Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Burke Family from Mayo

• 24-04-2015 2:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭

What's the deal with that family that have been popping up recently opposing ssm ? Are they affiliated with any religious group ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,201 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Aren't they the ones that staged that ridiculous protest at NUI Galway last may? Needless to say the student body were not very supportive and the guards were called.

Not sure if they are affiliated with any group but I'm not surprised the name has been popping up lately on the anti-ssm side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

About on the level of Una Bean Mhic Mhathuna, loud religiously boisterous family who are probably being funded by someone behind the scenes.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭endacl

They've been popping up periodically for a few years now, every time society offends holybabyjebus. You don't remember them? Well, nobody will remember them after this time either... ;)

enochburkemcdonaldsemployee.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Madame_Diem

That looks like the golden arches on his diploma. What's he graduating from MacDonald's Customers College.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭endacl

That looks like the golden arches on his diploma. What's he graduating from MacDonald's Customers College.

I'm not one to knock any educational achievement, but on his case I'll make an exception.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

The son and the mother were recently on a radio show trying to pretend they weren't related, but using their real names.

They turned up during the Civil Partnership debate, and during the X Case legislation debate, and again now. The broadcast media gives them inordinate time for what they are - a single evangelical family from rural Ireland - due to the the requirement to give "equal coverage". That requirement is outdated, does not apply to print media, and really needs to be removed. Unless we really want a situation of having to have the Flat Earth Society on giving "balance" every time a physicist is interviewed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

L1011 wrote: »
    The son and the mother were recently on a radio show trying to pretend they weren't related, but using their real names.

Wow. Did they think that people wouldn't cop it?

That reminds me of BOB and her son who always show up together. A certain hysterical woman whose Late Late appearance still gets talked about also had her son in tow at a recent tv debate.

Clearly evangelism is a family business.

L1011 wrote: »
    Unless we really want a situation of having to have the Flat Earth Society on giving "balance" every time a physicist is interviewed.

Totally off topic but I would love to have a Flat Earth Society t-shirt! :D I don't want to donate any money to their cause though. Such a struggle.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,799 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

This photo from Mayo Pride is something else

https://www.instagram.com/p/BW2yDKqFSkL/

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I still don't understand what they were protesting. Having a Pride parade doesn't mean their religious beliefs aren't being respected. It's not like the parade route was going through a church and there was lads blowing each other on the altar, like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭pl4ichjgy17zwd

They're not the snappiest of slogan signs, are they?

• Registered Users Posts: 7 shem676

Are they affiliated to the Westboro Baptist Church???

link removed

• Registered Users Posts: 40,799 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

shem676 wrote: »
    Are they affiliated to the Westboro Baptist Church???

link removed

No

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I still don't understand what they were protesting. Having a Pride parade doesn't mean their religious beliefs aren't being respected. It's not like the parade route was going through a church and there was lads blowing each other on the altar, like.

As I said in the Mayo Forum, instead of having the guts to hold placards that said explicitly they view homosexuality as wrong and immoral, they cleverly worded their placards in such as way as to disguise their hatred and presented their argument as if their rights were being impinged upon as if they were being oppressed.

How ironic of course that they would suggest such a thing when they would be at the top of queue to deny the rights of homosexuals. Amusing to me that they though noone would see through their tactics.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Imagine how miserable and boring you have to be to protest a Pride march. I appreciate some people don't support it but they usually just stay away and ignore it. To go to the trouble of making posters and then standing there having their protest or whatever it was just makes them look like thicks.

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Mr.Frame

Best thing is to ignore these people all together.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Anyone else getting sponsored videos from this bunch on their Facebook? One of the brothers, who looks and sounds like a bedwetting Mammys boy, giving out about an "obscene play" in Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

Anyone else getting sponsored videos from this bunch on their Facebook? One of the brothers, who looks and sounds like a bedwetting Mammys boy, giving out about an "obscene play" in Galway.

Yes! I watched it thinking it was a p*ss take but its unbelievably serious!
    Each to their own I guess but I wouldn't be too fond of their anti fun views

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Anyone with a link? ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭moonlighting_1

wasn't there an investigation to some group of anti gay people (cant remember location). background checks were done and it turned out a lot of em were Gay.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,650 ✭✭✭10-10-20

In light of the day's actions by the Burke family of Castlebar (also Burke Christian School - https://www.bcs.ie/) at the inquest of Sally Maaz of Carrowreagh, Ballyhaunis, I noted that many journalists had neglected to document the Burke family's attempts to defeat David Norris in his failed presidential bid using rather underhand tactics.

Inquest article:

"Grieving family of teenager Sally Maaz given garda escort from inquest after members of Burke family disrupt hearing" - https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/grieving-family-of-teenager-sally-maaz-given-garda-escort-from-inquest-after-members-of-burke-family-disrupt-hearing-41543127.html

On the 23rd of Oct 2010, an individual who disguised their identity registered and created http://www.davidnorris4president.com/. That website is no longer in existence so its content might be expected to be lost to time, but it's possible to view a mirror of the site via the WayBackMachine. The links below should take you to two views of the site, one dated before and one after the election in October 2011.

June 2011: http://web.archive.org/web/20110618060937/http://www.davidnorris4president.com/

Oct 2012: http://web.archive.org/web/20121024021511/http://www.davidnorris4president.com/

At the bottom of the pages you'll note the link to another website entitled "All rights reserved. © Campaign for Conscience 2011". The registration information for https://campaignforconscience.org/ is currently obscured from WHOIS domain lookups due to GDPR, but as luck would have it - on the 26th of October 2010 it was noted to have been registered (link below) to one Enoch Burke of Cloonsunna, Castlebar.

Posting by user Cheap Thrills!: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/68695484#Comment_68695484

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer