Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will SF pull a fast one and put Colm Meaney forward as their candidate?

• 03-07-2018 1:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

If anyone can beat frodo, surely its chief o'brien

• Registered Users Posts: 8,350 ✭✭✭corner of hells

judeboy101 wrote: »
    If anyone can beat frodo, surely its chief o'brien

As el Presidente ?

I was hoping they stick forward someone like Ian Paisley jr , just for a bit of laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

As el Presidente ?

I was hoping they stick forward someone like Ian Paisley jr , just for a bit of laugh.

That'd be some wildcard

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

*Red alert... Red Alert...*

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Tax payer loses every which way. So I honestly couldn't care less if is a virtue-signalling champagne socialist or bosco the puppet.

Our whole president thing is just notions. Dev wanted a retirement option and fancied that house in the park for himself. Now we are lumped with funding it ad infinitum.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Reduce the age for President, allow job sharing in the role and Jedward would win by a landslide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Something something bankers, something something d'people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Well they put the terrorist forward last time, so who knows with SF.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,060 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Be some craic if Sharon Curley's da became President.

RadiantAngelicCreature-size_restricted.gif

• topper75 wrote: »
    Tax payer loses every which way. So I honestly couldn't care less if is a virtue-signalling champagne socialist or bosco the puppet.

Our whole president thing is just notions. Dev wanted a retirement option and fancied that house in the park for himself. Now we are lumped with funding it ad infinitum.

Not quite historically sound: it was established as a pfo to the British Governor General position. But you're certainly correct about it being an expensive waste of space position for the Irish taxpayer.

That the holder is paid €250,000 plus per annum and has no household or living expenses for 7 or 14 years (imagine, ordinary people of Ireland!) is a pfo to those of us who pay our fair share of taxes. And, yeah, gardaí shoving us off the road to allow that person pass is a real revelation about our republic and its British colonial hangovers. The foreign parasites are gone; long live the native parasites.*

* Replace Presidency with the equally useless colonial hangover that is the Irish House of Lords/Seanad Éireann and most of this applies, too. Change the name, keep the parasites.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,391 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I'm struggling to see the relevance of his previous experience as the chief engineer on a 24th century space station to the office of the Presidency?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Sharon could be Vice President.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,389 ✭✭✭jonski

odyssey06 wrote:
    I'm struggling to see the relevance of his previous experience as the chief engineer on a 24th century space station to the office of the Presidency?

Future proofing

• Registered Users Posts: 37,553 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

live in a big house with a load of servants, get into the biggest events around the place for free with a **** load of food and drink, meet famous and world leaders and not worry about a thing cause you don't have any power

Great owl job no wonder micky wants a second term

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Not quite historically sound: it was established as a pfo to the British Governor General position. But you're certainly correct about it being an expensive waste of space position for the Irish taxpayer.

That the holder is paid €250,000 plus per annum and has no household or living expenses for 7 or 14 years (imagine, ordinary people of Ireland!) is a pfo to those of us who pay our fair share of taxes. And, yeah, gardaí shoving us off the road to allow that person pass is a real revelation about our republic and its British colonial hangovers. The foreign parasites are gone; long live the native parasites.*

* Replace Presidency with the equally useless colonial hangover that is the Irish House of Lords/Seanad Éireann and most of this applies, too. Change the name, keep the parasites.

You’d really need to take a chill pill, dude. That sort of ranting isn’t normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

It gives Mary Lou a few headlines, keeps her newsworthy.

I imagine they won't go ahead with it, Gerry will be against it as he has ruled himself out for the role.

Cost is another consideration as their candidate wouldn't win.

Frances black to be pressured to run would be my guess if they were to run someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,739 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

imme wrote: »
    It gives Mary Lou a few headlines, keeps her newsworthy.

I imagine they won't go ahead with it, Gerry will be against it as he has ruled himself out for the role.

Cost is another consideration as their candidate wouldn't win.

Frances black to be pressured to run would be my guess if they were to run someone.
    will SF ask somebody to stands for #aras18 but they refuse? and they go oh well we tried

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

will SF ask somebody to stands for #aras18 but they refuse? and they go oh well we tried

Nowhere in that message did she say NO

=D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

That the holder is paid €250,000 plus per annum and has no household or living expenses for 7 or 14 years (imagine, ordinary people of Ireland!) is a pfo to those of us who pay our fair share of taxes. And, yeah, gardahoving us off the road to allow that person pass is a real revelation about our republic and its British colonial hangovers. The foreign parasites are gone; long live the native parasites.*

* Replace Presidency with the equally useless colonial hangover that is the Irish House of Lords/Seanad reann and most of this applies, too. Change the name, keep the parasites.

In fairness, MickyD Queues up like the rest of us....
    440fa5f96a9f0374126358e439d59202.png

• Registered Users Posts: 27,391 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yeah but Mickey D at the ATM puts in the special presidential PIN code and a secret hatch opens with gold bars.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

odyssey06 wrote: »

because space force of course

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2018/jun/18/space-force-donald-trump-orders-new-branch-of-us-military

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

You’d really need to take a chill pill, dude. That sort of ranting isn’t normal.

What is ranting?
    Typing stuff you don't agree with?

Everything he typed is fair enough to me. But you take it apart if you have an issue with its veracity...

• Subscribers Posts: 32,846 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I don't generally agree with SF on anything, but I agree with the general point that if there is a term, then when it is over it can be contested. Why not make it a 14 year term otherwise?

Whoever runs against him will lose anyway, but the point is valid for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Yeah but Mickey D at the ATM puts in the special presidential PIN code and a secret hatch opens with gold bars.

His PIN Number that he used in that ATM Machine is 0000

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

I'd rather him than Donald O'Brien or Denis Trump.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Relikk

As long as it isn't Burtie Ahurdn, I don't care.