Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Aoibheann Ni Shuilleabhain Harassment Story

• Registered Users Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Will the " King of Kindness" Ryan Tubridy have her on the Late Late...give her a national embrace on behalf of us all..

He really represents the country well and speaks for us all...so so kind....

Always knows the mood of the country...telepathically linked to us all..hes so kind...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

It's absolutely disgusting how UCD could have failed so abysmally, on so many levels, for so long....... What a horrifically low standard, doubt they've changed much since.

If the same personnel are in charge today they should be removed from their positions.

They're lucky they didn't have a a murder on their tiny consciences IMO.

FHFM50 wrote: »
    Someone on Reddit said the complete opposite. That he would shout during lectures and was a bully. Many students complained about him to the programme office.

Source = https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/imxz2r/aoibhinn_n%C3%AD_sh%C3%BAilleabh%C3%A1in_two_years_of_harassment/

Wow that's quite surprising too. He was my lecturer in 2009 so before these bullying accusations and he certainly never raised his voice and was always very helpful and approachable after class.

It was however a fourth year class in a small room composed of about 10 people and so there was no need to shout to try to control the class. He probably treated us final year students like his colleagues and so didn't berate any of us. It was also a module closely associated with his specific research area so it was probably a class he was looking forward to lecturing in.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭cml387

Will the " King of Kindness" Ryan Tubridy have her on the Late Late...give her a national embrace on behalf of us all..

He really represents the country well and speaks for us all...so so kind....

Always knows the mood of the country...telepathically linked to us all..hes so kind...

She's his ex, but then I think you knew that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

The guy sounds like a creepy fantasist alright. Loads of them in workplaces all over Ireland. Can be any gender to be fair. Would be a right pain having to deal with one I'd say.

Not sure I'd be afraid of them as much as finding it irritatingly exhausting. I guess it would depend on the type and content of communication.

There should be a well thought out playbook, for companies and employees, for spotting and stopping this kind of harassment at an early stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭hayoc

Wombatman wrote: »
    Not sure I'd be afraid of them as much as finding it irritatingly exhausting. I guess it would depend on the type and content of communication.

I would be afraid if I were a woman who lived alone being followed and harassed like this. Seems like he had no ability to control himself if he was getting removed from a hotel TWICE by the Guards. Who knows what someone like that will do next.

In academia she may also have been afraid he could ruin her career.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,385 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Effects wrote: »
    Heard something on RTE this morning that the UCD president had apologised to Ms. Ní Shúilleabháin, yet she'd had no communication from him at that point.

I think she has now (belatedly) received the apology.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0906/1163575-aoibhinn-ni-shuilleabhain/

A horrible story. He got away with the harassment for far too long.
    The part about following her to the hotel in Cork :mad: ...I can't even imagine how creepy that was.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

The college reacted very poorly it was obvious he was harassing her,

About 35 years ago the wife of a friend of my then-husband ended up in a situation when this neighbor would call around to her when her husband was out it was all very subtle but it was harassment, she did not want to say anything to her husband as she knew what he would do and the neighbor worked in a position of authority, anyway she told my husband as she was so upset, so they arranged that anytime the neighbor called around she would make a quick phone call to my husband and he would call over, say nothing just chat, the neighbor soon got the message and it stopped.

For the harassment that is not related to a mental health issue a lot of it is about having power over women.

It has a much bigger effect on someone that you would think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I think she has now (belatedly) received the apology.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0906/1163575-aoibhinn-ni-shuilleabhain/

A horrible story. He got away with the harassment for far too long.
    The part about following her to the hotel in Cork :mad: ...I can't even imagine how creepy that was.

I read the Irish Times article on Saturday. Shocking stuff. The bit that stood out to me was that she was "really, really, really scared he would show up to my wedding":eek::eek:. Imagine how that felt, I'm no bridezilla or get caught up in any type of wedding fever, but the majority of brides on their wedding day are hoping for the best day of their lives. Not living in fear that her stalker would show up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

hayoc wrote: »
    I would be afraid if I were a woman who lived alone being followed and harassed like this. Seems like he had no ability to control himself if he was getting removed from a hotel TWICE by the Guards. Who knows what someone like that will do next.

In academia she may also have been afraid he could ruin her career.

Even to take the trip to Cork in the first instance, get removed by Gardai and turn up again is just the sign of an absolute raving lunatic.

I would say she is quite lucky. In another instance UCD could have blood on their hands. Surely there is legitimate grounds for compensation in this instance for the trauma suffered.

• Registered Users Posts: 84,809 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

razorblunt wrote: »
    What a nightmare that must have been. Fair play to the Gardaí for handling the incident in Cork too.

Also, yeah, change the thread title. FFS.

What happened in Cork?

She got her media fame as a presenter from her time as a Rose but awful ordeal she went through

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Very pretentious person imo, and now making it public has obviously been done to promote her name even more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Very pretentious person imo, and now making it public has obviously been done to promote her name even more.

