Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Ex RTE groomer Kieran Creaven due to be released

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Omackeral wrote: »
    That's your opinion and you're entitled to it. Pedophiles are far worse in my opinion. Far, far worse. It's another level entirely.

My point is these guys don't really give two sh-ts about the "kiddies" they are saying they are protecting, it's all virtue signalling and fishing for social media likes , why broadcast it live ?
    Just hand over the video to the police, this type of **** can be used in his defence....

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Don't know why but I find them groups really odd. I mean they are doing society a great service but just to me seems like a peculiar thing to get involved in.

Probably hiding something, have you seen the absolute scrotes that do it ?

Probably have the same urges themselves and are disguising it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

I said when he was sentenced a few months ago that he’ll be released in no time for good behaviour

I was laughed at and told he will serve his full sentence. Bulls*t

• Registered Users Posts: 8,361 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Is that you Kieran? :D

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Andrew00 wrote: »
    I said when he was sentenced a few years ago that he’ll be released in no time for good behaviour

You mean months ago, right?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

My point is these guys don't really give two sh-ts about the "kiddies" they are saying they are protecting, it's all virtue signalling and fishing for social media likes , why broadcast it live ?
    Just hand over the video to the police, this type of **** can be used in his defence....

That's one way of looking at it. Another is that you'd imagine that the people with children or young teens in Kieran Creaven's locality all know exactly what he is as a result of this. Remember, this case was in the UK. He traveled there with the sole intention of defiling a minor. Probably wouldn't know about him and his perversions if not for these people catching and exposing him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Can someone please explain why judges hand out sentences that never get carried out? Why is he free after half his sentence?
    explanation -
    First, releasing a defendant on licence means that the authorities have a measure of control over an individual as they reintegrate into society. There are conditions attached to the licence, usually including supervision by the probation service, and if the defendant breaches those conditions or commits (or is even accused of) a further offence, they can be recalled to prison to serve the remainder of their sentence. The second, unspoken reason, is one of practicality and cost. Prison is expensive, and the budget was cut by 40% in 2010. Locking up all or most prisoners for the full terms of their sentence would push our already-overcrowded and ungovernable prisons beyond salvation. Automatic release operates as a valve to relieve pressure on the system. You may not like those reasons, you may consider the latter in particular a darn unsatisfactory justification (I certainly do), but unless and until there is a rush of popular support for vastly expanding the prison budget, or a radical reimagining of how often we reach for custody as a sentence, it’s easy to see the political appeal. Pretend hardened crims are being handed whopping sentences, then let them out early so we don’t actually have to pay for it. It is equally easy to see how the public often feel misled, as automatic release – although often explicitly stated by the sentencing judge – is rarely explained properly in news reporting.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

They broadcast it live to raise awareness (their words) the majority don’t show their faces or names , they film as can be used as evidence in courts and to “protect” both the predator and the hunters . Ie can’t say were attacked etc

In uk, grooming a “decoy” is the same charge as a real child

Whereas in Ireland there is no law. Guards pick up the predator and then realise him back into the Wild an hour or so later

Just to balance things out, one well known uk hunter group has accusations of not always bringing the predator to the police or filming it but to extort money from them

On the whole I think they do a great job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Andrew00 wrote: »
    I said when he was sentenced a few years ago that he’ll be released in no time for good behaviour

Well he was sentenced last year so...and he wasn't released for good behaviour, he was released because that's how it works for short sentences over there.

The length of the initial sentence is pretty galling though. Ok he pleaded guilty, there wasn't an actual child victim, but grooming should surely always get longer than that.

By the looks of it he'll be back inside before long anyway, that sentence wasn't relating to anything that might be on his computer. I can't see how anybody who spent so long putting so much into his attempts to rape children can ever be safe to be around.

Is that you Kieran? :D

ah heyor!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

The only negative thing about this group and I do commend them on their work outing peados is that they do hamper the innocent before proven guilty in court and because they stream live chances are they have swayed public opinion before they go to court

Then again as peados do we really need to take the chance they could be found innocent

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I have to say that I commend paedo hunters on the stellar work they do and fair play and all of that but I do have issues with the live broadcast. I was reading an article the other day about a daughter of someone who was snared by one of those groups, she watched it all live on Facebook (as did everyone she knows) and to this day she’s absolutely traumatised. Her dad killed himself the next day so justice was never brought and instead a lot of upset was brought to the doorstep of innocent people who hadn’t committed a crime. By all means snare them, by all means record them, but broadcasting it live? I find that a very grey area and kind of unnecessary. Hand the footage over, maybe keep a copy and release it after a verdict is issued. There’s a lot more lives affected and a lot more people humiliated by the live broadcast than the one you’re (rightly) trying to ruin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

