Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Current Shows/Events

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Buffman

Fairyhouse Automobile Show is on 25th August, free admission.

http://fairyhouseevents.com/wordpress/

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭Skyhawk1990

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Any shows/runs tomorrow or new years day? Cork, Munster area preferably

• Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Just realizing this thread is here after bumping something similar. For anyone interested I created a sharable Google calendar for Irish shows/events.

I would love to maintain it for my own sake but I'm just to busy until the summer after I finish a masters. Would anyone be intersted in helping out keep it going?

The thread is here: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057737053

Copy paste below:
    jozi wrote: »
    I've create a shared google calendar for anyone interested. You can add it by using the following email address: mtgpo79t41nlpqa5snsbads8i8@group.calendar.google.com
    1. Copy the above email address
    2. Go to your google calendar via your web browser
    3. On the panel on the left click the little arrow to the right of other calendars
    4. Click add a friends calendar
    5. Paste the above email address into the field
    And that should be it.

It seems like I'm the only one who can edit the calendar, if anyone would like to help me adding dates to the calendar please drop me a pm with your email and I'll setup permissions for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I’m going to be the market for a classic 4x4 next year and I need some inspiration. Can someone recommend any 4x4 specific shows coming up please.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

86700441_2423268911110647_7337770235862188032_o.jpg?w=620

Always more here: https://collectireland.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭homingbird

Anyone Know if there is any shows coming up with lockdown lifted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭gipi

homingbird wrote: »
    Anyone Know if there is any shows coming up with lockdown lifted.

Saw a poster on Facebook about the Ducketts Grove show in Carlow in August.

Moynalty steam threshing and classic car show has been cancelled for 2021.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭zg3409

Backroads coffee n cars is on in Bray first Sunday of every month. Tends to be supercars, new and old classics and a few boy racers. See:

http://www.backroads.ie/forum/car-related/show-n-shine

Photos from the latest meet there, biggest attendance yet.
    There is also a Dundalk meet (very busy) and possibly Limerick, Cork etc.

There is lots of other events planned and happening, particularly up North, including weekly meetings. Typically I get the info from Facebook groups. These are best 3 places

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1514095852225470/?ref=share

https://www.facebook.com/groups/250546525023661/?ref=share

(North of Ireland mostly)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/995083677292654/?ref=share

They have weekly meetings on Wednesday evening in Banbridge I think, but that schedule might change shortly.

Some people on these groups are very chatty with multiple posts per day so might not be a good idea to join unless you have hours free per day.

If you have a specific interest or area of the country we might be able to point to specific club or group.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

zg3409 wrote: »
    Backroads coffee n cars is on in Bray first Sunday of every month. Tends to be supercars, new and old classics and a few boy racers. See:

http://www.backroads.ie/forum/car-related/show-n-shine

Photos from the latest meet there, biggest attendance yet.
    There is also a Dundalk meet (very busy) and possibly Limerick, Cork etc.

There is lots of other events planned and happening, particularly up North, including weekly meetings. Typically I get the info from Facebook groups. These are best 3 places

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1514095852225470/?ref=share

https://www.facebook.com/groups/250546525023661/?ref=share

(North of Ireland mostly)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/995083677292654/?ref=share

They have weekly meetings on Wednesday evening in Banbridge I think, but that schedule might change shortly.

Some people on these groups are very chatty with multiple posts per day so might not be a good idea to join unless you have hours free per day.

If you have a specific interest or area of the country we might be able to point to specific club or group.

You seem way more clued in to this than I, the Google calendar is shared and can be added by anyone. Might not be something you want to do but if you pm me your email I can added your so you can add dates to the calendar?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Buffman

gipi wrote: »
    Saw a poster on Facebook about the Ducketts Grove show in Carlow in August.

14th & 15th of August as of now.

http://www.carlowvintageandclassicmotorclub.com/2014-club-events-and-rallies/

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Yarisbob

Copied this text from a few local classic car lads

"Ox Mountain Scenic Drive Sunday 25th July from Williamstown Co. Galway gathering up at 09:30 and away at 10:00am its around 140kms all in.