You again. That's quite a habit you have of victim blaming across the site.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,385 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    What happened in Cork?

From the linked article in OP;

At one point, Braun travelled across the country and turned up at a hotel in Cork demanding to see her after Ní Shúilleabháin had mentioned on social media that she was on a weekend break with female friends. The professor was removed by gardaí from the hotel twice, on two consecutive days, and Ní Shúilleabháin received a Garda escort out of Co Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,145 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Thanks for dropping in Professor Braun

• Registered Users Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The guy sounds like a creepy fantasist alright. Loads of them in workplaces all over Ireland. Can be any gender to be fair. Would be a right pain having to deal with one I'd say.

There should be a well thought out playbook, for companies and employees, for spotting and stopping this kind of harassment at an early stage.
    He followed her to Cork.
    Got to the hotel
    Asked for her at reception.
    Reception called the room and she told them to tell him she had gone out.

But he did not believe that, because he said that he saw her car in the car park.

She then realized that he knew what car she drives.

If that isn't enough to make someone afraid I don't know what is.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

If he felt entitled to stalk and harass another academic like that, think of how he probably behaved around young female students. I'd say the likelihood is low that he didn't have previous. Men like that have a modus operandi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭hayoc

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Even to take the trip to Cork in the first instance, get removed by Gardai and turn up again is just the sign of an absolute raving lunatic.

I would say she is quite lucky. In another instance UCD could have blood on their hands. Surely there is legitimate grounds for compensation in this instance for the trauma suffered.

Yes, I thought of this too when I read the article. This is someone not operating with any understanding of reasonable behaviour. Anything could happen.

That he was getting students to phone her, telling nurses he loved her, following her to hotels etc... Just no. Dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭StevenToast

cml387 wrote: »
    She's his ex, but then I think you knew that.

How traumatic it must have been for her...she must wake up in cold sweats thinking about it....

She has been through alot that poor girl, imagine dating ryan tubridy...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

5uspect wrote: »
    He’s left UCD and is now apparently working at the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies.

Academic communities are small, now that this has come out it’ll probably destroy his reputation, and rightly so.

Not working at the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies anyway.

https://www.dias.ie/2020/09/06/dias-statement-in-relation-to-professor-hans-benjamin-braun/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 Thomas Hudson

a massive issue in academia, Id bet he considers himself a male feminist

]

He's a self confessed 'nice guy' no doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Not working at the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies anyway.

https://www.dias.ie/2020/09/06/dias-statement-in-relation-to-professor-hans-benjamin-braun/

This person notes on Twitter that he was listed as a research associate on the DIAS website until 24 hours or so ago.

Speculative, but he has it that it may be the case that UCD farmed him out to the DIAS while keeping him on the UCD payroll.

https://mobile.twitter.com/eastcoast636/status/1302695979678924802

• Registered Users Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

She has a strong case for financial compensation from UCD from what I can see.

The negligence appears to be off the scale.

But I suspect she'd prefer to draw a line under the whole thing.

Seems to be virtually impossible to sack a professor.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭golfball37

NUIG were up to their necks in not treating female employees seriously for years too recently. Is it a problem across the third level sector?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭tinpib

The thing is you never know how far somebody like that dude will go, he has always gone crossed the line into criminal action. Ever since Mark Chapman killed John Lennon that type of thing remains a possibility now.

Also to show how far it can go, check out this about BBC's Emily Maitlis, some similarities there:

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2020/feb/03/emily-maitlis-stalker-edward-vines-jailed-breach-restraining-order

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Faint heart never won fair maiden. Sure he was only being romantic.

What's the world coming to atall atall when a dirty oul' fella can't harass and stalk a young wan.

(Serious answer is to go to the guards as soon as something like this kicks off)

tinpib wrote: »
    The thing is you never know how far somebody like that dude will go

Well we know he'd go as far as Cork anyways.

Who in their right mind would go to Cork?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,145 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

(Serious answer is to go to the guards as soon as something like this kicks off)

She did everything correctly. It was a workplace harassment issue, she brought it to the attention of HR.

It escalated, she went to the guards.

Luckily for her he stopped at just being a weirdo!
    Well we know he'd go as far as Cork anyways.

Who in their right mind would go to Cork?

This is the scariest part of the whole thing. What a deranged man!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    She did everything correctly. It was a workplace harassment issue, she brought it to the attention of HR.

It escalated, she went to the guards.

Luckily for her he stopped at just being a weirdo!

I don't know. It can be difficult to judge these things. These things are unfortunately subjective.

I was on the bus, I overhear a young lady talking about wishing to find a romantic fella. So I get off at her stop, follow her at a distance to her house to find out where she lives and go back the next day with a big bunch of flowers and try to serenade her from outside the window and the next thing you know I have a barring order against me. You just can't win

• Registered Users Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

It's interesting that even posters who know it was a serious and frightening situation and that she was harassed feel the need to qualify their support for her with humor?