Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darndale Dirtbag Dirtbikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

ZX7R wrote: »
    There is a very easy way to put a stop to this,A racing licence and proof of racing compitions entered or proof of ownership of farm ect. Or permit issued like a gun licence proof of permission of land needed before bike shops can sell them.
    Don't know how to control private sales though?

Or don't buy your kid a dirt bike unless you have a van or car and trailer to bring them somewhere suitable. The mountains are less than 40 minutes from any part of Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Vic_08

pablo128 wrote: »
    Didn't see any between Tallaght and Liffey Valley either.

Yous are all missing what happened. Christmas Eve an unmarked Garda car seized a scrambler. While they were doing that, a gang of lads on bikes surrounded them trying to intimidate them. One of the bucko's smashed in a couple of windows of the Garda car.

Well they got a nice surprise the next day, didn't they. 5 arrested and 11 bikes took. Payback.

That should be the response to attacks on the public, not just a special effort when one of their own is humiliated by the scum.

Look at the poor Lithuanian guy linked above, if that wasn't a reason to go nuclear on this problem...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Or don't buy your kid a dirt bike unless you have a van or car and trailer to bring them somewhere suitable. The mountains are less than 40 minutes from any part of Dublin.
    Most of them should not be parents in the first place, so just thinking of removing access from them it would be easier

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

I really can’t get my head around these people

Have they no self awareness and can’t see how disgusting they are ?

Parenting or just born that way ? Who knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

that's funny, my father was a plasterer with different builders throughout his lifetime, my mother worked in a guesthouse in the summer, still does occasionally when the busy time comes around, I myself work in the buildings now and enjoy to this day the skills I learnt in exchange for cleaning out stables, washing and feeding horses, horse riding isn't a very important life lesson but learning that working towards something can get you what you want in this life within reason is what I'm getting at, apologies if this doesn't tally with what you expected of me, their seems to be no clown emoji available on boards for me to fully convey what I really think of you

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

yes of course we should, I'm from a working class family, my father is in the buildings my mother in hospitality, I wanted to learn how to ride horses when I was 11 or 12, so my father got me a job cleaning out stables with a local horse breeder, my payment was riding lessons, no money only hard work exchanged to learn an important life lesson, the more we give these scum for nothing the more they expect for nothing, Dublin is booming, let them learn the value of hard work and stop treating them with kid gloves, it's like we reward these people for acts of criminality

They had an issue with horses in Ballyfermot. They built and equipped a large equestrian centre for the youths to bring their horses and learn how to care for them. Now they have a bike problem. This isn't about having somewhere to practice a hobby. They don't want to do legal things.

I'm from Cabra and still live in the area.

Irelands favourite and most upstanding ethnic minority again.

The bike issue doesn't really have anything to do with travellers.

antodeco wrote: »
    Drive 5kmh over the speed limit and forget your licence, when on a learners permit, you're banned.

Drive the wrong way down the road over paths with no safety equipment, and you're fine.

About 3 weeks ago, the above happened in front of me. Weaving around oncoming traffic. One of them a Garda car. They just kept driving. Catching these scrotes on the bikes is too much hassle for the Gardai so they don't bother. And the scrotes know that.

It's been made clear in the media lately. Gardaí have been told not to pursue them and been told that they face financial liability if they do and one is injured. It's also been made clear that the legislation needs to be changed to properly address the issue because the current definition of where road traffic laws apply excludes parks and fields.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Melodeon

The owners of 'the mountains', both private and public, absolutely DO NOT want any sort of unauthorised freestyle dirtbiking activity on the lands under their care.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,969 ✭✭✭✭Esel

If the bikes are the cheap Chinese yokes most of the engines will have seized up in a few weeks - hopefully.

Not your ornery onager

Melodeon wrote: »
    The owners of 'the mountains', both private and public, absolutely DO NOT want any sort of unauthorised freestyle dirtbiking activity on the lands under their care.

Well it fcuking beats tearing past shop and schools on the footpaths, doesn't it?

I'm up the mountains often enough as I live right next to them. The vast majority of the time there is no one around.