Fairly impromptu and nothing formal just a run in the countryside stopping here and there at a few beauty spots.

You will have to be self sufficient so bring a lunch as there will be no food stops available.

If you have a classic car/van/motorbike and fancy a spin out then come on down - If you don't fancy it then that's ok as well we wont fall out over it !! "

I might go and see what's about in Williamstown next Sunday morning - Love the last statement .....😄

• Registered Users Posts: 39 BluePagoda

this one is definitely going ahead - it had about 300 cars in 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 22,001 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Do they get many bikes?

Asking for a friend 😀

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 39 BluePagoda

In 2019 they had about 40 bikes including a 1914 Rudge

Post edited by BluePagoda on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭ronaneire

We had a little meet last night to launch our classic vehicle show and family day on Saturday the 16th of July 2022. We are going to try and raise much money, for a good cause #fightwitheoghan please share and share and share, more details to follow. #classiccarshow #classiccars #classicmotorcycle #vintagetractors #familyfunday #straffan #kildare

The show and family day is to try and raise as much money for #fightwitheoghan is an urgent Family Appeal which aims to help raise much needed funds towards Eoghan's ongoing medical care.

On Sunday 3rd October 2021 his life changed forever. While mountain biking in the Dublin mountains with his friend Sean. Eoghan came off his bike while coming down a trail and caused a fracture of his C3 on his spine. He was rushed to hospital where he was put in an induced coma and on a life support machine, he later underwent emergency spinal surgery. Eoghan was unable to breathe by himself for many weeks and was told he may never come off the ventilator. But Eoghan being a fighter fought against the odds and with great determination and excellent help from his medical team Eoghan in now breathing unassisted. However Eoghan still remains paralysed from the neck down and has no control of his upper or lower body. He is now continuing his treatment at the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Dun Laoghaire.

Facebook page post https://tinyurl.com/c8chjmxe

More details to follow in the coming weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Doctor Kildare

Malahide Classic and Vintage Show at Grand Hotel Malahide tomorrow

Saturday, July 16th. Straffan, Co.Kildare

Saturday, July 16th. Straffan, Co.Kildare. All monies raised go towards #fightwitheoghan

• Registered Users Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭Silvera

Any autojumbles coming up?

The IVVCC autojumble at Toughers, Naas used to be held every October. Seems to be no more?

If you are on Facebook this group has a special calendar of all events , probably more than any.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/332088548812863/?ref=share

The bray meet on Sunday morning, first Sunday in November 6th is supposed to have auto jumble but it's mostly a car meet.

There is also this which has autojumble.

This time of year there are less big meets so less options. Terenure did not happen.

Also this one

After the great show held in July 2022 for #FightforEoghan. We will be holding our show on Saturday, 15th July 2023. Our chosen charity this year is St Vincent de Paul. All classic and vintage cars, motorbikes, mopeds, trucks and tractors welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭test account 123

I read this morning Terenure is cancelled this year! Is there a listing anywhere in Boards or elsewhere of all the upcoming shows this summer?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

NCBI Classic car show this sunday in Dublin 16. Some great cars at this last year from the photos.

Main motors forum a show list as the first thread. Pretty quiet in here recently. I look at the Irish Vintage Scene magazine mostly for shows now.

Cui bono?

This group on Facebook has a calendar with hundreds of Irish events this summer. Around 30 events each weekend.

It's called Irish car shows and meet ups

https://m.facebook.com/groups/332088548812863/?ref=share

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭test account 123

Thanks lads. Don't do FB but I'll keep an eye on the thread in the main section, thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,611 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Hi Folks, please find details of the French Car Gathering below. This event has been growing in popularity every year it has been held and we're aiming to make this year bigger than ever. All French cars are welcome, any brand, sporting, modified, rare or well used! Please contact me via the ad if you have any questions or if you'd like to join the Whatsapp Group for attendees. 

Please tag and share to anyone you think might be interested!

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/4th-annual-french-car-gathering-7th-aug/34542810