Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Gambling really is a mugs game.

• 05-02-2017 12:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭

I was out with my friend on the Friday, neither of us drinks or smokes, but we went in the newsagents and he decided to get a scratch card. I said not to, cos its stupid cos gambling is stupid, house always wins etc. But he decided to buy those 1 euro scratch cards, ended up spending 47 euro on them, he won 2 €2 cards, and 1 €4 euro, but he put them back into the cards, so in the end he won nothing.

I had 2 euro left over in change from buying food, so I decided to buy 2 cards, just for the craic, and I won €1000.

I mean thats riddiculous isn't it. I'm pleased I won money, don't get me wrong. But its such bad odds that he can spend x amount and win nothing, and then I spend 2 quid and win a huge amount. I mean that is the point of gambling, obviously, its all chance. But it doesn't compute for me. Won't be gambling again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Will you be sound and give him the €47 he lost from your winnings?

If you did indeed win.

Did you win or is this bullsh1t?

It is bullsh1t isnt it...

Gwan, tell us the truth you mug.

What scratch card was it? Iv €2 here burning a hole in my pocket and im feeling lucky.

Cmon winner winner chicken dinner, spill the beans you mad lad ye!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,295 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

It's not all chance. Scratch cards, lotteries, raffles, roulette, etc. Yes

Sports betting, political betting, even betting on Big Brother or Eurovision if that's your thing aren't chance

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

I was out with my friend on the Friday, neither of us drinks or smokes, but we went in the newsagents and he decided to get a scratch card. I said not to, cos its stupid cos gambling is stupid, house always wins etc. But he decided to buy those 1 euro scratch cards, ended up spending 47 euro on them, he won 2 €2 cards, and 1 €4 euro, but he put them back into the cards, so in the end he won nothing.

I had 2 euro left over in change from buying food, so I decided to buy 2 cards, just for the craic, and I won €1000.

I mean thats riddiculous isn't it. I'm pleased I won money, don't get me wrong. But its such bad odds that he can spend x amount and win nothing, and then I spend 2 quid and win a huge amount. I mean that is the point of gambling, obviously, its all chance. But it doesn't compute for me. Won't be gambling again.
    Spoken like a true mug.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

If you did indeed win.

Did you win or is this bullsh1t?

It is bullsh1t isnt it...

Gwan, tell us the truth you mug.

What scratch card was it? Iv €2 here burning a hole in my pocket and im feeling lucky.

Cmon winner winner chicken dinner, spill the beans you mad lad ye!

I would have given him a few quid, honestly I would. But he started going on about how he deserved the winning card and I didn't since he spent more than I did and he was the gambler. So I did the mature thing and waved it in his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

So I won a grand hahaha thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Too late for you now. With that win you have gotten the bug and within two years will be eating out of bins. You shouldn't have bought those two cards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I would have given him a few quid, honestly I would. But he started going on about how he deserved the winning card and I didn't since he spent more than I did and he was the gambler. So I did the mature thing and waved it in his face.

So after watching your friend lose 47 euro.....you proceeded then to have a go yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

So, none of this happened then.

Grand so. Im off to fly my gold spaceship under the sea to fight a Greek God on the back of my pet Yeti.

Laters

So after watching your friend lose 47 euro.....you proceeded then to have a go yourself?

2 quid is 2 quid. I'd have only spent it on food or put it in the piggy bank.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,855 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Collie D wrote: »
    It's not all chance. Scratch cards, lotteries, raffles, roulette, etc. Yes

Sports betting, political betting, even betting on Big Brother or Eurovision if that's your thing aren't chance

Sports betting definitely isn't chance. Most horse and dog racing is fixed. I used to work in a race course and guaranteed that every few meetings the stable yard would empty 2 minutes before the off and run to the bookies, I doubt that they were all backing their own horses.

But it is chance. You could have all the odds like what you're saying about sports or horses, but some bollocks could still happen and you lose. In theory, my friend spent more money, so he should have bought the winning card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

After-timing :mad: You should have started this thread before you went in and then did a live feed to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

If you're good at it it's the best thing in the world you could do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Methinks this is a Sunday morning Troll and fishing rod thread. Whatever floats your boat!

But it is chance. You could have all the odds like what you're saying about sports or horses, but some bollocks could still happen and you lose. In theory, my friend spent more money, so he should have bought the winning card.

Yes something can happen in a race but if the horse/dog doesn't win then they do it again with even better odds.

If gambling returned on the amount you put in then why are gambling addicts also broke? Every ticket has the same odds of winning, buying more doesn't decrease the odds all it means is that you are repeatedly beating your head against a wall and expecting not to hurt it.

If you want to gamble with improving odds you have to card count at blackjack, but the dealers also card count and you'll be asked to leave.

The house always wins.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Thinly veiled "I was out on Friday night" thread

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Del2005 wrote: »
    Yes something can happen in a race but if the horse/dog doesn't win then they do it again with even better odds.

If gambling returned on the amount you put in then why are gambling addicts also broke? Every ticket has the same odds of winning, buying more doesn't decrease the odds all it means is that you are repeatedly beating your head against a wall and expecting not to hurt it.