Actually do you have a workable solution?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,807 ✭✭✭✭anewme

They had an issue with horses in Ballyfermot. They built and equipped a large equestrian centre for the youths to bring their horses and learn how to care for them. Now they have a bike problem. This isn't about having somewhere to practice a hobby. They don't want to do legal things.

The bike issue doesn't really have anything to do with travellers.

It's been made clear in the media lately. Gardaí have been told not to pursue them and been told that they face financial liability if they do and one is injured. It's also been made clear that the legislation needs to be changed to properly address the issue because the current definition of where road traffic laws apply excludes parks and fields.

There's still a huge horse problem in Ballyfermot. The horse initiative was a good one, however it really only captured the people with a genuine interest in animals.

The other scum still ill treat the horses, take a look at the work "my lovely horse" rescue do in West Dublin. I'm in awe of these people for the situations they face.

I also dontt see the bike issue as Travellers. Travellers are those racing gig things that should
    Be banned. The ones where the horses drop dead like the one on the Cold Cut Road, where they fckrd off left the horse dying in the road after collapsing having been run into the ground and leaving schoolchildren to see it.

They tear up the main roads in Clondalkin on their scramblers over both railway bridges. It can only be a matter of time before there is a tragedy. I only hope the tragedy is one of them and not an innocent person.

Bongoloid wrote: »
    In a perfect world you could let them race around until they just kill themselves.

Or, maybe try to understand why they do it, and provide a solution?

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Didn't see any between Tallaght and Liffey Valley either.

Yous are all missing what happened. Christmas Eve an unmarked Garda car seized a scrambler. While they were doing that, a gang of lads on bikes surrounded them trying to intimidate them. One of the bucko's smashed in a couple of windows of the Garda car.

Well they got a nice surprise the next day, didn't they. 5 arrested and 11 bikes took. Payback.

So it was just a case of vengeance for one of their own, rather than any kind of effort to deliver peace to the areas plagued by these scumbags? And then the Gardai wonder why we have no faith in them.

El_Bee wrote: »
    So it was just a case of vengeance for one of their own, rather than any kind of effort to deliver peace to the areas plagued by these scumbags? And then the Gardai wonder why we have no faith in them.

It certainly looks that way. Why aren't they doing this sort of thing weekly?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

begbysback wrote: »

They do it because they are uneducated, scumbag cünts who don’t care for anyone other than themselves and anything that does not belong to them!!

Solution? Forced sterilisation would be a good start! The fact we need a licence to own a dog in this country but these fooking wasters can sh!t out little scumbags at will is beyond me!

Ah would you cop on.

They are only scum.

The Herald today has an article about the innocent chap who is permanently disabled because of these scroungers.

The reason they do it is because people like you constantly make excuses and allowances for them instead of condemning their scumbag behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Well it fcuking beats tearing past shop and schools on the footpaths, doesn't it?

I'm up the mountains often enough as I live right next to them. The vast majority of the time there is no one around.

If they are really interested then they can participate in motocross, get off public areas.

anewme wrote: »
    Ah would you cop on.

They are only scum.

The Herald today has an article about the innocent chap who is permanently disabled because of these scroungers.

The reason they do it is because people like you constantly make excuses and allowances for them instead of condemning their scumbag behaviour.

Feel free to add here 1 excuse I have made for any antisocial behavior

condemn it or condone it on boards, makes zero difference, nobody’s counting - point to an incident and stand in outrage, makes zero difference. The usual solutions are copy n pasted here - cull, castrate and condemn, rather than join in I would prefer an alternative approach and ask what is it we would need to understand in order to provide a solution?

I know it’s a minority approach, but hey I’m more logical than emotional, i understand I may be getting in the way of good thereputic hate session, but don’t make up stuff and accuse me of making excuses for such behavior.

zapitastas wrote: »
    If they are really interested then they can participate in motocross, get off public areas.

