Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

If he doesnt go back to RTE tv then im sure tv3 will snap him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

mike65 wrote: »
    Ouch! Will someone help Pat remove the knife from his back?

I thought that was a bit of a kick in the arse on the way out the door myself.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Only Moncreiff to avoid on Newstalk now.. Get rid of him and I can leave the radio on NT for the day.

I love Moncreiff! Highlight of my afternoon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Tom Done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

So we can at last expect a reduction in the tv license :D

Pretty good news for NT. I've always enjoyed his radio show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

If RTÉ are serious about going head to head with Kenny on Newstalk they'd offer Philip Boucher Hayes a contract now and tell him to fill out his own T&Cs on it.

Tom Dunne is a great DJ when he's in a program that suits him. I find him fine in his current slot but I'm not really interested when he gets into the heavy stuff, leave that for Joe Duffy. When he used to sit in for Ray Darcy he was great, his evening music show was great too.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

From RTE.ie

Pat Kenny is to leave RTÉ and will take up employment with Newstalk, ending a 41-year career with the national broadcaster.
    Mr Kenny was the presenter of numerous highly-rated news and current affairs programmes in RTÉ across four decades.
    Among the shows he presented during his time with RTÉ Radio and Television were Today with Pat Kenny, The Late Late Show, Kenny Live, Frontline and Today Tonight.
    He was also co-presenter of the Eurovision Song contest in 1988.
    Mr Kenny has courted controversy in recent years given the scale of his salary at a time when RTÉ was attempting to reduce its deficit and presenter salary scales.
    His salary was €630,000 in 2011, €729,604 in 2009 and €950,976 in 2008.
    His departure follows contract negotiations that have been ongoing for several months.

Woooh, quite a nasty report. No real need to go on about the salary. And why stop at 2008, why not tell us his 2009/10/11/12 salary where he prob took a cut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Moncrieff just destroyed 2fm. Take that Colm Hayes!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,317 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Where does leave Tom Dunne?

He was told to take his parachute and jump.

What did he say?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Ye what ?

Man things must've been really bad on those renegotiations at montrose.

Gotta say what a coup for newstalk !

Be fun to see how pat is without the yolk of gov around his neck :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

washiskin wrote: »
    Bets on "Gennnnnnnnuinely" nabbing the slot? 100-1 I'd say - unless, of course, they are thinking of subjecting us Radio 1 listeners to DLB :eek:

I hope not, Clare Byrne would probably be the best bet for a similar sort of show, but she'd still come nowhere near the Plank.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

rovert wrote: »
    Tom Done?

A return to Today FM perhaps? Something at 98FM? Weekend show on Newstalk? None of the above?

What's the most likely scenario?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

He'll be pushing the Denis O'Brien agenda

What did he say?

Told his haterz to listen to 2fm, the equivalent of jumping off a cliff of housewives.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,554 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What happened?

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Ye what ?

Man things must've been really bad on those renegotiations at montrose.

Gotta say what a coup for newstalk !

I don't know which is worse, being controlled by government in state media radio or being controlled by Denis O'Brien!

I think he'll find himself a lot more restricted under Denis O'Brien than he ever was at Montrose.

Tom Dunne to do the sexy bits of Dav After Dark would change Irish radio forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Confirmed by Newstalk and RTE - DOB has got the chequebook out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,001 ✭✭✭handlemaster

with news talk we will see the true commercial value of pat kenny... if he was worth been paid all that money by rte

Tom Dunne to do the sexy bits of Dav After Dark would change Irish radio forever.

Dunne in the Dark? Dunne Help Me Cum?

Might send my CV to DO'B.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭A P

Apparently the new show will be called "Good Clean Fun with Pat Kenny".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Worldwide Trends · Change
    #ripcaraandharry
    #ImSingleBecause
    #top10bestseries
    #socialmedia
    #photography
    Sounds
    Newstalk
    Pat Kenny
    Microsoft Office Comes to Android Phones
    GDP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Statement issued by Pat Kenny a minute ago.

"I did it to get the hell away from Marie Louise O'Donnell".

• Registered Users Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

with news talk we will see the true commercial value of pat kenny... if he was worth been paid all that money by rte

I wonder is part of Pat's motivation to prove this, show he can do it without the might of Montrose behind him. He said in a recent interview he regretted not trying to build a side career in the UK when he had the chance, so maybe this is the next best thing in that direction he can do at this late stage...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭telekon

I agree with the notion of Philip Boucher Hayes getting the nod for Pat's time-slot. He would offer a great alternative to PK. We would actually have some choice amongst the mid-morning radio shows for once. :eek:

It also might mean Pat will concentrate the entire show on current affairs instead of the 25-35 minute segment he does at the moment while the rest is filled with fluffy shite.

As long as the top brass in RTE don't see this as the perfect opportunity to get golden boy Tubridy back over to his more 'natural' home of Radio 1, I for one am very happy with the news.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Short clip, full interview to come.

Chris is putting an interview with Pat on the Newstalk website soon, looks like he's getting the 10-12:30 slot.

edit: damn you Skid.