Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Unorthodox grip: Minor

Options
  • 26-02-2014 7:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11

A bit of background:
    I started playing hurling when i was about 6, when i was 12 i gave up and i recently(2 months ago) joined back hurling & football at the age of 16.
    I held the hurley wrong from the start and it never bothered me, even at 10 when my teacher tried to fix it.
    hurling training starts tomorrow and I don't know whether to stick with my grip or try and fix it?

How I hold the hurley:
    I hold the hurley with the left hand on top, I catch with my left hand and strike of my right which means I throw the ball up with my left hand and put it back on top then strike. I solo holding the hurley with my right hand but its always a handswidth down the hurley not on top.

If I should change my grip, any tips on how to change? I tried recently but it is agonizing how poor my strike is when I do, It feels so unnatural.
    Thanks,

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭deadybai