Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Things Cat Trialvilly Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Alejandro68

After waiting months for an appointment to renew my GNIB card. And with the extensions due to Covid, I thought my card would be renewed with the new date. But no they backdated it to the original expiry date. I lost 6 months despite it taking this long to get a renewal.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,764 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Would being the mayor or New York or London actually be more important than some of the top world leaders roles ?

Here in Ireland mayors are only a representative role

• Registered Users Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I fell asleep for an hour on the sofa after work. That never happens me. Now I've a second wind.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 37,764 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I fell asleep for an hour on the sofa after work. That never happens me. Now I've a second wind.

Hate that esp if you have a few drinks in ya

You wake up in a fright and think you slept longer than you actually did

• Registered Users Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Hate that esp if you have a few drinks in ya

You wake up in a fright and think you slept longer than you actually did

No drinks here but woke up not knowing if it was tomorrow or tonight!
    I also drool when I nap for some reason so noone sit near my cushion for a few days :D

To thine own self be true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

The advert for incontinence pants with the woman going on about how “pretty” they are.

Makes me irrationally stabby!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I'm starting to nod off on the couch like an auld fella more often these days, especially after passing 40 :(

Anyway, on my way to work I see yet another uncultivated galoot walking along with his face mask dangling from one ear, roaring at his buddy on the telephone and hockling onto the ground. It's people like this who are the main cause of the rise in Covid cases in my opinion.

Claire Byrne :o

A sick/twisted overpaid teleprompter reader who could hardly contain her glee when asking before the break on her rubbish show :

* "Right - quiz time; tune in after the break to see how much you know about all the Covid restrictions." :eek:

* paraphrasing - but that was the gist of it. Only a sick/twisted person would be smiling about depriving people of their liberty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Claire Byrne :o

A sick/twisted overpaid teleprompter reader who could hardly contain her glee when asking before the break on her rubbish show :

* "Right - quiz time; tune in after the break to see how much you know about all the Covid restrictions." :eek:

* paraphrasing - but that was the gist of it. Only a sick/twisted person would be smiling about depriving people of their liberty.

She’s vile!

Gervais08 wrote: »
    She’s vile!

Along with the whole RTE organisation.. Have us all in gulags so Moses, Ibrahim, and the lads can enrich away - mask free :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Gob****es on noisy motorbikes in housing estates. Not talking about Deco and Anto on their scramblers with this post (but **** them too, the bollockses), more the average fukko who feels the needs to rev his bike and scream down the road, not giving a ****e about people in their houses.

Fcuk off, man!

My dream is for some strict decibel law for all vehicles, where the NCT fail the bastards who have noisy junk boxes.

At least the future is Hybrid/Electric, so eventually I will find some peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Onshuh

Claire Byrne

I think she's a very proficient presenter to be honest and one of the best on rte.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Onshuh wrote: »
    I think she's a very proficient presenter to be honest and one of the best on rte.
    And she's a bit of a sort.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,527 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Onshuh wrote: »

Won’t go down well in here, right now, O. However, there is an ‘Unpopular Opinions’ thread over in the “Current Affairs”.

Would make a welcome change from the usual incel, or spiteful, type “stuff” that usually fills its pages.

I should point out that I agree with what you said.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

KungPao wrote: »
    Gob****es on noisy motorbikes in housing estates. Not talking about Deco and Anto on their scramblers with this post (but **** them too, the bollockses), more the average fukko who feels the needs to rev his bike and scream down the road, not giving a ****e about people in their houses.

Fcuk off, man!

My dream is for some strict decibel law for all vehicles, where the NCT fail the bastards who have noisy junk boxes.

At least the future is Hybrid/Electric, so eventually I will find some peace.

Yes to this! I have a hatred of noisy diesel engines, I know a Transit van is coming before I even see it.

It was so bad lately with trucks / tractors idling outside my house (taking phone calls, waiting for someone) that I got paranoid and thought they were deliberately trolling me! I have the local school bus outside every day too but that's just for about two minutes allowing the kids to board so that's grand.

I was in the Glen of Aherlow on Sunday and had to walk on a road for a bit to get back to the trailhead. A really noisy motorbike sped by, both fingers in my ears and I still felt pain!

In fairness, I am much more sensitive to noise than most people.

At this time of year you can seemingly be walking anywhere, doesn’t matter if it’s the middle of a busy street and STILL somehow walk through the middle of a spider web!

It’s like “wtf are these things even being slung from??”