Are there any tracks in or around Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Get a job and buy some land if you want to wreck it on your scrambler, or enter competitions. The way people who work for a living and aren't anti-social muppets have to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,995 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Like the lads racing sulkies on roads they should piss off and buy land themselves and do something constructive for once

• Registered Users Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭ZX7R

zapitastas wrote: »

Because Motocross is a sport that takes dedication skill and money and support,all of which they do not have and the more they breed never will .

hmmm wrote: »
    Get a job and buy some land if you want to wreck it on your scrambler, or enter competitions. The way people who work for a living and aren't anti-social muppets have to do it.

I'd bet most of the parents who bought those bikes are working. They aren't cheap.

How much land would you need? And how much would it cost if you don't mind me asking?

Regardless, an earlier point of mine still stands. The parents would need a van or car and trailer to transport the machine.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭gctest50

frag420 wrote: »
    They do it because they are uneducated, scumbag cünts who don’t care for anyone other than themselves and anything that does not belong to them!!

Solution? Forced sterilisation would be a good start! The fact we need a licence to own a dog in this country but these fooking wasters can sh!t out little scumbags at will is beyond me!

I agree, the problem is that they are uneducated, (one of the requirements for some definitions of “working class”) and they don’t care - the additional theatrical language is probably not necessary and I would suggest maybe try to take the emotion out of it, this clouds your judgement, as can be seen in your solution.

Have you ever asked yourself why they are uneducated and why they don’t care?

Looks like there's another one in Mulhuddart too. No excuse so. Load the bikes and gear into a van and off for the day.

I genuinely didn't know there were 2 tracks in Dublin. I've never seen them advertised at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

anewme wrote: »
    There's still a huge horse problem in Ballyfermot. The horse initiative was a good one, however it really only captured the people with a genuine interest in animals.

The other scum still ill treat the horses, take a look at the work "my lovely horse" rescue do in West Dublin. I'm in awe of these people for the situations they face.

I also dontt see the bike issue as Travellers. Travellers are those racing gig things that should
    Be banned. The ones where the horses drop dead like the one on the Cold Cut Road, where they fckrd off left the horse dying in the road after collapsing having been run into the ground and leaving schoolchildren to see it.

They tear up the main roads in Clondalkin on their scramblers over both railway bridges. It can only be a matter of time before there is a tragedy. I only hope the tragedy is one of them and not an innocent person.

Unfortunately the My Lovely Horse crowd don't work great with the Gardaí around there.

There was tragedy the Christmas before last. Teenager killed on his new bike. There was another fella brain damaged last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭gctest50

I genuinely didn't know there were 2 tracks in Dublin. I've never seen them advertised at all.

since 2010-ish,

.......volunteers giving their time even during the week

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

they do it because they can get way with it ,

the solution is to regulate and licence them until they behave in a unscumbag manner and harshly punish those who dont follow the regulations, seize and destroy bikes fine heavily and for continued behavior jail to prevent harm to non scumbags

• Registered Users Posts: 6,945 ✭✭✭Jeff2

The link in the op I'd say most of the lads are over 18yo and with 5 stolen bikes it wasn't the parents buying bikes for kids for Christmas.

Feel free to add here 1 excuse I have made for any antisocial behavior

condemn it or condone it on boards, makes zero difference, nobody’s counting - point to an incident and stand in outrage, makes zero difference. The usual solutions are copy n pasted here - cull, castrate and condemn, rather than join in I would prefer an alternative approach and ask what is it we would need to understand in order to provide a solution?

I know it’s a minority approach, but hey I’m more logical than emotional, i understand I may be getting in the way of good thereputic hate session, but don’t make up stuff and accuse me of making excuses for such behavior.

Well you've already shown you've no idea how the real working classes live by your comments to a previous poster.

Working class oeople who work hard and achieved better would probably be the first to have zero tolerance for these type of people because they see they are freeloaders.

I don't want my 71 year old Mum mown down by these skangers .because they have no respect for anyone.

You come across as if working class people should be poor wlabd crass - "you had riding lessons? "

It's not hatred to want your Mum to be able to buy her.fresh Brennan's pan in the local shop without being mown down by these fools.

Maybe people who grew up in these areas might have a better idea of how it works as they have actually lived there, rather than throwing sugar from afar without dealing with the fallout , "we need to understand why they are doing it?" ...who actually swallows this nonsense?