Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you go to the ploughing 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭kk.man

I heard many a volunteer being poorly treated by the npa. It's terrible what has happened to the event and I feel sorry for the people who put the shoulder to the wheel for no reward. However people should open their eyes to how the 'have not' people are being treated.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

GoneHome wrote: »
    I wouldn't touch the sh!te that passes for food at the Ploughing, over the top prices for very poor quality. Any time we've gone we've stopped for breakfast somewhere on the way, brought our own picnic for during the day and would stop somewhere for dinner on the way home, mind you we do the same when going to any other events, matches, etc

Would you dive into the plates of free sausages or brown bread they have on offer? People lose their sanity when they see stuff for free. The was an event in Blarney last week with a van handing out free popcorn and they were following it around like the starving people following grain carts during the famine.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,369 ✭✭✭✭road_high

kk.man wrote: »
    I heard many a volunteer being poorly treated by the npa. It's terrible what has happened to the event and I feel sorry for the people who put the shoulder to the wheel for no reward. However people should open their eyes to how the 'have not' people are being treated.

Hi, just wondering what you mean? Volunteers not getting meal vouchers etc? Probably was a disaster with everything being closed for the day and it's not like you can just nip into Tullamore.

Damage looks very severe on the news. Some stands completely flattened

• Registered Users Posts: 10,944 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

National Ploughing (@NPAIE) Tweeted:
    The NPA would like to thank exhibitors & the public for your patience and understanding re. today's site closure following consultations and on the safety advice of the Gardai, Offaly Emergency Services and Met Eireann
    Exhibitors will be kept updated with direct contact via email https://twitter.com/NPAIE/status/1042413888648736768?s=17

The event arena will be open for an extra day on Friday. Wristbands from today(Wednesday) will be valid both Thursday and Friday. See you on site #Ploughing18 https://t.co/feOwiT6MR5 https://twitter.com/NPAIE/status/1042434682170875904?s=17

Click on the tweets for replies.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Arrived at the car park at 9 am. Waited in the car till 11 to be told it was cancelled. Headed off to the ploughing fields then, was zero point in trying to get out with c 30k other cars. Had a great afternoon tbh. Went and watched 2 friends compete and learned a bit too.
    Tempted to head up tomorrow, **** happens. The npa did what they could and like everyone that travelled we all hoped it wouldn't have been that bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Iodine1

GoneHome wrote: »
    I wouldn't touch the sh!te that passes for food at the Ploughing, over the top prices for very poor quality. Any time we've gone we've stopped for breakfast somewhere on the way, brought our own picnic for during the day and would stop somewhere for dinner on the way home, mind you we do the same when going to any other events, matches, etc

+1 Absolutely, All greasy half cooked chips and an well over priced. Now don't get me wrong I expect a premium but some of them take it too far. Have brought sandwiches last 3 yrs and only bought a drink inside. And drink little to eliminate need to go near the loos. Eye out a place to eat on the way and head straight there afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

seems like there could be more than a few abandoned stands on Friday

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Iodine1

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Would you dive into the plates of free sausages or brown bread they have on offer? People lose their sanity when they see stuff for free. The was an event in Blarney last week with a van handing out free popcorn and they were following it around like the starving people following grain carts during the famine.

You must mean for the volunteers. I'm a paying guest and I never saw anyone giving out free sausages etc. Got a cup of tea and a biscuit all right but rarely enough. Some of the stands sell good home farm produced products which I always get something to bring home and it's always a treat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭hopeso

Arrived at the car park at 9 am. Waited in the car till 11 to be told it was cancelled. Headed off to the ploughing fields then, was zero point in trying to get out with c 30k other cars. Had a great afternoon tbh. Went and watched 2 friends compete and learned a bit too.
    Tempted to head up tomorrow, **** happens. The npa did what they could and like everyone that travelled we all hoped it wouldn't have been that bad!

