Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What's you opinion on or experience with, nightclub security?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

OP are you a Yank?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Attracts a lot of aggressive knuckle-heads. Most do be grand but there does be like 20% with an agenda especially the more local nightclubs

• Registered Users Posts: 8,918 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I probably have been ejected from nightclubs a few times, just for being too drunk, never for fighting or anything like that. I remember one time this old small bouncer was escorting me out, he was grabbing me by the neck on the way out, no need for it at all,I was just too drunk, I wasn't objecting to being asked to leave, so I told him to fcuk off I was leaving and pulled his hands from around my neck, he let me walk out then. must have been small man syndrome or something, id say this guy was about 5'6, I am 6'2.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm too old now for this to be an issue, bouncers always just say "howya" and let me in.

In my younger days though I can't recall any serious aggro. Naturally if you get randomly refused with "not tonight lads" or "you're too pissed", you end up thinking, "Your man is a bit of a prick", but in hindsight they have a few hundred people coming into a place and they're doing their best to filter the crowd to keep everyone safe inside. So mistakes will be made. They're not mind readers and most of them are only young themselves.

I've never hung around with anyone who becomes an angry drunk, so have never come to clash with bouncers inside, and if any of us got completely hammered we always had the good sense to leave before we got fvcked out anyway. A nod from the bouncer; "Is he alright? He can't sleep there" was the typical signal to GTFO.

Terry on the door of Bruxelles (he must be retired now) was always a sound man. He'd refuse you but tell you to come back next week. He barred a mate of mine, but only for month. And he wasn't ****ty about it. When he tried to get in the response was, "Howya, you're still barred, come back in two weeks".

The only time I've seen bouncers getting into scraps was with drunken idiots who decided to start ****. That's not to say many bouncers don't go over the top when someone decides to start on them, but I've never seen bouncers be the ones to start a fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭corks finest

seamus wrote: »
    I'm too old now for this to be an issue, bouncers always just say "howya" and let me in.

In my younger days though I can't recall any serious aggro. Naturally if you get randomly refused with "not tonight lads" or "you're too pissed", you end up thinking, "Your man is a bit of a prick", but in hindsight they have a few hundred people coming into a place and they're doing their best to filter the crowd to keep everyone safe inside. So mistakes will be made. They're not mind readers and most of them are only young themselves.

I've never hung around with anyone who becomes an angry drunk, so have never come to clash with bouncers inside, and if any of us got completely hammered we always had the good sense to leave before we got fvcked out anyway. A nod from the bouncer; "Is he alright? He can't sleep there" was the typical signal to GTFO.

Terry on the door of Bruxelles (he must be retired now) was always a sound man. He'd refuse you but tell you to come back next week. He barred a mate of mine, but only for month. And he wasn't ****ty about it. When he tried to get in the response was, "Howya, you're still barred, come back in two weeks".

The only time I've seen bouncers getting into scraps was with drunken idiots who decided to start ****. That's not to say many bouncers don't go over the top when someone decides to start on them, but I've never seen bouncers be the ones to start a fight.
    Bounced n and south for a few decades,most are ok,but whilst on tbe door in several clubs in Cork city spotted some guys with the hard chaw attitude alright,ran a few venues and got rid of a few jokers,those with no balls and those with attitude and were more interested in women than security

• Registered Users Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I've never argued with one. "Sorry lads, not tonight" is sufficient. You're not going to change their mind by arguing. I did however get a Not Tonight, politely said "OK, no problem" and they called us back and said go on in :pac:

I once got told "You can't come in, you look like you've had a few already". I told him I look like this all the time, and he laughed and let me in.

I always found bouncers in proper clubs (like tripod/Redbox/twisted pepper etc) much sounder than the crap places like coppers and diceys.

It definitely happens, some bullies are attracted to the job because they see it as an easy way to bully people and attack them. I know of someone who was let go from a few bouncer jobs because he was such a person. You get bad apples in every job.

McGaggs wrote: »
    I always found bouncers in proper clubs (like tripod/Redbox/twisted pepper etc) much sounder than the crap places like coppers and diceys.

Soundest bouncers I ever came across was the ones who work at raves in Germany, they look like they are in biker gangs, huge guys but if you don't cause them any trouble they are really sound and will chat away to you. I really wouldn't want to get in their bad books though.

A guy from my old school had terrible problems with his temper. I used to work in the city centre and would often meet him sporting a freshly-appointed black eye, explained by "trouble with a bouncer", and then a long diatribe about how he was going to sue this bouncer, who would never work in this town again etc.

Always found it odd that one person could be so supposedly victimised by bouncers when the rest of us have few negative experiences — and even those were usually explained by that naggin we downed in the queue.

If someone is getting into trouble with different bouncers, it might not be the bouncers who are wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

pgj2015 wrote: »
    It definitely happens, some bullies are attracted to the job because they see it as an easy way to bully people and attack them. I know of someone who was let go from a few bouncer jobs because he was such a person. You get bad apples in every job.
    Ah I've no doubt. Plenty of lads out there itching for a fight. And being a bouncer not only guarantees you get into a couple of scrapes, but you won't get fired for it either.
    And they probably then set out to antagonise someone into a fight rather than trying to calm the situation down.

Ah I've no doubt. Plenty of lads out there itching for a fight. And being a bouncer not only guarantees you get into a couple of scrapes, but you won't get fired for it either.
    And they probably then set out to antagonise someone into a fight rather than trying to calm the situation down.

