Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

...Elton John Lewis Christmas Ad 2018...

• 15-11-2018 10:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mNbSgMEZ_Tw

...So the most anticipated Christmas Ad has dropped, and I'm still waiting to feel it...I get the idea behind it, but just didn't have much Christmas theme until the end...I think they should have had Elton John at the very start as a child on the piano, then go to the end and work backwards like they did until he comes down and the stairs and plays it...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,390 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Absoulte rubbish.

Just an Elton John movie promo.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Elton was the first male singer to write and sing a song about another man. That 'Hold me closer Tony Danza' song.

He must have really loved Who's The Boss.

cue all the cool dudes telling us that Elton John is an untalented over rated one hit wonder....

Elton John is an untalented over rated one hit wonder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Aegir wrote: »
    cue all the cool dudes telling us that Elton John is an untalented over rated one hit wonder....

Ha ha all the young ones who are big in the music industry these days, have less creativity than Elton has in his baby finger.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

murpho999 wrote: »
    Absoulte rubbish.

Just an Elton John movie promo.

Was thinking the same when I saw it (as i saw the promo for Rocketman last week and it's quite similar)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,237 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

He got a cool 5m for it too, not exactly the xmas message you want to give, unless he donates it.

Fair play to him.

Don't see the problem with it. Both parties benefit and famous people can demand a lot of money.

Why should he donate it?

I thought that was beautiful, simple as that

• Registered Users Posts: 6,066 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Elton John is a fart knocker who promised to retire 15 years ago.
    But here he is. Still annoying us.

He's a legend. Absolutely brilliant in Kingsman 2 as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Yeah its not great. Its hard to top the dog on the trampoline in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Ad would make a lot more sense if it was Bernie Taupin that he unwrapped! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

JL said that figure was wildly inaccurate... and he donated a portion of it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,803 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Who or what the feck is John Lewis anyway?

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Turning up in your sitting room forcing you to watch him is he?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,445 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I haven't seen it yet but I bet it isn't a patch on his performance in the Marathon Snickers ad...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Good concept, good execution, hits the feels at the end.

Also, what a f*cking song.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

It's a great ad, but not Christmassy in the slightest.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Who or what the feck is John Lewis Elton John anyway?

FYP :)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Lewis_%26_Partners

I wish they'd open a full store here. Great shop and a great concept.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭AdrianLM

Elton was the first male singer to write and sing a song about another man.
    That 'Hold me closer Tony Danza' song.

He must have really loved Who's
    The Boss.

Correction, Elton John did not write this, Elton John only wrote 1 song which was ever performed by himself and it was terrible. Bernie Taupin is the talent behind Elton John and has only gotten the recognition in more recent years.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,803 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Aegir wrote: »
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Lewis_%26_Partners

I wish they'd open a full store here. Great shop and a great concept.

Oh right a huckster on an increasingly irrelevant island :D

Seven Worlds will Collide

Oh right a huckster on an increasingly irrelevant island :D

says the guy from Tipperary :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Elton is still a million times better than the absolute cringe fest that masquerades as music these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Crap ...
    Nothing beats the Monty the penguin one ... jesus hit me like a ton of bricks, would make the hardest russian boxer cry ...

Elton is still a million times better than the absolute cringe fest that masquerades as music these days.

Would prefer a lot of todays non radio stuff compared to anything Elton John has done since the eighties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I'm guessing you already know, but I agree, there is a weird ordeal made over their Christmas ads, which are no better than those of numerous other retailers. The bandwagon in this country is even weirder.

Vintage Sir Elt is great though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

murpho999 wrote: »
    Would prefer a lot of todays non radio stuff compared to anything Elton John has done since the eighties.

Every one to their own I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,331 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Those Super Injunctions don't pay for themselves you know.....