Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Dacia new models 2020/2021

• Registered Users Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It’s an sCe rather than tCe as standard so no turbo.

Polo standard engine is 1.0 non turbo too and has less power.
    Fiesta is 1.1 non turbo and has less power
    Yaris is 1.0 non turbo and has less power

I thought he was ranting and raving about the tce

• Registered Users Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

It just isn't cheap enough in Ireland to recommend.
    I do agree with you to a point here.

I've always said the Duster makes a far better value for money case for itself than the Sandero in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,381 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

PsychoPete wrote: »
    I thought he was ranting and raving about the tce

Nah, the tCe is a gem of a yoke.
    They don’t do it in the Sandero these days as far as I know. Maybe in a Stepway. No clue.

The new Sandero is priced from 8000 in Germany. That is worth considering but not at Irish prices. Set up Android Auto with Waze, Spotify and whatever even if there isn't a radio built in and that is worth considering. I haven't tried the new Clio but I have tried the latest Micra and that is a competent car. I still stand over my comments that you'd be as well off with a mid noughties Clio than the outgoing Sandero.

Nah, the tCe is a gem of a yoke.
    They don’t do it in the Sandero these days as far as I know. Maybe in a Stepway. No clue.

You can get the tce 90 but it's a good bit more expensive

PsychoPete wrote: »
    You can get the tce 90 but it's a good bit more expensive

It’s a lack of torque that lets the sCe down. Even though the turbo 90 is only 15bhp up it’s got nearly twice the torque.

Again, probably not top priority for buyers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Seeing a lot of rusty dusters 2014/15 ,misery spec on the paint?

There were certainly rust issues on early ones. Mainly white Indian built ones. The Romanian ones are much better.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

There were certainly rust issues on early ones. Mainly white Indian built ones. The Romanian ones are much better.

White and silver ones that Ive noticed it on

We had one back that got a full respray over it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 387 ✭✭Ta ceist agam

If one only had 2 choice of cars;
    1. 2019 Sandero 10k and 1k cash.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/dacia-sandero-1-0-2019/25857272

2. 2019 Spacestar 10,990

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-space-star-1-0-litre-petrol/25249727

Which would you choose?

The dealers especially Kearys who have a plethora of 2019 Base model Sanderos for sale presumably direct from Rental car agencies must make a lot more profit selling them used than new, given that there's just 2k of a difference between new 202 reg for12,290 and ex rental 2019 for 10490 with 20k miles reved by multiple tourists in and out of every pothole from Mizen to Malin.

2020 Sandero 12290
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/dacia-sandero-12290-sce-75-petrol-alternative/25184505

2019 Sandero ex rental 10490
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/dacia-sandero-alternative-sce-75-my1/25377576

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭AUDI20

Such a pity it's gone all upmarket and fancy.

I wonder will there be a base Access model stripped of radio, electric windows, mirrors etc.

Thats what made the Sandero Access appealing for the no frills motoring!

You could also by a Lada from the 60's, would suit you perfect.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Cashel Mc

The drivetrain, switchgear, most consumables. they changed to the 1 litre triple which they lifted from the newer clio/twingo and you'd be better off with the 1.2 4 cylinder. I'm happy for you to labour over this because the point that bears stressing is that you are paying new car money for ancient technology. You'd be paying 20 times the purchase price for one of these as for a early to mid 2000s Clio and it is not appreciably better in any respect.
    Even at the price they're no bargain for anyone who knows what a bargain is. Either push the boat out a bit more and buy a discounted mainstream supermini or save your money and buy an older secondhand.

Not one part of the switchgear is the same , not one with a mk 2 clio, now if you said mk 3 clio, then yes very similar, but at the same time different part numbers

Cashel Mc wrote: »
    Not one part of the switchgear is the same , not one with a mk 2 clio, now if you said mk 3 clio, then yes very similar, but at the same time different part numbers
    Next you'll be arguing that a FIAT 500 and Mk2 Ka are completely different because the molded plastic on the switchgear is different although it comes from the same suppliers.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Cashel Mc

Next you'll be arguing that a FIAT 500 and Mk2 Ka are completely different because the molded plastic on the switchgear is different although it comes from the same suppliers.

Not at all , you mentioned switchgear being the same as a 98 clio, I stated a fact that they are not .
    Fact is, most switchgear comes from the same suppliers for all brands , but to argue that 98 clio parts are the same as 2020 sandero parts is just incorrect

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭_ptashek_

BrianD3 wrote: »
    I wonder do Eastern Europeans and other foreign nationals make up a relatively large proportion of Dacia buyers in Ireland - IME they are likely to get more excited about LPG and other practical aspects than about climate control and touchscreens.

