Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Gaybo has left the building. Liveline 08/11/2019 to date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Obviously, the eulogies were deemed permissible today. A case of one law for the commoners? I wonder will Joe pass comment?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Jaysus, that was a quick end to the auld thread.
    I went to make a cup of coffee and as Gaybo himself might have put it: "There it was....gone".

Thought everybody had died like Gaybo, or that I had.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Obviously, the eulogies were deemed permissible today. A case of one law for the commoners? I wonder will Joe pass comment?

There wasn’t en endless string of them. It was quite dignified, no room for Duffy to make himself prominent again. I had to laugh when he said Kathleen specifically asked that it be broken on Liveline. Maybe she did indeed, but if she didn’t she would be too dignified to make a point of having that statement withdrawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭TallGlass2

FunnnyFryday levels of thread engagement today so to speak. D'Omen is usually good for an auld row, but is obviously failing today (I'm not listening).

A strict guide was given from the big man himself, Joe that is. 'Damo, I don't want any funny business on today's show, ye hear me, I want d'miseries on the phones'

NIMAN wrote: »
    I seen bullying first hand quite often in secondary school in the early 80s.

Its nothing new.

I don't ever remember hearing stories of kids commiting suicide over it. Maybe they did in certain places. Are kids less resilient? Is suicide too talked about and putting it in their minds as an option?

But I think schools need to take a zero tolerance approach to it. Maybe if the young ones could start a movement like they have to Extinction Rebellion, and start calling out bullies, things might improve.

I think you are right on just about all counts now. You have the culture where everyone is given a prize, setting up for failure to learn that there are in reality winners and losers; everyone is told how wonderful they are are at everything, that they are simply the best in everything they are and do. Then they are given full internet enabled phones at a very tender age and tossed headlong into the world of obscene pornography, degradation, suicide suggestions, satanism, impossible expectations of appearance and deed, and we expect them to emerge as self-respecting, peer-respecting functional human beings?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

There wasn’t en endless string of them. It was quite dignified, no room for Duffy to make himself prominent again. I had to laugh when he said Kathleen specifically asked that it be broken on Liveline. Maybe she did indeed, but if she didn’t she would be too dignified to make a point of having that statement withdrawn.

In 50 years time people will be asking “where where you when Joe Duffy announced Gaybo death”

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Jesus I got a land just there. Opened the thread and it was closed. I immediately thought, 'who is after saying what they really feel about Duffy ' and the mods closed it down ;):).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Jesus I got a land just there. Opened the thread and it was closed. I immediately thought, 'who is after saying what they really feel about Duffy ' and the mods closed it down ;):).

Good chance one of us mods will go rogue one day ourselves. Have had to give myself a few cards when joe gets the blood boiling ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

pc7 wrote: »
    Good chance one of us mods will go rogue one day ourselves. Have had to give myself a few cards when joe gets the blood boiling ;)

Make me a mod and see what happens to the thread. :pac:

All in favour thank this post so to speak.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Think boards would implode #ButtersParadox

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

That, I would pay to see.

Twitter is the way to go when it gets to ya.
    I’ve thrown buckets at him there :)

Which one of ye is Oliver Callan, and did the others of ye who aren’t Oliver hear him tonight?

Priceless, straight off this thread ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,796 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Which one of ye is Oliver Callan, and did the others of ye who aren’t Oliver hear him tonight?

Link, ffs!

I heard a bit of it when I sat into the car, and couldn't change the channel quick enough :o

I've said it before, he definEYEtly reads de thread so to speak.

Think boards would implode #ButtersParadox

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭TallGlass2

Old gold..

I actually cannot believe 'The Viper' rang the show. Oh Joe...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Just something I came accross while researching something else entirely
    a revolting Mr Duffy

• Registered Users Posts: 38,760 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Just something I came accross while researching something else entirely
    a revolting Mr Duffy

Well, they do say every revolutionary has his price.
    I think we know what his is.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Rebels without a cause

Top right: Ryan Tubridy talking to a cop.

Bottom right:
    Joe Duffy. 2nd left, winner of Gerry Adams Lookalike competition.
    Far right, runner up , Paul Brady.

494831.jpg

He changed his tune :):)

Is that THE AINE LAWLOR of the rte parish ?

Was wondering this.. Seems her family sent her off to the continent out of the way

• Registered Users Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Greasy Tool

• Registered Users Posts: 20,036 ✭✭✭✭neris

I'd say callans just given Joe an idea for a new tv show with that last skit

Twitter is the way to go when it gets to ya.
    I’ve thrown buckets at him there :)

He’s usually very quick to block anyone who dares to suggest the Emperor has no clothes, how did you manage to avoid this?

The parody account was amusing while it was going. I’ve heard that it was difficult to maintain though as it was rather time consuming.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,894 ✭✭✭furiousox

Originally posted by sligojoek
    Looking at the funeral mass. Did anyone see the size of the "host" the priest held up? I'd say there's a bit for everyone in the audience.

"Here is your host, Gay Byrne" so to speak. :D

CPL 593H

He’s usually very quick to block anyone who dares to suggest the Emperor has no clothes, how did you manage to avoid this?

The parody account was amusing while it was going. I’ve heard that it was difficult to maintain though as it was rather time consuming.

The emperor follows some of us boardsies here :

furiousox wrote: »
    Originally posted by sligojoek
    Looking at the funeral mass. Did anyone see the size of the "host" the priest held up? I'd say there's a bit for everyone in the audience.

"Here is your host, Gay Byrne" so to speak. :D

Brilliant.