, who do you say no to? at what point?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I think that genuinely people have had enough of migrants or refugees regardless of their situation,
    however unfortunate it might have been.
    These people are being forced into communities with little or no consideration

"These people "!
    have had to up and leave their homes, all their belongings, members of their families who are unable to flea due to a full scale despicable cruel WAR.

What more consultation, if any is bloody necessary.

We have only taken a mere handful as is.

Shame on those who have done this.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

"These people "!
    have had to up and leave their homes, all their belongings, members of their families who are unable to flea due to a full scale despicable cruel WAR.

Shame on those who have done this."

amen to this. You know, it is not impossible that facilities might be set up in the town because these new folk are there. same as in Ballyhaunis

and nothing excuses or justifies vandalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Chinasea wrote: »
    "These people "!

We have taken in way more than the EU asked us to while bigger richer countries like the one next door have taken in very few.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Whatever their views, which they are entitled to, setting fire to a building is utterly scummy. The explanation is not an excuse. The emergency services, which probably have to bring reinforcements on board from a larger town, are tied up by it - hopefully there isn't another such serious incident occurring at the same time. There are residences and businesses nearby, smoke damage, scorched ground, high financial costs. Defending your town by setting fire to a building is a hell of a twisting of logic.

Scorched earth policy?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Graces7 wrote: »
    "These people "!

amen to this. You know, it is not impossible that facilities might be set up in the town because these new folk are there. same as in Ballyhaunis

Graces, with all respect dumping a large number of people in a small town will lead to trouble. There's bugger all facilities in these places. Sure during the boom people from Dublin sold their homes and moved to places like Mullingar and Rochfordbridge, this caused a certain element of them and us type mentallity, "bloody Dubs coming down here and causing trouble". And them fellow spud pickers, not a load of easily distingushable people.
    It's probably the whole parish thing and outsiders are bad.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭1874

Chinasea wrote: »
    "These people "!

What people? what war? where are they coming from? you sound like you are talking about somewhere specific?
    If you mean the Syrian conflict/war which was furthered by something of a fifth column, their atrocities and destruction caused and funded by outside forces.
    Its all but over.

Should we bring everyone who has experienced war here? and how? by what means?

Would it not be better to advocate change where they are coming from or fund improvements and rebuilding there or anywhere this occurs, at the least we (the West) could assist in preventing it occurring (and not encourage/fund it, because the problem of trying to fix the situation by bringing people here, doesnt actually fix anything.
    At some point it wouldnt be possible to fund it (and its not that I think thats a good reason, but cost will come up somewhere, especially you have a situation where people cant access housing or services in this country already) but at some point a policy of supporting asylum would stop end or at least support for it so that it might dwindle, how would it be decided who the last person would be? and the first person to be stopped, how would that be decided? or do we just let everyone in? and how would that work out? what will any number of people do if they are just brought here? work/housing/ our system is already under strain, mostly in my opinion through financial mismanagement and mismanagement genrally.

I think supporting asylum seekers (genuine ones) ould be possible but in small numbers, but it would require people to be heavily investigated, to determine who they are, because there is a significant motivation for people to want to start a new life, especially if they have a criminal background or have been involved in activities abroad which would mean they would not have a positive effect here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Would it not make more sense for asylum seekers to be housed in Dublin or Cork or Galway, where there are more resources, rather than a tiny economic blackspot in the middle of nowhere?

Not really, these rural communities are in need of regeneration. Keep hearing that rural Ireland is dying. On processing their asylum claims, those who are successful can move to the cities, if they wish to do so.
    Mrsmum wrote: »
    I think the elephant in the room we're not supposed to speak about for fear of being labelled racist is that men from those countries where asylum seekers/migrants come from just have very poor attitudes regarding western women.

Nope, most definitely not. These incidents need to be called out for what they are though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Being quite familiar with all three towns and from working in Ballaghaderreen and Roosky on an almost daily basis I know for fact that there is vast differences in services.

Example 1 x mini market, 1 x church, 1 x post office, 1 x primary school as opposed to towns with supermarkets, council offices, libraries, secondary schools, health care centres, parks, halal shops, mosques, chemists, full time garda stations, fire stations, barbers etc.

Blackrock and Clontarf have plenty :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

1874 wrote: »
    What people? what war? where are they coming from? you sound like you are talking about somewhere specific?
    If you mean the Syrian conflict/war which was furthered by something of a fifth column, their atrocities and destruction caused and funded by outside forces.
    Its all but over.

Should we bring everyone who has experienced war here? and how? by what means?

