Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-11-2019, 22:29   #31
Srameen
Registered User
 
Srameen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder23 View Post
Everytime you move provider you get a new UAN
Not according to comreg, if you're keeping your phone number. That's the whole point of a UAN, just like your MPRN for electricity.
Srameen is offline  
Advertisement
08-11-2019, 13:59   #32
B_ecke_r
Registered User
 
B_ecke_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 439
lads, I can assure you he's right, your UAN changes each time you port.

Comreg are wrong if they are telling people that.

if that was the case, say you port from eir, they could port you back without your knowledge - your UAN is specific to you provider at the time and only them and open eir can see it.
B_ecke_r is offline  
08-11-2019, 14:12   #33
whiterebel
Moderator
 
whiterebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by B_ecke_r View Post
lads, I can assure you he's right, your UAN changes each time you port.

Comreg are wrong if they are telling people that.

if that was the case, say you port from eir, they could port you back without your knowledge - your UAN is specific to you provider at the time and only them and open eir can see it.
You've got it back to front. The whole reason for a UAN is to follow the trail from one provider to another. in your scenario people could change provider and dump them the following week because they keep getting new account numbers.

just to be clear - Each provider issues you with an account number specific to their company when you join.
If you are moving, the new provider will ask you for your UAN - Universal Account Number. Eir don't want or need VFs account number, and vice versa.
whiterebel is online now  
Thanks from:
08-11-2019, 19:18   #34
B_ecke_r
Registered User
 
B_ecke_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterebel View Post
You've got it back to front. The whole reason for a UAN is to follow the trail from one provider to another. in your scenario people could change provider and dump them the following week because they keep getting new account numbers.

just to be clear - Each provider issues you with an account number specific to their company when you join.
If you are moving, the new provider will ask you for your UAN - Universal Account Number. Eir don't want or need VFs account number, and vice versa.
No. I'm right. Your UAN changes when you switch provider. I understand why people would think that given the universal part but it's not correct. Your billing account number is different also but UAN 100% changes.
B_ecke_r is offline  
09-11-2019, 00:02   #35
Grandeeod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,089
Just for clarification on my experience over the last two weeks.

I was with Vodafone and got talked into switching to EIR. I gave the agent the UAN number I had from Vodafone. I was switched to EIR. I was unhappy with the EIR service and decided to switch back to Vodafone who told me that I needed the new UAN from EIR. And low and behold EIR gave me the UAN number and it was indeed totally different to the previous one.

I'm looking at the paperwork in front of me.
Grandeeod is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
09-11-2019, 00:09   #36
L1011
Moderator
 
L1011's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by B_ecke_r View Post
No. I'm right. Your UAN changes when you switch provider. I understand why people would think that given the universal part but it's not correct. Your billing account number is different also but UAN 100% changes.
It may change if moving from copper to VDSL or have any other form of disruption to an account, but it doesn't in normal circumstances. Gone off the network entirely now but it stayed the same through multiple provider changes when I had a phone line.
L1011 is offline  
Thanks from:
11-11-2019, 21:36   #37
emclau
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 73
Are you able to record Nickelodeon or any of the children’s channels on the new Eir service? Thanks....
emclau is offline  
15-11-2019, 16:35   #38
ssmith6287
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,292
Hi just to follow up on this. I got through to Eir retention, told them i wished to trigger my 14 day cooling off period as the Apple Tv simply didnt do what I wanted it to do. The lady told me to hold onto the Eir Tv box until they had the licences for recording. About a week later I got a text telling me I need to send my old equipment back, couldnt get through on chat or phone but got through on twitter were they told me it was a mistake and to ignore it. Ive been watching the online account daily now waiting for the €100 fee for not returning my equipment to be posted. If this happens I will be cancelling the DD and leaving the service altogether. Not nice to have such a lack of thrust in a company
ssmith6287 is offline  
15-11-2019, 16:36   #39
ssmith6287
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by emclau View Post
Are you able to record Nickelodeon or any of the children’s channels on the new Eir service? Thanks....
Nah the last time I checked I could just recored Eir sport although customer care told me I could record numerous channels incl Al Jazeera and the God channel
ssmith6287 is offline  
Advertisement
16-11-2019, 10:45   #40
IrishHomer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,330
I returned my Eir Apple TV box yesterday.

I messaged them a few days ago as I was confused how to return the box.

I was given an freepost address for Eir so I packed it and sent it yesterday.

I was getting close to the 4 week deadline specified for returns so I didn't want any problems.

I was told that if the recording improved in the future I was welcome to reorder in the future.
IrishHomer is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet