Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Tina Satchwell News updates MOD NOTE POST ONE

• Registered Users Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

testicles wrote: »

A title I had no part in creating ;)

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭joey1111

My reading of the way this latest news is being reported is that when they hold the media conference tomorrow, they will announce that they have already found a body and the search will be for forensics reasons.

I just read the RTE report and I didnt get that at all especially as they said the search will last several weeks and no mention of a body, just a search based on a credible source

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Creol1

EIREDriver wrote: »
    Reading through the comments on the Irish Time's FB page and one said Richard is regularly spotted walking in the woods. (Of course no way to verify this - just reposting a comment.)

Pure speculation - if she's found, his story about her taking the sum of money makes very little sense. Would look like a ploy to support his narrative that she ran away. The 20 something thousand explaining why she hasn't touched bank accounts etc to survive.

The strangest thing is the idea that anyone would keep €20k in cash in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Creol1 wrote: »
    The strangest thing is the idea that anyone would keep €20k in cash in the first place.

Sure they might never have been €26000 in the house in the first place and he simply made it up to add to make it a credible story that she ran away with it,

• Registered Users Posts: 10,731 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

completely innocent, until proven guilty.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Pherekydes wrote: »
    If Richard is right (and Tina ran away) then no crime has been committed and no one needs to be brought to justice.

Would Tina herself not be in trouble for wasting Gardai time and resources if that was the case? I've no idea how these things work so genuine question.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

We don't know what the "Credible witness" actually told the Gardaí.

If - for example, - they claimed to have seen a scowling figure carrying a spade, the Guards would have to investigate that: naturally they would think of the nearest missing-person case in the vicinity.

Doesn't actually prove it was Ms Satchwell, or make any mention of her husband.

May all be less than it seems. It's happened before!

Day Lewin wrote: »
    We don't know what the "Credible witness" actually told the Gardaí.

If - for example, - they claimed to have seen a scowling figure carrying a spade, the Guards would have to investigate that: naturally they would think of the nearest missing-person case in the vicinity.

Doesn't actually prove it was Ms Satchwell, or make any mention of her husband.

May all be less than it seems. It's happened before!

Why does ssomeone come forward a year later with a credible story?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭tigger123

joey1111 wrote: »
    Why does ssomeone come forward a year later with a credible story?

Could be any number of reasons. People's circumstances change, or the guilt of carrying around that info.

Effects wrote: »
    He seems like a simple kind of chap. Which makes me think he couldn't have covered his tracks so well that the Gardaí couldn't find evidence to point to him.

Yeah I agree with you

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

For context, Castlemartyr is 10 miles from Youghal, a 15 minute drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

valoren wrote: »
    For context, Castlemartyr is 10 miles from Youghal, a 15 minute drive.

19 to 24 min according to Google. So 15 min about right. Fuzzyduck looks to be stretching the truth alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 fuzzyduck4

This search is going to last 2 weeks with 40 acres to cover in the forest. There is a press conference at 11.30 this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭emo72

Why would they rule anything or anybody out, when they don't know what happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

blade1 wrote: »
    I thought the mods said they were stopping wild speculation.
    Looks like only if you know certain things.

It's not wild speculation to say someone is completely innocent until proven otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭muckbrien

Obvious but you cant piece together a picture of what's going on in a murder investigation by reading the papers.The gardai only release certain information they want in the public domain.

Surpring they don't have specialist squads for these cases given their poor record in solving murders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 fuzzyduck4

Wombatman wrote: »
    fuzzyduck4 wrote: »
    Not being funny, but they carried out an extensive search of the house, car, ect and found absolutely no traces of any foul play. Only time will tell in this case...

If this search turns up something significant surely it will be related to Richard. What other scenarios have you in mind? Is there any evidence of a third party being involved?
    I'm not going to speculate on different scenarios. I am merely making the point that RS is innocent unless proven otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,064 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I'm not going to speculate on different scenarios. I am merely making the point that RS is innocent unless proven otherwise.

He is entitled to the presumption of innocence, same as anyone....that is different to your earlier statement that he is 100% innocent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I don't think the Garda make lists of people who are innocent in missing persons cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭muckbrien

Hmm!

Why do we need UK search dogs?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Interesting to see that it is in fact 'individuals' as opposed to one person.
     [font=Georgia, serif]Garda sources say that the Castlemartyr area is being searched after they received the information "which pertains to the movements of specific individuals in the vicinity of the woods".[/font]

The plural could be referring to him and her? or a person with a helper?

I'd imagine the dead weight of a body would be difficult to move on your own?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 30,150 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Closing this for a while just for a review!

Thread reopened!
    Guys stop the speculation and if ye have issues with a post report it!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

fepper wrote: »
    If her remains are found there,it is still very close to her home,thats unusual in itself

I'd wager it's typical.

muckbrien wrote: »
    Hmm!

Why do we need UK search dogs?
    Don't the esb send personal to Britain and vice versa to deal with weather events etc,so I suppose its the same procedure here with the British search dogs,working together for the common good

Bob Harris wrote: »
    If there's no speculation there is not much else to be posting about!

People can talk about interviews, things about the case in the news,etc.

blade1 wrote: »
    Just out of interest.. say Mr Satchwell wanted to head off on a holiday abroad,is there anything preventing him from doing so?

Maybe they took his passport,that would put a stop to his gallop and anyway,the cases are gone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭julyjane

Yes but then the cases turned out not to be hers