Would it not be better to advocate change where they are coming from or fund improvements and rebuilding there or anywhere this occurs, at the least we (the West) could assist in preventing it occurring (and not encourage/fund it, because the problem of trying to fix the situation by bringing people here, doesnt actually fix anything.
    At some point it wouldnt be possible to fund it (and its not that I think thats a good reason, but cost will come up somewhere, especially you have a situation where people cant access housing or services in this country already) but at some point a policy of supporting asylum would stop end or at least support for it so that it might dwindle, how would it be decided who the last person would be? and the first person to be stopped, how would that be decided? or do we just let everyone in? and how would that work out? what will any number of people do if they are just brought here? work/housing/ our system is already under strain, mostly in my opinion through financial mismanagement and mismanagement genrally.

I think supporting asylum seekers (genuine ones) ould be possible but in small numbers, but it would require people to be heavily investigated, to determine who they are, because there is a significant motivation for people to want to start a new life, especially if they have a criminal background or have been involved in activities abroad which would mean they would not have a positive effect here.

Ireland already spends almost 1bn a year on foreign aid. We should cut that completely or pull up the drawbridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Nope. The original post says it was home to asylum seekers.

I was wrong.

It wasn't empty.

Three security staff in the building (probably at the taxpayers expenses)

No risk to them, no fire actually started.

NIMAN wrote: »

I watched the final part of the 3 part series on the EU last night, and to see the plight of these asylum seekers is heart breaking. How desperate are these people to walk hundreds of miles, sleep in camps, risk their lives on overcrowded boats just to try to get a better life for them and their families.

Ireland have taken such a small number, it really shouldn't be an issue.

Indeed.

Genuine refugees from genuine conflicts = WELCOME

But, half of AS are Asian men fleeing from....wait for it.............the UK!!!!

They are visa-shopping.

They are illegal immigrants.

They are not from Syria.

They are from: Pakistan, Bangladesh, etc.

These illegal immigrants are not welcome.

"These people "!

Again, please note that half of AS are not fleeing a war........they have left the UK for Ireland.

Please read section 3.4 here:
    https://www.esri.ie/system/files?file=media/file-uploads/2018-06/RS72.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 6,896 ✭✭✭circadian

Geuze wrote: »
    Indeed.

Genuine refugees from genuine conflicts = WELCOME

But, half of AS are Asian men fleeing from....wait for it.............the UK!!!!

They are visa-shopping.

They are illegal immigrants.

They are not from Syria.

They are from: Pakistan, Bangladesh, etc.

These illegal immigrants are not welcome.

Got any of them reputable sources on this or is it just good old fashioned repeat the horse**** you see on Facebook or somewhere?

• Site Banned Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Dakotabigone

This is the reason for the demand on social housing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,896 ✭✭✭circadian

Geuze wrote: »
    Again, please note that half of AS are not fleeing a war........they have left the UK for Ireland.

Please read section 3.4 here:
    https://www.esri.ie/system/files?file=media/file-uploads/2018-06/RS72.pdf

That's applicants, that doesn't mean they arrived in Ireland. Also, the number of applicants dropped a year later.

circadian wrote: »
    That's applicants, that doesn't mean they arrived in Ireland. Also, the number of applicants dropped a year later.

Given that there were hundreds, if not into the thousands, of sham marriages between illegal Asian immigrants and EU women, then clearly the illegal Asian immigrants didn't just apply, but actually got into Ireland.

This has all been reported.

Operation Vantage.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/operation-vantage-nationwide-sham-marriage-investigation-leads-to-200-deportations-37029433.html

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/more-than-1-000-marriages-in-republic-confirmed-as-illegal-1.3536635

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/sham-marriages-many-foreign-taxi-drivers-involved-garda-suspects-1.3588034

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

when the first attacks on the hotel were made, there was a statement re th e refugees.. That they were families with children and carefully selected for Ireland

It was in reference to locals complaining there would not be room in the schools for their children.

Most of the posts here re not applicable and irrelevant

What will happen is what happened in Ballyhaunis; an improvement of facilities .

• Registered Users Posts: 25,396 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

when the first attacks on the hotel were made, there was a statement re th e refugees.. That they were families with children and carefully selected for Ireland

It was in reference to locals complaining there would not be room in the schools for their children.

Most of the posts here re not applicable and irrelevant

What will happen is what happened in Ballyhaunis; an improvement of facilities .

Ah now you know you can't say that!

Be prepared to get hammered withthe following posts.

1. Worked out great for France, Sure they have to eat halal snails now.

2. A billion women raped in Germany on NYE

3. 98.7% of Sweden is now no go zones, surer there's only 12 native Swedish people left now all living in a forrst outside of Stockholm.