They do get fired for it though, proper bouncers don't want to work with lads like that and decent pub/club owners don't want their bouncers starting fights and bullying customers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Can't recall any issue with bouncers tbh.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Did it for 3 years in NY and 5 months in Dublin. Wouldn't go back to doing it in Dublin for a 1000 euro a night tbh. The pissed coked up Irish public are idiots. All my experience was from 1997 to 2003 so maybe things have changed. I'm too old now anyway lol

• Registered Users Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭Homelander

Always remember one time, was going to a birthday party at around 7PM in the evening with about 10 others. Bouncer let everyone but me and my friend - "You've had too much". We hadn't even been drinking prior. It wasn't even a nightclub, just a normal pub, and it was the early evening time.

It was really strange and the only negative interaction I can think of. I would just love to know why, or what the thinking was. He stuck to the "You're too drunk" line and wouldn't budge despite the fact we clearly weren't, but obviously he just made some bizarre decision looking at us.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,756 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

All my experiences with bouncers go back to the 90s.
    I've never had a physical altercation with a bouncer but I was constantly refused entry to clubs for having the wrong shoes, for not wearing a shirt, for having long hair, for having short hair, for wearing boots, for being drunk - you name it, I was refused entry for it.

However, on several occasions, I did see bouncers behaving like utter violent scumbags. Say a guy being dragged backwards by the neck from a club while another bouncer repeatedly punched him in the face.

I saw a guy dragged down an alleyway by four or five bouncers and the alleyway blocked off. The guy came out extremely battered.

I actually saw a young bouncer get "blooded". The older guys actually rubbed blood on his face after a violent altercation.

I do not hold security staff in high regard, generally.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Shortly after moving to Birmingham for a year, I was harangued into going clubbing by new friends, though it's really not my "scene". So I snuck a chessboard into the nightclub and spent the night playing chess. The DJ said "You know it's a bad night when there's guys playing chess in the corner.. "
    Bouncer came over at one point and stood there watching us, and I was waiting for him to tell us to feck off, but after the game was over he just said "You should have played pawn to here.." and then wandered off.
    Friend said he was never ****ing bringing me clubbing again.

Was asked to put away the chessboard or leave by security in a Supermac's once..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭1cxb0tkuav6p4l

Redbox - is that still open?

I vaguely remember being in here, far too long ago, though no recollection of how I got there it where it was.

Where is it?

Or where was it?

I vaguely remember being in here, far too long ago, though no recollection of how I got there it where it was.

Where is it?

Or where was it?

Sad to say none of them are still open (all closed before Covid, but Twisted Pepper is now Wigwam so that's not so bad).

Red box was part of the old Harcourt street train station, same building as tripod.

Where is it?

Or where was it?

Last club I was in was District 8, which is closed too. I'd be worried I was some sort of harbinger of doom for nightclubs, but they're all being closed to make way for office blocks and hotels whether I go there or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭1cxb0tkuav6p4l

Last club I was in was District 8, which is closed too. I'd be worried I was some sort of harbinger of doom for nightclubs, but they're all being closed to make way for office blocks and hotels whether I go there or not.

Assuming that was closed since the pandemic lockdowns, SIN in temple bar got the axe as well.

Sucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

can't wait for the follow-up thread, "nightclub attenders"

• Registered Users Posts: 12,957 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Very little, since I rarely went to nightclubs and probably never will again. There was the time I was asked to leave because I had put my feet up on a chair and reacted badly when I was asked to remove them. I was in a foul mood because I didn't want to be there at all, hadn't even had one drink, so I was happy to go.

Another time I was dragged to one (Sachs Hotel in D4, IIRC), and the bouncer told me I couldn't come in because of my shoes. So I told the other guys "bye, see you at work next week", and the bouncer changed his tune. "OK, you can come in."

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

bnt wrote: »
    Another time I was dragged to one (Sachs Hotel in D4, IIRC), and the bouncer told me I couldn't come in because of my shoes. So I told the other guys "bye, see you at work next week", and the bouncer changed his tune. "OK, you can come in."

The guy just wanted to ruin your night, didn’t care how. Mission accomplished.

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭tmabr

Think most bouncers are idiots, again from late 90,s. The pubs and clubs in dublin used to be packed.
    Could get a taxi into town and get refused from 20 places and end up getting a taxi back to the local.
    Dont know what its like these days.

One night, 3 of us went into POD, had been there many times but there appeared to be new security, up to the door - alright lads in yiz go, it was about 20 pound in at this time. Leave jackets in, all no bother.
    In there about 10 minutes and a notice weird looks from the bouncers inside, then notice a few more circling near us for some reason.
    One bouncer approaches me and says can he have a word, yes no bother, over here beside the emergency escape. tell your friends to come too.
    They open the door and march us outside - Lads not tonight.
    WTF - whats the problem - sorry not tonight - they looked ready to kill us.
    Was in shock, FFS alright no problem, give us back our entry fee, sorry lads
    We were lucky to get our jackets back, never been more humiliated

when we eventually got back around to the front door to get our jackets - the main door guy had no idea what was going on either.
    I knew one of the bouncers and cant wait for karma to visit this guy some day.
    About 20 years ago this happened and still angry thinking about it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

The bane of many a pub crawl. Seemed to have a “sicth sense” for knowing when I was already sozzled

• Registered Users Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Not with those trainers, pal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭AlejGuzman68

My experience with club security was in the 70's/80's.And the more happy and flamboyant you were always guaranteed your success in gaining entry. Most were funny and loved a tit for tat interaction. Some of the doormen here seem to be on a bit of a masculine complex.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,756 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I'd say clubs in part's of the UK back in the day were rough as ****. A lot of local firms would of been hired as security and those lads were mental if the movies/TV shows were anything to go by

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Jeremy Sproket

Women never have an issue with nightclub security. A woman could assault or grope a man and the man would still be the one to be ejected.

I've been to about two night clubs in my life (I'm female, late 20's) not my scene. I hate the kips.