I'd happily see the death penalty reinstated for scum like this in ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

I have to say that I commend paedo hunters on the stellar work they do and fair play and all of that but I do have issues with the live broadcast. I was reading an article the other day about a daughter of someone who was snared by one of those groups, she watched it all live on Facebook (as did everyone she knows) and to this day she’s absolutely traumatised. Her dad killed himself the next day so justice was never brought and instead a lot of upset was brought to the doorstep of innocent people who hadn’t committed a crime. By all means snare them, by all means record them, but broadcasting it live? I find that a very grey area and kind of unnecessary. Hand the footage over, maybe keep a copy and release it after a verdict is issued. There’s a lot more lives affected and a lot more people humiliated by the live broadcast than the one you’re (rightly) trying to ruin.

Also they occasionally make mistakes and live stream the wrong person getting shamed.

We have a criminal justice system - they should use it, trial by social media is wrong IMO.

Whatever about them luring the pedos and giving the police the info - the social media live stream is a step too far and makes them look like scumbags themselves.

There was also a case or two where they got the wrong person
    one killed himself the others name is blackened forever

Sin City wrote: »
    There was also a case or two where they got the wrong person
    one killed himself the others name is blackened forever

That's what I mean, for sure catch the guys and video it , but hand it over to the police - outcome will be better.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Can someone please explain why judges hand out sentences that never get carried out? Why is he free after half his sentence?

Good behaviour = sentence remission.

It's usually by one quarter though not half..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 167 ✭✭Spannerplank

Omackeral wrote: »
    That's oneh way of looking at it. Another is that you'd imagine that the people with children or young teens in Kieran Creaven's locality all know exactly what he is as a result of this. Remember, this case was in the UK. He traveled there with the sole intention of defiling a minor. Probably wouldn't know about him and his perversions if not for these people catching and exposing him.

You're still missing the point and you seem adamant to miss it. Why are these predator hunters livestreamjng if their aims are so noble and altruistic?

They've found a reality porn format and if one questions their agenda one is labelled a paedo defender. That's how binary discourse has become in the recent past and continues.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,363 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Let's be honest here, he'll probably be back working in RTE this time next year.
    Let's be honest - he won't

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-fires-sports-producer-kieran-creaven-over-sexual-offences-36424340.html

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

You're still missing the point and you seem adamant to miss it. Why are these predator hunters livestreamjng if their aims are so noble and altruistic?

They've found a reality porn format and if one questions their agenda one is labelled a paedo defender. That's how binary discourse has become in the recent past and continues.

The irony in your second paragraph is startling. I certainly didn't call the poster I was replying to a pedo defender nor am I adamant to miss anything. I concede there's a plethora of issues with vigilantism. People are entitled to see this form of exposure as illegitimate. Livestreaming, I suppose, gives the suspected individual no place to run and hide. Not saying it's correct, it's simply the method they've elected to use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Prince William

Two things, how was he so foolish to think that a 15yo girl would want to meet him and did he not think about phoning the "girl" just to hear her voice to be sure?

First part your right
    second part I assume those decoy accounts would have a woman on hand tin case he phoned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

....... wrote: »
    Also they occasionally make mistakes and live stream the wrong person getting shamed.

We have a criminal justice system - they should use it, trial by social media is wrong IMO.

Whatever about them luring the pedos and giving the police the info - the social media live stream is a step too far and makes them look like scumbags themselves.

Reminds me of a few men in the UK getting seriously harassed because people mistakenly thought they were James Bulger’s killers simply because they thought they looked like what Thompson and Venables would look like as adults. They could have been killed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

I dont really like the live streaming either but it does bring home to parents the danger these men pose to their children. You would read about these scum being caught but it doesnt mean as much as seeing their perfectly normal looking faces on video. They dont look like monsters, you wouldnt have a clue what their intentions were so parents need to up their vigilance and talk to their children about people like Creaven. He has been caught but there are hundreds more like him and they could be living next door to you and never be caught.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

You seem pretty sketchy yourself, does it annoy you that these predatory psychos are being caught

• Registered Users Posts: 14 ferpederine

Hopefully will be getting a long sentence next month.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

A very short sentence for a guy to whom many would apply the death penalty. Reading the details, this appears to be a death penalty case.

Kieran Creaven jailed for 10 years today with a ruling on post release supervision to be announced at a later date.