4. Shariah law!! Jaysus they will have all the pubs closed down and supermarkets will be alcohol free zones.

5. Sure me aunties neighbours second cousins best friends daugter was in England last week and she said you get handed a burkah when you get off the ferry and your not allowed take it off till your back in Irish waters!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,947 ✭✭✭Odhinn

1. Worked out great for France, Sure they have to eat halal snails now.

2. A billion women raped in Germany on NYE

3. 98.7% of Sweden is now no go zones, surer there's only 12 native Swedish people left now all living in a forrst outside of Stockholm.

4. Shariah law!! Jaysus they will have all the pubs closed down and supermarkets will be alcohol free zones.

5. Sure me aunties neighbours second cousins best friends daugter was in England last week and she said you get handed a burkah when you get off the ferry and your not allowed take it off till your back in Irish waters!

Too true. Swedes are now queing outside the Afghan and Congo embassies seeking asylum. The head of infidels is the new swedish currency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Odhinn wrote: »
    Too true. Swedes are now queing outside the Afghan and Congo embassies seeking asylum. The head of infidels is the new swedish currency.

Actually aide from the obvious jest, the Swedes had to introduce 'women-only' music festivals in recent years (prgress?), due to fear of what could be called 'p___ grabbers' of non-local origin.

The Interior Minister for Sweden on Thrursday said:
    "Sweden is one of a handful of countries that continue to have internal border controls due to lack of border controls at the Schengen's external borders.”

"The decision is based on the government's assessment that there is a threat to public order and internal security in Sweden.”
    Checks on car and train traffic were implemented at the Öresund Bridge, as well as at ports in Varberg, Gothenburg, Malmö, Helsingborg and Trelleborg. Another 12 sites, including airports, were added to the check areas last summer.

Sweden will boost its border officers by 100, bringing the total number to 400 by the end of 2019. It's lefty SD party had their worst election results in over 100yrs, and the PM resigned shortly after last years elections.

---

Then there's Denmark, a former open, warm, welcoming country that has now introduced 'forced integration' policies due to clear integrations issues (learn Danish, cultural values, and worst of all 'shake hands' or your welfare payments wil stop).

They've even started expelling asylum seekers/economic-migrants to a remote island who's name translates as 'virus'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I see we have the usual pro-open-borders supporters on here making fun of the issues that other countries have with asylum seeker integration and their adjustment to western norms e.g. respect for women etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,234 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Mrsmum wrote: »
    I think the elephant in the room we're not supposed to speak about for fear of being labelled racist is that men from those countries where asylum seekers/migrants come from just have very poor attitudes regarding western women. To all women probably but they can dominate their own women, The sight of the freedoms women in this part of the world have, I think, can be an affront to these men.
    So the buildings those women might live in should be burned down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

For those who think people who are wary of migrants are monsters, just a brief look at some news from Finland in the last few months....

Finland has 5 million citizens, thereabouts, so in or around the same as us, though spread out more, I guess.
    From 2015 to 2017 they had a big increase in migrants entering the country - especially from Iraq and Afghanistan. About 30,000 per annum. A jump from about 3000 in 2014.

In 2017 the police stats for Finland record rates of sexual offenses per nationality at 3.33 per 10,000 Finnish people, 28 per 10,000 for people from Sweden and Somalia and between 133 - 138 per 10,000 for people from Iraq and Afghanistan. (wikipedia)

On 5th December 2018,
    Kai Mykkänen (NCP), the Minister of the Interior, has expressed his shock at reports that an underage girl has been raped and sexually abused repeatedly by a group of men in Oulu, North Ostrobothnia.

“Things like these shouldn’t be happening in Finland,” he said .

http://www.helsinkitimes.fi/finland/finland-news/domestic/16005-these-kind-of-things-shouldn-t-be-happening-in-finland-says-mykkaenen.html

More recently in January 2019 in Helsinki....
    HELSINKI – Just when we’ve learned about the series of child abuses in the northern city of Oulu, the Helsinki Police Department raided an apartment building in Roihuvuori, East Helsinki, on Saturday evening.

According to the police, they caught three suspects of a foreign background. They are suspected of aggravated child abuse and aggravated rape.

https://finlandtoday.fi/police-catch-three-foreign-men-in-a-raid-in-roihuvuori-men-suspected-of-child-abuses-and-rapes/

And this has even prompted the Finnish President Niinisto to say...
    “The acts in Oulu are shocking us with their inhumanity. It’s even more shocking that these deeds have targeted children.”

