Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-05-2019, 16:59   #1
picklegruber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
VueScan slide scanning / how to batch?

Hi all

I'm hoping someone here has figured this out, as there're nothing in the manual and I haven't found anything online.

Using Microtek Scanmaker 1000XL and VueScan 9.5.72 to digitise 35mm slides

I can get a preview scan of the whole platen but cannot for the life of me figure out how to get the software to detect the individual slides. Manually cropping only allows me to choose one area at once. I want to select all 12 slides in the carrier, set it going and generate 12 TIFFs following a set naming scheme.

Hopefully there's an obvious way I've just been to dense to spot.

thanks!

P
picklegruber is offline  
Advertisement
24-05-2019, 18:33   #2
Heebie
Registered User
 
Heebie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,105
Try holding down shift and selecting a second area around another side.
If that doesn't work try doing the same while holding down ctrl, alt, or command etc.. if you have a Mac.
Heebie is offline  
24-05-2019, 20:36   #3
DaireQuinlan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,181
There's a way to do it, but like all things vuescan, it's not quite as simple as you might hope :-D Look in the 'crop' tab (assuming you've upped the options+ level) and hit the 'Multi crop'. Last time I did it there wasn't an 'Auto' option but there is now, try that first. Otherwise you manually specify your number of images vertically and horizontally and spacing / padding options. You should see the preview on the pane on the right. Takes a bit of messing around to get it right but if you're working off a film holder you should only have to do it once. Make sure you have the '@' or at least a '+' in the filename and it'll autoincrement. Otherwise it'll just overwrite (probably, that could be different now too).
DaireQuinlan is offline  
25-05-2019, 14:55   #4
picklegruber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks for the responses guys - appreciate it.

I'll try the shift / alt / ctrl method. I used to use Silverlight which allowed this approach but because the scanner is now 'old' it won't work with my 64bit PC, hence switched to doing it on my old mac.

My version of Vuescan doesn't have multi-crop as an option.

Worst case scenario I guess just scan the maximum area, fill it with slides, then crop out the images using photoshop or similar?
picklegruber is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet