Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Aliexpress Bargains CHAT thread [See MOD note #1]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,996 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Has anyone who ordered seeds/ plants, have they germinated for you yet?..... 6 weeks I've had mine in pots and no sign of growth..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I have been reading a lot about the germinating of Bonsai seeds, and everywhere says that they require a lot of patience, and can take up to 4 years to grow. All of the sites i have looked up say it is the best and most rewarding, as you get to shape it etc..
    Germinating can take a few months.
    If you got the dwarf fruits, then they all have different processes and time frames.
    There are a lot of guides and dedicated websites, i did not go for any of the flowers or outdoor plants so i can not comment on those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

eeguy wrote: »
    My lovely £100 Fluke multimeter landed this week and ITS GENUINE!!

Build quality exactly what you'd expect, cracked it open and the board is to a decent standard.

I don't have the gear to verify the data sheet(its in Chinese but put together as you'd expect) but overall very happy.

A link would be appreciated. I sold my 20 year old multimeter on adverts recently and planned to invest in a new one.

(tool addict here :D)

Fluke post

Direct link to Fluke on Ali

Got one myself. Had it sent from the UK option to my Parcel Motel address. Don't forget TCB (7.57% on AliExpress!).

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭HoggyRS

Got that fluke multimeter last year and never had any issues with it since seems to be the real deal!

On another point; is it still possible to get cheap Nike roshe and other runners on aliexpress anymore? Most are priced at near to 100 euro but you used to be able to get them for 30 quid

• Registered Users Posts: 15,171 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

We're not allowed to discuss knockoffs. Please don't get this thread closed lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Got my Viethdia sunglasses today which I ordered on the 11/05. Really impressed for the price. May order another pair as back up. They came registered post but also received a smaller item ordered on the same date. Seems delivery times are improving

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭loki7777

Looks like now is about 2 weeks from ali:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭jeffk

loki7777 wrote: »
    Looks like now is about 2 weeks from ali:)

3 weeks waiting on cables from official Anker store

• Registered Users Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

Has anyone who ordered seeds/ plants, have they germinated for you yet?..... 6 weeks I've had mine in pots and no sign of growth..

Hit and miss, chillis and chrysanthemums germinated no problem. Lilies, roses etc didn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭blade1

2 weeks wait for me now.
    Let's hope they keep it up!!

jeffk wrote:
    3 weeks waiting on cables from official Anker store

Back from cycle to find registered envelope from AliExpress left in my porch and door open.

Good aul an post not giving a fcuk

• Registered Users Posts: 18,474 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Sorry guys, maybe this belongs elsewhere..
    What's the best payment method for Aliexpress..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

_Brian wrote: »
    Sorry guys, maybe this belongs elsewhere..
    What's the best payment method for Aliexpress..

alipay

jeffk wrote: »
    Back from cycle to find registered envelope from AliExpress left in my porch and door open.

Good aul an post not giving a fcuk

What's the problem?
    You got your package.
    Lock your door if you're worried about intruders.

blade1 wrote: »
    What's the problem?
    You got your package.
    Lock your door if you're worried about intruders.

Registered package means signed for, not throw it in an walk off.
    Suppose not as bad as empty envelope when I ordered batteries from Groupon

Intruders isnt the issue, its the issue of parcel there in plain sight for the world to see, should have closed the door. Plus post delivered at two in afternoon is a joke

Anyway im delighted with the cables, anker great brand(have powerbank made by them) and handy to have different lengths and for less than the price of one cable

Registered package means signed for, not throw it in an walk off.
    Suppose not as bad as empty envelope when I ordered batteries from Groupon

Intruders isnt the issue, its the issue of parcel there in plain sight for the world to see, should have closed the door. Plus post delivered at two in afternoon is a joke
    Personally I prefer anything like that thrown in.
    Saves a trip to the p.o. and usually they're only things worth a couple of euros.
    Perhaps he thought he was doing you a favour.
    Just let him know if you don't want him to to do that.

blade1 wrote: »
    Personally I prefer anything like that thrown in.
    Saves a trip to the p.o. and usually they're only things worth a couple of euros.
    Perhaps he thought he was doing you a favour.
    Just let him know if you don't want him to to do that.

Even if I wanted to I couldn't, who knows when/if or what postman would turn up from day to day.

I think ill take my chance with left in open porch verus the black whole of an post sorting depot in coolmine industrial estate :eek:

Even if I wanted to I couldn't, who knows when/if or what postman would turn up from day to day.