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭bolgbui41

Restaurants/businesses that only have a facebook page rather than a business website. Particularly when I'm on the phone and I can't seem to get a menu up without facebook telling me to log in. No.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

TA when im watching shows/videos on my laptop with lots of screaming or moaning, i feel i have to turn it down or put earphones on so others dont think im watching porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Ordering a double CD anthology and getting 2 CDRs in return. Not disclosed on artist website. There's a big difference between the two - if I had known, I'd had just bought the download version.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

bolgbui41 wrote: »
    Restaurants/businesses that only have a facebook page rather than a business website. Particularly when I'm on the phone and I can't seem to get a menu up without facebook telling me to log in. No.
    Also, businesses that do have a website but there's no phone number, just a 'Contact us' page where you've to fill out a form with your details.
    Robsweezie wrote: »
    TA when im watching shows/videos on my laptop with lots of screaming or moaning, i feel i have to turn it down or put earphones on so others dont think im watching porn.
    Just stop watching the porn!!! :D:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Bought a bedspread in Lidl yesterday.Looked lovely in the wrapper.

Take it out and its as thin as tissue paper.It was not worth the money.Now i have to buy a fleece to go over it so it looks decent.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

When you click on a You Tube video for a TV programme and it's been recorded using a phone* - you can always tell.

*Rather than being recorded on a VCR, DVD recorder, HDD box etc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

When you click on a You Tube video for a TV programme and it's been recorded using a phone* - you can always tell.

*Rather than being recorded on a VCR, DVD recorder, HDD box etc
    I found one of them today. My brother had been helping me clean out the house and every now and then he'd say "That's a nice bag. Keep that!" which reminded me of the two aul biddies in the charity shop in The League Of Gentlemen. The only clip I could find of them was a dodgy handheld phone-shot that wasn't even in landscape!

I shouldn't put you through this but towards the end was what I was talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

dubstarr wrote: »
    Bought a bedspread in Lidl yesterday.Looked lovely in the wrapper.

Take it out and its as thin as tissue paper.It was not worth the money.Now i have to buy a fleece to go over it so it looks decent.

I'm a bed nazi a.k.a a really fussy sleeper and that would seriously piss me off too. Like why did they sell that as a bedspread? 🙄 My mortgage could be in arrears and my house getting repossessed but the Lidl rip off blanket is the kind of thing that I'd be more bothered about in a way:)

On topic.. I'm thirsty but if I drink water now I'll wake up in the night to go to the bathroom

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I gave up smoking a few months before getting pregnant so been off them now a year and a half I'd say. Never missed them, not even once. Tonight I have a random craving for one. I'd love to light one up now :( That lovely first drag, the way it lights up at the end when you're in the dark, blowing the smoke out into the cold night air. I really miss them now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Antares35 wrote: »
    I gave up smoking a few months before getting pregnant so been off them now a year and a half I'd say. Never missed them, not even once. Tonight I have a random craving for one. I'd love to light one up now :( That lovely first drag, the way it lights up at the end when you're in the dark, blowing the smoke out into the cold night air. I really miss them now.

I'm on the other side, a slave to the things. I gave up for a while years ago, and when I started again, was then disciplined enough for about five years to only smoke when having a drink, getting a 20 box only every two or three weeks. But it always catches up with you eventually! The lockdown was my trigger, I've been really bad for the last six months since I now work from home all the time

So don't give in, it'll be a fleeting pleasure, and you're so better off without them!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

People in cooking groups. It could be a post of an egg on a bit of bread and someone will pipe up 'recipe please'. Fair enough actual meals that require recipes but some of these don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Antares35 wrote: »

Antares, I gave up 8 years ago and still get random cravings like you've described. They'll hit me out of nowhere. You know you're not gonna give in though so try turning it back on itself and thinking ha... I escaped you as opposed to I miss you. Fair play giving up too. It's not an easy thing to do.

TA my boss is away, I've all my targets met, apartment all to myself and essentially a day off. Planned on sleeping in until at least 10.....wake up at 6am BING wide awake. That's unheard of for me so I say to my body oh no you don't...roll over and go straight back to sleep. That's an order! What's that? you're hungry? What's that you say? you want coffee? God damn it!!! So it's not even half 8; and I've already been up for two hours!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Cancelled my bus card seeing as how I've been home since March with no signs of ever going back into the office. I paid it every month by DD, but to refund me the unused journeys they're sending me a cheque.
    a) it's 2020, we shouldn't be using cheques anymore
    b) it's 2020 and there's a massive global pandemic. What do they expect me to do with their poxy cheque?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,759 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

People in cooking groups. It could be a post of an egg on a bit of bread and someone will pipe up 'recipe please'. Fair enough actual meals that require recipes but some of these don't.

There's a few of them in the cooking forum!