Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

La Flamme Rouge **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users Posts: 9,268 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Mc Love wrote: »
    Well then thats probably why it took so long for a jersey I ordered to arrive. In fact two of my colleagues are waiting on jerseys for about 3 weeks now.
    If you need it quicker, use AddressPal or Parcel Motel to the UK. Also useful to use the UK option in the run up to christmas (where I do think the hold up is with An Post).

Another thing is to look at the post options they give you - Aliexpress standard normally quicker than china post or whatever free option they give first.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Macy0161 wrote: »
    If you need it quicker, use AddressPal or Parcel Motel to the UK. Also useful to use the UK option in the run up to christmas (where I do think the hold up is with An Post).

Another thing is to look at the post options they give you - Aliexpress standard normally quicker than china post or whatever free option they give first.

Very clever :cool:

CramCycle wrote: »
    Very clever :cool:
    Although what happens if HMRC lifts the parcel?

CramCycle wrote: »
    Although what happens if HMRC lifts the parcel?
    It would generally be something under the limits I order. For me, it's mainly cycling kit! And for the children it's normally clothes. Now some of the kit may have "issues" if they opened it, but they seem to mainly target higher end stuff and electricals. I've never been brave enough to order wheels or frames, despite being tempted a few times!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,307 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Saw this on Facebook earlier,

Anyone know someone who could do a week of being a bike mechanic? Either someone who knows a bit, or a transition year student with some interest in learning more, contact the Spokesman.

He's doing a corporate thing next week, fixing up bikes for a few days at their Dublin city office. It pays afaik too.

https://www.facebook.com/www.thespokesman.ie/?ref=br_rs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

Macy0161 wrote: »
    It would generally be something under the limits I order. For me, it's mainly cycling kit! And for the children it's normally clothes. Now some of the kit may have "issues" if they opened it, but they seem to mainly target higher end stuff and electricals. I've never been brave enough to order wheels or frames, despite being tempted a few times!

But what are these limits? I was shocked and horrified to be charged €20 - €10 duty and €10 handling fee - for American underwear bought for €50 online.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,118 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Rechuchote wrote: »
    But what are these limits? I was shocked and horrified to be charged €20 - €10 duty and €10 handling fee - for American underwear bought for €50 online.
    For Ireland, anything under €22 won't incur import charges (under €45 for gifts). See Citizens Information.

If using Parcel Motel or another UK service it'd be £15 for purchases or £39 for gifts. See GOV.UK

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,307 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Irish cyclist critical after pothole crash on club spin

An Irish club cyclist has been left in critical condition after a training ride crash with their club.

Stickybottle understands the cyclist was the only faller, though there were several other riders in the group at the time.
    http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/irish-cyclist-pothole-crash/

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Aldi last Mon. (2 shops) : none of the €20 lights so I bought the €18 pair. In Aldi Naas today (Sat) and I got the expensive ones, sorted for the winter so. Total €60, what price safety?

loads of stuff in aldi in ashbourne today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

Roadtoad wrote: »
    Aldi last Mon. (2 shops) : none of the €20 lights so I bought the €18 pair. In Aldi Naas today (Sat) and I got the expensive ones, sorted for the winter so. Total €60, what price safety?

They'll probably take the first lot back if you have the receipt and they're not used a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

****ing ****ing ****ers... got taken out 9f it by a jeep on the quays at the Morrison. Left lever is ruined (Di2 R8050) and my phone was in my jersey, smashed when I landed on it and my ****ing arse is killing me. Driver was in the the right hand land in stationary traffic then Just decided to turn left from the outside, I nearly got around him but I just clipped the front bumper then went over the bars

Awful to hear.

Did they stop? Hope you got a reg and get onto the Gardai pronto

• Registered Users Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Weepsie wrote: »
    Awful to hear.

Did they stop? Hope you got a reg and get onto the Gardai pronto

Guards came, I was furious but I managed to hold it together and not let myself down by loosing the rag so I waited away from the guys jeep while waiting for the Guards. It all became very amicable then. I didn't get his details but the Guards took everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Been running a 13-29 on the roadbike lately (50-34 on the front).

To my surprise I found the 50-13 a bit underwhelming on the club spin today... I've never keenly felt the absence of a higher gear before.

I recenlty went from an 11-26 to a 12-28 on one of the bikes. The 16t cog was missing in the new set up, and I have since become aware how much I seemed to use it. I'd just coast along on it happily.

Anyone watch Paris Tours today? No spoilers but what a course that was to watch them ride on. Lot of criticism about it, those where not gravel sectors like you see in Strada Bianchi :D

I think theres a place in the sport for this course this time of year though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭manafana

Anyone watch Paris Tours today? No spoilers but what a course that was to watch them ride on. Lot of criticism about it, those where not gravel sectors like you see in Strada Bianchi :D

aye diff gravel to italy, mostly flat, the worse part of Strade Bianche is the downhill corners on pebbles

First commute on 32mm Vittoria Randoneur Pro II's this morning on the commuter/ winter bike. Obviously dry, and too early to tell puncture resistance, but quite impressed on first ride as a compromise between performance and a bit of beefed up protection. That's going from 25mm GP 4 Seasons.

I didn't feel the GP4 Seasons would be robust enough for the winter commutes on the N11, but the joy would've been sucked out of weekend winter spins putting on the marathon plus which are on the beater, so hoping these will do the job. My only concern is not much clearance on my defy with mudguards.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Warning: Not cycling related and complimenting the RSA!

I know the RSA gets slated around here (I’m guilty of that too) but credit where credit is due. Their Check It Fits service for children’s car seats really is excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Raymzor

I was surprised Terpstra didn’t chase Andersen when he jumped! The Scottish commentator was stunned also!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,741 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Warning: Not cycling related and complimenting the RSA!

I know the RSA gets slated around here (I’m guilty of that too) but credit where credit is due. Their Check It Fits service for children’s car seats really is excellent.

Probably worthwhile too, as I think most of them are installed incorrectly. At least, a survey in the USA found that.

It goes to show the RSA can excel, if it's a subject they care about.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭manafana

Raymzor wrote: »
    I was surprised Terpstra didn’t chase Andersen when he jumped! The Scottish commentator was stunned also!

terpstra is a tempermental guy, was not happy with young ag2r ride sitting on so would rather do him over than chance a win himself, he gave out about the new parcours afterwards

• Registered Users Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

My strava appears to have been hacked in the last 24 hours by someone posting pornlinks in the bio and possible comments. Anyone else ever have that happen to them?? Dont remember ever having similar hacked before

were you able to get back in to it? have not heard of that before now.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

yeah, my login was the exact same, opened it up on the home computer and the details were all changed. was pretty strange

Absolute genius. To partner, flatmate, friends, whoever, "I swear I wasn't posting porn links, I mean look, i even went onto boards to ask is it a common occurrence." :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Probably worthwhile too, as I think most of them are installed incorrectly. At least, a survey in the USA found that.

It goes to show the RSA can excel, if it's a subject they care about.

The RSA state that 4 out of 5 children’s car seats are fitted incorrectly.

For us it was peace of mind. I had the seat fitted but the wee fellas head kept falling forward when he fell asleep. It was a combination of seat brand and back seat angle. The guy checked it fitted correctly and then produced a padded piece of an old seat to put behind the baby’s back under the seat cover and it worked perfectly to get his head to naturally fall backwards.