Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Gunman reported to be holding judge hostage in Dublin court

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

greencap wrote: »
    must have been a delicious power shift all the same.

some part of me loves to see the tables turned, especially on anyone in a work related position of power.

like in falling down when he's getting the 'im sorry sir, we stopped serving breakfast at eleven' treatment.

love a good 'how about now'.

long as its not me on the receiving end.

Jaysus, that's an awfully big complex you've got there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Well that's a lie. The Nazi's killed 11million in the Holocaust & 26million on the Eastern front alone.

Added to that the USA is estimated to have killed 20 million since WW2

• Registered Users Posts: 7,970 ✭✭✭Odhinn

zapitastas wrote: »

There's also a number of genocides that are relatively unknown - the 1971 Bangladesh genocide, the indonesian genocide of 1965.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

True, though the US has only had a far right head of state for the last two years. Before that it was largely anywhere from center left to centre right (where it had been from 1980-2016) so hard to attribute in the same sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,948 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Estimated by whom?

The figure seems way off the mark.

The US 'killed' about 1 million Vietnamese in Vietnam and that was the biggest conflict they were engaged in post-WWII.

I struggle to think where the other 19 million came from unless there was some historical broad brushes and porkies being told to come up with a more propaganda friendly number.

Billy86 wrote: »
    True, though the US has only had a far right head of state for the last two years. Before that it was largely anywhere from center left to centre right (where it had been from 1980-2016) so hard to attribute in the same sense.

Trump far-right? Meh, he is a classic right-wing populist, but people get a kick out of uttering the words far-right.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

male mental health issues are something people like to sweep under the carpet.

Those 'people' usually being males themselves.

From someone who has lived with men with mental health issues her whole life, this is getting about as tiresome as the feminist sexism we've been listening to for so long now.

The only stigma around it all is the one they place on it themselves. Stop using it as an excuse and go get the help you need. The help that is non-judgemental and readily available to you. Or, if you're hell-bent on repressing it, could you repress it properly please?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

ebbsy wrote: »
    Trump was right. Again.

Just wait till a hoard of travelling 'gate salesmen' turn up in the Doonbeg area and park up for the month of July.... I'm glad I'm on the east coast so I'll escape the fallout.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

markodaly wrote: »
    Trump far-right? Meh, he is a classic right-wing populist, but people get a kick out of uttering the words far-right.

All American politicians are right-wing. Drop Barrack Obama into Europe and his policies and views would be slightly to the right of the Tory Party.

From a European perspective, Trump is massively right-wing, but from an American point of view, they'd see Leo Varadkar and Fine Gael as out of control left-wing socialists.

When you decide to build your base on the "very fine people" of the far right white supremacist ilk, you might just be far right.

How many people is that really? A few thousands?*

His base is primarily millions of working-class people from the heartlands many of them voted for Obama (twice) who want job and economic security like the good ol' days before globalisation.

*The actual quote was 'very fine people on both sides', so I guess his base also includes ANTIFA. :D

How many people is that really? A few thousands?*

His base is primarily millions of working-class people from the heartlands many of them voted for Obama (twice) who want job and economic security like the good ol' days before globalisation.

*The actual quote was 'very fine people on both sides', so I guess his base also includes ANTIFA. :D
    He said it in response to a far right terrorist attack on us soil commuted during a March organised by the same far right white supremacists who he centered his base on. But you knew that already, didn't you? :)

Oh, this is going to get tedious.

But anyway...

13493486_f520.jpg

Oh, this is going to get tedious.

But anyway...

13493486_f520.jpg
    Do you know who the organisers of that march (whom the terrorist was allied to) were?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

Maybe it's high time we arm the Judiciary.
    The criminals have access to a frightening array of automatic weapons and high powered cars.

We can't keep expecting Judges to fight ever more sophisticated crime gangs with nothing more at their disposal than a fountain pen. These young thugs don't respect anyone who doesn't 'carry'.

This is the 21st century. Instead of having them there twiddling their thumbs, give them a gun that can be used for personal safety and for subduing any contempts of court.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,993 ✭✭✭joeguevara

The criminals have access to a frightening array of automatic weapons and high powered cars.

We can't keep expecting Judges to fight ever more sophisticated crime gangs with nothing more at their disposal than a fountain pen. These young thugs don't respect anyone who doesn't 'carry'.

This is the 21st century. Instead of having them there twiddling their thumbs, give them a gun that can be used for personal safety and for subduing any contempts of court.

Where do you stop then? Arm the prosecution barristers and state solicitors? Why not defense barristers in case they lost the case? Arming people is never the answer. Better security scans and checks entering courts is surely a better solution. I remember when I was practicing breezing in with no checks simply by showing an easily reproduced card and wearing the gown. Always thought it would be easy to smuggle weapons that way.

Highest security presence I saw was when Gillian was in course with ERU on the door frisking everyone on way into the courtroom.

I agree better security but think it’s way too far having guns in a court. If nothing else it would be so intimidating for anyone giving evidence knowing they are within touching distance of an armed weapon.

Bananaleaf wrote:
    The only stigma around it all is the one they place on it themselves. Stop using it as an excuse and go get the help you need. The help that is non-judgemental and readily available to you. Or, if you're hell-bent on repressing it, could you repress it properly please?

Oh dear. What a ridiculous thing to say. Ha.... Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,014 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Stupid question coming in here, but: any updates on the status of the guy who got arrested?

(A few of you are now scratching your heads and wondering "what guy...? :confused: aren't you?)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

paw patrol wrote: »
    no doubt he was being fcuked over by the court.it' was only a matter of time before somebody lost it in family court.

fair play to the man I say

Apart from the "fair play to the man" bit, I can only agree with you.

Considering that extensive academic research on our family law courts has shown that men fare poorly in family law and the outcome of many cases depends more on the judges viewpoint than the merits of the case and a former minister for justice having described our family law courts as being shambolic, it can only have been a mater of time before someone reached breaking point.

Thankfully for all concerned the weapons were only imitation.

The increased security and screening when the family courts move to a new building will reassure some but no security measures can be 100%.

It would be easy to dismiss the alleged perpetrator as being unstable but if the underlying reasons for their actions are not addressed it is probably more a question of when and where rather than if there will be another similar (or even worse) incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

This might be a new trend. Folk can start putting 'working poor' instead of 'Muslim'. Leo will be deli-reh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Jaysus, that's an awfully big complex you've got there.

Ah yes. Complex.

by the way, did you know I'm a senior admin here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Quiet you. That will stir up the "You don't need a gun" crowd.

pg633 wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/gunman-reported-to-be-holding-judge-hostage-in-dublin-court-1.3738048

The family law courts in Dublin’s Smithfield have been evacuated after reports a man with a gun is holding a judge hostage.

Edit: according to the independent he has been taken into custody.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/major-security-incident-at-court-complex-37644655.html

I won't believe this happened until David Hogg is on CNN telling us how he barely survived this.

It's funny how this died out so quickly. I wonder why that is? All The Usual Suspects have now is making fun of dead children and teenagers, as in the post above this.

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    I won't believe this happened until David Hogg is on CNN telling us how he barely survived this.

For those of you who don't know who this poster is making fun of, David Hogg was a survivor of a school shooting in the US. That's right, this poster is mocking a teenager who had the audacity to have an opinion on gun control after his school was shot up and 17 people were killed.

1) He wasn't at the school at the time of the shooting so he's not a survivor. He admitted he was at home at the time and cycled down to the school to interview the actual survivors.

2) He's used this tragedy to make himself a celebrity. He's fair game. One can make fun of his pathetic attempts at stardom [at the expense of his dead classmates] without actually mocking the tragedy.

You're a grade a scumbag for insinuating such a thing.

1) He wasn't at the school at the time of the shooting so he's not a survivor. He admitted he was at home at the time and cycled down to the school to interview the actual survivors.

That's what they call Fake News. It has been thoroughly debunked.

2) He's used this tragedy to make himself a celebrity. He's fair game. One can make fun of his pathetic attempts at stardom [at the expense of his dead classmates] without actually mocking the tragedy.

Yeah, you keep finding reasons to target teenage victims of mass shootings.

That's what they call Fake News. It has been thoroughly debunked.

Keep telling yourself that.

Yeah, you keep finding reasons to target teenage victims of mass shootings.

He's legally an adult who wants to use this to be a celebrity. I have NEVER made fun of the actual victims. **** YOU for insinuating it.

Keep telling yourself that.
    Welcome to reality - https://www.factcheck.org/2018/04/david-hogg-at-school-during-parkland-shooting/
    He's legally an adult who wants to use this to be a celebrity. I have NEVER made fun of the actual victims. **** YOU for insinuating it.
    He was 17 when it happened, as nearly all the victims were under 18. Having your friends brains and bodies splattered in front of you at any age, let alone before 18, would be deeply traumatizing. Of course he is a victim, yet here you are as cowardly as ever trying to both mock the underage victims of a mass murder while also trying to play the put upon victim yourself.

Nobody at all familiar with you would expect anything less pathetic.

No. Welcome to reality.

He was 17 when it happened, as nearly all the victims were under 18. Having your friends brains and bodies splattered in front of you at any age, let alone before 18, would be deeply traumatizing. Of course he is a victim, yet here you are as cowardly as ever trying to both mock the underage victims of a mass murder while also trying to play the put upon victim yourself.

Nobody at all familiar with you would expect anything less pathetic.

He was legally an adult. He's using this tragedy for stardom. He's fair game.

My last line to Oblivious applies to you.