According to Niinistö, it’s unbearable that more suspicions have surfaced. “It’s unbearable that some who have sought asylum from us, and even received an asylum, have brought evil to us and created insecurity.”

Niinistö continued by saying that good must also be capable to firmness. “We must by being more determined than before act by making sure that Finland will continue to be a righteous and safe country. We need an open and factual discussion and decisions that are weighted thoroughly. The problems must be grasped and they must be solved.”
    https://finlandtoday.fi/president-niinisto-its-unbearable-that-some-asylum-seekers-have-brought-evil-to-us/

In 2016, 2017 there are records of 23% year on year increase in rapes and
    Foreign nationals (are) accounting for 27 per cent of all rape suspects (while) the identity of the suspect remains unknown in over a quarter of the rapes ....

http://www.helsinkitimes.fi/finland/finland-news/domestic/14920-finnish-police-record-23-year-on-year-increase-in-rape-reports.html

2018 stats show that crime in general is going down in Finland, except for in the area of aggravated assault and rape.
    The overall crime rate in the first nine months of 2017 was down 6.1% compared to the same period in 2016, including a reduction in property crimes (9.7%), assault (1.4%), motor vehicle theft/unauthorized use (8.1%), and fraud (9.3%). Other areas of crime showed an increase from 2016, including aggravated assault (8.7%), rape (10.7%), and robberies (2.5%). Hate crimes in 2016 were down 14% from 2015 numbers.
    https://www.osac.gov/Pages/ContentReportDetails.aspx?cid=23172

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Absolutely horrendous how, one who I assume to be an adult, could so frivolously joke about the increase of sexual assaults carried out by migrants;

A billion women raped in Germany on NYE

Not a billion no, but 1200 women were sexually assaulted by over 2000 migrants in one night... but you find this hilarious.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2016/07/10/leaked-document-says-2000-men-allegedly-assaulted-1200-german-women-on-new-years-eve/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.7589a1d77c9e
    !

93% of all gang rapes in Sweden are carried out by migrants... oh I bet you find this truly rib-tickling

https://www.expressen.se/nyheter/brottscentralen/qs/de-ar-mannen-som-valdtar-tillsammans/

84% of all grooming gangs in the UK are Asian... You're just rolling in the aisles now aren't you.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/grooming-gangs-uk-britain-newcastle-serious-case-review-operation-sanctuary-shelter-muslim-asian-a8225106.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Landing a load of refugees onto a small village in rural ireland just is plain daft.
    Dafter still as the hotel hasn't been open for years.
    The local school will be put under huge pressure, there are no facilities for people in the village

I wonder what well connected business person bought this hotel and hey presto they get a contract for this?

They did the same in Ballaghaderreen

Absolutely horrendous how, one who I assume to be an adult, could so frivolously joke about the increase of sexual assaults carried out by migrants;

Not a billion no, but 1200 women were sexually assaulted by over 2000 migrants in one night... but you find this hilarious.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2016/07/10/leaked-document-says-2000-men-allegedly-assaulted-1200-german-women-on-new-years-eve/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.7589a1d77c9e

93% of all gang rapes in Sweden are carried out by migrants... oh I bet you find this truly rib-tickling

https://www.expressen.se/nyheter/brottscentralen/qs/de-ar-mannen-som-valdtar-tillsammans/

84% of all grooming gangs in the UK are Asian... You're just rolling in the aisles now aren't you.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/grooming-gangs-uk-britain-newcastle-serious-case-review-operation-sanctuary-shelter-muslim-asian-a8225106.html

Yep, laughing my head off at you and your ilk who are constantly spreading fearmongering on these threads, keep it up lads you really do bring a smile to my face with the sh/te you post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

And of course all Irish emigrants are staunch fundamental members of the Irish Republican Army, alcoholic incestuous child molesters.

Excuse me while I fetch my paramilitary black beret cap outta my 1960/70/80 suitcase.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Yep, laughing my head off at you and your ilk who are constantly spreading fearmongering on these threads, keep it up lads you really do bring a smile to my face with the sh/te you post.

Would you like to point out what part of my post is "sh/te" or would you prefer to obfuscate the discussion by posting frivolous nonsense?
    you and your ilk.

I do also find it somewhat humorous that you and three other posters on this forum use this exact line in every discussion as an infantile means of discrediting posters, I'm not part of any ilk, I'm simply a poster who drives apologists for sexual abuse, homophobia, and misogyny such as you absolutely potty because you cannot argue the facts.

Would you like to point out what part of my post is "sh/te" or would you prefer to obfuscate the discussion by posting frivolous nonsense?

Your whole posting history is blatantly racist fearmongering sh/te.