So, the competitions went ahead as planned?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,944 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Arrived at the car park at 9 am. Waited in the car till 1 tonne told it was cancelled. Headed off to the ploughing fields then, was zero point in trying to get out with c 30k other cars. Had a great afternoon tbh. Went and watched 2 friends compete and learned a bit too.
    Hope shouldn't come into it though.

Windy.com had that strong wind this morning at 7am when i looked at it across the Midlands peaking at 9 to 2.
    Npa sent out a tweet at 7.30 a.m. saying all is grand and wind dying down.

7.30am update: Organisers meeting with Met Eireann. Winds reducing. Opening as planned at 11am. Exhibitors entry from 10.30am. ##Ploughing18 https://twitter.com/NPAIE/status/1042301692992212993?s=17

It's all well and good when nobody was killed. But they didn't follow the weather forecast apparently that's available to anyone on the net.

hopeso wrote: »
    So, the competitions went ahead as planned?

Yep. They started at 10.30 as planned

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I'm home alone tomorrow so I'm gonna chance going. We'd practically no rain today, ground conditions are good. If it rains, it rains. Shur it'll get me out of here for a while!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,917 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'm home alone tomorrow so I'm gonna chance going. We'd practically no rain today, ground conditions are good. If it rains, it rains. Shur it'll get me out of here for a while!
    Well for ya, man of leisure :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

whelan2 wrote: »
    Well for ya, man of leisure :D

Shur maybe I'll stay in bed all day if the mood takes me :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭troyzer

Our display was apparentely damaged today but not too badly, will be up and running in the morning.

We're not staying for Friday though.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,345 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Going myself again tomorrow. No esb till tomorrow night we are told so might as well head back for a few hours

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

starting to think Friday will be a waste of time for exhibitors

Reggie. wrote: »
    Going myself again tomorrow. No esb till tomorrow night we are told so might as well head back for a few hours

There was plenty of lights on there tonight when we were leaving any way

fergus1001 wrote: »
    starting to think Friday will be a waste of time for exhibitors

Think major are pulling out tomorrow evening. Surly others will follow

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Looks like they announced they were opening Friday without even consulting with the exhibitors. Friend has a small stand in one of the tents and only got an e-mail about it at 7:30pm. They also only got an e-mail last night at 10:30pm to say they planned on staying open an hour later today. Doesn't seem like a great way for NPA to treat your paying customers.

Ah jaysus

There was plenty of lights on there tonight when we were leaving any way

I don't live onsite tho

• Registered Users Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Reggie. wrote:

Won't be many there on Friday most are pulling out Thursday. I know we are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Reggie. wrote:

Ah I'd doubt most are pulling out now in fairness are they? Weather looks good for Friday so could be a great crowd there and you've paid big money to get your stand there, seems foolish to pack up and not see it out.

Have you spoken to many of them? I think if it were me I'd view as an opportunity to salvage something from a bad situation- I've a feeling a lot will go on Friday- particularly if the weather is good. A lot out of sentiment just to support the thing. Friday is a good day for a lot of people as regards getting off on short notice..
    Only issue I can see is the security of machinery and products on vacated stands but that will be sorted no doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,015 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Ah I'd doubt most are pulling out now in fairness are they? Weather looks good for Friday so could be a great crowd there and you've paid big money to get your stand there, seems foolish to pack up and not see it out.

Logistics, many stands and setup are damaged and beyond repair. Business's and staff may have other commitments. For most it will mean a commitment to work Saturday or late Friday night to remove stands. Hard to see a large crowd there Friday.

As well for stand owners and workers that are staying locally it may not be possible to get accomodation for Thursday night

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Logistics, many stands and setup are damaged and beyond repair. Business's and staff may have other commitments. For most it will mean a commitment to work Saturday or late Friday night to remove stands. Hard to see a large crowd there Friday.

As well for stand owners and workers that are staying locally it may not be possible to get accomodation for Thursday night

I think you would have to have worked on a stand or prepared one to understand the logistics involved as Bass says a lot of things come into play.

In and around Offaly? I can’t envisage that being a huge challenge. They’ll be delighted to be filling rooms for another night.