I'm old enough to remember the Dacia 1310p as the lemon abomination produced by communist Romania and force fed into the block. I'd never buy one, even if they'd paid me. LPG or not :) Although to give them some credit, at the time it was one of the better cars we had access to.

The development costs are sunk and just warmed over and that is the point that I made. That is the point I made so you're making a fallacious argument. Do you work in Linders?
    Here are my posts so you can see what I actually said, not what you think I said:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114776422&postcount=25
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114780652&postcount=30
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114781049&postcount=33
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114782356&postcount=40
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114782474&postcount=42
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114782576&postcount=44
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114784784&postcount=57
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114788043&postcount=60
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114789839&postcount=65
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114804522&postcount=75

Anyhow, I found something genuinely innovative about the new Sandero with regards to in-car entertainment:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pv2eVwMUptI warning: French audio.
    scroll forward to 13:30.
    the conventional head unit is gone/doesn't exist and the details are shown on the instrument cluster and can be controlled from the remote steering wheel controls used in conjunction with your smartphone for navigation and other details.
    It is a further development of the R&Go application found in Clios and Twingos except the headunit is gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭newmember2

Anyhow, I found something genuinely innovative about the new Sandero with regards to in-car entertainment:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pv2eVwMUptI warning: French audio.
    scroll forward to 13:30.
    the conventional head unit is gone/doesn't exist and the details are shown on the instrument cluster and can be controlled from the remote steering wheel controls used in conjunction with your smartphone for navigation and other details.
    It is a further development of the R&Go application found in Clios and Twingos except the headunit is gone.

Great idea and so simple.

Seems a great idea, but I can see it being problematic if it becomes mainstream. Only able to use it with certain phones, the Dacia/BMW/Ford/etc. specific app is needed (and probably costs money), it doesn't get updated after X amount of years meaning you are selling the car with no entertainment unit, etc.

I like the general idea, but I'd be concerned about app support in future, or some 'subscription charge' nonsense being applied down the line. You can listen to the radio for free, but it's €2.99 per month if you want to listen to your own music on your phone, etc.

(I'm a real pessimist!)

How much can a feckin screen cost?

I think the lack of screen is only on the entry level model such as the Access and perhaps the one up from the Access, the Alternative. The Signature will get a screen and the Sandero Stepway gets a screen as pictured in the Stepway interior pics.

The use of mobile phone app instead of an inbuilt screen would be problematic for people not confident using mobile phones or apps like the elderly. Also what if you've no battery or want to conserve your battery and forgot your charging cabl e on a long trip?

A screen may not cost much but would save Dacia millions based on the number of units they sell. Toyota save a couple of 100 grand in the Aygo by just having one parcel shelf string.

I didn't see a cable attached while it was being presented in the video.
    A german dealer youtube video I watched said that the base model will not even have the radio but the phone shelf with a lid will still be there.
    The base model will be called "essential" and will be selling for around 8k in Germany. Use Android auto in standalone mode with your selected apps including a radio app like Intune or radio.de and it will serve the purpose.

You don't need the cable to use the app, it's via Bluetooth.
    But the use if Bluetooth is heavy on some batteries and therefore will need charging.

Oh I look forward to seeing the Essential model then of the new Sandero. Do you know if it'll have unpainted bumpers and windy windows all round? I'm getting excited now!

528300.jpg

I think the Stepway gets screen as standard as above.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,273 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Prices and some specs on dacia.co.uk, 8000 GBP for the cheapest Sandero Access which has the all important unpainted bumpers. We probably won't get that one here but I wouldn't know as there is no mention of the new car on the Irish website.

Base engine is 1.0 litre 65 bhp petrol. If you want LPG the cheapest one is about 10400 GBP which has a 100 bhp engine and a more "luxurious" spec.

sandero-access-sce-65-glacier-white.jpg?anchor=center&mode=crop&quality=75&width=620&rnd=132508680573100000

The target buyer for the base model won't give a hoot about unpainted bumpers and the steel wheels without plastic trims will be seen as a benefit.

It is a shame they don't sell the Dokker Van more widely. It looks like exactly what a van owner would want in a Kangoo sized van.

The new Logan saloon looks relatively decent.

A5-C0-A08-B-3257-4437-A843-AC03-F6-BCD75-B.jpg

Dacia Ireland should be selling the saloon as it would be popular with their target audience in Ireland but their marketing people see Ireland as Western Europe where people don't buy saloons.

They don’t really buy saloons any more though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,473 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The new Logan saloon looks relatively decent.

A5-C0-A08-B-3257-4437-A843-AC03-F6-BCD75-B.jpg

That’s a decent looking motor.