Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

I need a hair cut

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I wouldn't let Ms Hellrazer near me with a razor.
    Im going to relive my youth and let it grow into the long flowing locks I had in my youth.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=99137004&postcount=170

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

HBC08 wrote: »
    There'll be many changes after the virus and one of the less important one will be Oasis haircuts coming back into fashion.

13364792-7017259-_How_does_my_haircut_suggest_I_m_going_to_hit_someone_I_ve_never-m-28_1557543447868.jpg

You're all lucky divils, worrying about your hair. Wait till you haven't got any!

Yeah well it’s not such a worry then is it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Lads, be grateful you don't colour or highlight your hair, at least you don't have roots to worry about.

That might be the highlight for you

• Registered Users Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Mine's a good 2 inches now which is longer than I've had it in years. It grows mad fast. Could be using the beard trimmer on my head before this is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭I Am Nobody

I haven't had a haircut or a shave in over 7 years. I love my hermit look.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Read the comments on

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8xfBD9NQhY

LOL!

Everyone is doing it !

( you dont have to follow his style :D )

• Registered Users Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭HBC08

I'm a west of Ireland male in his 40s and about 25% of my mates dye their hair!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

Reckon most users “boasting” about their facial hair will be coming out of this whole thing with a “beard” like the one shown below:

1501761059351.jpg

Super gluing pubes to your face does not count as a beard. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I've been shaving my own head for the last 12-13 years. I shave it with the naked blade. A haircut around here ranges from €10-€17. My shaver cost me €15 in T.K.Maxx. Still have the same one. After the second cut it had paid for itself. My hair grows like mad. From Bald I can have a full head of hair and a decent beard in about 3 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

:(

It's starting to look a bit wild out there. :eek:

Me personally, i'm wearing a hoody to hide it but is only temporary fix.

thumb_pathogen-zero-on-twitter-no-this-is-evil-kermit-https-t-co-50624812.png

When will our front line hair dressers be back at work?

Get a professional scissors ..get a proper clippers with tapers etc

Proper clippers have a lever to open and close the blades for tapering ..then also get some blade guards...

If you ask for a no 1 or 3 cut etc that is your blade guard for the majority of your cut. Then you taper or fade it..with the clippers.

Closed lever with no guard is a 0 ...halfway open with no guard is 1/4 ...full open is 1/2

Then you put guards ...if you put a 2 blade guard ...and have the lever closed ..thats a 2 ..if you put 2 with the lever open you get 1 1/2 etc etc

You blend a 2 into a 1 1/2 into a 1 1/4

that way you create your 'blending or fading'

You can go a bit over with a comb and scissors ..if you are confident. ( erm look up a youtube vid about that ..its hard to explain)

Don't go for cheap clippers. Some clippers will have even more levels you can open etc ..and make it easier for you.

If you really MUST use an old scissors ( and i don't recommend it) ..sharpen it ..but make sure its evenly sharp along the blade.

Its possible to do a gents cut just using a clippers if you find it easier...i don't think it turns out as nice though. Personal pref

Ken. wrote: »
    IA haircut around here ranges from €10-€17.

Please don't be like ken.

I am sure ken looks great. But you are not ken. You can't pull off what ken pulls off.

Ken has 'it'. You don't have it like ken.

Does that thing even open and close to diff levels ken?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,652 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Got herself to shave my head the other night, 2 around the sides 6 on top. Done it in around 8 minutes. My local barber is 17 euro, I don't think I'll be returning.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Got herself to shave my head the other night, 2 around the sides 6 on top. Done it in around 8 minutes. My local barber is 17 euro, I don't think I'll be returning.
    Hope you tipped her! ;)

I reckon a lot of people when talked through it and with enough research will have done enough to get it right ..ish ...and follow your suit.

cept for perms ...you can colour your own hair ..you can cut your own hair ..dont ever perm your own hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I got my wife to shave mine, if yer just doing a number 1 all over it's hard to mess it up.

I then coloured her hair which took a fair bit more time.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭pgj2015

17 euro? you are being ripped off. i pay 12 euro. had to cut my own hair last week, with the help of my dad. turned out ok but for the sake of 12 euro, i will definitely be going back to my barber. there is no way an amateur can do as good a job as a barber, unless you just go for a skin head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Ikozma

I've given myself a no 1 all round, I love it, but I think I'm the only one

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭pgj2015

HBC08 wrote: »
    The mrs did a great job,then sent a pic to my barber!

There'll be many changes after the virus and one of the less important one will be Oasis haircuts coming back into fashion.Its around the 25 year fashion cycle now for that to happen also.

why? id say the barber loved that. as if he/she wants to be getting pictures of customers amateur haircuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Having the barber in is an essential service for any gentleman, what else would one do with ones Saturday morning on the terrace.

A crisp Times and a cut of Darjeeling just don't cut the mustard on their own, you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,741 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

No change for me.
    Mrs. Beer has been doing mine for over 17 years. No. 2 on sides, No. 5 on top, usually.

It did take her a while to get the hang of it, though - ended up self fixing the first few cuts!

For anyone doing similar, if you fcuks it up, just shave it off!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

cept for perms ...you can colour your own hair ..you can cut your own hair ..dont ever perm your own hair.
    And whatever you do...never fight a man with a perm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Bobblehats wrote: »
    13364792-7017259-_How_does_my_haircut_suggest_I_m_going_to_hit_someone_I_ve_never-m-28_1557543447868.jpg

He's on smoko - so leave him alone

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Some examples of what we can expect to see in the coming days/weeks;

mexican-haircuts4.jpg

ytwh1ahdblo01.jpg

hair131.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I've grown a beard and got weird and it's only Tuesday.

🙈🙉🙊

zllsttududb21.jpg

*not me

• Registered Users Posts: 16,741 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Ha ha, I just got a silly coronavirus haircut.

No.1 on one side and the back.
    Left the top (maybe 2cm) and one side (1cm) uncut.
    Very 80s.
    Bit of fun.
    Can always shave the lot off.

Hmm, I've kinda always wanted a Taxi Driver haircut!
    Maybe next week

• Registered Users Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭HBC08

pgj2015 wrote: »
    why? id say the barber loved that. as if he/she wants to be getting pictures of customers amateur haircuts.

Barber is a family friend.
    He's having a great laugh with friends sending him pics .
    So exactly the opposite of what you said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Please don't be like ken.

I am sure ken looks great. But you are not ken. You can't pull off what ken pulls off.

Ken has 'it'. You don't have it like ken.

Does that thing even open and close to diff levels ken?

Whaaaaaa?