Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Great win yesterday, buit lucky in end but win is all that matters and its nice to win tight game. Can't see us winning AI but if we get to semi final it be a ok year.

Best of luck to footballers later but I cant see anything other than a easy Kerry win. Hate to say it but if we lose by less than 10 I be happy enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Was speaking to a backroom member last night and he confident. Thinks kerry FB line are suspect. But sure you have to be confident when you're part of the setup

• Registered Users Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭mossie

I think Kerry will be too strong unfortunately, plus they owe us one for last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I have said numerous times that we have the ingredients to win the hurling. It is about getting the mix right. I think yesterday was a huge step in showing we have subs to come on. Next day the likes of Barrett might start and then who ever is dropped will be itching to get back on the pitch. I still think Kingston will just pick the more or less same team as he is very conservative in making changes. I can hear people moaning already at the team that is picked next weekend! I think that game might have showed him to have a bit more faith in the panel.

In regards to the football today, I think we will do well enough and if we can get within a few points near the end you never know but Kerry should win. I am weirdly hopeful though as we seem to be improving. Be great to win again!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,028 ✭✭✭zetecescort

In fairness Kerry could have Jimmy Deenihan full back because we take so long to deliver the ball, especially if Mark Collins doesn't start.

In the Camogie All Ireland Minor A Championship full time score is

Cork 2:21(27) Clare 1:10(13)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,312 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

The 'Hurleys' have started well.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,312 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Connolly looking for eye of the needle pass... again.

Doing much better than I expected but Martin is making a hero of David Moran. Need to try something different with our kickouts

Ref had been poor for us. Cork player flattened after making a pass and nothing happened. Then later another bad foul and nothing again. We need those frees and them to get cards if we are to win

Some awful wides from us has really slowed our momentum just before half time.

Connolly in particular has been horrific with bad shots and bad passes

Another foul not picked up by the ref

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭almostover

Need to get Mark Collins on for Luke Connolly, he has turned over the ball too much. Too casual on the ball. Lacks a bit of bottle and bite

Poor decision making is costing us. Losing possession way too easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Not bad so far. I had kerry to win by 12+ points. If we can hold it to less than 10 it will be a tremendous result. Lads are giving it their all.. Fair play

Good first 15-20 min then just reverted to type for this team. Aimless play, poor shot selection, not tracking runners

• Registered Users Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭mossie

Water break helped Kerry and Cork lost their momentum.

Awful 3rd quarter. Very sloppy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭keano25

May as well just start the post mortem now..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Embarrassing. Absolutely embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭roshje

Management needs to look at their positions

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Would we be better just doing what kilkenny do and not have a football team?

Honest question.. oh I hear about how our minors and u20s are coming but we have been saying that for 40 years.

Its last time I will ever watch the footballers. Not even annoyed I was laughing by end of it. Does not even hurt. We are just not interested in taking football seriously and no point thinking otherwise

• Registered Users Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I thought after the 1st 20 mins we might give a bit of a showing. The rest of the game was beyond embarrassing. Gutless display. Hope everyone back at their clubs just don't laud them for making County. Need to be told what it means to wear that Jersey. Fuming

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Players too. Obviously lads that couldn’t care less about it. Don’t take it half as seriously as the Kerry lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,632 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I'd sack the lot. That is absolutely embarrassing. Pathetic, really.

Full back and Powter did very well. Opening quarter we were up for it, but went into our familiar shell from then on. Not enough leaders on the pitch. Way too many stupid errors and poor decision making. Connolly with ridiculous passes from good positions, even in the first quarter were a sign of things to come, it seemed to spread throughout the team.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,632 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The sooner they get Ricken in as senior manager the better

• Registered Users Posts: 913 ✭✭✭thefa

County is nothing like Kilkenny though. It’s only a decade since we were competing for all-Irelands but really rested on our laurels.

Badly need a shake up with management. McCarthy getting a two year extension on the back of a snatch and grab Munster semi final win last November was wrong. Tactics have been poor for at least half a decade. Try something new - even if that involves an giving an external manager a 3 year+ rebuild and get the team back play some decent football and competing consistently.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Fred Daly