If you want to gamble with improving odds you have to card count at blackjack, but the dealers also card count and you'll be asked to leave.

The house always wins.

Not always, so called unlucky losers are sometimes the most underpriced runners next time out.

Buying more tickets does increase your chances of having a winning one but it could be one with €2 on it.

Dealers don't card count at blackjack, why would they. They can't influence anything, once the cards and shuffled and in the shoe then all they do is pull them out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

im good at poker,but usually play it by chances % ratio,say if 2positions are paid on 6ppl table chance is that 1of3 will make it,thus consider any position where 1-5 with some control like bluffing is possible to reach paying point is good odds.But at to the mix easy access to betting or casino cash evaporates,since online they like to hold withdrawals for few days and got burned on that one to many times.i can buy scratchcard 2-3e since chances are 1/4.5 and 2 euro wont break a bank,but buying euro millions with 11mill to 1 of winning and not even sure how lucky one has to be to get even couple numbers to get back 3-4e its always profit for such organizers.

think simple rule is its fun to do things like betting or gamble sometimes,but if not being self aware,for me putting 10e is enough to get gut kick not to play for months,but as someone noted long ago you always see bookies saturated in worst places,meaning poor will drop in, will become regular losers,and few wins just fuel that long loosing streak which becomes illness to some. Louis Thereoux has good documentary on gambling following one rich guy and it shows how little control people have when it comes to few lucky streaks just to waste it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭con___manx1

tell that to your one who won 83 million on the euromillions 2 weeks ago

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

People who gamble are idiots.

Tenner says this thread gets moved to the Gambling forum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

God I really feel like placing a few bets now after reading this

• Registered Users Posts: 35,573 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

People who gamble are idiots.

Tenner says this thread gets moved to the Gambling forum.

Yes gambling is for idiots
    Now what odds are you offering on thread being moved ?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Paddy Power released a study in which they estimate that up to 2/3 of people who gamble online are addicted. It's a horrible industry that preys on people with addiction issues.

The reason gambling is addictive is the endorphin's released when your doing it. You actually get a little high on it. It's enjoyable and can become addictive.

Byt that's the problem, it's enjoyable. I like it. I'll but a lotto ticket occasionally. I play poker with friends. It's a €5 buy in so nothing big. But when it's down to the line, you've got a good hand and you're coming up to the point where it all depends on a few hands, the giddiness is ridiculous.

So I only play poker with friends for a small buy in and buy lottery tickets. Even then I limit myself to a one line quickpick. It's easy to deceive yourself that if you buy more lines you might win. It's easy to say that the next horse will be a winner. It's easy to think the next scratch card will be the one.

When you think of the money spent on poker as a bit of fun, that's ok. When you start thinking of it as an investment and want to chase your losses, then it's a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

what do you think he'll do with €47?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

tell that to your one who won 83 million on the euromillions 2 weeks ago

And the 42,500,000 who lost €2 so she could make that?

mdwexford wrote: »
    Not always, so called unlucky losers are sometimes the most underpriced runners next time out.

Buying more tickets does increase your chances of having a winning one but it could be one with €2 on it.

Dealers don't card count at blackjack, why would they. They can't influence anything, once the cards and shuffled and in the shoe then all they do is pull them out.

The owner/trainer know what they are doing so they will win.

Dealers count cards because card counting is against casino rules, so when you increase your bets when the count is in your favour you'll be asked to leave.

The best way to know that gambling is a mugs game is that the online bookies will close an account if you win to often, they never close the account of someone who looses.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Del2005 wrote: »
    The owner/trainer know what they are doing so they will win.

Dealers count cards because card counting is against casino rules, so when you increase your bets when the count is in your favour you'll be asked to leave.

The best way to know that gambling is a mugs game is that the online bookies will close an account if you win to often, they never close the account of someone who looses.

But you can't account for fallers, being brought down, a horse bleeding or a host of other factors. Even if the horse is trying for its life it can still lose.

I used to work in casinos. No where I worked did dealers count cards while dealing blackjack. Very few people in Ireland at least would be trying to count cards in casinos. Even the limits at the tables being so small in most places would make it not a very profitable plan.

Of course long term gambling will be a losing game for 95%+ of people. Bookies these days will limit their exposure and not be willing to take a lot of bets. Times on my paddy power account I've tried to get 50 on a 2/1 and I'll be told maximum is 16.35 or some similar nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Annoying misuse of the word Gambling.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,988 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

47 euro on scratchcards? Yes, that's a mug. But not because he's gmabling, but gambling that much on pure randomness.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Gambling is fine. Like everything you have to do it correctly and in moderation.

My rules are:

Never gamble if you can't afford it.

As soon as the bet is on, your money is gone regardless of potential outcome, if you lose grand, you've already accepted the money is gone, if you win happy days.

Gamble for fun and not for money, as I say above your money should be considered gone and not coming back, but now you have a stake in an event and it should add excitement so enjoy it.

There's no such thing as luck or a sure thing.