I think ill take my chance with left in open porch verus the black whole of an post sorting depot in coolmine industrial estate :eek:

Assuming it's not diamonds or similar, probably the easier option alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

My aukey cables from a few pages back arrives today registered post. Ordered 11/5. Was in local sorting office.
    As for the postman. I told him to just shove most small packets in the letterbox. He's usually around about half eight. He says he will make another attempt on his way back at 130 and then go sorting office. He even announces himself through the letter box so I know its worth getting out of bed for and not some Muppet looking to sign me up to electric or gas.
    Talk to your postman. Most are sound

Slunk wrote:
    My aukey cables from a few pages back arrives today registered post. Ordered 11/5. Was in local sorting office. As for the postman. I told him to just shove most small packets in the letterbox. He's usually around about half eight. He says he will make another attempt on his way back at 130 and then go sorting office. He even announces himself through the letter box so I know its worth getting out of bed for and not some Muppet looking to sign me up to electric or gas. Talk to your postman. Most are sound

Yeah they generally are,just as I said from day to day we couldn't tell if or what postman turns up.

No harm done, just sore point after empty envelope the was meant to have batteries arrived to be told oh no wasn't empty

• Registered Users Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Bought THESE fishing lures on the 20th May, arrived today. Think that's the quickest I have gotten anything so far :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭11214

Could anyone give me a link to any shops that do painting on canvas?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭b.gud

Anyone got any recommendations for good USB C cables. Obviously it's easy to find loads of choices out there just wondering if anyone got ones they're happy with.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

b.gud wrote: »
    Anyone got any recommendations for good USB C cables. Obviously it's easy to find loads of choices out there just wondering if anyone got ones they're happy with.

I've bought these and this, both seem to be of good quality.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,196 ✭✭✭maximoose

11214 wrote: »
    Could anyone give me a link to any shops that do painting on canvas?

I used this crowd and they were perfect

Edit: just noticed they appear to be closed now

• Registered Users Posts: 36,164 ✭✭✭✭ED E

b.gud wrote: »
    mcgovern wrote: »

Bad USB C cables can cause big problems (think flames).

A Google Engineer certifies which brands are sound.
    https://plus.google.com/+BensonLeung

Wouldnt be buying any from Ali/Ebay. Use Amazon as they cleared house using his lists.

ED E wrote: »

Wouldnt be buying any from Ali/Ebay. Use Amazon as they cleared house using his lists.
    mcgovern wrote: »

Cripes I bought loads of Ugreen stuff over the weekend. Flaming typical! Do please let me know if they cause any trouble (God willing they won't of course!):)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭b.gud

ED E wrote: »

Good point, for anyone interested here's his list of recommended cables

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Most of those brands are well known Chinese brands, and the others are just rebadged.

Here are the official stores for many on that list and others not on that list that are also known to be safe.
    https://tronsmart.aliexpress.com/store/715390 - Tronsmart Official Store
    https://tronsmart.aliexpress.com/store/all-wholesale-products/715390.html - Tronsmart Wholesale Products
    https://tecknet.aliexpress.com/store/1862098- Tecknet
    https://anker.aliexpress.com/store/1710553 - Anker Official Store
    https://anker.aliexpress.com/store/all-wholesale-products/1710553.html - Anker Wholesale Products
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1873942 - Anker Global Store
    https://blitzwolf.aliexpress.com/store/1965360 - Blitzwolf Official Store
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1087494 - VCE
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1875297 - CoolReall
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1395535 - Bridgegen
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/2961042 - Suaoki
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1299109 - Otium
    https://xiaomimi.aliexpress.com/store/2800188 - Xiaomi Mi Store
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1261525 - Xiaomi Official Store
    https://xiaomionline.aliexpress.com/store/2178148 - Xiaomi Online Store
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1683105 - Xiaomi Official Flagship Store
    https://usams0001.aliexpress.com/store/2008001 - Usams
    https://aukey01.aliexpress.com/store/1830134 - Aukey Official Store
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/2094013 - Aukey Official Direct Store
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/group/Aukey/630463_260350861.html - Aukey Flagship Store
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/2387126 - Tiegem
    https://voxlink.aliexpress.com/store/1909557 - Voxlink
    https://ugreen.aliexpress.com/store/301635 - Ugreen
    https://fireunion.aliexpress.com/store/627935 - Pzoz
    https://oricocompany.aliexpress.com/store/105327 - Orico Direct Store
    https://orico.aliexpress.com/store/1509115 - Orico Official Store
    https://oricodirect.aliexpress.com/store/1816519 - Orico Online Store

There are many more, the list is massive.